$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
520 reviews
Beautiful Getaway

Enjoyed this beautiful place with my daughter. Wait staff and personnel was great. We had fun in... See full review

  • Tiney
  • Oct 4, 2014
Perfect Honeymoon

My parents gave my husband and I a seven day all inclusive stay at the Melia Tropical as our... See full review

  • Liz061886
  • Sep 23, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (520)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
520 out of 520
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darin from Iowa
Business
West Des Moines, IA
May 9, 2014

Big resort, fun pool/beach, good food/drinks, lots of walking

Pro's: friendly service, lots of places to eat, bars are everywhere, good pool, train/golf cart service for transportation, good drinks, kid friendly resort, awesome beach. Con's: too BIG and have to wait quite a while for the train service...we ended up walking a lot, beds were uncomfortable and we had some minor problems with our room, you have to make a reservation to eat dinner at most of their restaurants, language barrier with a lot of the employees that didn't speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations early for dinner. Food is pretty good everywhere and the staff is super nice. On the drink side, you can't go wrong with the Miami Vice! Highly recommend swimming with the dolphins and the Caribbean Pirate Cruise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CourtneynRandy
Business
Havre de Grace, Maryland
May 9, 2014

PERFECT VACATION!!!!

My husband and I have been twice, and we love it! Whether you are looking for am adults only, or a family resort, Melia Caribe Tropical is the best, hands down! The pools, beach, restaurants and activities are amazing. Most of all, we absolutely love the staff and consider them family. Hector, Eduardo, Alberto and Yahaira were wonderful! They are always friendly, happy and professional which makes Melia the #1 resort in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Awesome
Business
New Jersey
May 5, 2014

Great for Couples - The Level is the Best

Overall I liked my experience at the hotel. I think the staff was nice but you do need to know spanish which may be frustrating for non-spanish speakers. A lot of the staff knows english but they dont all have the best command of the language. The room was nice and always clean. The restaurants at the level were fine but I do think the ones on the other side of the resort were mediocre at best. As far as the restaurants and food go, I would say 4 out 5. I think I just got tired of the same kind of options everyday but the food was good. The grounds were beautiful and the pools were great. I love the adults-only section, it was not too packed and we never had an issue finding chairs which was a big plus for me. Luckily there was always transportation available to the level people. The trolly was kind of annoying so I always had to ask for a golf cart which you can only get at the level. The resort overall was good not amazing. I would definitely go again if the price is right. Great for couples and ladies trips. I would say its worth it because you get what you pay for but definitely do the level as I had better experience with service at the level. P.S. We wanted to golf but only the green fee was waived, they required a golf cart which is $60 and club rental is $45 per person. Not a bad price but considering I paid for the upgrade I would have appreciated if at least the cart fee was waived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jewel nightclub is beautiful and walking distance from the hotel, as is the Palma Real shopping mall which is a great perk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tailgate Nomad
Business
Utah
May 3, 2014

Great, an absoluty great getaway

After reading multiple reviews about different places to stay in the DR, we decided to stay here, specifically at The Levels. Glad we did. This place is awesome. The service is great. The staff make you feel welcomed and accommodate any need you may have. It was great to be able to request simple things, like snack and drink types to have in your room. The dining out experience was also very nice, and because we stayed at The Levels, everything was within walking distance. Overall the food is decent, not excellent, but very good for an all inclusive resort. Good selection and variety. The pasta bar offered during the day gets a little old, but its easy to find something else to eat. They don't have a lot of snack options, especially while hanging out by the pool, but it's not a deal breaker. If we did want to venture out and eat at a different restaurant, go to the casino, shopping, or other areas of the resort, getting transport arranged was super easy. The Mexican Food restaurant on the resort was our least favorite. On a side note, the resort has great coffee and a perfect view of the ocean to enjoy each morning !!! The pool was excellent. Always very clean, and we appreciated the fact it was an adults only area. The bartenders were also very friendly and they played great music. The Miami Vice is a great drink, and the Coco Loco is also tasty. They also offer top shelf alcohol, which is something I haven't seen at other all inclusive resorts, and was not offered at the last place we stayed in the DR. Overall we had a great experience. So if you are looking for a great place to stay and enjoy some time by the pool, the beach, or to get out and about...this place will be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The casino was a nice place to hang out, even if you don't gamble. It was air conditioned, and the bartenders made it fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelor08
Business
South Carlolina
Apr 29, 2014

Couples getaway

Hotel was beautiful, rooms and housekeeping excellent. Beds are oh so comfortable! We stayed at The Level adults only area. Staff was super nice. Food in this area was ok needed some work on veggies and fruits where not sweet. Season on food was bland guess ok for those who like bland foods. A la carte meals where better. Golf carts at the Level to get u around need some help, low on staff. Beach and pool outstanding and beautiful. Make sure u bring enough cash to tip.. Nightlife needs alot of work none after midnight. Casino small but cozy. Pool and beach servers go out of their way to serve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Akon's nightclub called JEWEL is a short walk from the resort. DJ was awesome played all requested songs. Resort nightlife stops at midnight which is a bummer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tania Aloisio
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 24, 2014

Amazing Romantic getaway!!

We arrived and Cesar Valdez our efficient private concierge( now our friend!!)showed a beautiful room prepared with flowers and warm water in jacuzzi (thanks Maria and Francisca!!) We loved everything and don't hesitate and recommend this hotel the level to our friends!! Thanks Alba Garcia and your team: Enerolisa, Luis, Rodolfo, jose Guerrero, walkidia, Rosan, Antonioand Rony Ortiz!!!! We returned to Canada but we never forget your smiles and kindness! Please let them know about it.They deserve!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Palm shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joykitteh
Business
Columbia, Maryland
Apr 21, 2014

Sola chicas (Girls on their own)

I took my 16-year-old daughter to Melia for spring break April 15-18, 2014, and we had an awesome time. Yuli, at the front desk, made us feel right at home. Alex, our concierge, helped us with all our needs. Melia was built on a grand scale -- it is huge and it is clean and beautiful. Little trains run all over the property. The shows every evening are a great way to end the day. The live-band disco that follows was exactly what we needed before crashing for the night. One of my concerns was that you must make reservations for nearly all the restaurants, except the buffet-style Marketplace. On one level, that was OK since it had a great selection of food morning, midday and night. The other was the constant annoyance of trying to sell me "club" memberships, which, back in the day were called timeshares. Still, I would return to Melia in a New York minute! Nice people, good food and a good time. Couldn't ask for more for a few days in April!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

At the airport, your ground transportation contact may tell you to sign up for your return the next morning after you arrive. Actually, you can sign up anytime, even the day before your return. The purpose for the early contact is to try to get you to sign up for tours. The pressure isn't terrible, but it is there. If you are not interested in a tour, there's no reason to stress getting the return voucher signed so early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelor08
Business
South Carlolina
Apr 20, 2014

Just plain Beautiful!

This hotel, location, The Level -Adults only area beautiful. Food is ok in the Level area, have had better at Paradisus Palma Real. Burger was on point. Salmon and shrimp cocktail awesome. Fruits not sweet, veggies overcooked sometimes. No seasoning or condiments used. Rooms are excellent, pool and pool bar awesome as well as the beaches and beach servers. Hotel Night life shuts down at midnight, disappointing. Intimate Casino good. If food and night life where good then i would rate at a 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Jewel nightclub short walking distance from Melia, Obama young handsome fella works for them and sells tickets on hotel premises. Beautiful nightclub by Akon. Dj played all our hip hop, rap and r& b songs we requested....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of Spencer
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 19, 2014

Be careful of this resort's layout!

We visited the first week in march with my active 11 year old son. This is our 5th winter of using all inclusives. The resort is laid out in a rectangular shape going from the beach inland...the beach and the center of the resort (all dining ) are at the small ends. There is a huge amount of very pretty tropical land that one must traverse to get from the beach/pool area to the center where all the restaurants are located. I personally prefer more beachfront dining (there was one bar/grill) near - the beach with some limited beach views which was repetitive and very mediocre. We were able to book specialty restaurants very easily and they were enjoyable - breakfast and lunch however, were limited to two places with very average selection/décor. ACTIVITIES/OTHER : The resort did not promote its activities/offerings overly well and there truly was nothing for the pre-teen/teenagers in terms of organized activities. A big disappointment for us as we have only one child and he is sociable! There is a room with a ping pong table, 3 playstations, fuzz ball and a pool table. It is small, completely undecorated and closed except for a few hours in the evening. Few kids were there. There is only one beach volley ball net, no hammocks, and a giant chess set and Connect 4 game which we were not allowed to use as it sat on the "adults" only section of the beach!! (unused the whole week). Also, there is a severe lack of toilets near the pool/beach/beach restaurant!! There is a zip line which we did several times ($10 each trip). I did not see any snorkeling or any snorkeling equipment provided. There was very little management around - not a lot of people to answer your questions except other guests. Again, NOT Crazy about the layout with all the dining sites being Very inland - away from the beach/pool. Be prepared to walk or take shuttle. The entire resort was spotless and very pretty and the employees were very friendly. However, there are more activities, better food and better layouts elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohioguy83
Business
South bend, IN
Apr 13, 2014

Great beach area, great service,

If you are looking for a great place to relax, this is it. Beautiful beach area and very nice pool ( Levels adult area). The abundance ofpalm trees, palm thatch umbrellas and constant ocean breeze made relaxing on the beach just a wonderful experience. Rooms are average. The grounds are very nice and constantly being maintained. Nice pool in adults area with nice swim up bar. Buffet foods are mediocre, but all of the specialty dinner places had very good food. After dinner entertainment was above average versus other all inclusive places we have been . Lots of people to provide drinks, dinner service was good and rooms were always clean. We will definitely be coming back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations for specialty restaurants right away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top