$276 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
551 out of 551
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pgoty
Business
washington dc
May 10, 2014

Excellent Getaway!!

My wife and I made reservations at the Melia Caribe for a getaway. All I can say is Wow, no complaints. We are definitely coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darin from Iowa
Business
West Des Moines, IA
May 9, 2014

Big resort, fun pool/beach, good food/drinks, lots of walking

Pro's: friendly service, lots of places to eat, bars are everywhere, good pool, train/golf cart service for transportation, good drinks, kid friendly resort, awesome beach. Con's: too BIG and have to wait quite a while for the train service...we ended up walking a lot, beds were uncomfortable and we had some minor problems with our room, you have to make a reservation to eat dinner at most of their restaurants, language barrier with a lot of the employees that didn't speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations early for dinner. Food is pretty good everywhere and the staff is super nice. On the drink side, you can't go wrong with the Miami Vice! Highly recommend swimming with the dolphins and the Caribbean Pirate Cruise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CourtneynRandy
Business
Havre de Grace, Maryland
May 9, 2014

PERFECT VACATION!!!!

My husband and I have been twice, and we love it! Whether you are looking for am adults only, or a family resort, Melia Caribe Tropical is the best, hands down! The pools, beach, restaurants and activities are amazing. Most of all, we absolutely love the staff and consider them family. Hector, Eduardo, Alberto and Yahaira were wonderful! They are always friendly, happy and professional which makes Melia the #1 resort in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Awesome
Business
New Jersey
May 5, 2014

Great for Couples - The Level is the Best

Overall I liked my experience at the hotel. I think the staff was nice but you do need to know spanish which may be frustrating for non-spanish speakers. A lot of the staff knows english but they dont all have the best command of the language. The room was nice and always clean. The restaurants at the level were fine but I do think the ones on the other side of the resort were mediocre at best. As far as the restaurants and food go, I would say 4 out 5. I think I just got tired of the same kind of options everyday but the food was good. The grounds were beautiful and the pools were great. I love the adults-only section, it was not too packed and we never had an issue finding chairs which was a big plus for me. Luckily there was always transportation available to the level people. The trolly was kind of annoying so I always had to ask for a golf cart which you can only get at the level. The resort overall was good not amazing. I would definitely go again if the price is right. Great for couples and ladies trips. I would say its worth it because you get what you pay for but definitely do the level as I had better experience with service at the level. P.S. We wanted to golf but only the green fee was waived, they required a golf cart which is $60 and club rental is $45 per person. Not a bad price but considering I paid for the upgrade I would have appreciated if at least the cart fee was waived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jewel nightclub is beautiful and walking distance from the hotel, as is the Palma Real shopping mall which is a great perk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tailgate Nomad
Business
Utah
May 3, 2014

Great, an absoluty great getaway

After reading multiple reviews about different places to stay in the DR, we decided to stay here, specifically at The Levels. Glad we did. This place is awesome. The service is great. The staff make you feel welcomed and accommodate any need you may have. It was great to be able to request simple things, like snack and drink types to have in your room. The dining out experience was also very nice, and because we stayed at The Levels, everything was within walking distance. Overall the food is decent, not excellent, but very good for an all inclusive resort. Good selection and variety. The pasta bar offered during the day gets a little old, but its easy to find something else to eat. They don't have a lot of snack options, especially while hanging out by the pool, but it's not a deal breaker. If we did want to venture out and eat at a different restaurant, go to the casino, shopping, or other areas of the resort, getting transport arranged was super easy. The Mexican Food restaurant on the resort was our least favorite. On a side note, the resort has great coffee and a perfect view of the ocean to enjoy each morning !!! The pool was excellent. Always very clean, and we appreciated the fact it was an adults only area. The bartenders were also very friendly and they played great music. The Miami Vice is a great drink, and the Coco Loco is also tasty. They also offer top shelf alcohol, which is something I haven't seen at other all inclusive resorts, and was not offered at the last place we stayed in the DR. Overall we had a great experience. So if you are looking for a great place to stay and enjoy some time by the pool, the beach, or to get out and about...this place will be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The casino was a nice place to hang out, even if you don't gamble. It was air conditioned, and the bartenders made it fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelor08
Business
South Carlolina
Apr 29, 2014

Couples getaway

Hotel was beautiful, rooms and housekeeping excellent. Beds are oh so comfortable! We stayed at The Level adults only area. Staff was super nice. Food in this area was ok needed some work on veggies and fruits where not sweet. Season on food was bland guess ok for those who like bland foods. A la carte meals where better. Golf carts at the Level to get u around need some help, low on staff. Beach and pool outstanding and beautiful. Make sure u bring enough cash to tip.. Nightlife needs alot of work none after midnight. Casino small but cozy. Pool and beach servers go out of their way to serve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Akon's nightclub called JEWEL is a short walk from the resort. DJ was awesome played all requested songs. Resort nightlife stops at midnight which is a bummer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tania Aloisio
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 24, 2014

Amazing Romantic getaway!!

We arrived and Cesar Valdez our efficient private concierge( now our friend!!)showed a beautiful room prepared with flowers and warm water in jacuzzi (thanks Maria and Francisca!!) We loved everything and don't hesitate and recommend this hotel the level to our friends!! Thanks Alba Garcia and your team: Enerolisa, Luis, Rodolfo, jose Guerrero, walkidia, Rosan, Antonioand Rony Ortiz!!!! We returned to Canada but we never forget your smiles and kindness! Please let them know about it.They deserve!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Palm shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joykitteh
Business
Columbia, Maryland
Apr 21, 2014

Sola chicas (Girls on their own)

I took my 16-year-old daughter to Melia for spring break April 15-18, 2014, and we had an awesome time. Yuli, at the front desk, made us feel right at home. Alex, our concierge, helped us with all our needs. Melia was built on a grand scale -- it is huge and it is clean and beautiful. Little trains run all over the property. The shows every evening are a great way to end the day. The live-band disco that follows was exactly what we needed before crashing for the night. One of my concerns was that you must make reservations for nearly all the restaurants, except the buffet-style Marketplace. On one level, that was OK since it had a great selection of food morning, midday and night. The other was the constant annoyance of trying to sell me "club" memberships, which, back in the day were called timeshares. Still, I would return to Melia in a New York minute! Nice people, good food and a good time. Couldn't ask for more for a few days in April!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

At the airport, your ground transportation contact may tell you to sign up for your return the next morning after you arrive. Actually, you can sign up anytime, even the day before your return. The purpose for the early contact is to try to get you to sign up for tours. The pressure isn't terrible, but it is there. If you are not interested in a tour, there's no reason to stress getting the return voucher signed so early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelor08
Business
South Carlolina
Apr 20, 2014

Just plain Beautiful!

This hotel, location, The Level -Adults only area beautiful. Food is ok in the Level area, have had better at Paradisus Palma Real. Burger was on point. Salmon and shrimp cocktail awesome. Fruits not sweet, veggies overcooked sometimes. No seasoning or condiments used. Rooms are excellent, pool and pool bar awesome as well as the beaches and beach servers. Hotel Night life shuts down at midnight, disappointing. Intimate Casino good. If food and night life where good then i would rate at a 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Jewel nightclub short walking distance from Melia, Obama young handsome fella works for them and sells tickets on hotel premises. Beautiful nightclub by Akon. Dj played all our hip hop, rap and r& b songs we requested....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of Spencer
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 19, 2014

Be careful of this resort's layout!

We visited the first week in march with my active 11 year old son. This is our 5th winter of using all inclusives. The resort is laid out in a rectangular shape going from the beach inland...the beach and the center of the resort (all dining ) are at the small ends. There is a huge amount of very pretty tropical land that one must traverse to get from the beach/pool area to the center where all the restaurants are located. I personally prefer more beachfront dining (there was one bar/grill) near - the beach with some limited beach views which was repetitive and very mediocre. We were able to book specialty restaurants very easily and they were enjoyable - breakfast and lunch however, were limited to two places with very average selection/décor. ACTIVITIES/OTHER : The resort did not promote its activities/offerings overly well and there truly was nothing for the pre-teen/teenagers in terms of organized activities. A big disappointment for us as we have only one child and he is sociable! There is a room with a ping pong table, 3 playstations, fuzz ball and a pool table. It is small, completely undecorated and closed except for a few hours in the evening. Few kids were there. There is only one beach volley ball net, no hammocks, and a giant chess set and Connect 4 game which we were not allowed to use as it sat on the "adults" only section of the beach!! (unused the whole week). Also, there is a severe lack of toilets near the pool/beach/beach restaurant!! There is a zip line which we did several times ($10 each trip). I did not see any snorkeling or any snorkeling equipment provided. There was very little management around - not a lot of people to answer your questions except other guests. Again, NOT Crazy about the layout with all the dining sites being Very inland - away from the beach/pool. Be prepared to walk or take shuttle. The entire resort was spotless and very pretty and the employees were very friendly. However, there are more activities, better food and better layouts elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top