$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Melia Tropical All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Cana, Playa de Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
516 reviews
Five stars experience.

Excellent! We did the upgrade to the Level. Very clean, staff is very friendly and the food is... See full review

  • Nat26
  • Aug 15, 2014
Honeymoon hotspot

My wife and I had the best honeymoon we could ever imagine. The food, staff, pools, alcohol, and... See full review

  • gIMpSTa
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 10 swimming pools
The perfect getaway for couples and families, Melia Tropical All Inclusive fronts the famed white sands and gentle water at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. The all-inclusive resort features more than a dozen restaurants, a casino, a business center, activities clubs for kids, two spas and 10 swimming pools, plus golf right next door. More than 1,100 stylish guest rooms feature a range of amenities from private balcony to a Balinese bed or private butler.
Highlights
  • Drop the kids at a choice of three age-appropriate kids clubs, or the video arcade for teens
  • Relax at two on-site spas with sauna, steam room, whirlpool, fitness center and spa services
  • Enjoy access to an on-property business center with Internet, fax and copy services
Location
Melia Tropical rests oceanfront at Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Palma Real Shopping Village is just down the road. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for its sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
With more than 1,100 suites, Melia Tropical delivers upscale style and a range of special amenities. All include private balcony or patio, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, cable television and direct-dial phone. Depending upon the room, amenities might include a Balinese bed, hydro-massage tub, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), king bed, kitchen supplies, butler service or two levels of living space.
Dining
Melia Tropical offers three buffet restaurants and 10 international a la carte restaurants, including Asian at La Pagoda, Dominican at El Guarapo and French at Ma Maison, plus the Gabi Club for Royal Service guests. The resort also has 14 bars.
Recreation
Guests can experience all-inclusive fun at Melia Tropical. A stay includes access to a casino, two spas, 10 freeform and lagoon-style swimming pools, kayaking, canoeing, windsurfing and more. For extra fees, the resort also offers golf (nearby), diving and snorkeling excursions.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (31.5 mi/50.8 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (53.1 mi/85.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (64.7 mi/104 km)
  • Santo Domingo (140 mi/226 km)

Hotel Map

18.6749 -68.41
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving time is 20 minutes. La Romana International Airport (LRM) - Estimate driving time is 90 minutes.
Area description
In an exclusive zone of white sand and crystal water with Lake style swimming pools.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Tropical All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Melia Tropical All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Service One Bedroom Master Suites with jacuzzi
Offers the Deluxe One Bedroom Master Suites with living room and dining room (815 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Deluxe Junior Suite
All deluxe Junior Suite style presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 2 children, respectively. All rooms have been decorated in an elegant Caribbean style, with warm tropical colors, and have central air conditioning, ceiling fans, safety deposit box ($), color cable TV with remote control, mini-bar supplied with soft sodas and water, living area with sofa bed or couch, furnished balcony or terrace. Fully equipped marble bath with hair dryer.
Family Deluxe Junior Suite
Family Deluxe Junior Suites: presents a maximum occupancy of 3 persons or 2 adults plus 3 children younger than 12 years old. 450 sq. ft., garden or pool view. All the Family Deluxe Junior Suite rooms, have king size or two double beds, plus a sofa bed and a pull out bed or bunk. These rooms are located lower Tropical side, in front of The Flintstones Land. Placed near the family and kids pools, kids clubs and Betty's Kitchen beach grill.
Royal Service Master Suite with jacuzzi
Offers the Royal Service Master Suites (560 sq.ft). These totally new suites feature a bath tub with water jets for two between the bathroom and the bedroom to enjoy it at any moment. Elegantly decorated in a Caribbean Luxury Style; living room features a Plasma TV and CD Player. Enjoy a separate living room, and a furnished balcony or terrace. All these suites included special Royal Services amenities and services as well as mini-bar, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.
Royal Beach Junior Suite
450 sq. ft with Privileged location (close to beach and pool). These suites include special Royal Services amenities and services as well Cable TV 32" flat screen, premium mini-bar,double rain shower style, safety deposits box, and coffee maker.Terrace with sofa and private patio with Balinese bed or balcony with sofa.
Romance Suite
450 sq. ft. with privileged location (closet to Beach and pool). Includes a balcony or terrace with private patio and Balinese bed. And garden or pool view. King-size bed, Jacuzzi and free Internet access. This room is only for 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Melia Tropical is a very popular choice for meetings and conventions. With more than 15,000 square feet of convention space with a capacity for up to 1000 people divided into 8 meeting rooms, as well as a beautiful gazebo for weddings and special events, our resort is the perfect setting for any gathering. The hotel also provides a business center with a comfortable working environment, and high-speed wireless Internet connections in all resort areas.

Dining

America Grill
Contemporary American style cuisine menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Market Place
International buffet service located in the main building, open for breakfast and for dinner. Also offers theme dinners.
El Turey
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet restaurant, with international specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Capri
Sea food menu style restaurant. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
El Guarapo
Traditional Dominican cuisine Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.
Agora
Just a few steps from the swimming pool and right on the beach. Offers international variety, paellas, salad bar, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, hamburgers, hot dogs and snacks.
Pagoda
Chinese Restaurant. Menu style options, and open for dinner - resort dress code and reservation is required.
Hokkaido
Menu style Japanese restaurant. Tepanyaki specialties. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required. $ Additional charges may apply.
Ma Maison
Menu style, specializing in French cuisine. Open for dinner, dress code and reservation is required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (516)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
516 out of 516
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nat26
New Jersey
Aug 15, 2014

Five stars experience.

Excellent! We did the upgrade to the Level. Very clean, staff is very friendly and the food is delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rendezvous couple
danville, Illinois
Aug 14, 2014

Honeymoon

Great resort, food was excellent, amenities were awesome very glad we upgraded and definitely recommend doing that to anyone who wants to go that doesn't have kids, after talking to others that didn't upgrade, they had completely different experience and wasn't as good. We'll worth the extra money. The only complaint would be the baggage handling, they lost our luggage twice, taking it to our room and then taking it from our room to lobby when we checked out, and they wouldn't even give us an option to handle them ourselves. But all in all a very good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SKaye
Missouri
Aug 14, 2014

Relaxing Vacation

Stayed in the Adults Only Level. And it was great! The staff was great and very accommodating and the food was fantastic. Was surprised at how good the food was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gIMpSTa
Maine
Aug 11, 2014

Honeymoon hotspot

My wife and I had the best honeymoon we could ever imagine. The food, staff, pools, alcohol, and every possible detail was perfect. We will definitely be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Snuba excursion through bvaro splash is AMAZING

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vladi1
Salt Lake City, UTAH
Aug 10, 2014

I loved My Honey Moon!

At first, we were a bit nervous about what to expect. We did not know if we were going to get our money's worth. Then, we looked at most of the reviews about the Hotel, compared other Resorts' prices and asked people we know about the rooms, beach, drinks, facility and more. Fist of all, the Hotel is very nice, the outdoors are very clean, the train is always on time, the beach is a beauty, the room is clean and the Buffet has a variety of food. I understand that most travelers want to get the best of the best; however this Hotel is a four-star so expect a four-star hotel and five star service. Most of the negative reviews about this Hotel made me doubt about booking here; however, I am glad I did. It seems that those negative experiences are of people that want to pay little and be treated as king/Queen of England. Do not let negative people dictate your trip; instead, called the Hotel. Melia is a great hotel that offer great service and great staff for a very good price.Also, we bought a Safari to meet Dominican culture and it was a blast, it takes almost the whole day, but you will see how humble Dominicans are. My wife an I could not be any happier since we saved money and had a great experience. Overall, the drinks, food, beach, service and flight were very good. Thank you Melia and thank you Dominicans for making my stay an unforgettable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take cash and no Debit Cards to pay for any souvenir since you might get charge extra fees.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Velia E
Detroit, MI
Aug 10, 2014

A great experience!

This was our second trip to Punta Cana, but our first stay at Melia Tropical and we were very happy. There were a few setbacks, but I did enjoy my stay overall. The GREAT: The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well kept, the staff (everyone from the waitstaff to the maids to the front desk) was extremely kind and attentive, the beach and pool areas were clean and beautiful, the restaurants were excellent, and the entertainment was fantastic! The Not-so-Great: For me, the resort was a little too big and spaced out. I did not enjoy having to wait for a train to take me to the beach or the pool everyday. We traveled in a group of 15 and I didn't like that all of our rooms were scattered all over the resort. That was the one big drawback for me. Other than the overwhelming size of the resort, everything was great. We went for a vow renewal ceremony and the staff could not have done a better job of putting together such a beautiful event. I would definitely recommend this resort and consider going back myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the service was excellent for us at the hotel. Our favorite place to eat, however, was at the Market Square for their breakfast buffet. It was always a wonderful spread. We also enjoy La Capri which was Mediterranean. I do recommend that everyone tip their waitstaff, as it really helps them out, and in return, they will do even more to give you a wonderful experience.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoon Vacay
Mississippi
Aug 9, 2014

Beautiful Resort / Rooms Need Cleaning

This resort was absolutely beautiful, but the rooms were simply not as clean as they should be for the prices you pay. The commode leaked and there were small winged bugs dead all over the floor. If the rooms were cleaner, I would recommend this hotel to others, but....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antonio S
Lake Hopatcong NJ
Aug 8, 2014

awesome trip!

everything from the food, room, staff was top notch! they accommodated my family group of 14 with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geoff2028
Centerville, OH
Aug 4, 2014

Wonderful

Helpful staff, wonderful pools, great location, and perfect weather to top it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall that is connected to the Hard Rock Cafe just outside the resort is of decent value and allows you to shop while not being hassled by anyone.

Review of Melia Tropical All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TDonVacay
Chicago
Aug 3, 2014

Great Value for the Quality

Firstly, I've got to say this resort is just beautiful. I stayed in the Adults Only area, which had the best location on the resort by far, because it is right in front of their really nice private beach, and also because that area is where the pools are located and has the most shading on the resort. That is not to say that the whole resort wasn't splendid either, it's just that if you want the best setup, leave the kids at home :). I got the all inclusive package(...I don't think Punta Cana trips offer it any other way) and they held up to it. When I got to the lobby, they didn't get/ask for my credit card. Just need your passport, really, while they also serve you martinis while you are sitting down. Afterwards, they showed me around and then straight to my room. The room: Nice, clean, and cold, as well as a giant fan that made it even colder. Beware, that fan is no joke, you're gonna freeze. The shower is nice and seems to always have plenty of hot water, towels, and shampoo or hair gel if you need it. The room also has a mini fridge full of water and soda, as well as a safe for your important stuff. I wasn't expecting much, but this place is really all inclusive. Feel free to eat and drink alot. They know how to make drinks here. However, the buffet could be better. It's okay, has good food depending on the day, but I think they make some of the stuff bland on purpose so that you don't get sick. This is strictly speaking about the buffet, otherwise, they have their separate restaurants that are much better. Though, they have even fancier ones that you have to reserve a day in advance and pay a flat fee. Otherwise, I enjoyed the food because I'm not picky. At one point, I had beer, then two cokes, and then a good cup of coffee in one dinner session. The staff here is pretty good. One last thing, the internet here is decent. It was works well in your room and in the lobbies, but not outside. And if you're the bathroom selfie type...the internet doesn't work there at all. For the most part, I was able to upload picture on Facebook just fine. There isn't much else I can say. As long as you're not demanding a 5 star hotel, the Melia actually provides you quality for an inexpensive stay. It's definitely four star though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search