$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
718 reviews
Great vacation

This vacation exceeded my expectations. The hotel room was amazing, the staff was friendly and the... See full review

  • Renier
  • Jul 25, 2014
Room service

I love the hotel and the services that the provide to make my vacation pleasant. I would like to... See full review

  • Ginou 36
  • Jul 15, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (718)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
718 out of 718
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mc1068
Denver
Jun 6, 2014

fabulous family getaway

The resort was the best vacation I have had. And would return again it was like fantasy island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delia Janet
Bayonne, NJ
Jun 4, 2014

GRADUATION PARTY

Good experience, will recommend to my friends. Definetely will come back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paola7565
Bayonne, NJ
Jun 3, 2014

really nice

we spent a gret time at the Melia, ppl is very friendly and food is amazing, we'll come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer DMV Girl
Washington, D.C.
Jun 2, 2014

One of the Best Vacations, Will Return!

It was my first trip visiting Punta Cana and buying an all inclusive package. I was really impressed as soon as I arrived. It was only a 20 minute ride from the airport and we were received with friendly and attentive staff. The atmosphere is welcoming and just beautiful to walk around with the man made sceneries & interesting birds. During the day we were able to visit plazas, enjoy the private beach, the pools, or signed up for excursions. For the night, we made reservations earlier in the day to the many different offered cuisine restaurants on the resort. The only downside of the resort was minimal access to WIFI but besides that it was overall a great experience. Definitely will return to the Melia Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

I recommend to call for dinner reservations to the different cuisine restaurants early in the morning or even a day before. Making a same day reservation by late afternoon will only have availability for a very late dinner.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Red and Port City
Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Jun 2, 2014

True Paradise.....

Pool was amazing. Beach was beautiful. Didn't like the seaweed though. Staff were perfect. Alexis Castillo was our receptionist. He was exceptional. Ronnie was our private butler. He was awesome. Food was bland. The pirates cruise food was excellent. Only downside was the cd i purchased on the pirate cruise didn't work. True romance trip. Met alot of other tourists. Be sure to do the Boogie ride. I had some a great time. Can't wait to go back here. We stayed at the level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike4678613
chicago
Jun 1, 2014

the place was great!

they place was wonderful. the staff was vary helpful. we had a issue with are toilet that they tired to fix a few times but it wasn't that bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

make sure you get all your dinner stuff and the welcome breakfast out of the way otherwise they keep bugging you about it.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nv wings
Linden. NJ
May 30, 2014

Fantastic

It was our third time visiting this hotel so that should speak for itself. It is beautiful and well taken care of. The only thing is that the staff was a little slow at getting our drinks/food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
judisteve
worcester Ma.
May 24, 2014

May 2014

My boyfriend and I chose this resort because we stayed at a Melia in Cancun the year before. We are in love with the Carribean so we chose Punta Cana this year. The resort ground were outstanding, breathtaking, yes there was some walking involved but who complains on a beautiful morning to walk 5 minutes to the beautiful beach, the night life could have been better but we made our own and had an amazing stay. We didn't even upgrade as planned, we truely had a more than fantastic time.The food although not 5 star quaility still very good, just wish the entire resort was open to us even without the upgrade, so much to see and had a blast. Go!!! If you love the outdoors, sunshine, palm trees, and white sandy beaches surrounded by impecable taste and staff then go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Jewel, it may not be busy but its an amazing club with amazing design and d.j. that you can't help but wanna rock the place..

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ankeny IA couple
iowa
May 24, 2014

wonderful couples getaway

We recently stayed 5 night in the Level - Adults Only & had a wonderful time. Super Danny was an amazing concierge & service was prompt. Food choices could be better with more variety other than that would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No kids no worries
Mississippi
May 21, 2014

Third time staying.

Last three times we've traveled to the DR, we always look for different hotels to stay in. Every single time we pick Melia. It just doesn't get any better. Food is great and the staff is awesome. They finally left us alone and did not try to push their timeshare business on us. That alone made the trip worth while. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get sunburn, or want to buy souvenirs, the shopping plaza right in front of the hotel has better prices than the gift shop on site and the pharmacy sells aloe based products way cheaper than the gift shop stuff.

Back to menu Return to top