$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
544 out of 544
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thatGuy
Business
nyc
Jun 10, 2011

Good but not great

It was good there was alot of entertainment place was not to big it was easy to get oriented ,staff was great and friendly they bend over for you make u feel on vacation mode....room was clean no problems,the problem was the flies at the buffe, and bathrooms were filthy always ran out of paper and soap ,poor maintenance, and it looked as tips were verry well accepted,not as great as they make it look but still ive been to worse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to bring long pants for the restaurants

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alborio
Business
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Jul 31, 2011

Go down

The butlers in the Elegance Club were missing.The bath towels are like sandpaper.My hotel room smelled like an old sewer. However, all employees are very kindly, helpful and respectable. The food service is good. The beach is wonderful and very clean all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cwilliam
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 3, 2011

family reunion

We stayed here for 10 days with family and friends approx. 15 people. At first glance it seems incredible but as time goes on the food is mediocre, staff overall accomodating. The beach is extremely crowded. Towels are an issue, as my daughter said, "we have to manage our towels on vacation:" You have to hold on to these room key type things and trade for towels and at the end of the day turn the towels in and get the card back, most of the time they did not have cards or you had to wait on towels. Drinks were strong, no problem getting served great drinks. The resort is extremely large and you felt like you were walking a couple of miles from the beachto the lobby. But all and al a decent vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The snuba snorkeling and speed boat excursion was a lot of fun and pretty reasonable $89 pp

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bluemoon
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Great place! Service...so so

This could have been the most amazing vacation. The rooms are nice, bathrooms are great, the beach is beautiful, and the water, just amazing!! Lacked service from the staff and food needed some help..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nayski
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Nice trip not our favorite

We r use to smaller resorts this one was huge. A lot of walking. Food was good except for the seafood restaurant (yuck) drinks were average and female staff not soo friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Club imagine was a blast since the resort was older and the club on site was ehhh

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
susanfromferndale
Business
Ferndale, MI
Apr 24, 2012

Overpriced, overrated, not kept up

A group of 4 friends went on vacation together and booked at this resort on recommendation from a friend that stayed one year ago and had a wonderful experience. Unfortunately, our stay fell very short of our expectations. First off...the check in process was a joke. We booked in the Elegance Club and neither of our rooms were available. One room had to be downgraded, but they did offer a resort credit on that room which we used on spa services. The second room they claimed they did not have any rooms with 2 beds and took us to a room with a king bed and offered to move another king bed in there. when asked where they would put it, they said in front of the bathroom. no thanks. they miraculously found a room with 2 beds across the resort from our friends and we had a better view and view of the ocean from that room. the check in process took well over 2 hours which is completely unacceptable. we lost half the afternoon wandering around trying to find a suitable room. when we arrived to the room we found that the room was not clean to standards we are used to. no washcloths. scarce towels and in both rooms we visited the chairs in the sitting area were all stained and torn up. ewww. also, sharing a room with a friend is interesting as there is no dressing area. you basically can see eachother come in and out of the toilet area as well as in and out of the shower, as it is just located right in the room, no wall for a bathroom or anything. also, we asked for an ashtray every single day and never go one. our fridge was stocked at first, but barely got re-filled. also, we were told in the club area we would have all kinds of things like a pillow menu, aromatherapy, etc. a special gift upon arrival, etc, but that was all untrue. we complained and got about half of what we complained about. btw, the sheets are not changed daily. also on our last day my roommate went to get into her bed and there were chip crumbs in there...when nobody had food in bed the whole week. yuck. the elegance club was a joke. we didnt' see any benefit of paying extra for that. while it was nice to have some cleaner bathrooms in the lounges and beverages in the "cooler" (nothing ever was cold there) the concierge were usually rude or too busy to help. also, they didn't speak great english, or at least pretended not to. our butler was nowhere to be found after our second day. what a waste. overall i felt that the resort was in bad shape for only being open 4 years. the windows were filthy and the bathrooms in the lobby and public areas, pool, etc. were very dirty. half the stall locks were broken and wastepaper baskets full. the food was just ok. i am not a fan of buffets but we were able to get into all of the restaurants, although several other guests said they had problems getting reservations. was a problem finding non-broken loungers a t the pool and beach fyi. entertainment staff were fun, but half the events seemed to be cancelled or not going on. the resort was packed when we were there so no reason to cancel anything?it is disappointing to spend so much money and have certain expectations that are not met. don't get me wrong, the trip was wonderful, weather was beautiful, the bartenders and tipped staff (servers) were very helpful and friendly and the flowers and landscaping were gorgeous at this resort. the beach was also beautiful. again, the trip wasn't a disaster by any means, but we definitely would have liked a cleaner resort and better service for the price we paid. Btw, i am not a snob or generally a complainer but certain standards really were not met for a 5 star resort. Tips: see the Michael Jackson show...it's pretty cool. Japanese Steakhouse is very fun as well. food at the steakhouse and Japanese steakhouse were the best. Food at the late night place is kinda nasty. Would not recommend elegance club...not worth it. Get a massage at the spa, Carolina was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese Steak House is fun! Manuel did an awesome job for us and kept us laughing.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E Crary
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 21, 2012

Location is Amazing; Food, Not so Much...

We just returned from our trip where we spent a week celebrating our 10 year anniversary. The location is absolutely breathtaking, a true paradise. The beach was amazing and the pools were phenomenal. We upgraded to the elegance club which was well worth the price with private pools and beach and VIP service. The rooms were very spacious and clean however I expected more "resort" like amenities. The biggest complaint about the room was the smell. It was very musty and damp in our room which can be expected when you are in a humid climate near the water. However, the smell was quite overwhelming. Service was fairly good and everyone was very nice. The biggest complaint (or disappointment) is the food. We dined at the Japanese and French restaurants where we had very nice dinners. We also had a private wine dinner at the Italian restaurant which was probably the best experience in terms of ambience and service. I personally ended up getting sick both times after eating at the Italian restaurant but my husband did not so it likely just depends on the individual. The rest of the food ranged from average to not good at all. For that reason, we certainly did not eat our share of food in the "all inclusive" price but made up for it in drinks, I am sure. All and all, we would return to the DR but would pick a different hotel so as to try for a better dining experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring a thermos or large insulated mug so when you get your drinks, you don't have to go back every few minutes. The drinks are served in small plastic cups. Bring snacks. If the food does not agree with you, at least you have options...

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PapoJoe
Business
New York
May 21, 2012

Good times for adults

Had a good time at this hotel the food was very good but the room had some musty smell overall enjoy the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pnj012
Business
punta cana
May 23, 2012

Anniversary trip

I would say OK to good Butler service was a joke and room service even worse. I feel asleep on the private adult only beach only to be startled awake by children a couple yards away. Don't get me started with the towel rule. Nothing like walking around with wet towels looking for the towel guy. People were nice and the ocean was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martin Papi
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 16, 2012

3 star at best

My wife and I have been in various AI resorts in the Mayan Riviera, Mexico and 8 cruises. This resort does not compare to any of these experiences. The food was below par and 6 out of 8 people in our group got sick shortly after eating on separate nights. It seemed that half of the staff was willing to help while the other half was over burden with you asking questions. Three out of four of the rooms we got had problems. Two of the rooms remained wet and humid, one had a musty strong smell, and three of the rooms had air conditioning problems. Good luck in getting towels or help with anything in your room without having to wait hours for it. The beach was nice but contained sea weed. The "elegance" experience is just a gimmick, no one checked to see which band you wore. We would not go back to this resort for the money we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top