$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
486 out of 486
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OH....IO
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Oct 19, 2009

Good not 5 Star

The hotel was very nice, but I do not believe it was a 5 star resort. It was very very hot and the AC did not work everywhere and they did not have fans in some locations. The AC went out in the entire resort one night. The food was ok, but not great. It did not appear they had proper preparation of food (temperature)(cold or hot). The staff spoke very little English and there was a huge language barrier. Even though this was during their off season there was no sense of urgency or being detailed oriented. If you would order something you would either get something close to what you ordered or they would just bring you whatever they wanted. The beach and the pools were great and the nightly entertainment was ok as well. I don't think that the hotel is horrible, just overrated. For as much as the total vacation was, I think there are many other countries or locations we could have went and received just as good, if not better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book the transportation through [...] or have it pre-selected before you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2011

Decent all inclusive

After graduating from medical school, my boyfriend and I were looking for an affordable, relaxing getaway. I wanted an all-inclusive hotel where everything is on site. The perks about Majestic are that everything is right there for you. They have all the food you would want, nightly shows, beach activities, etc. The nightlife on campus was actually pretty lively, after the shows people would go to the lobby bar, nightclub, and casino (which is small but adequate). The food is decent. I read before going that you shouldn't expect the "best" food and that's correct, it was average. I found I liked the buffet best because I had a lot to pick from but my significant other preferred the restaurants. We stayed in the Elegance club which also has advantages. I don't think we got a ton out of staying in the club but it wasn't that expensive either. We did go to Italian restaurant twice for lunch (not open to regular guests at lunch only elegance club) but after seeing the buffet, I didn't think this was worth it. We did order room service twice which is free for elegance club and this was definitely worth it. Other perks included having an elegance club pool that was quieter and perhaps cleaner, plus an elegance bar. There was a swim up bar at the main pool and definitely more to do at the main pool such as pool volleyball so depending on how much interaction you would like, depends on how much benefit the club pool is for you. My boyfriend and I also did a zip lining excursion which was really fun but expensive (close to 100 dollars each). I would say an excursion is a must. We were getting bored sitting by the pool all day, etc. We also got a couples massage - again good but expensive. What else, bartenders are nice, drinks are ok, some are a little "off". All in all, it's a good value for the money if you're looking for a relaxing vacation especially if coming with a large group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book transportation from airport in advance. I believe you get get a deal for $25 to hotel. Boyfriend and I winged it on way there and ended up paying $40 for a random taxi - was able to set-up the group bus for $25 per couple on the way back. It's a quick $15 save.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Good Old USA
May 26, 2009

Very Nice Staff, Location is Great

We arrived early at 11 in the morning and they had one room ready which was nice. So we moved all of our stuff to this one room until the other room was ready. When we called later after 5 for the other room, it took them over two hours to deliver the room keys. The beach was amazing and they seemed to work hard at keeping it clean. The Steak House and the Japenese Grill were the best. The Italian actually made all four people in our group sick for two days, we survived but just couldn't venture more than 100 meters from a restroom. If you order room service, do it by 11 pm. If you do it after that time, you are not going to get any of your food, we tried five times after 11 and it never arrived. It does amaze me that the hotel is only 8 months old and how the walls are falling apart and cracking and how the plumbing and electrical is so unsafe. There were exposed wires in our room behind the curtains, I went to open the curtains one morning and I shocked myself. I called the front desk for a repairman, he never arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Playa Blanca Mall (shacks) outside of resort. There is a hole in the wall and you can walk to these shops. You must be ready to barter. Starting prices start over $100 for a bowl. Can talk them down to $4 for salad bowls. The paintings around the entire country sell for around $5 or less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The bitting vacation
Business
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2011

Mixed opinions.

The hotel is beautiful. The beach is outstanding and great location. The waiters and bartenders were very nice and polite, they would go out of their way to help out. Now the bad things, the housekeeping staff was terrible. They would clean the room at different times which made it hard to relax in the room after the beach since they needed to come in and clean. Would be very skimpy with towels, you get two bath towels and one hand towel. Would take very long to come if you call about extra towels or to clean the room. The hotel is an open air deign, in other words the hotel lobby is open no ac, plus most of the hotel area. The nice lobby bars are all very hot and not a lot of ventilation thru them. Not very pleasant to sit there in your nice clothes and be sweating because it's 90 degrees. I understand a poolside bar or lounge but this is where they play mucic and you have a beautiful bar to hang out. Also the food was very poor in quality. The fancy restaurants they have have mediocre food that are lacking in taste. They are very skimpy in their portions and are kind of eager to move you along, kind of rushing you out. Also be prepared to be eaten alive by mosquitos. When you are out trying to enjoy the nightly shows sweating beacuse it's outdoors and then you have mosquitos bitting you like crazy. We had to buy bug spray at the shop in the hotel for $17 for a small spray can. The worst was when we had some mosquitos got into our room at night and in the morning we were bit in multiple places. I don't recommend this hotel, if you don't mind beign constantly hot, or if you plan on hanging out in your room then you are ok then. Also the pools close at night, no swimming after hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avg Tourist
Business
Las Vegas
Jun 27, 2011

Good, not Great

The resort is large and modern. Compared to the other resorts that our airport shuttle serviced, the Majestic's initial appearance was in the top. The restaurants were all very good, while remaining true to the all-inclusive resort standard of tiny portions. I would recommend paying for the Elegance Club amenities to get access to the private lounges, pools, and beach sections. The gym wasn't great, but had the basics. The rooms were very nice, with the exception of some on and off sewage smells that the staff didn't really seem to take seriously. The beaches were wide, but if you wan't to do anything besides swim and layout, you'll have to pay. Even the water sports that are advertised as free such as windsurfing and sailing require a pricey lesson beforehand. Free snorkeling is also limited to the swimming area, unless you pay extra. Overall we had a good time and the resort was nice, but the experience was average for an average price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony-not impressed
Business
Philadelphia PA
Jun 9, 2010

not impressed

We upgraded to the Elegance club for better service. At time of checkin it took 4hrs to finally get into out room. We were placed in a room with double beds which was not what we requested. After we finally got into our room, it was beautiful. We went to many of the resturants and were no impressed with the food or the service. We enjoyed the Italian resturant the most. Duing our stay, we relaxed at the Elegance Club pool. The wait staff at the pool were not of service at all. We expected to be able to sit by the pool and be waited on. Instead we had to get out of the pool every time to get a drink. In the room we had the luxuary to call for pillow, candles, room aromatheropy. We called for pillows 2 nights and never received them. we called for an iron board 3 times before they brought it to us. We did call to get our jacuzzi set and it was perfect. Our last day we called for our bags to be picked up at 11:30 and nobody showed up. We took out bags ourself. Needless to say we were not impressed that we paid for the upgrade and were not accomidated at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vicksvice
Business
Chesterfield, Va
May 5, 2011

Bait and Switch

Over all the Resort was very nice and the staff go out of their way to provide everything you would expect from an all inclusive resort. However they pulled a bait and switch on us and many other couples while I was there. We booked the dates we did to get an ocean view room. Using the Majestic Resort web site an ocean view room was available on the dates we selected. Booked and paid for this ocean view room and received a confirmation. When we arrived we were hold that an ocean view room was not availble because the hotel had over booked; this we learned is a common practice at this resort. We were put in an interior pool side room which we did not want. I asked to be moved to an ocean view room as soon as one became available and the resort management refused. We were told we had to remain in the room we were given for the duration of our stay. The interior pool side room was $400.00 less than the cost of the ocean view room that I paid for. We met with the resort management and asked for a refund of the difference and the management refused.If we had known that we would not get an ocean view room we would not have made the trip.While we were there we saw several other couples / families in the lounge getting the same disappointing speech we got about the room they booked was not available. So we know that is a routine practice for this resort.[...] If necessary we will dispute the charges with Visa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Lots of things to do at this resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not a great family spot...
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2009

Be careful when you make a reservation..

Be careful when you book online...I thought I had booked our trip for MAJESTIC COLONIAL--a well established resort and the mirror image of Majestic Elegance. Only when we arrived did we realize that we were booked into Majestic Elegance--the sister resort that has only been open for 3 months, is still working out the kinks of operation and has a rating of 3.6--not 4.6. We chose it specifically for the children's program--VERY disappointing. Pools nice but COLD. Beach beautiful. Service fine. Rooms nice, but if you are with small children, arrange a room AWAY from the front of the resort--VERY noisy. Restaurants okay--mediocre--Italian NOT good--esp with kids. Apparently, Majestic Colonial has better food and service. Who knows--we won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Couples
Business
Flint, MI
May 26, 2010

Good, bad

The resort was overall very nice we traveled with another couple. This was a good price for the room which was beautiful once we got into the right room. Upon arrival we were suppose to have the elegance club suite with a King Size bed. We were given 2 double beds that the staff pushed together once we complained and were not in the elegance club. The next day we were moved to the correct location in the elegance club with the King Size bed. Our Butler Henry was very attentive and prepared our room as requested with aromatherapy and prepared our jacuzzi with roses and bubbles while we ate dinner out. We never received the pillows that were requested. The food was OK, Japanese was really good and fun but make reservations early. The Sea and Sea was good for dinner. Ask for face towels early and I recommend leaving a note for the maid in spanish requesting towels and leave her a tip. You will be sure to have fresh face towels daily. There was plenty to do and the beach was awesome. Beach towels are also hard to come by. Get them early and hold onto them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you request a king size bed upon check-in and under special request on orbitz. Make sure you bring a copy of what you paid for or you may not get it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 13, 2011

Beautiful, affordable, but dishonest

Beautiful resort, affordable pricing and gorgeous pools, beach and water! BUT, other than the butlers and entertainers the staff was very rude and made us uncomfortable. Most staff spoke only spanish and very little english, if any, which makes it difficult to address problems. We booked the ocean view suite in the Elegance Club for the most money and when we got there we were put in a junior suite with a side ocean view and not told that it wasn't what we booked. The room was beautiful so we didn't know it was different until we started talking to other guests and saw their rooms and realized we did not get what we booked. We felt tricked and there was nothing we could do because we were tricked into signing a waiver giving us a hotel credit of $100 with limited use [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you get the room type and view that you booked through orbitz and read all waivers carefully that they make you sign when you check in!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top