$276 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
594 reviews
Great wedding

My wife and I got married here. Great trip for the family and friends. Was a great experience for all. See full review

  • joe a.
  • May 13, 2015
Absolutely Loved The Level!

We honeymooned at The Level and loved every second of our time there. The room was awesome- the... See full review

  • R Harris
  • May 5, 2015
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
594 out of 594
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kgifford
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 7, 2014

I cannot recommend this all inclusive resort to my friends

The service, food and drinks were horrible! It was not possible to get reservations at the ala carte restaurants unless you were willing to pay for them. If you tried the requisite 24 hrs in advance they were always booked. Every restaurant I poked my head in on my way to the horrible buffet was nearly empty so I can't figure that one out. The room was clean but had issues. The shower fell apart the first night, the room above us had a leak and whenever they used the sink it rained into our bathroom. There was no toilet paper holder. Just a roll sitting on the sink. Kinda reminded me of college. When we got there there was a crib in our room. They wouldn't remove it so we dragged it out to the hallway where it sat for 2 days before someone took it away. There is no poolside service. If you want a drink you either have to swim or walk a very long way for it. Booze was really cheap and drinks were really bad. Overall, it seemed like their favorite word was "no", which is not what you want to hear when you are on a vacation that cost you a lot of money and is supposed to be all inclusive. The good news is that we didn't gain any weight. In fact, we were hungry most of the time. On the plus side, the grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. We have concluded that we will stick to the American all inclusive model of hospitality in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pay for the reservations if you have to to avoid the buffet. The ala carte were a little better. There were 2 restaurants that cost $30 per person. We tried one and it was pretty good, but we were irritated that we had to pay for food while at a all inclusive resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EL VACAN
Business
MIAMI
Oct 27, 2012

i would never go back there not even for free. Is disgusting the way they manage the resort

disgusted and suprised how they treat you and the amenities are all in bad shape they always trying to sell you the other installationsthat resort is a rat trap......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joseph Traveller
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 20, 2012

Disappointing stay

The hotel did not match my expectations at all. I chose the place according to the reviews, looking at the photos presented. First of all, these photos are totally fake. They gave me an old room, very simple, with need-to-improve basic items. No LCD TV, no stylish furniture, no hydro-massage tub. You have to select ONE Restaurant per night with prior reservation. Three of them were closed and unavailable during my stay. Options of drinks at the bar and restaurant areas are very limited. Service should be better for a 4-star hotel. Small lakes and garden areas have a disgusting smell. Maybe at the other side of the Melia complex, at Paradisus or VIP area (called REAL SERVICE) they can offer something worthy. I felt like paying too much for this limited all-inclusive. There are better options at the same Bavaro Beach, just right aside. Be careful, this is not really a 4-star hotel. In my oppinion It does not deserve a 3.9 evaluation. I would NOT recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Local marine excursions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
montanajack
Business
Kansas MO
Dec 5, 2012

Look elsewhere

I can't believe how many good ratings this place gets either inexperienced travelers or shills for the property. Grounds are nice but muddy in areas a canal/swamp runs through the property, but not noticeable to most rooms, the property itself is showing its age and run down in areas. At times a whiff of raw sewage can permeate the air. Food can be decent to good sometimes, usually though it's poor to downright bad, the restaurants seem clean and some are charming. Ice must be a luxury item because almost all drinks are warm or cool at best and watered down, beer is warm and bad. Staff can be great or very poor, bartenders tend to ignore you unless you tip early and often even then service will be suspect. Hostesses and wait staff usually act as if you are a major inconvenience to them, some are great most aren't. Air conditioners are on motion sensors from 7am until 10pm so you better like getting up early as the a/c will shut off at 7 and the room will begin to heat up unless you are moving around. Check in took 60 min as we had to haggle with upgrades and our check-in person disappeared 1/2 way through and never came back, had to find someone else to check us in. Time share salesmen roam the property constantly hassling you to buy overpriced timeshares, our room was almost a mile from the beach and a block from the pool, and virtually no rooms have a view of the beach or pool. Our front door had a two inch gap under it so geckos could come and go as they pleased. Hotel transportation bus blew a tire (all tires were worn lucky we didn't crash) and we waited for 30 minutes by the side of the road for a replacement in the middle of nowhere (safety issue). I suppose if you drink a ton and eat three big meals a day the prices are reasonable, if not, this isn't a cheap place as they will nickel and dime you, and you will need to upgrade to get room service, better? drinks etc. In general Dominican Republic is a very poor country and if you go, stay at one of the most expensive places you can find. Personally there are better places to go in the Caribbean. Obviously we will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Balitmore, MD
Aug 31, 2009

Don't stay here....

This trip was booked thinking that everything would be taken care of since it was an all inclusive, that was not necessarily the case. If you didn't make reservations at one of the resturants you were stuck eating at one of the buffets. The food was absolutely terrible that you almost rather go hungary that night. Most all inclusive resorts you worry about gaining weight we lost weight on this one. The Italian resturant was soo bad that we landed up with indigestion and in bed for the rest of the night. The rooms were not clean, we had some dirt and a dead flower in the bathroom when we checked in the toilet didn't work well and they were not cleaned all day (left the room at 9am and the room wasn't cleaned until 4-5pm). To make matters worse on the last night we found cockroaches in the room!! the really big ones. the staff was not friendly overall (although there were a few nice people). they gave short answers and did make it an enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 25, 2010

Horrible Service

Service was HORRIBLE!!!! Hotel itself was very big so to get to places was a little difficult...especially because we were traveling with our 10 month old. Also...it felt like EVERYONE was smoking while we were there...it was HORRIBLE...the only good thing were the beautiful sites...animals...beach..that's it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WOODBRIDGE NJ
Jul 6, 2011

"THE WORST RESORT EVER"

tip, tip, tip, tip and u still dont get treated like you should unless its an employee in a golf cart transporting you. if you dont tip him he will never pick u up again and he will let his other "partners in crime" know. dont upgrade, all rooms are the same. stay away from "ROYAL SERVICE", its a waste of money. dont take the "special breakfast" the following morning, its to sell u timeshare and its more than 3 hours(smallest package is 40K a yr).your transportaion meeting the next day is also to sell you excursions, be prepared to spend at least 2 hours sitting at the lobby listening about how wonderful and cheap they are. service, housekeeping, liquor, CONCIERGE, staff all are horrible, they "yes" you to death and dont care. pool is ok till about 3-4pm, then it starts smelling like urine. bathrooms arent near so guess where all the urine goes. no ativities what so ever unless u want to pay a 3rd party company "scuba" for excursions. they are really rude and a bunch of cons. resort is HUGE so be prepared to walk, they provide a "train" but its always full. rsvp for restaurants have to be made 24 hrs in advance and you have to call between 9-10am otherwise its all booked, you have better chances in winning the lotto before anyone picks up the phone. we were "royal service" and still had to BUY our conceirge just to get dinner reservations. food is ok. NO ACTIVITIES ON PROPERTY. water arobics at 12 pool side and thats it. most of the time there is no music pool side. towel exchange is a scam. if you dont return ur towel cards u will get charged $25 at checkout. room safe is $2 bucs a day. rooms are smelly, slippery, & damp. we had to ask for new sheets and pillows before we even had luggage delivered to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jul 29, 2010

Royal Service is not so Royal

When we arrived at the hotel, we were offered to upgrade to Royal Service which would give us extra benefits. For one, it would give us premium liquor, but what no one tells you it doesn't include Grey Goose or Belvedere. They have them, but they will sell them to you. It's almost impossible to get reservations in a restaurant. The staff is very unfriendly and if they don't know how to handle a situation they hang up the phone on you. Also, don't request anything, because you'll never get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester Co., New York
Apr 3, 2010

Not Recommended

I will not stay at this resort again. To start off, we arrived to check-in and were told there wasn't a room available and a cab would be picking us up in a few minutes to take us to some other resort I never even heard of. The resort was overbooked for the week, even though I made reservations in November '09 for March '10. After a brief dispute, a room miraculously became available, and the staff wasn't even apologetic in any way. Dinner reservations were nearly impossible to make for a reasonable time, even days ahead of time, unless you don't mind eating at 10:00-11:00PM. Be prepared to pay extra for top shelf liquor and bottled wine. Each restaurant has a pricey wine list for dinner. The resort is too spread out. Plan on 15 minutes for walking to the beach and restaurants or you can wait for the train to pick you up and take you but that also will take 10-15 minutes for it to arrive. Definitely bring tip money. Money talks at this place. The rooms are very small, bathrooms were dirty, the pillows smelled moldy, and the peacocks roaming the grounds are extremely noisy, especially between 12:00AM and 7:00AM. Good luck sleeping. I've been to Punta Cana more than once and it is very beautiful but both resorts I stayed in, especially this one, were poorly managed. Also, the staff were constantly trying to sell timeshares for this resort and be prepared to be approached numerous times on the beach and at the resort pool by persons not affilliated with the resort trying to sell motorized water sports and excursions. Not a very relaxing vacation with everyone trying to sell you something or trying to get a tip from you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You will be told that you have to return to the lobby on your second day to meet with a resort representative. Don't bother. It's a push to get you to buy a time share at the resort. Instead, spend your time at the beach or pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
La negra chula
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 11, 2011

The most stressful vacation.

The check in process was very stressful. They made us sign so many papers that my husband and I felt like we were buying a house. This is the firts time that everyone have to show an ID at a resort for such reason my sister did not had one and we were given a hard time. When check in was done we waited at least an hour to be taken to the room by the beltman. The staff explained to us that we needed to do a reservation for the restaurant between 9am. to 9p.m. if it was the same day to call before 5 p.m. I called at 10 a.m. for the reservation and there was nothing available for the same day or next day. I constantly called to see if there was a cancellation for any of the restaurants. I ended up eating at the buffet because there was nothing available. Although, the hotel was "all inclusive" there were 3 restaurants not included and you have to pay if you eat there. A person in charge of my room showed up the day of arrival and told us about a private breakfast by the beach the next day at 9 am. Nobody ever showed up to pick us up as he said. The room was not cleaned on our second day at the hotel. The fisrt day there was not soap provided. If you want a safe you have to pay for it and for the password to use wifi (which is very expensive). At this resort only few staff were nice, but for the most part there is not good service. They don't work to earn their tips. The food was okay, had a good taste, the night shows at leat two nights out of four were good and the hotel was very big. My overall experience with this resort was very stressful. I compared this resort with others that I being to and it is nothing closed in regard to services, cleaned and confort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top