$276 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
486 out of 486
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ahakatia
Business
Altadena, California
Jun 9, 2014

fantastic calm hotel

very nice hotel and staff, very good location. I didnt like the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

the beach in front the hotel was amazing, blu ocean

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CR the Explorer
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jun 4, 2010

The Good, The Bad and The UGLY

About Us: 3 Married couples, in the 28-30 age range. We travel a lot and like to drink, relax and have fun. The Good: Pool and beach were nice; a lot of daily activities (at the pool and stage areas) and a lot of dinner options. Plenty of bars throughout the resort and the rooms were very nice. They had great shows in the evenings and their "discotheque" CoCo's was a LOT of fun (check out the Michael Jackson show! GREAT SHOW). The best part was their burger/fries joint, open til' like 4-5am, so great place to grab a bite after the club (all included). Most, if not all the bartenders were great! Nice, fun and made sure you had a good time.The Bad: Our key cards kept getting de-activated, so we made a few trips back and forth to the front desk. Outside the resort seemed VERY sketchy; we've been to Bahamas, Cancun, Riviera Maya, Aruba and DR was by far the "sketchiest". Their restauarants were good @ best. Not the best, but not the worst; we've been to better restaurants @ All-Inclusive's. The restaurant's couldn't really get the steaks right either ; they kept overcooking the meats, even the steakhouse. The alcohol wasn't top shelf, but it did the job. The UGLY: CHECK-IN. It took them almost 3 hours to check-in and they had a problem with 4 people that booked their tix together and kept saying they only had 1 room when the itinerary clearly said 2 rooms. The guy @ check-in was unapologetic and even confrontational. It's REALLY bad when a hotel/resort gives you horrible service the first 1-2 hours you get there, because then it leaves a bad taste in your mouth for the whole trip. The weather in the DR is horrible too; HUMID and always cloudy (at least when were were there...We did however manage to get some sunshine and sunburns =)). One last note; each person has to pay $10 "airport tax" as soon as you de-board the airplane; this is unheard of?!? I dont care so much about the $10.00..i just dont understand what it's for since the trip cost includes all taxes and fees. I think this is just another way of [*]. It's sort've ridiculous; you're waiting in line to get into the airport, you pay $10 to the lady, per person; she gives you a ticket, you walk 10 feet and give that ticket to another lady! LOL..what's the purpose of that?!? Why not just say, our country is poor and we need $10 per person? Don't treat us like we don't know what's going on.All-in-all, it was a GREAT trip, but not because the place was spectacular, but because our group of 6 have fun everywhere we go; we basically make the best of any situation. The hotel is a 3.5/5.0. I guess we've just been spoiled by other 4-5 Star All-Inclusives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Coco's club and the evening shows are awesome; all within the resort. I wouldn't leave the resort @ night, just me =).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgetown, MA
Jun 5, 2010

Pleasant getaway

The location was excellent! We went for our 40th wedding anniversary. We relaxed swam & sunned at the beach. Cleaner common areas, better entertainment. We felt that the waitstaff at the restaurants was not very effecient. The food was just OK.The trip was average, we expected more from a 5 Star Hotel . We cut our trip short & left to go to another Hotel after a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PENNSYLVANIA
Jun 5, 2010

Not as good as we expected

The resort was nice, the facilities were clean and very nice. Great for relaxing. The food was not good at all, it was very hard to find something to eat. The sea by sea restaurant was the best restaurant but you are out of luck if you dont eat seafood. The resort is not airconditioned in the public areas including restaurants, at first its tooo hot but you get use to it after a days or so. Overall the trip was good but I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great Nightly Entertainment, staff very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 10, 2010

Glad we went but will not be back

We went to Sanoma Island, nice trip. At check in they wanted to give us a smaller rooms. AC in room barely worked. Most of the staff was less than friendly. Room service was limited at best. We stayed on the 4th floor - 3 days of which we had no elevator. No wash clothes in rooms. No waiters at the beach or at pool side. Not enough chairs for the pool. Casino's are small and do not have AC or ventilation "unless you like smoke and being very hot stay out". Cold food was hot, hot food was cold. They do not serve standard alcohol "No JDanials, Bacardi, etc." - all rought gut. Glad we got to see the water, will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

They dont bargain to much at the Resort, but make deals for every where else. Buy your smokes at the corner flea market for $5.00 US Dollars - Resort is $10.00. If you like snacks bring your own.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Work Hard Play Hard
Business
Boston, MA
May 10, 2010

all inclusive

Hotel grounds and beaches were stunning and clean. We mainly relaxed by the pool and beach, however, the room, upon checking in, was very musty in odor and was extremely warm - it was evident that the hotel does not turn the A/C on until the room is accounted for at check-in. The bed was not very comfortable and both mattress and sheets were very stiff. Our sheets had to be replaced every evening since the ones replaced by housekeeping were stained. The food was commensurate to what I ate in college - fairly standard with minimal selection. The effort was there, but all the restaurants were just average. The service was decent, although the more you tip, the better service you eventually get. Compared to other trips to Barcelona, Maui, Kauai, Oahu, Aruba, Australia, Thailand, Cambodia, Cabo San Lucas, this vacation overall, was average, 3 stars. Food was 3 stars, service was 4 stars. The language barrier can be difficult at times, particularly when you need service to your room because the service/grounds keeping crew has very little English. Other vacationers also made it a rather average trip - we were appalled at how mean and disrespectful other people could be because the service people didn't understand them or because they couldn't get their drinks fast enough. Bottom line - decent vacation to relax, but be prepared for average food and average nightlife. For the other travelers who feel that everyone should speak English...have some respect for the countries that you're visiting. You may be spending money for the vacation, but that money isn't worth it if what comes with it is pure and utter ignorance and disrespect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
May 17, 2009

" Overrated hotel and untranined staff"'

My overall experience with this hotel was fair. According to Dominican standards this is a five star hotel. I have stayed at five star properties in the past and it does not meet the standards to have so many stars. The hotel staff certainly needs more training and courtesy to have a 5 star label! Furthermore, the mattress is a 3 star one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OH....IO
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Oct 19, 2009

Good not 5 Star

The hotel was very nice, but I do not believe it was a 5 star resort. It was very very hot and the AC did not work everywhere and they did not have fans in some locations. The AC went out in the entire resort one night. The food was ok, but not great. It did not appear they had proper preparation of food (temperature)(cold or hot). The staff spoke very little English and there was a huge language barrier. Even though this was during their off season there was no sense of urgency or being detailed oriented. If you would order something you would either get something close to what you ordered or they would just bring you whatever they wanted. The beach and the pools were great and the nightly entertainment was ok as well. I don't think that the hotel is horrible, just overrated. For as much as the total vacation was, I think there are many other countries or locations we could have went and received just as good, if not better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book the transportation through [...] or have it pre-selected before you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, fl
Aug 10, 2009

SO SO

Not bad not great enough said

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2011

Decent all inclusive

After graduating from medical school, my boyfriend and I were looking for an affordable, relaxing getaway. I wanted an all-inclusive hotel where everything is on site. The perks about Majestic are that everything is right there for you. They have all the food you would want, nightly shows, beach activities, etc. The nightlife on campus was actually pretty lively, after the shows people would go to the lobby bar, nightclub, and casino (which is small but adequate). The food is decent. I read before going that you shouldn't expect the "best" food and that's correct, it was average. I found I liked the buffet best because I had a lot to pick from but my significant other preferred the restaurants. We stayed in the Elegance club which also has advantages. I don't think we got a ton out of staying in the club but it wasn't that expensive either. We did go to Italian restaurant twice for lunch (not open to regular guests at lunch only elegance club) but after seeing the buffet, I didn't think this was worth it. We did order room service twice which is free for elegance club and this was definitely worth it. Other perks included having an elegance club pool that was quieter and perhaps cleaner, plus an elegance bar. There was a swim up bar at the main pool and definitely more to do at the main pool such as pool volleyball so depending on how much interaction you would like, depends on how much benefit the club pool is for you. My boyfriend and I also did a zip lining excursion which was really fun but expensive (close to 100 dollars each). I would say an excursion is a must. We were getting bored sitting by the pool all day, etc. We also got a couples massage - again good but expensive. What else, bartenders are nice, drinks are ok, some are a little "off". All in all, it's a good value for the money if you're looking for a relaxing vacation especially if coming with a large group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book transportation from airport in advance. I believe you get get a deal for $25 to hotel. Boyfriend and I winged it on way there and ended up paying $40 for a random taxi - was able to set-up the group bus for $25 per couple on the way back. It's a quick $15 save.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top