$326 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
547 out of 547
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
saby
Business
ny
Jul 31, 2011

good place for a pool vacation

the hotel need repairs we had to upgrade costing us $700 more the hot tub never worked we never got a refund for the extra money we payed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 31, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

this resort was incredible, private beaches, great pools,great services...miss my family I wish they were there with us haven good time like us..people were very helpful every thing we ask we got it. We give a lot of credit to the people that works there, service was the best we ever have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

every thing u need to have a good time @ the same location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 30, 2011

Underwhelmed

Our family of 15 just visited the Melia Caribe Tropical resort in Punta Cana. The resort grounds were beautiful and filled with many beautiful animals from peacocks to guineas. The rooms were also very clean. The double were a little small, but they were ok. However, the good news stops there. It took us over an hour to check-in because the employees at the check-in counter try to sell you upgrade packages and do not want to take no for an answer. Check-in was a lot more difficult than any of us anticipated it to be. Once we were finally checked in, we were told to meet our vacation representative (who was actually very, very nice) to set up our excursions. At that time we were approached by a vacation club salesman that works for the Melia, who offered to handle our restaurant reservations for the duration of our stay. Unfortunately, once we declined to attend his sales presentation he completely skipped out on us and we were left without restaurant reservations. Our family tried to make restaurant reservations on our own, but to no avail. The staff was not accommodating to our family of 15 and instead explained that they did not have the room to accommodate such large groups. When I went on to explain that they claim to be a family oriented resort, the man simply had no response and said there was nothing that could be done. The large buffet restaurant also gave us a hard time to seat our group and would also made unnecessary comments when we would approach them. The resort also lacked activities. It is not a good place to bring children. Both the children and adults found themselves to be bored if were not at the pool or the beach (which was covered in seaweed). Overall, our family will be returning to Punta Cana because it is a beautiful place! However, we will never be retuning to the Melia Caribe Tropical!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA.
Jul 30, 2011

Not So Good

Check in took about an hour. There was a big glass drink service with some sort of juice in the lobby, but no one offered us anything nor did any wait staff come and ask us if we wanted a drink and I saw several of them taking other people's orders. I was traveling with my 87 year old mother and no one offered any assistance for her. We met my brother, his wife, and three children from Houston there. Our three rooms were large (junior suites) and on the main level but had a distinct mildewy odor that we smelled for the first 2-3 days then apparently we got used to it. The air conditioner had some problems cooling. Our first night there, my brother's room had a broken toilet and had to call the front desk at LEAST six times to get it fixed! Then, when they got in bed for the night, there were no sheets on the bed! We were missing some towels in our room the first day but thereafter, the maid brought the towels that we needed. There is an extra $2 a day charge to use the safe deposit box! The grounds on the property were beautiful and if they only attended to their customers like they do the grounds, they would have a better hotel! There was definitely a language barrier but my brother's wife speaks Spanish and she was a life saver! You had to make a reservation in advance for the restaurants but each night we went they said they had no reservation in our name. Also, you don't get to go to all the restaurants, there are two that they charge an extra $35 if you choose to eat lobster and steak or sushi. While some of the staff was very friendly and helpful, I would say most were not. There are people on the grounds that try to sell excursions and they are not portrayed honestly. Swimming with the dolphins was actually only touching the dolphins and swimming with sea lions was also to be included, but when we got to the facility, there was an extra $35 per person charge! It just seemed there was always a scam going on. Food in the buffet (for breakfast and lunch) was very mediocre at best. We ate at the Dominican Republic restaurant- awful, French- very good, Italian- very good, American- very good. The water in the ocean was full of seaweed. They clean the beach every day and it helps the beach area but it feels slimy and nasty in the water. Upon leaving yesterday, I had to call for a cart to come and get our luggage at least 3 times and another number in order to be picked up and taken to the lobby for check out at least 3 times as well. We finally went outside and flagged down our own ride. Entertainment at night was boring. Alcoholic beverages were mediocre. We had a great time anyway just to be with our family, but would never stay at this resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 28, 2011

Wasn't that great!

* The resort was too big, my room was closed to the lobby, to get to the poor/beach we had to wait for the train in the hot weather, it took around 15 mins of sitting on the train to get to the poor/beach * Too much mosquitos * 4 buffets, but only 1 opened for dinner * 8 of the restaurants required reservation for dinner, and men are required to dress up * Don't ever book the ground transportation with your travel package, I had such an horrible experience which this services. On the day that we support to get to the airport and return home, the driver promised to pick us up but they never did. We waited for 30 mins and finally had to take the taxi to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Jul 26, 2011

relaxing gateway

hotel was very nice, check in was slow and needed to be better organized. Bed was also not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCer
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 26, 2011

Beautiful and relaxing

Very beautiful, and relaxing. Lots of activities. Truly all-inclusive, from food to alcohol to activities. We never even left the compound! A very large place, so I appreciated the "train" that took us around regularly. Couldn't ask for a better beach to walk out on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G.Q.
Business
miami, fl
Jul 23, 2011

"Great time with friends"

We spent 5 days with 3 other couples at this hotel and had a wonderful time. They upgraded us to a "romance" suite and the room was very comfortable and clean. We had no problem getting reservations at different restaurants. The staff was very friendly and courteous. I would go back to this resort and recommend it to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 21, 2011

Summer vacation

The hotel is very nice, very family oriented, clean. A la carte restaurants are very nice, but you have to make your reservation way ahead of time. The beaches are spectacular. Entertainment is not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny city
Jul 20, 2011

very nice hotel

they have very good service and thyr very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top