$384 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
527 reviews
I love this hotel!!!

My husband and I had the best time ever. We are definitely going to go back. See full review

  • Des Goul1988
  • Nov 24, 2014
Nice hotel with perfect location

I stay here for 8 night and the staff make me feel very special, the animation team is really good,... See full review

  • Nino 1
  • Nov 20, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (527)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
527 out of 527
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 3, 2007

R&R at it's FINEST

After reading several reviews on hotels we were a little skeptical about going to the Dominican Republic. To our surprize it was absolutely the perfect place for R&R. The staff was overally friendly and helpful not to mention most were fun to be around. The beach with its white sand never hot to the touch was beautiful. We never had problems using the catamarans and kayaks although this staff it is obvious is not employed by the hotel. I loved the beach activities such as aeorbics,stretching and games.There is 12 restaurants and making reservations for the evening was easy. The American Grill is NOT a steak house. The beds are hard. We would definately go back to this hotel...it was perfect for the relaxing vacation we were looking for! TCK Atlanta,Ga

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice mall within walking distant. We also went to the town Cortisco to shop...if you like to haggle you will be in paradise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jun 4, 2007

very family friendly

Melia Caribe Tropical was very comfortable, the rooms were large with a living room area. The bathroom was very spacious, I like the fact that had space for hanging your wet clothes. The location was very good. It wasn't far from the airport at all. I woul really recommend it, service was great. Staff were very nice and friendly. My family and I really had a great time. We will difenetely go back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants were at walking distances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 10, 2007

Ver friendly and clean

Melia Caribe is a very nice hotel it is like being in paradise, you just want to stay there everything was perfect, the only thing that I did not like was that everytime we wanted to dine out we had to make reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granada
Jul 15, 2007

Amazing place to be

First thing I have to say ....... if you have a partner or a family its the place to go and relax. The hotel staff were amazing, they helped us booke reservations and answered every questions we had. The resort and the hotel was clean ... the property is very big, so when checking in make sure you get a room close to the ocean. And at night you could walk to the restaurant because there all close to the lobby. Once you get there you know what Im talking about. It will take 15 mintues to walk, but its such a nice walk through the palm streets and little ponds. Just make a drink in your room and walk with it. Like the drink called Mamajuana. They say this drink saves marriages. I think there so true.... because it does get you all wild and crazy. But in a good way. GOOOOOO and have a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Believe me you dont want to leave the resort, it has everything you want. There is a shopping mall that is brand new next to the Hotel. But we never left the resort and the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 19, 2007

Very Satisfied

I must say that I underestimated our resort at first but once we got there, it was so great, like living in paradise. The staff was really friendly and always smiled. Every once in a while, you'd see the same staff member doing a different shift at a different area but one thing is for sure, they were not understaffed. The room was very nice, we stayed in the junior suite facing the garden but next time we go, we will upgrade to the Royal Service. It cost a wee bit more but it has its incentives such as going laying in the private beach w/ beds as they serve you drinks along the beach. They also have a private pool and lounge area where they come to serve you anything from hamburgers to lobster. But if you don't have extra money to spend or don't need all the lavish incentives, you will do just great w/ the regular packet as well. The room was cleaned as least 3-4 times a day w/ clean towels and our beers and other drinks were refilled as well. I must warn you to bring bug spray and spray yourself at night before you go to bed. If your sweet, you will be eaten. For the beach, bring lots of sunblock!!! LOTS!!! Try to get up early and get a little hut on the beach. They also have lots to do, you want to bring extra cash for any excursions or activities but never take the first price, always barter. The banana boat was our favorite. When getting drinks, always ask for them to be fuerte that means strong, otherwise your drinks will be water down. We brought an insulated cup from 7-Eleven (Big Gulp) and that helped us save many trips back to the bar. The buffet's were good, I also didn't expect their food to be so fresh but it was. In order to eat in the restaurants in the evenings, you must reserve early in the morning, otherwise the restaurant of your liking might be full. Our favorite restaurants were the Dominican and the Japanese restaurants. For seafood lovers, you have to go to the Mediterranean restaurant. Although the trip was all inclusive, my boyfriend works in the restaurant business and he insisted on giving our waiters, bartenders and drivers (golf cart) a dollar for tip. It seem to be a good thing because they definitely remembered us everywhere we went and treated us even more nicer than they already were. Not to say if you don't, they will treat you bad because they won't but they were even more attentive. Although we don't have kids, its very kid friendly and there is an area w/ kids activities. There are also some little shops if you walk to the left of the beach facing the water. You definitely want to barter w/ the people from their but at your own risk because it's not part of the resort. They are still friendly though. The hotel is about 20 min from the airport, if you don't have a shuttle included, you'll pay no more than $20-30. You have to pay $10 per person to get in to Punta Cana for taxes and we were told we had to pay $20 to get back out but we didn't pay anything. We also went to club Mangu at another resort, the cab drivers will try to get you for your money, it shouldn't cost no more than $10-14 depending on the cab driver. It cost $6 to get into the club and they give you a ticket for one free drink. Go after Midnight because the party doesn't get started till then. Don't go to the Monte Cristo in the Mall across the street from the resort, they will charge $12 for a drink and hassle you to purchase a bottle. If you don't want to leave the resort, you can go to the tropical lobby to Club Fun, its fun there and sometimes they have parties in certain lobbies or at the beach. They have shows every night too so there is always something to do. Do Not by all means, go to the 90min tour of the hotel. It will take about 2 hours and its their way into getting you to buy a time share. Unless you travel like crazy and have money to spend like water, DON'T Do It!!! Let's just say it's like getting another car note at 13% interest for 50 years. Not good!!! Other tha...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
May 13, 2007

Most Relaxing Vacation EVER

The Melia Caribe Tropical was a wonderful place! We had a 3 year old and stayed on the Tropical side next to the beach, buffet and two swimming pools. We could have asked for a better location. The room was great except our TV's sound had problems. My son loved the train transportation to the front and the most we had to wait for it was maybe 10 minutes. We tipped with 1's and 5's and I can tell you it would get us better service. The buffet was good, but the restaurants were even better. I only wish we stayed there long enough to try all of them. Overall, the trip was fantastic and it was hard to come home (and leave the massages by the pool and the swim up bars and beautiful beaches). My only big complaint was the kids club. It was too baby for my son and they would not let him go outside with the older kids (one year older). Also, the hours are only during the day and should be at night around dinner or the shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Outback Safari excursion is one of the best 8 hour days ever: Boogie Boarding, Visiting a house and school, eating, shopping, smoking cigars, drinking Rum and Coke on the bus!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 21, 2007

Great place to get away and relax

The staff at the Melia Caribe Tropical was extremely warm and friendly. I liked the fact that there was a lot to do at one resort so even after 5 days you'll feel like there's so much more to be seen. The warm, courteous and friendly staff make you feel like family and the variety of foods was delicious. The rooms were cozy though they could do with an upgrade with a little modern touch but nontheless they were kept clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there are places to eat/have refreshments at the mall while you shop just minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 30, 2007

My Paradise Vacation

Our stay at Melia Caribe Tropical, was wonderful!We experience A+ treatment, from the moment we arrived. The friendly staff,rooms,food and the lovely gardens were fantastic. I am fussy when is comes to cleaniness and food. But everything passed my test. This resort I would highly recommemd to everyone. I haven't stopped talking about the paradise we were in. The beaches are so clean and there are so many activities going on there is no time to be bored. Having all inclusive is the way to go. The buffet has such a large variety and can never go hunger.The staff is so friendly, and they are there to help in any area needed, Oh yes! If you know spanish it is helpful but many of them speak english. Again it is paradise and I would certainly return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall in walking distance. Go there to buy gifts. They are much cheaper and you will find bargains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 26, 2007

Relaxing Vacation

Meilia Caribe was a very nice resort. Everything about the trip was great. The only complaint I have is the check in. It took over 45 minutes to get checked in with only 2 people ahead of us. Other than that I would say, Go There!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a new shopping facility if you want to eat something other than resort food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MARIO AND LAURA
Business
MIAMI, FL
Jun 21, 2009

GREAT RELAXING GETAWAY AND GREAT BARGAIN

WE HAD AN AMAZING TIME AT MELIA. WE'RE SO GLAD WE UPGRADED TO THR ROYAL SERVICE. WE WERE TREATED LIKE ROYALTY ALL WE HAD TO DO WAS ASK AND EVERYONE WAS VERY HAPPY TO PLEASE. WARM, FRIENDLY,GENUINE KINDNESS EVERYWHERE WE WENT.YOU GET YOUR MONEYS WORTH AND MORE. COULD NOT HAVE BEEN HAPPIER WITH OUR STAY THERE.HIGHLY RECCOMEND.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

BOOK THE DAY BEFORE TO MAKE SURE YOU GET THE RESTAURANT YOU WANT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top