$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A traveller from Brazil
Family
Limeira, Brazil
Jan 9, 2013

Beautiful Hotel

It's a beautiful hotel, very comfortable, well located. The staff was very polite and attencious. The restaurants "Il Botaccio" (italian) and "Asadito" are very good. But the fast food snack bar "La Bodeguita" is just horrorible. The Casino is very small and smooky. Besides this, the hotel is very nice. I' d go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a nice artesanal village at the end of Arena Gorda beach, next to Ibero Star Hotel. It's a long walk from Majestic Hotel. You can go walking and go back with a taxi boat. It's Funny.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
susanfromferndale
Friends
Ferndale, MI
Apr 24, 2012

Overpriced, overrated, not kept up

A group of 4 friends went on vacation together and booked at this resort on recommendation from a friend that stayed one year ago and had a wonderful experience. Unfortunately, our stay fell very short of our expectations. First off...the check in process was a joke. We booked in the Elegance Club and neither of our rooms were available. One room had to be downgraded, but they did offer a resort credit on that room which we used on spa services. The second room they claimed they did not have any rooms with 2 beds and took us to a room with a king bed and offered to move another king bed in there. when asked where they would put it, they said in front of the bathroom. no thanks. they miraculously found a room with 2 beds across the resort from our friends and we had a better view and view of the ocean from that room. the check in process took well over 2 hours which is completely unacceptable. we lost half the afternoon wandering around trying to find a suitable room. when we arrived to the room we found that the room was not clean to standards we are used to. no washcloths. scarce towels and in both rooms we visited the chairs in the sitting area were all stained and torn up. ewww. also, sharing a room with a friend is interesting as there is no dressing area. you basically can see eachother come in and out of the toilet area as well as in and out of the shower, as it is just located right in the room, no wall for a bathroom or anything. also, we asked for an ashtray every single day and never go one. our fridge was stocked at first, but barely got re-filled. also, we were told in the club area we would have all kinds of things like a pillow menu, aromatherapy, etc. a special gift upon arrival, etc, but that was all untrue. we complained and got about half of what we complained about. btw, the sheets are not changed daily. also on our last day my roommate went to get into her bed and there were chip crumbs in there...when nobody had food in bed the whole week. yuck. the elegance club was a joke. we didnt' see any benefit of paying extra for that. while it was nice to have some cleaner bathrooms in the lounges and beverages in the "cooler" (nothing ever was cold there) the concierge were usually rude or too busy to help. also, they didn't speak great english, or at least pretended not to. our butler was nowhere to be found after our second day. what a waste. overall i felt that the resort was in bad shape for only being open 4 years. the windows were filthy and the bathrooms in the lobby and public areas, pool, etc. were very dirty. half the stall locks were broken and wastepaper baskets full. the food was just ok. i am not a fan of buffets but we were able to get into all of the restaurants, although several other guests said they had problems getting reservations. was a problem finding non-broken loungers a t the pool and beach fyi. entertainment staff were fun, but half the events seemed to be cancelled or not going on. the resort was packed when we were there so no reason to cancel anything?it is disappointing to spend so much money and have certain expectations that are not met. don't get me wrong, the trip was wonderful, weather was beautiful, the bartenders and tipped staff (servers) were very helpful and friendly and the flowers and landscaping were gorgeous at this resort. the beach was also beautiful. again, the trip wasn't a disaster by any means, but we definitely would have liked a cleaner resort and better service for the price we paid. Btw, i am not a snob or generally a complainer but certain standards really were not met for a 5 star resort. Tips: see the Michael Jackson show...it's pretty cool. Japanese Steakhouse is very fun as well. food at the steakhouse and Japanese steakhouse were the best. Food at the late night place is kinda nasty. Would not recommend elegance club...not worth it. Get a massage at the spa, Carolina was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese Steak House is fun! Manuel did an awesome job for us and kept us laughing.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E Crary
Couples
Dallas, Texas
May 21, 2012

Location is Amazing; Food, Not so Much...

We just returned from our trip where we spent a week celebrating our 10 year anniversary. The location is absolutely breathtaking, a true paradise. The beach was amazing and the pools were phenomenal. We upgraded to the elegance club which was well worth the price with private pools and beach and VIP service. The rooms were very spacious and clean however I expected more "resort" like amenities. The biggest complaint about the room was the smell. It was very musty and damp in our room which can be expected when you are in a humid climate near the water. However, the smell was quite overwhelming. Service was fairly good and everyone was very nice. The biggest complaint (or disappointment) is the food. We dined at the Japanese and French restaurants where we had very nice dinners. We also had a private wine dinner at the Italian restaurant which was probably the best experience in terms of ambience and service. I personally ended up getting sick both times after eating at the Italian restaurant but my husband did not so it likely just depends on the individual. The rest of the food ranged from average to not good at all. For that reason, we certainly did not eat our share of food in the "all inclusive" price but made up for it in drinks, I am sure. All and all, we would return to the DR but would pick a different hotel so as to try for a better dining experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring a thermos or large insulated mug so when you get your drinks, you don't have to go back every few minutes. The drinks are served in small plastic cups. Bring snacks. If the food does not agree with you, at least you have options...

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PapoJoe
Couples
New York
May 21, 2012

Good times for adults

Had a good time at this hotel the food was very good but the room had some musty smell overall enjoy the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pnj012
Couples
punta cana
May 23, 2012

Anniversary trip

I would say OK to good Butler service was a joke and room service even worse. I feel asleep on the private adult only beach only to be startled awake by children a couple yards away. Don't get me started with the towel rule. Nothing like walking around with wet towels looking for the towel guy. People were nice and the ocean was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martin Papi
Friends
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 16, 2012

3 star at best

My wife and I have been in various AI resorts in the Mayan Riviera, Mexico and 8 cruises. This resort does not compare to any of these experiences. The food was below par and 6 out of 8 people in our group got sick shortly after eating on separate nights. It seemed that half of the staff was willing to help while the other half was over burden with you asking questions. Three out of four of the rooms we got had problems. Two of the rooms remained wet and humid, one had a musty strong smell, and three of the rooms had air conditioning problems. Good luck in getting towels or help with anything in your room without having to wait hours for it. The beach was nice but contained sea weed. The "elegance" experience is just a gimmick, no one checked to see which band you wore. We would not go back to this resort for the money we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Dog
Couples
North Carolina
Jul 28, 2012

We were ready to leave...

THE BAD: -I requested 7 MONTHS IN ADVANCE to have a room with a king bed (not two double) and a room NOT on the first floor. The hotel told me that they would put the request on my hotel reservation. I reminded them a month before my visit about my prior requests. I show up (as a newlywed) and I get stuck with a room that has TWO DOUBLE BEDS! Also, the butler brought us into a room that the cleaning lady hadn't even finished yet. I told the hotel staff that this room would not work for me! Next, they moved us into a room ON THE FIRST FLOOR next to a noisy supply closet. Once again, I told the hotel staff that this was unacceptable! I told them again that I had previously requested seven months in advance. The butler then told me that it was only a request and everything is based on who puts the requests in first. I then asked him, "Well, tell me how many people requested this 8+ months in advance??" He didn't not have an answer. Finally, after an hour, my wife and I got the room we wanted. It was such a hassle and the hotel was totally unprofessional. I commend them on fixing their mistake. -The food was the worst part of the hotel. They found a way to screw up the most simple foods (pancake, pizza, etc). They didn't even offer good local Dominican foods. The coffee is horrible too. Bring snacks with you, because of a bag of chips will cost you seven dollars. The best meals were at the Japanese steak house and the goofy French restaurant. The seafood restaurant had good dinners. -My room's jacuzzi had seen better days. Part of the drainage filter (?) fell off. We called the room service phone number and notified them to send somebody to fix it. We also notified their not-so professional VIP lounge staff about the situation. Nobody ever came to fix it. -The beach towel situation is a joke. Read other reviews...it's ridiculous. THE GOOD: - The beach is beautiful. The hotel provides nice beach chairs and tiki huts for its members. The pools are nice too. -All you can drink...at all hours! It's all liquor drinks except for their local beer, Presidente. The beer is no good so stick with the liquor. Even while you're waiting for transportation to the airport after check out, you still have access to the bar for free drinks. Bring your own cup because they use small plastic cups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love to vacation 28
Couples
charlotte, NC
Jun 21, 2012

anniversary celebration

Overall our experience was great and this place is a great value. I would give this resort a 3.5 stars overall but I would absolutely recommend it for a vacation. If you are looking for Luxury, this is not where it's at, although it is very nice. The beach was perfect because there were tons of tiki huts that provided shade next to sunny areas...my husband likes the shade and I like the sun so it was just great! We were able to totally relax and really liked the fact that we could jump into the pool from our room.The food was just ok, but we expected that going in as we were forewarned. The chairs in our room were dirty and there was a large space under the front door that allowed bugs in which was disappointing. We did not do the elegance club and spoke with many people that did and it didn't seem to be worth it. We tried to save some money by not checking bags but had to spend $50 for 2 bottles of sunscreen when we got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Taniatirsa
Couples
PR=sju
Aug 8, 2012

3-day vacation

We stated only two days do to unexpected problem. no compensation or rain check for nedxt vacation hotel comodety- Hotel = food no to good =service not good enough= Liquors= not what we expecte for the price of hotel service==etc-etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dissapointed Eleg Cluber
Couples
New York
Aug 13, 2012

DO NOT buy Elegance Club!!!

This resort's location is ideal. It is only 20 min from the airport and 10 min from the Hard Rock Casino. However this hotel needs improvements in certain areas. First DO NOT buy elegance club it is a waste of your money. Yes it features a private pool, but the private pool is boring you always end up in the main pool which is referred to as the party pool where contests are happening and everyone is mingling around. Yes you do get a butler...but u do not see him!! My bf and I stood 5 days at this resort and we paid extra for the elegance club and I wish we hadn’t! We saw our butler twice and both times were for like 5 min...What a waste. Only good thing about the butler was that he made up a very nice bubble bath but that was it. Then they say they have a private beach area...nope...you are just in the middle of everyone else that stays in the elegance and colonial sides. Anyone can access elegance club features bc this resort never ever checks what wristband you have on. What’s the point of buying this feature if no one checks to see who is allowed to do what or be in certain areas. I thought the butler would be calling daily to see if we needed anything but no didn’t happen. I would never buy this feature again!!!!! Also you only get two bath towels when housekeeping comes by. You do not get any hand or face towels which I thought was weird. The food was eh...have had better in other resorts but it is edible especially the buffet. And the room service which is included when you buy the club was awful and took forever to get to your room. Liquor is not top shelf and tastes like what it is bottom shelf but after like 3 drinks you forget all about that! If you do not want to be around a lot of other couples don’t go here. However, we loved the fact that it was like that and met some wonderful other couples during our stay. The beach and pool are beautiful. The rooms are very big and comfortable and the staff at the restaurants and bars are very helpful and easy to get along with. The nightclub was fun, a mixture of music which is great. Gym was great also. I just don’t think it lived up to the description of what the elegance club was supposed to be or maybe we just had a lousy butler. Overall if I had to come here again, I would but wouldn’t buy the elegance club upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Hard Rock for the casino. the casino in this resort is shameful...

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Felicia Beharry
Family
Magestic Elegance
Aug 23, 2012

Family Vacation

I had greater expectations when I booked my family vacation at Magestic. The scenary beach was amazing. However the buffet services and room comfort was not up to the standards I had in mind. All the food in the buffet was opened and attracted many flies onto it. Seeing the flies on the food made me lose my appetite. The comfort level in the room was not great. The air conditioner was not working in my room and I felt hot the whole time. Not only that, there were ants in my sink, champaigne glass and jacuzzi. The elevator kept breaking down, and I was on the fourth level of the quad. I wasnt too pleased with my stay since it could have been a lot better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Making reservations at the restaurants are worth it since there are too many flies at the buffets

Back to menu Return to top