$384 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
527 reviews
I love this hotel!!!

My husband and I had the best time ever. We are definitely going to go back. See full review

  • Des Goul1988
  • Nov 24, 2014
Nice hotel with perfect location

I stay here for 8 night and the staff make me feel very special, the animation team is really good,... See full review

  • Nino 1
  • Nov 20, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (527)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
527 out of 527
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthdaygirl25
Business
Minnesota
Sep 21, 2014

Birthday weekend getaway

My husband and I went here for my birthday weekend 9-16 through 9-20. This was our first time in the Dominican Republic but not our first time at this chain of resorts. As soon as we arrived to the resort we were welcomed by the friendly staff. Check in was pretty painless. Upon check in the staff member wished me a happy birthday then we were upgraded to "the level". I thought she was being kind since it was my birthday but later found out chatting with others at the resort we weren't that special. The resort was doing construction... The beach was gorgeous minus the awful seaweed!! You couldn't go into the ocean without it touch you. The beach security was amazing, they didn't allow pesky people near you that were trying to sell junk. Biggest complaint was the food. So very hard to get dinner reservations! And I believe since it was the off season they rotated that restaurant were open. Make your dinner reservations the day before! The drinks weren't watered down!! Which was amazing. The resort is HUGE! Pretty sure we didn't see half of the resort. Bring good walking shoes. The Dominican isn't a very clean island and definitely has some cleaning and landscaping to do. That's one thing the Hotel did right. The lawns looked beautiful, and made you feel like we were in a completely different place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel the wifey
Business
USA
Sep 19, 2014

Honeymoon

LOVED Punta Cana! The resort was so big, our room was perfect, so many activities and staff was so friendly! Love it.The beach was a bit dirty so we stayed at the pool. Also wish zthere was more entertainment in the late evenings. Food was good drinks were amazing! Overall we enjoyed stay !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you take your time and review all the activities that are available at the resort otherwise you get carried away and then you realize there are more activities you can do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bellaluxebeauty
Business
New Jersey
Sep 12, 2014

Beautiful Property

Beautiful property.... very big and everything was conveniently located. Food was awful though... always cold no matter what time you went & always looked as if it was sitting. Alcohol watered down as usual but that's par for the course for an all inclusive. They are relentless in selling the timeshare also. Was sick of saying no. To conclude, property was beautiful, food sucked and the beach was not the best. A lot of seaweed.... have seen more beautiful water.... plenty of beach chairs and beautiful pool. Boring nightlife.... Would not stay here again. Liked Dreams resort better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

They don't care anymore when you're checking out so call early to get bags picked up. We almost missed shuttle to airport and we called 30 minutes early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashleyjoaquin
Business
Hazlet New Jersey
Aug 31, 2014

Amazing ! Can't wait to go back !!

The melia is gorgeous and perfect for a romantic get away ! My boyfriend and I stayed at the level ( adults only ) section , with a jacuzzi , which I highly recommend. Our concierge was Samuel , we called him Sam the man , cause he was! He made our dinner reservations , transportation for dinner , sent us champagne and even left us a surprise in the room for our anniversary. At the level you do not need reservations for dinner and it's called the cuattro . They have a buffet for breakfast lunch and dinner , a pasta bar with pizza for snacks , an a la cart lunch a steak and lobster house which you do not need to pay extra for and an Italian. They were all so good and really no reason to go to the other restaurants we just wanted to try them we tried the Dominican and hibachi , both we were disappointed wasn't worth it. Dominican restaurant service was poor and good was eh , hibachi they squeezed us on a table with 14 people and you get 3 little pieces of chicken and 3 little pieces of steak for $39 per person extra...not worth it. At the steak house at the level ask for Domingo , he was awesome , very out going and always made sure everything was perfect ! The pool and landscape of the melia was beautiful and very well kept ! Everyone working there was so nice and helpful , they always had a smile on their face from the Morning until night. At the beach , which was beautiful a little seaweed here and there though, Ramon would always check up on us with our drinks and make sure we were okay. With that being said TIPPING is very very appreciated there and they are very thankful when you do. The melia was amazing , my boyfriend and I can not wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LargerThanLifeSizeBarbie
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Aug 26, 2014

It was ok.

I had multiple issues with my room. My overall experience wasn't a good on...At all!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris Kowal
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 23, 2014

Fantastic getaway

My girlfriend and I just loved the Resort. It was so beautiful and peaceful. The staff was very helpful and very nice. Food was amazing, the view, the atmosphere and everything in-between. Only issue was that we were at a sales pitch to buy a somewhat of a time share almost as we got to the resort. Other than a little time spent away from the vacation everything was spectacular!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
budget traveling
Business
New York
Aug 22, 2014

summer vacation

The resort is beautiful. The Japanese restaurant is a must it's worth the $33 extra. The staff is a hit or miss some are really nice others are just upset at life, and going outside of the resort, i can see why, at the same time you have a job to do. So be careful, bring singles $ if you feel like tipping. The fun pub is a waste of time. Remember you make your vacation, the resort just provides you a control environment to have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Akon's club Jewels if you have a large group.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atlanta Milf
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2014

Fabulous Getaway

From start to finish everything was great. The only thing was that we couldn't get reservation at all the restsurants, but that's because the hotel was booked. Would definitely recommend for families or couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you're trying to save money, shop for trinkets outside the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Huebc
Business
Baltimore
Aug 19, 2014

Couldn't be Better

This is my 2nd time at this resort and the experience was absolutely marvelous. The hotel staff makes you feel at home and the facilities on site will keep you entertained. I can't wait for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Please signup for dinner at their special restaurant in the evening. Food is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nick 2014
Business
new jersey
Aug 17, 2014

The Level was great

First all inclusive stay. We picked the level adult only section and could not have had better experience. Staff was great and always made sure we had a great time. Level food was great also. Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pick the level option

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top