$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
544 out of 544
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke and Lib
Business
Florence, SC, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Tropical vacation

The hotel complex was large and well planned. Everything was centered around a lovely courtyard. As in most hotels, the music was too loud. Being from the USA, I like to have a face cloth to wash my face. Very hard to get hotel to give you one. Oh, they have them, just don't want to put them in the linen. Had to request them each day and then the maid expected a tip. Don't leave money laying around, maids think it is their tip for the day. Food was plentiful but just average. Had own transportation and hotel was dificult to find because roads are not clearly marked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi to Captain Cook's Seafood in Punta Cana. On beach,fresh caught seafood, delightfully prepared. Do not accept credit cards. Lunch for 2 cost about US$52.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C Dot
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Aug 21, 2011

Good Hotel for the Money

My boyfriend and I stayed at Majestic Elegance from August 10-16th. We had an amazing vacation. This was our first trip to an all-inclusive resort, so that my have some bearing on my review. Resort: The resort was gorgeous. It was very well-maintained and easy to navigate. Beach was cleaned every morning. Chairs were easy to find as beach was never too crowded. Room: Our room was great. Clean, close to everything. King bed, flat screen TV with a lot of channels, marble floors, jacuzzi in-suite. Pillows felt small, but there were extra in the closet so we could double up. Blow dryer and iron worked great - glad I did not have to bring either. We used the safe in the room with no issues. We brought our own shampoo, conditioner, etc. - but those were provided. I came prepared with room spray after several reviewers complained of a musty smell, but we did not actually have any problems with the smell of the room. Food: Food was as to be expected at an all-inclusive - overall, good, but not great. There was some things that we thought were really good: Japanese restaurant, plantains, and a lot of the seafood. Most of the food was pretty average. We did not have any sickness issues with the food, and did not hear of anyone else at the resort while we were there having any issues either. Drinks: We never saw a drink menu, but throughout our trip discovered at least three drinks worth mentioning. Mama Juana - a drink native to the DR that comes as a shot. Very interesting - just google it. Majestic - a creamy orange drink that you can add rum or vodka to. Tastes like a creamsicle. Dirty Monkey - banana coconut rum drink with a chocolate swirl. Delic. Elegance Club: We were really glad we upgraded to the Elegance Club. Perks we used: private beach, pools, bars, access to the Italian restaurant, free internet, 24-hr room service, continental breakfast and snack bar in the two Elegance Club lounges. We were not really anticipating using our butler for anything, and that's a good thing, because we only saw him twice - to take us to our room and to prepare our jacuzzi. Staff: Overall the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did wish we knew more Spanish or that some staff members knew more English, but no real issues. We brought a lot of small bills for tipping, which they appreciated. Overall, we had an amazing trip. For what we paid, the resort had everything we wanted. I don't think you can go wrong with this resort if it is within the budget you've set.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Email the resort a week or so before you arrive to confirm your room requests/preferences (non-smoking, double or queen bed, first floor, e.g.)

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Boriqua
Business
West New York, NJ
Aug 9, 2009

Good Hotel

The hotel location and look was great! The food was just simply amazing! The only problem was that on my 4th, 5th, and 6th day the air conditioner didn't work and the hotel had informed me that the generator was down and they were currently using a backup generator. So basically, every single room and place in the hotel didn't have any air conditioning for those days. On my last day (7th day) the air conditioner was working and I was able to get a good sleep. Overall, I love my trip and I will definitely go back again. I just hope the air conditioner doesn't shut down at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to all the restaurants! It's alllllll inclusive!

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol Pa.
Jun 6, 2010

Beautiful resort

People there have to learn more english so they can accomadate you alot easier. Wilken the manager there could not of done more to make our stay more wonderful. [...] the butler was terrific I would tell everyone to ask for him. He spoke the best english and went above and beyond to serve you. He is a wonderful person.We would go back because of him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

bring a float with you for the pools.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friend's Wedding
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 7, 2011

Punta Cana Trip

My fiance and I chose Majestic Elegance because our friend was getting married there. We have went on cruises in the past, so this was our first all inclusive. We stayed in the Majestic Club area, which was well worth the money. The pools were peaceful, there were plenty of chairs on the beach, and the snacks that are offered in the club area are very good when you just want a quick snack. The one thing that we were both not happy with was the food. We had expected that the food would not taste like American food; however, we thought there would be a lot more options in the buffet. The Japanese restaurant and the Steakhouse restaurant are the two best restaurants. The lunch buffets are nothing special. Everything is fried or cooked in oil, so bring some Pepto if you are not used to eating greasy foods all of the time. I also recommend bringing some granola bars, peanuts, or dried fruit to snack on. Everything else about the resort was amazing! The weather was gorgeous, the rooms were clean, the staff were always pleasant and helpful. The only downside about the trip was the food. Also, if you are looking to have a wedding here. The reception and the wedding was the most enjoyable part of the trip. The wedding was beautiful and the food at the reception was the best food I had eaten on the entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Mar 8, 2011

Majestic Elegance 2/28- 3/5

The Majestic Elegance was a nice place for our first visit to DR. There was a real communication problem except for fron desk personell. Our room was as expected, but we wanted to originally book within the Excellence Club, our friends were there. We decided not to upgrade since our friends were able to allow us some of their access to their lounge. Next visit I would definately book in the Club section. A bit more walking than we were used to at previous resorts. There again, I'd book the Club section, which is closer to the beach. The beach was wonderful, abundant palapas and lounge chairs. Snorkeling was minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak house, Oriental, Italian, and the Buffet were always good.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aine
Business
Boston Ma
Jun 2, 2010

Great getaway for the price

My husband and I went to the Majestic Elegance as an R+R at the end of his period of recovery from surgery. We got what we wanted - rest and relaxation. We got in 4-5 hours on the beautiful beach every day despite the afternoon rains (daily) - Next time I won't pick the rainiest month to go - my mistake. Our room overlooked the pool and swim up bar - which was pretty noisy - but easily shut out by closing the slider door to balcony and that bar closed at 6pm - and the peace and quiet reigned!. The beach was spectacular - we had no trouble getting a palapa every day - but we were always on the beach by 10:30 - 11 am. Also no problem with towels but we also brought our own which we used too by choice. No problem with mosquitos - there were some, but they spray daily. It was hot and humid even at nite and not many air conditioned areas - all open air except for restaurants (but not See and SEA. Thew food was ok - loved the lamb in the French rest. - not crazy about the steak house. We liked Sea and See - for our "Romantic Dinner" which the hotel offered us. We actually liked the buffet alot too - not great, but adequate and we were never hungry. Breakfast was really pretty good. The coffee is HORRIBLE!!! The first thing we did on arrival in the US was get a Starbucks (would've preferred Dunks!) The staff was always helpful and most were pleasant and we were more than satisfied with the service. We did tip - $5 per day to the maid, $1 to barstaff and an occ $5 at dinner - they are very grateful for anything and do remeber you better for it. Our room was great - clean, no bugs, fridge stocked with extras per our request daily - bring lots of 1 and 5 dollar bills for tipping. The beach was our ereason for being there and it did not disappoint. We would definitely return- .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

To avoid food poisoning or travelers diarrhea - eat at least 2 bismuth tabs a day ( same as pepto bismal) and avoid salads and unpeeled fruit - and raw fish or meats. Remember if it tastes off or weird put it down and get something else - its all included! and also coconut is a laxative - really!!! Do try a Dirty Monkey cocktail - way too yummy!

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mc's on vacation!
Business
New Jersey
May 28, 2009

Great vacation spot

The hotel was huge! We upgraded our room and it was well worth it. The food was really good and there was a wide selection of places to eat. The hotel staff was really nice, but not a lot of them speak English so that was difficult at times. We found it confusing to find our room when we first checked in and because there weren't too many people on the hotel staff that spoke English, it made it more frustrating. Other then that, the hotel was great, the staff was very friendly & nice, and we met a bunch of wonderful people. Would definitely go again & would stay in this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel stores can be kind of pricy. I found out after a day or two that you can actually bargain with them on the prices. Don't be afraid to ask if they can do any better on the price. Also, the stores vary in price, so shop around before you buy!

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 28, 2009

Great Trip

We stayed from May 22-May 27. The first few days it rained, which allowed for relaxation and enjoying the beautiful room. After that, it was sunny and HOT. The beaches were beautiful! Lots of mosquitos so bring bug spray if you are going. The food was pretty good. We ate at Flavours the most and really enjoyed the food. Oscar Garcia at 9 Doors was our favorite bar tender! He was very friendly and made the sushi bar fun. Overall a great trip and we are all ready planning our return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ramsey,NJ
Jun 29, 2010

Great hotel for the Value!!!

Loved the location of our room, it was ground level with pool right off from our patio. Cleaning service was on time every day. Made sure room was spotless and fully stocked. One thing I recommend for the room is it needs a full length mirror, that was the only drawback . Nightly entertainment. Had a very nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top