$276 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
550 out of 550
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G.Q.
Business
miami, fl
Jul 23, 2011

"Great time with friends"

We spent 5 days with 3 other couples at this hotel and had a wonderful time. They upgraded us to a "romance" suite and the room was very comfortable and clean. We had no problem getting reservations at different restaurants. The staff was very friendly and courteous. I would go back to this resort and recommend it to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 21, 2011

Summer vacation

The hotel is very nice, very family oriented, clean. A la carte restaurants are very nice, but you have to make your reservation way ahead of time. The beaches are spectacular. Entertainment is not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny city
Jul 20, 2011

very nice hotel

they have very good service and thyr very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 18, 2011

Great vacation

This was a great resort the best place to eat was the American Grill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobby from Texas
Business
Dallas, TX.
Jul 17, 2011

Fantastic for a family trip!

We were close to the main pool and the beach. We hit the beach early every morning after a great breakfast and then always enjoyed the pool later in the day. The weather was a constant 85 degrees with a nice ocean breeze (awesome for us coming from 102 degrees and no breeze in Texas). We parasailed, swam with the dolphins, and took a snorkeling trip. All three were well done and very enjoyable. Service was great everywhere we went. Easy to get a drink or something to eat. The hosts at the hotel were friendly and service oriented. We made restaurant reservations for five of our seven nights and the resaurants were the very best part of the trip. Excellent service and food! Absolutely no complaints here. My family loved it! The only minor thing I would like to see different would be larger beds in the rooms. They advertised two double beds, but they are small double beds by american standards. We are average sized people and it was tight sleeping. We utilized the sofa bed to give us some room to stretch out a lot more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
La negra chula
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 11, 2011

The most stressful vacation.

The check in process was very stressful. They made us sign so many papers that my husband and I felt like we were buying a house. This is the firts time that everyone have to show an ID at a resort for such reason my sister did not had one and we were given a hard time. When check in was done we waited at least an hour to be taken to the room by the beltman. The staff explained to us that we needed to do a reservation for the restaurant between 9am. to 9p.m. if it was the same day to call before 5 p.m. I called at 10 a.m. for the reservation and there was nothing available for the same day or next day. I constantly called to see if there was a cancellation for any of the restaurants. I ended up eating at the buffet because there was nothing available. Although, the hotel was "all inclusive" there were 3 restaurants not included and you have to pay if you eat there. A person in charge of my room showed up the day of arrival and told us about a private breakfast by the beach the next day at 9 am. Nobody ever showed up to pick us up as he said. The room was not cleaned on our second day at the hotel. The fisrt day there was not soap provided. If you want a safe you have to pay for it and for the password to use wifi (which is very expensive). At this resort only few staff were nice, but for the most part there is not good service. They don't work to earn their tips. The food was okay, had a good taste, the night shows at leat two nights out of four were good and the hotel was very big. My overall experience with this resort was very stressful. I compared this resort with others that I being to and it is nothing closed in regard to services, cleaned and confort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WOODBRIDGE NJ
Jul 6, 2011

"THE WORST RESORT EVER"

tip, tip, tip, tip and u still dont get treated like you should unless its an employee in a golf cart transporting you. if you dont tip him he will never pick u up again and he will let his other "partners in crime" know. dont upgrade, all rooms are the same. stay away from "ROYAL SERVICE", its a waste of money. dont take the "special breakfast" the following morning, its to sell u timeshare and its more than 3 hours(smallest package is 40K a yr).your transportaion meeting the next day is also to sell you excursions, be prepared to spend at least 2 hours sitting at the lobby listening about how wonderful and cheap they are. service, housekeeping, liquor, CONCIERGE, staff all are horrible, they "yes" you to death and dont care. pool is ok till about 3-4pm, then it starts smelling like urine. bathrooms arent near so guess where all the urine goes. no ativities what so ever unless u want to pay a 3rd party company "scuba" for excursions. they are really rude and a bunch of cons. resort is HUGE so be prepared to walk, they provide a "train" but its always full. rsvp for restaurants have to be made 24 hrs in advance and you have to call between 9-10am otherwise its all booked, you have better chances in winning the lotto before anyone picks up the phone. we were "royal service" and still had to BUY our conceirge just to get dinner reservations. food is ok. NO ACTIVITIES ON PROPERTY. water arobics at 12 pool side and thats it. most of the time there is no music pool side. towel exchange is a scam. if you dont return ur towel cards u will get charged $25 at checkout. room safe is $2 bucs a day. rooms are smelly, slippery, & damp. we had to ask for new sheets and pillows before we even had luggage delivered to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montclair, New Jersey
Jun 30, 2011

Great Place-Beware of

Great food, nice pool, don't miss the water sports included. Relax and enjoy it. Beware of the invitation to the welcome breakfast it's high pressure presentation to sell you vacation time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations for the restaurants early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Sun Worshipers
Business
Sacramento
Jun 14, 2011

Beautiful Grounds but Hard to get around

First impression of the hotel was mesmerizing, and the staff was very helpful. However, once you check in the timeshare representatives are trying to sell you a timeshare ( annoying). We managed to avoid their "talk" the remainder of our relaxing vacation. As for reference my husband and I speak Spanish so we had an advantage to keeping the "sharks" (timeshare sellers) away-so to speak. Pros: Beautiful grounds and hotel is kept very clean. Staff works very hard at keeping travelers happy. Cons: Hard to get around must use their shuttle which takes more than 20 mins to return to each stop. No internet access unless you upgrade your room. Food is o.k. it's edible, I've stayed in other all inclusive resorts with better food selection such as mexican hotels. Too relaxing Bring lots of books and entertainment. Bad television cable selections. (No HBO or other movie channels) Mosquitos-Bring insect repellent and something to place in your room. They will get you and some of those babies carry diseases. Thank goodness we did not get sick-that i know of. Their gift shop is overpriced, so try not to forget anything. No bathroom or bar in the beach area-had to walk a long way when needed to use the restroom or get something to drink. Restaurants were a 20 min ride via shuttle/train when needed to eat. We went to bed without eating dinner a few times because we wanted to avoid the fuss. Keep in mind the grounds are very large. No Room Service. Also, When you arrive at the airport they will charge you $10.00 per person fee/tax- I just paid it, whatever? If you do the Island tour keep in mind it will be an all day event-2 hour drive through the ghetto with a crazy driver going over 100 miles/h. Once you arrive to the marina they take you to the island via catamaran (another hour) it was very pretty their and the food they provided was good (the best out of the whole trip). We stayed at the island for about 2 hours then they took us to some hot springs in the middle of the ocean (i did not want to get out-scary) in a stinky little boat. Lets just say I couldn't wait to get back to my hotel-it was truly a long tour. We could have skipped this tour and saved ourselves $200.00. FYI-I heard from another couple that was with us that Manatee park was better. I hope this review was helpful to other travelers and i also hope Melia will change the flaws this hotel has because it has a lot of potential. The Gran Melia Cancun is by far the best hotel in their line. I would return but it will be a very long time because the plane ride was too exhausting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Best time to go to the Dominican Republic-in terms of weather is April. We had some very rainy days, so learn from our mistake and avoid May-October. We asked staff they said that spring break is best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jtks
Business
new york
Jun 4, 2011

the best vacation

beautiful grounds, immaculate rooms and pools..great food, relaxing atmosphere, the staff was more then friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

try the italian themed restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top