$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
519 reviews
Beautiful Getaway

Enjoyed this beautiful place with my daughter. Wait staff and personnel was great. We had fun in... See full review

  • Tiney
  • Oct 4, 2014
Perfect Honeymoon

My parents gave my husband and I a seven day all inclusive stay at the Melia Tropical as our... See full review

  • Liz061886
  • Sep 23, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (519)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 519
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bellaluxebeauty
Business
New Jersey
Sep 12, 2014

Beautiful Property

Beautiful property.... very big and everything was conveniently located. Food was awful though... always cold no matter what time you went & always looked as if it was sitting. Alcohol watered down as usual but that's par for the course for an all inclusive. They are relentless in selling the timeshare also. Was sick of saying no. To conclude, property was beautiful, food sucked and the beach was not the best. A lot of seaweed.... have seen more beautiful water.... plenty of beach chairs and beautiful pool. Boring nightlife.... Would not stay here again. Liked Dreams resort better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

They don't care anymore when you're checking out so call early to get bags picked up. We almost missed shuttle to airport and we called 30 minutes early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LargerThanLifeSizeBarbie
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Aug 26, 2014

It was ok.

I had multiple issues with my room. My overall experience wasn't a good on...At all!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SKaye
Business
Missouri
Aug 14, 2014

Relaxing Vacation

Stayed in the Adults Only Level. And it was great! The staff was great and very accommodating and the food was fantastic. Was surprised at how good the food was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ginou 36
Business
Ft lauderdale, Fl
Jul 15, 2014

Room service

I love the hotel and the services that the provide to make my vacation pleasant. I would like to specially thank the room service attendant Anyi Joseph to provide an excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KJ C
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 14, 2014

Great place but awful customer checkin

I went with a group of 5 friends and booked an all inclusive through a third party. I wanted to add a friend (would now be 6) so I called the third party and they had told me it would be an extra $85 a night to pay for her to stay in my room for the all inclusive without having to book an additional room. The third party told me I had to pay at the hotel. So I said ok find and when I got to the resort they told me it was $120 a night for her. So one couple together, me and my friend together, then I just said add my added friend to the one room where he was alone. Needless to say I was angry. So I went and paid the $120 for her for the night (because I really had no other choice ) and I'll call the third party later on and figure it out. I went about my vacation and went 2 days later and they told me that if she stayed in my room (3 people) it would've been cheaper. So the woman that checked us in didn't say well just have her stay in your room with 3 people and it would've been $90 a night .. Not $120. I just figured 2,2, and 2 in a room paperwork would make more sense. I was furious. Everything else besides that was great. Wait staff at restaurants were great ! Bartenders were amazing! I HIGHLY SUGGUST THE DUNEBUGGYING !!!!!!!! It was the best part of the trip.. They take u to a private cave and a beach that is just to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dunebuggying !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer DMV Girl
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 2, 2014

One of the Best Vacations, Will Return!

It was my first trip visiting Punta Cana and buying an all inclusive package. I was really impressed as soon as I arrived. It was only a 20 minute ride from the airport and we were received with friendly and attentive staff. The atmosphere is welcoming and just beautiful to walk around with the man made sceneries & interesting birds. During the day we were able to visit plazas, enjoy the private beach, the pools, or signed up for excursions. For the night, we made reservations earlier in the day to the many different offered cuisine restaurants on the resort. The only downside of the resort was minimal access to WIFI but besides that it was overall a great experience. Definitely will return to the Melia Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I recommend to call for dinner reservations to the different cuisine restaurants early in the morning or even a day before. Making a same day reservation by late afternoon will only have availability for a very late dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tailgate Nomad
Business
Utah
May 3, 2014

Great, an absoluty great getaway

After reading multiple reviews about different places to stay in the DR, we decided to stay here, specifically at The Levels. Glad we did. This place is awesome. The service is great. The staff make you feel welcomed and accommodate any need you may have. It was great to be able to request simple things, like snack and drink types to have in your room. The dining out experience was also very nice, and because we stayed at The Levels, everything was within walking distance. Overall the food is decent, not excellent, but very good for an all inclusive resort. Good selection and variety. The pasta bar offered during the day gets a little old, but its easy to find something else to eat. They don't have a lot of snack options, especially while hanging out by the pool, but it's not a deal breaker. If we did want to venture out and eat at a different restaurant, go to the casino, shopping, or other areas of the resort, getting transport arranged was super easy. The Mexican Food restaurant on the resort was our least favorite. On a side note, the resort has great coffee and a perfect view of the ocean to enjoy each morning !!! The pool was excellent. Always very clean, and we appreciated the fact it was an adults only area. The bartenders were also very friendly and they played great music. The Miami Vice is a great drink, and the Coco Loco is also tasty. They also offer top shelf alcohol, which is something I haven't seen at other all inclusive resorts, and was not offered at the last place we stayed in the DR. Overall we had a great experience. So if you are looking for a great place to stay and enjoy some time by the pool, the beach, or to get out and about...this place will be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The casino was a nice place to hang out, even if you don't gamble. It was air conditioned, and the bartenders made it fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punta Cana MI
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Mar 7, 2014

Overall enjoyable experience

The resort is very clean and well maintained. It wasn't too crowded when I was on my vacation, so it wasn't too difficult getting rides around the resort. The resort was bigger than I expected, so it took some time to get familiar with the location. The rooms are decent sizes (I stayed at the junior suite) and come with basic amenities. It is an all inclusive resort, so most additional services to the room are free of charge. One downside was that theWi-Fi connection was very weak on the resort. Overall it is a great resort to stay in Punta Cana whether you're staying as a big group, family, or your significant other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Thai restaurant's service was very slow and the food was mediocre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zahn1952
Business
Appleton, Wisconsin
Jan 15, 2014

Nice resort

Nice resort for couples and family vacation. Very safe, pleasant staff. The resort is big and has 3 buffets and 8 restaurants. Food was good, good variety. The beach is excellent so is the pool.You won't be bored while there since they had daily and nightly activities and life entrainment for guest. the beach at the theater etc. The rooms a very clean, lot of space and comfort. I ussually leave 5 dollars tip each day for the maid, since I feel sorry for the hardworking girls who get paid very little and Tereza (the maid) stoked my room with extra towels and ket it very clean. I seat for dinner with one of their employees who looked more like a greeter (mr. Avramovic Radomir) nice old men, learn lot about Punta Cana and Melia resort from him. And the weather is always great in Punta Cana, 85 degrees everyday, I loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within 5 minutes walk there is Real Palma shopping mall and a supermarket. Great place to shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Potsarella
Business
Connecticut
Oct 6, 2013

Perfection

Royal service is a must do! Pablo, Alex and Juan are the best! Heavenly week!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top