$276 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
594 reviews
Great wedding

My wife and I got married here. Great trip for the family and friends. Was a great experience for all. See full review

  • joe a.
  • May 13, 2015
Absolutely Loved The Level!

We honeymooned at The Level and loved every second of our time there. The room was awesome- the... See full review

  • R Harris
  • May 5, 2015
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
594 out of 594
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Working jornalists
Business
Ohio
Jan 20, 2014

This is truly paradise

My boyfriend and I went for a quick getaway from the arctic Ohio blast...this was a superb hotel with an even better staff. We will go back often!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vigalex
Business
New Jersey
Jan 15, 2014

A escape to paradise!!

My wife and I escape for my birthday party and kind of winter break and we couldn't get better hotel Thant melia caribe tropical , it is an excelent choice and we have not complains at all. Just stay away from melia club sellers , you'll be wasting time and regreting it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to visit Jewel night club , it is beautiful and great place to dance and have fun !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My Dominican family
Business
Ma.
Jan 23, 2014

Exceptional

We have been to this hotel many times . The staff go above and beyond to make you feel at home,the food excellent a large selection.beaches are beautiful . We have just returned from staying there. We up grade to the all adults section called the level . This was the best experience . Service was above and beyond food outstanding . Can't, wait to go back! Melia We'll Done !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simona C
Business
Toronto
Feb 24, 2014

Excellent stay!

Note* Upgraded to The Adults only Level area, upon check in. 420USD for 2 ppl/7 nights. Worth every penny: amazing food, excellent location of room, by pool and beach, by the Level lounge, premium alcohol. Never seen a hotel with such level of cleanliness. Towels changed twice a day, spotless service. Very big resort, not an issue, golf carts running around 24/7. Overall, I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuatro restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicagodoc
Business
chicago
Feb 28, 2014

exelent vacatios

perfect location near the airport ,exelent segurity, rooms very clean and comfortable, staff and service was outstanding , the pool and beach areas clean quiet and nice, restaurants and food were exelent and variety of food and options also exelent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

giarapo restaurant very good dominican food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simona C
Business
Toronto
Mar 4, 2014

Great experience!!

Everything was fantastic, would go back any minute!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spartan fans
Business
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Mar 11, 2014

Family winter break

We have been going on a Spring Break with our kids and sometimes extra kids and families now for the past 12 years. Most of these vacations have been in the Caribbean at All inclusive resorts. Although we have always had good experiences during all of our vacations the Melia Caribe and Tropical has been our overall most enjoyable Resort that we have stayed at. Prior to this year (March 2014) the last time we were at this resort was in April 2011 and although not a lot has changed, but there were some noticeable differences; one was that the Resort is divided into three sections, the Level, the Adults only and the rest. At first we didn't think we would like this (we were at the least expensive) but really the resort is so large with so many amenities we really didn't notice it at all. The second change was a kiosk reservation system for Golf and specialty restaurants , which was very easy to use and we had an easy time booking everything that we wanted. The third most notable change was the customer service, check in and check out were extremely fast and we had one issue with our safe and they came with in 10 minutes to fix it. The staff in General seemed to be very attentive to customer service. Me and my wife relaxed on the beach while our 19 & 20 year olds quickly made friends with similar aged young adults from all parts of the world. I am sure we will return to this resort agin in a few years and we look forward to changes that I am sure will be made by then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Use the kiosk in the lobby to book your reservations, quick and easy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Lady
Business
New Hyde Park, NY
Mar 25, 2014

Amazing Couple Getaway

I had a really great time there. I stayed at The Level, which is the Adults Only section. It was great because the rooms are near the pool, beach and four adults only restaurants. If you wanted to get to the other side, you could have a staff member take you in a private golf cart instead of waiting for the train trolley that takes the guests around. It was a great perk. The pool for the adults only side was quiet and beautiful. The main pool looked exactly like the Adults only pool, but it had a lot of families and was a bit more crowded. The one thing that wasn't great was the check-in. We arrived around 1:15pm and our room wasn't ready until 3:15pm. We understood that it was supposed to only be ready by 3pm so we weren't upset about that, but the staff had taken us separately to the side of the resort where our room was without our luggage. It then took an additional 2 hours to get our luggage to our room (we received it around 5pm). So what could have been an entire day spent by the pool 1:30pm- into the evening, turned into waiting in the room for our things. I would suggest to future guests to ask to take your luggage aside and remove your beach items before the staff transports you to your room. Other than that, the service was great. The staff were very polite and accommodating. We loved our room and the maid service. The beach chairs and the beverage service was impeccable. The swim up bar had great service. We enjoyed the DJ music on the various nights and the Dominican music. The general grounds were extremely well kept as compared to other places like Cancun. The casino was small, maybe one or two blackjack tables, so don't go if you are looking to gamble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was great, but take a look at the menu before you commit because the buffet offers so much!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Continental
Business
Louisiana
Mar 30, 2014

Getaway for a few days

Absolute fantastic resort! Beach area is gorgeous with lots of activities on the beach. You can walk forever on the beach passing a nice little shopping market not far from the resort. Also nice large shopping mall right behind resort with walking distance. Golf close by. Not a blade of grass out of place at this resort. Grounds are impeccable. Peacocks and flamingos everywhere. Anything you could imagine to eat. Restaurants are first class. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. Most of the staff friendly but you do have a few sour faces here and there. Would highly reccomend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Drink cups at hotel are rather on the small side (although they wil refill them as much as you want) you spend alot of time walking around for drink refills....so bring your own large insulated mug from home and they will refill those for you! HUGE time saver so that you're not running around for beverages!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nolevamo
Business
Costa Rica
Apr 13, 2014

We had a great time

The Melia was great. We decided to upgrade to The Level, which is the adult side only and it was the best we could have done. The food was great, the staff was very attentive and overall excellent. The only drawback was the noisy, drunk Americans by the pool who got pretty annoying after a while so we decided to hang out by the beach. We did not like that this girl was very nice with us and all she wanted was to sell us a time share and requested us to attend a 90 minute session. We cancelled and she went after us when we were at the gym. That felt too pushy. Other than that the place is great especially Elizabeth Rivera who was always making sure everything went well. We will definitely recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are travelling with your significant other, upgrade to The Level, you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top