$290 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
598 out of 598
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neli
Business
Iowa, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Okay for couples and young people

The place is huge so it takes forever to get to the place to place for example to go to eat and then to the beach, to the room, you have to take a train ride from place to place and every time you loose about 10-15 min minimum. Room was clean but had ants also the bed was very uncomfortable. At the buffets it would take forever to get the drinks or whatever you order, so we ended up ordering a double every time so by the time they remember to bring you your order you have a backup. We were not a satisfied with the staff, because they either forget what you ordered or they dont come forever...Now there are some representatives in the lobby promoting a new area of the resort. The first day of the arrival they send you to talk to them and they promise everything and anything but you have to have a breakfast with them so they can offer you a share time package and they will tell you that it's not the share time but it is. Once you tell them that you are not interested in breakfast with them, they automatically become very rude and don't even want to talk to you...at least that how this D. guy was to us...as soon as we told him we did not want breakfast he was very rude and mad at us...and told us...I cant help you, do it yourself... so overall it's okay but not the best especially for the four star resort...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Nice shows and entertainment in the main lobby.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PERSISTNCONQUER
Business
Union City, NJ, USA
Sep 11, 2011

GOOD TIME

Room cleanliness was the main problem. Had not seen roaches in a hotel of that caliber. Staff did clean well after being approached and creepy crawlers stood away. (Tips used for encouragement). Good time over all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ATV tour was great. Shop around before booking. There's a main area for attractions, but other companies found within the hotel have competative rates

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chary
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 8, 2011

not what i expected for my anniversary

had trouble eating at restaurants,they ask for reservation in advanced,and everytime i called they claimed they were booked,had to go to manager everytime or tip someone to be able to eat @ restaurants in melias resort.,was very annoying that my 6 members of my family were there to celebrate my anniversary and we had to argued with reception to be able to eat at restaurant.food was mostly cold,and variaety same as dominican european and chinese same recipite for seafood mixed. they're not all inclusive like they say you must pay for lobster and stakes and for safe deposit i preffered majestic at punta cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you must take train to get to destination,too far distance to walk to.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chary
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 8, 2011

not what i expected for my anniversary

had trouble eating at restaurants,they ask for reservation in advanced,and everytime i called they claimed they were booked,had to go to manager everytime or tip someone to be able to eat @ restaurants in melias resort.,was very annoying that my 6 members of my family were there to celebrate my anniversary and we had to argued with reception to be able to eat at restaurant.food was mostly cold,and variaety same as dominican european and chinese same recipite for seafood mixed. they're not all inclusive like they say you must pay for lobster and stakes and for safe deposit i preffered majestic at punta cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you must take train to get to destination,too far distance to walk to.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
blaze
Business
Baltimore, Md.
Aug 31, 2011

Best trip ever!

My wife and I have been to a few different countries, this trip by far surpasses them all. The only issue was the 3rd world country cab to the hotel. Seemed there was confusion on who was going to take us. Not an issue as we arrived at the Melia Caribe. One word...PERFECT! Staff, accomedations, food, rooms with marble floors, food was terrific! We are actually planning on going back to the same place. Well worth the money and time. If you purchase anything from the local vendors, you CAN haggle them. Do not pay face value. Example, bought a necklace, ring and earrings they started at $185, got them to take $20.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you have no intention of purchasing a time share, tell your concier you dont want to go. He signed us up automatically and hounded us until i told him to quit asking or I will get very upset. Had to raise my voice and be firm with him until he go the point.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonimo
Business
United States
Aug 29, 2011

Not very good

The staff is GREAT, but the place was loud, full of people, and the food is TERRIBLE, but I guess that is what you get at an all inclusive. We had to upgrade to improve the room and stay at a less crowded and more comfortable place (and pay quite a few more hundred dollars).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bern
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Melia Caribe Tropical Fantastic

Hello the Melia Caribe Tropical is a beautiful and friendly please to bring your. It was so nice I am now member of the family. Best of all I was here the week 8/20-8/27 when Hurrican Irene hit. She us in Punta Cana, then I couldn't get home to New York on 8/27. Needless to say the resort was very accommodating and letting us stay for a view days when the first flight I could get was on Friday 9/2. Thank you Melia Tropical. Now I need to see how Orbitz will help me out. If going to Punta Cana I recommend Meila Caribe Tropical. What a great place, you will love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All inculsive. If you like to eat. This is the place to be.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dboogs
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Good Family Vacay

Our time at Melia Caribe Tropical was very good. For the most part, the staff were nice. We did encounter some attitude from a couple staff, especially 2 at the Marketplace. There was an abundance of good food and drinks and that's a great plus. The resort grounds are beautiful and magnificently well kept. The staff on the grounds were wonderful and accommodating. The location of the resort is just a bit too far from the off resort beach and some other activity locations. Overall it was a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Riding the ATV's and Quads was a blast and well worth the price. It's a great excursion, only the beach time is too short.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bronson
Business
San Antonio, TX USA
Aug 22, 2011

All-inclusive was great

The food was really delicious at every restaurant. There were 4 trains to transport us around the property, so we never had to wait more than a minute or 2 for a ride. That being said, I will never stay at another resort that large again. All the staff are very friendly, and the grounds and beach are gorgeous and clean. We took a tour to Altos de Chavon and Catalina Island. It was a 15 hour day, so way too long and disappointing that we only got about 30 minutes at Chavon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Having to make a reservation for dinner was a hassle for many, with lack of correct info. You can either call the day before or between 9-5 on the day. You can also show up and see if they have a free table. We never had a problem.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CeeTwo
Business
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Good family vacation...

Our family had good time in the pools and the ocean, where we hang out most of the time. Though families with smaller kids (we have teenagers) may find Cancun or Bahamas have more activities for their children. Rooms are clean and comfortable, though the beds are a little soft. Each room has a couch that can turn into an extra single bed. Check-in line moves very slowly. Check-out is much faster. Buffets are pretty good and convenient. Restaurants required reservations for diner, but almost always fully booked since early morning. For "all inclusive" I don't think the surcharges ($35/person for Steak & Lobster restaurant, or $30/person for Japanese restaurant) are worthy. The Thai restaurant's foods are barely passable. Other restaurants are quite good -- good foods, courteous services, very leisure pace. Overall: very good and worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't try to book a restaurant reservation yourself. Phone lines are very busy since early morning and, when you get through, the restaurant you want is most likely already fully booked. Tip the concierge the day before and let him "do the magics".

Back to menu Return to top