$346 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
597 out of 597
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Samsue
Business
Stamford, Conn.
Aug 11, 2014

family getaway

awful, bad service. the only good thing was the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vladi1
Business
Salt Lake City, UTAH
Aug 10, 2014

I loved My Honey Moon!

At first, we were a bit nervous about what to expect. We did not know if we were going to get our money's worth. Then, we looked at most of the reviews about the Hotel, compared other Resorts' prices and asked people we know about the rooms, beach, drinks, facility and more. Fist of all, the Hotel is very nice, the outdoors are very clean, the train is always on time, the beach is a beauty, the room is clean and the Buffet has a variety of food. I understand that most travelers want to get the best of the best; however this Hotel is a four-star so expect a four-star hotel and five star service. Most of the negative reviews about this Hotel made me doubt about booking here; however, I am glad I did. It seems that those negative experiences are of people that want to pay little and be treated as king/Queen of England. Do not let negative people dictate your trip; instead, called the Hotel. Melia is a great hotel that offer great service and great staff for a very good price.Also, we bought a Safari to meet Dominican culture and it was a blast, it takes almost the whole day, but you will see how humble Dominicans are. My wife an I could not be any happier since we saved money and had a great experience. Overall, the drinks, food, beach, service and flight were very good. Thank you Melia and thank you Dominicans for making my stay an unforgettable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take cash and no Debit Cards to pay for any souvenir since you might get charge extra fees.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Velia E
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 10, 2014

A great experience!

This was our second trip to Punta Cana, but our first stay at Melia Tropical and we were very happy. There were a few setbacks, but I did enjoy my stay overall. The GREAT: The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well kept, the staff (everyone from the waitstaff to the maids to the front desk) was extremely kind and attentive, the beach and pool areas were clean and beautiful, the restaurants were excellent, and the entertainment was fantastic! The Not-so-Great: For me, the resort was a little too big and spaced out. I did not enjoy having to wait for a train to take me to the beach or the pool everyday. We traveled in a group of 15 and I didn't like that all of our rooms were scattered all over the resort. That was the one big drawback for me. Other than the overwhelming size of the resort, everything was great. We went for a vow renewal ceremony and the staff could not have done a better job of putting together such a beautiful event. I would definitely recommend this resort and consider going back myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the service was excellent for us at the hotel. Our favorite place to eat, however, was at the Market Square for their breakfast buffet. It was always a wonderful spread. We also enjoy La Capri which was Mediterranean. I do recommend that everyone tip their waitstaff, as it really helps them out, and in return, they will do even more to give you a wonderful experience.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoon Vacay
Business
Mississippi
Aug 9, 2014

Beautiful Resort / Rooms Need Cleaning

This resort was absolutely beautiful, but the rooms were simply not as clean as they should be for the prices you pay. The commode leaked and there were small winged bugs dead all over the floor. If the rooms were cleaner, I would recommend this hotel to others, but....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antonio S
Business
Lake Hopatcong NJ
Aug 8, 2014

awesome trip!

everything from the food, room, staff was top notch! they accommodated my family group of 14 with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geoff2028
Business
Centerville, OH
Aug 4, 2014

Wonderful

Helpful staff, wonderful pools, great location, and perfect weather to top it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall that is connected to the Hard Rock Cafe just outside the resort is of decent value and allows you to shop while not being hassled by anyone.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDonVacay
Business
Chicago
Aug 3, 2014

Great Value for the Quality

Firstly, I've got to say this resort is just beautiful. I stayed in the Adults Only area, which had the best location on the resort by far, because it is right in front of their really nice private beach, and also because that area is where the pools are located and has the most shading on the resort. That is not to say that the whole resort wasn't splendid either, it's just that if you want the best setup, leave the kids at home :). I got the all inclusive package(...I don't think Punta Cana trips offer it any other way) and they held up to it. When I got to the lobby, they didn't get/ask for my credit card. Just need your passport, really, while they also serve you martinis while you are sitting down. Afterwards, they showed me around and then straight to my room. The room: Nice, clean, and cold, as well as a giant fan that made it even colder. Beware, that fan is no joke, you're gonna freeze. The shower is nice and seems to always have plenty of hot water, towels, and shampoo or hair gel if you need it. The room also has a mini fridge full of water and soda, as well as a safe for your important stuff. I wasn't expecting much, but this place is really all inclusive. Feel free to eat and drink alot. They know how to make drinks here. However, the buffet could be better. It's okay, has good food depending on the day, but I think they make some of the stuff bland on purpose so that you don't get sick. This is strictly speaking about the buffet, otherwise, they have their separate restaurants that are much better. Though, they have even fancier ones that you have to reserve a day in advance and pay a flat fee. Otherwise, I enjoyed the food because I'm not picky. At one point, I had beer, then two cokes, and then a good cup of coffee in one dinner session. The staff here is pretty good. One last thing, the internet here is decent. It was works well in your room and in the lobbies, but not outside. And if you're the bathroom selfie type...the internet doesn't work there at all. For the most part, I was able to upload picture on Facebook just fine. There isn't much else I can say. As long as you're not demanding a 5 star hotel, the Melia actually provides you quality for an inexpensive stay. It's definitely four star though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waln
Business
Miami
Jul 29, 2014

family

The resort is not family friendly the only way to get the four start treatment is if you are not traveling with children and you have a Level room or are a Club member If not there is no room service no access to the private beach or the private pools and some restaurants are off limits to you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renier
Business
Miami Florida
Jul 25, 2014

Great vacation

This vacation exceeded my expectations. The hotel room was amazing, the staff was friendly and the location was excellent. The staff was able to get us a room just across the pool which was fantastic for our kids. The only downsize, I wish I would have stayed for a longer time. We had a fantastic time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firsttimer12345
Business
Indiana
Jul 21, 2014

Service was good when he got any.

The housekeeping was the most helpful and polite. We felt like we were an inconvenience any other time. Resort was beautiful and beaches we're very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring gum and men's shorts to trade for goods on the beach and any shops in the resort.

Back to menu Return to top