$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mritchie
Couples
RIVIERA BEACH
Jan 14, 2015

would not go back

had issues with room, ac, smell. tried to fix ac four times, never did fix it them left a light on in ceiling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Saddened honeymooner
Couples
Maryland
Sep 8, 2014

A honeymoon to forget

During our week long honeymoon we wished we had chosen a different hotel. We started by being held up for 20 minutes at the gate because the woman at the front desk could not understand enough English to get our names and find our reservation. We were then allowed in because she became frustrated and gave up. We spent an additional half hour at the front desk while they tried to find our reservation. We finally checked in. The ATMs at both resorts were down for the first two days. Day 1- safe broken and food was all closed until 6:30 pm after arriving. Day2- safe still broken. After 3 phone calls and just shy of four hours waiting in our room for them to arrive, it was finally fixed. The food was so bad it made us both physically ill. This day was spent alternating turns in the bathroom and in pain. Day 3- finally well enough to shower. The entire shower and sink backed up and flooded the room. Took all day to get fixed and the smell of raw sewage stayed in the room the remainder of our visit. Day 4- hot tub in room wouldn't work. Two calls later they finally came out and didn't actually fix anything. Day4 afternoon- safe stops working again. Days 5&6- we explored DR and avoided the hotel as much as possible. Day 7- rain caused the beach party to be cancelled. The hotel failed to make available buffet dinner due to this closure and what looked like ceiling construction work being completed. The promised honeymoon package activities were never provided though I was sent twice to public relations to have them set it up. The staff everywhere seemed nice and helpful. There was no management staff available according to the public relations group. The place was beautiful but there are serious issues with it. The elegance side had most of the activities and areas shut down. Shows were conducted at the colonial and did not match any of the paperwork provided to us. It seemed that it was a slow time or season for them and as a result the quality suffered severely. We will never stay at this hotel again. 98/30/14-9/6/14

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Donna C.
Family
schaumburg
May 4, 2015

Will not return!

Stayed here with my daughter and her friends (18 yr olds) over spring break. Room had terrible mildew odor that seemed to be coming from the air condonditioning system and seemed that it had not been cleaned after the previous guests. They did switch us to another room that seemed to be better. The grounds are pretty as well as the beach but rooms and pool need updating and repair. Pool is missing tiles all over the place. Food was below average best place was buffet at See and Sea or the steak house but not great. Drinks were terrible and served in 6-8 oz plastic cups that are not suitable for adult drinks. The animation team works hard and always have something going on which was really the only positive about the place. I would have left after the first night if I could have received a refund or even a partial refund. Do not waste your money-I would not recommend at all!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Creighton super guy
Couples
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Jan 18, 2014

Not that great

This hotel was just average and didn't have anything that made it stand out from others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeremy17
Friends
Indiana
Jan 25, 2014

Good Trip

The food was bad to OK. The only beer they had wasn't great. The beach was great, soft sand, lots of good people watching. The service on the beach and at the bars was pretty quick. The bar tenders were all really good. Not much of our support staff knew english well and our butler wasn't great. Other friends of ours had a great butler, my advice is to tip them the first day. The resort entertainment team is annoying... they play the same song all week and just dance around.. they obviously are trying to be high energy but the content is boring and they really drag it out. The spa was great and a pretty good value, I do recommend that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't go on the Adventure Booggies trip, it was pretty lame.. dune buggies are junk, ours broke down several times and whole trip is a ploy to sell you junky trinkets. Skip it.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twenty something K
Family
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 26, 2014

Good value, but not quite perfect

This all-inclusive was lovely, although a bit dated in its furnishings and entertainment options. Popular with the college set, adult couples, and families with teenage kids, I appreciated that there were few noisy kids splashing around the pool. The cons: The grounds are a bit spread out, so do prepare to do some walking back and forth throughout the day to get from beach to restaurant to room. The entertainment staff put together a beach BBQ, foam pool party, and a few other cheesy events that I typically left after the first 30 minutes; if you just want to drink and visit with friends and don't mind the noise, you'll probably stay. The food varied in quality and taste between restaurants, with the Italian and Japanese restaurants having the best options. Wherever you want to lounge (poolside or beachside), you have to get there before 10am if you want an umbrella and lounge chair. Pretty much everyone just stakes out a section of lounge chairs with their shoes and towels and then comes back a few hours later in the day. It was annoying to see a beach full of "reserved" chairs that were empty for hours. The staff are very friendly and helpful, but always running and rushing to help everyone; it often meant having to ask a few different waiters for beverages at dinner, but in the grand scheme of things it wasn't that much of an inconvenience. The pros: There are many delicious cocktails and drinks being served all day; the bartenders will make whatever you want and keep it coming. The beach was beautiful and clean. The resort is only about 25 minutes from the airport. The lush grounds are beautifully maintained and everything is kept very clean. Bottom line: if you want a bit of action throughout the day and like to socialize, this place is for you. If you want low-key quiet lounging and exceptional service, you might be a bit disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
campesino
Couples
Nevada
May 3, 2014

Majestic average Resort

Elegance club is good because it's separate from the Colonial side where it's loud and just ok. Butler never showed up for anything nor did we need him for anything. The Staff is really missing the wow factor at this Resort. I thought the staff was 25% good, 25% Great and 50% rude. They just never went above and beyond for our stay. The food is very average; nothing to go home and brag about. This place is in desperate need of customer service training, starting with how to properly communicate with clients in a polite and well mannered way. Beach is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

just let people dance and stop with the shows please!

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cwilliam
Family
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 3, 2011

family reunion

We stayed here for 10 days with family and friends approx. 15 people. At first glance it seems incredible but as time goes on the food is mediocre, staff overall accomodating. The beach is extremely crowded. Towels are an issue, as my daughter said, "we have to manage our towels on vacation:" You have to hold on to these room key type things and trade for towels and at the end of the day turn the towels in and get the card back, most of the time they did not have cards or you had to wait on towels. Drinks were strong, no problem getting served great drinks. The resort is extremely large and you felt like you were walking a couple of miles from the beachto the lobby. But all and al a decent vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The snuba snorkeling and speed boat excursion was a lot of fun and pretty reasonable $89 pp

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bluemoon
Friends
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Great place! Service...so so

This could have been the most amazing vacation. The rooms are nice, bathrooms are great, the beach is beautiful, and the water, just amazing!! Lacked service from the staff and food needed some help..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nayski
Couples
New Jersey, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Nice trip not our favorite

We r use to smaller resorts this one was huge. A lot of walking. Food was good except for the seafood restaurant (yuck) drinks were average and female staff not soo friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Club imagine was a blast since the resort was older and the club on site was ehhh

Back to menu Return to top