$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
530 out of 530
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caribbean love
Business
Ashburn, VA
Jun 7, 2010

6/10 - Nice resort, ok service

Checking in to the hotel took us 3 hours. They lost one of our groups reservations and had to find a room. They did not apologize or compensate us in any way. The majority of the staff speaks barely to no English, so our dinner requests would come out incorrect. On a brighter note, the pool and beach area are beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Michael Jackson Tribue that the hotel put on was fantastic! Arrive early to get front row seats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
johnnyU
Business
columbus, OH
Mar 13, 2011

Find another place

We went here for our honeymoon. We booked "junior suite poolside" and upon arrival they gave us a first floor room with views of a walkway and some plants. It took a lot of complaining to get at least a second floor room overlooking the pool (after forcing us to stay in the first room for 1 night). Food was OK. Most places felt more like a cafeteria rather than a restaurant. Not much beach space: you had to get up prior to 9am just to save a good spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a good spot on the beach with lounge chairs and an umbrella you have to get out there prior to 9am. Just put a book and some towels on the chairs and you can eat breakfast, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sara Jean
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 10, 2009

Just Okay.....

The resort was clean and offered many good restaurant options...which was all that this place has going for it. The air conditioning broke the last three days of our trip. Our room was extremely hot, humid, and uncomfortable. The electricity also went out at least once a day, which made it difficult to keep our room cool even when the a.c. was working. The restaurants were also very hot, which made it difficult to enjoy dinner. Room service and housekeeping personnell were somewhat unfriendly and inattentive to details. The elevator broke in our building, so we had to climb 3 flights of stairs every time we wanted to go to our room. Overall, I would NOT recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 27, 2009

The bad, and the really ugly

Just returned from our trip and am so happy to finally be home. Can you believe it? I was on vacation in the Caribbean many times and this was the first time I and my family could not wait to get out of there! The Service was so, so... and the staff was quit rude. The food was edible but not at best and the fruit was over ripe and some spoiled. The cleaning people did not do a good job of cleaning. The hotel still under developmnt , the pool on the south side was not working and the answer was "we do not know when will it be fixed". Four days in the row we were not able to sleep since the constraction work. I will never go back to this resort again. I wasted alot of money and a full week of vacation time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
May 24, 2010

Nice Beach, Terrible Food

Friendly Staff and clean hotel. the down part, which is a major down part is that none of the restaurants (and I mean NONE) had anything remotely decent to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West New York, NJ
Mar 24, 2011

Paradise for dieters with no children

Resort facility was overall pretty clean. Service staff was inconsistant but most were friendly and nice. The beach was over crowded with chairs but the water was clear and blue. However, the food was terrible. Buffet is your only choice for breakfast and lunch. Most of the food selection tasted like frozen meal just re-heated. If you're travelling with kids, your dinner options are limited as well. The french restaurant doesn't admit child under 12 and the steak restaurant is available to 'Club' (adult only) guests. Good news is we all lost weight because we limited our eating. If the food was better, I would have given this resort 3-4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to try the Japanese restaurant, make your reservation early (8am). Timeslots fill up quickly. Your experience will vary depending on the chef you get.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Read the reviews before you go.
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana -

I just returned from the masjetic elegance on my honeymoon 06-21-2010. The location is beautiful and the hotel is very nice looking. The lobby has marble floors and is really just state of the art. The hotel has a lot of potential. I say potential because the service and the way the hotel is being ran is not up to par. A american management company needs to be brought in to manage the staff and train them on expectations. I will start off to say we paid the extra for the elegance club. With the elegance club they offer a daily paper which never came, in room beach towels which were never provided, aroma scents for the room which never were provided and a pillow menu which never was provided. On arrival we were given a tour of the resort and a form to fill out requesting information about what we were celebrating and what type of scent we wanted in the room ect. Filling out the paper was pointless as none of the services were ever provided. The bar was to be restocked daily which did not happen consistently. In addition it was very hard to get a beach towel. Everytime we went to get a towel at all hours of the day there were never any towels. The food was awful, im not a picky eater but i couldnt stand the food. The steak house open only for dinner was the only great restaurant. Steak every dinner on a 7 day trip gets old fast. The buffet food was stale and not fresh or just not made good. The staff do not greet you on entering restaurants many times you are waiting 10 minutes plus for someone to greet you and take you to your seat. Ordering drinks seem to be a challenge for them they might come half way through your meal and ask you what you want to drink. Sometimes they return with a drink and many times they dont. When they do return its often the wrong beverage. I kept getting so irritated that i started to only order 7up so i knew from the start if the beverage was wrong. For the money I paid if i order a coke i want a coke. Not anything but what i ordered. The pools are missing many tiles and need to be retiled. The room was beautiful however my matress had bugs all over it. Im not sure if they were bed bugs or something else. The room also had a moldy must smell to it. I would not return. Im an average traveler I dont expect a lot but I was clearly disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you do decide to go to punt cana make sure you take the excursion to saona island. Its absolutely beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HunkDiesel
Business
Wheeling, WV, USA
Jun 15, 2014

Horrible food that will make you sick the entire time

I had high expectations for this trip because of all the good reviews I read. There were 4 of us in our group that traveled together. After being there for 2 days we all start to get sick to our stomachs. The food is very average, which I can live with, but you can guarentee you will be in the bathroom 15 mins after you eat. I am back home post 1 day of the trip and am still trying to recover. I stayed previously at 2 all inclusive resorts by the Secrets chain (jamacia and Mexico) and never had a problem like this. This is NOT acceptable. The staff was for the most part not friendly. The best staff member was Juan, our butler. He was great and very attentive. The bartenders were average at the swim up bars. I am very disapointed with this trip and will NEVER stay with Majestic again. Honestly, I'm not hard to please when I'm in paradise just give me food that doesn't have me running to the bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheaper than the hotel but requires a lot of bargaining. Very high pressured sales. Shop # 40 has a rude seller. I would recommend shop #28.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaysean
Business
Punta Cana, DR
Jul 6, 2014

Beautiful Location, Horrible Food

It might be worth noting that this was our first time staying at an all-inclusive, and after our experience, maybe all-inclusive is not our thing. Pros: The location of the hotel along the beach is great. The water is clear blue, the sand is pure white. In my opinion, the beach was even nicer than the beaches in Aruba. The Elegance Club portion of the hotel is adults only, which is also nice. Also, as part of the Elegance Club, you have private access to lounges where you can take as much bottled water as you like. Cons: My biggest complaint would have to be the quality of the food and drink. The food was so bad in fact, that I lost 7lbs during our 6 day stay. The drinks were not much better. You are forced to drink their house red or white wine, unless you are willing to pay $17 for a bottle of $4 Barefoot wine at each meal. Their mixed drinks at the bars and pool are very rough, made with loads of Brugal rum. My wife and I were careful in what we ate so that we wouldn't get sick, but the last night we ate shrimp at the Japanese restaurant, and both got sick. Also, on our last night there, after dinner, we asked the hostess of one of the restaurants to take a picture for us. She took one, which didn't turn out, so I asked her to take another, and she rolled her eyes and mumbled something in Spanish at me... Advice to future travelers: Tips Take $100 in $1 to tip pretty much every staff member you interact with. When you arrive at the airport, you're luggage will change hands at least twice, and both hands will want a tip, the shuttle driver does too. We left the maid a few dollars each day, and it really did make a difference. Your tip dollars will be best spent tipping the people who operate the tubing, sailing, and parasailing on the beach. If you give them your camera, they'll take photos for you. Food I would recommend going to the Japanese restaurant the first night as you sit around a hibachi table and meet new people, but do NOT eat the shrimp, you will get sick. Don't eat at Sea and See as it is the worse food available at the resort. Also, stick to the cooked vegetable, chicken, and steak meat. Stay away from lettuce, skinless fruit, and ground beef. Excursions If you pay cash, you get a better price. If you pay with a card, you will end up paying a conversion fee. We did 2 excursions, one swimming with dolphins, and other was a combination of 11 activities. Both were expensive, but worth it. It is worth noting that you have to pay $60 to get photos with the dolphins as you are not allowed to photograph them yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Reef Explorer activity includes 11 different activities, including a 15 minute foot massage, paddle boarding, snorkeling, swimming with sharks and stingrays, kayaking, and going to a reef.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
c bruns
Business
baltimore, md
Sep 13, 2014

Honeymoon not that special

Only two buffets on each side of hotel, hotel is massive therefore be prepared to walk. Food was terrible at buffet near lobby and only decent at other buffet. Restaurants with reservations needed were OK, nothing spectacular. The AC in our first room would not stay on, woke up in the middle of the night in a sweat. Asked front desk for help several times in which they kept telling us the doors were open and needed to be closed. We were very aware of this, but something was truly wrong with the room. They finally switched us after we spent 45 minutes at the front desk demanding a new room. The 5 phone calls didn't seem to phase them. The staff is great, casino is a joke, and not many other people staying there. Save $$ and stay at the Hard Rock! Took a taxi there, food was out of this world, hotel was extremely clean and air conditioned AND you still get that beautiful Punta Cana water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top