$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pompano beach, FL
Jun 24, 2010

Great place to relax

The good: We had a great time at the Majestic Elegance hotel, the staff was friendly and the food was delicious, loved the lobster and the grilled fish varieties. the steak house and the fish restaurant were our absolute favorites. The beach was excellent and the water was super transparent. The hotel has a show on the theater every night and quite good ones too. The bad: I have been on several 5 star all inclusive hotels and I can tell this hotel is close but not quite there, is missing several pieces like.. turn down service, the furniture on the room was worn down, the elegance club never had towels, we pretty much had to get ours the day before, not to mention the hassle of the towels cards.. 5 star hotels have towels on every chair. we had to wear our bracelets for 9 days, I been on 5 star all inclusive hotels where you don't wear a bracelet. The pools had no floaters for people to use, we had to buy our own and carry it around (lame)... The beach was crowded although we went in low season, seems like they have a shorter space than other hotels or not enough umbrellas. Summary: well, our trip was a success, we had plenty of fun and so will you if you go to this hotel. you notice the differences once you been on a top 5 star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do para sailing on the beach some other the attractions on the beach, they sell them really cheap and there is no much time wasted in transportation. we did snorkeling, carts on the sand and we loved it!! Try to go to the beach called Macao beach, we went with he carts there, its the most beautiful beach I have ever seen, and I have seen a few ones including Cuba.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Read the reviews before you go.
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana -

I just returned from the masjetic elegance on my honeymoon 06-21-2010. The location is beautiful and the hotel is very nice looking. The lobby has marble floors and is really just state of the art. The hotel has a lot of potential. I say potential because the service and the way the hotel is being ran is not up to par. A american management company needs to be brought in to manage the staff and train them on expectations. I will start off to say we paid the extra for the elegance club. With the elegance club they offer a daily paper which never came, in room beach towels which were never provided, aroma scents for the room which never were provided and a pillow menu which never was provided. On arrival we were given a tour of the resort and a form to fill out requesting information about what we were celebrating and what type of scent we wanted in the room ect. Filling out the paper was pointless as none of the services were ever provided. The bar was to be restocked daily which did not happen consistently. In addition it was very hard to get a beach towel. Everytime we went to get a towel at all hours of the day there were never any towels. The food was awful, im not a picky eater but i couldnt stand the food. The steak house open only for dinner was the only great restaurant. Steak every dinner on a 7 day trip gets old fast. The buffet food was stale and not fresh or just not made good. The staff do not greet you on entering restaurants many times you are waiting 10 minutes plus for someone to greet you and take you to your seat. Ordering drinks seem to be a challenge for them they might come half way through your meal and ask you what you want to drink. Sometimes they return with a drink and many times they dont. When they do return its often the wrong beverage. I kept getting so irritated that i started to only order 7up so i knew from the start if the beverage was wrong. For the money I paid if i order a coke i want a coke. Not anything but what i ordered. The pools are missing many tiles and need to be retiled. The room was beautiful however my matress had bugs all over it. Im not sure if they were bed bugs or something else. The room also had a moldy must smell to it. I would not return. Im an average traveler I dont expect a lot but I was clearly disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you do decide to go to punt cana make sure you take the excursion to saona island. Its absolutely beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern IL
Jun 19, 2010

Fantastic Getaway

The hotel was awesome, the staff was great, and the elegance club upgrade was well worth it. The only thing that could use some help is the food. The steakhouse restaurant was really good and you can find edible food at some of the other places, but it does take some getting used to. From all the travelers I talked to from the different hotels this was the same at all the hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tifini
Business
Long Island, NY
Jun 17, 2010

Loved it!!

There were numerous activities to do while there. It felt alot like being on a cruise. There was always something going on. They had pool parties, drinking contests, water balloon throwing, coconut throwing, dance lessons, water polo and the list goes on. We went kyacking (which was included). Loved the pool!! It has to be the largest pool there is! It literally goes all the way through the resort which is also huge. There is a swim up bar and bars throughout the resort so there is always one close by. Plenty of bathrooms and showers close by as well. Always found somewhere to lay out. The people are so nice and accomodating. Most of them speak english if they didn't understand they usually got someone for you that did. The beach was gorgeous! Plenty of lounge chairs. The nightly entertainment was also great! The shows are definately worth seeing (included in the pricing)and they only take about an hour, usually from 10pm-11pm. They also usually had a live band playing at night as well where you can order drinks and relax. There were shops located right int he resort itself and some on the other side by the Majestic Colonial. Some of the things were a bit expensive but we quickly learned to barter them. The food was pretty good. The habachi, steak house and the french restaurants were our favorites but we found that they gave small portions. The buffet however always had plenty of food and was pretty good as well. Definately a worthwhile place to go!Can't wait to back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Once a week (I think Thursdays)they put alot of their merchandise on the walkway and try to make small talk with you to get you to buy things. It's kind of annoying and they try to rip you off. They are selling all the same things that are in the stores anyways. I would just avoid it. Thankfully it's only once a week!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 16, 2010

A BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!! RUDE STAFF!!

We went to Majestic Elegance for our Honeymoon June 6-13th, 2010. Online, the hotel looks amazing like a huge oasis of just tropical fun. The rooms appear amazing and as if you will be surrounded by endless luxury. The luxury pretty much stops at the lobby entrance. We were super excited when we pulled up to the hotel because the lobby is simply stunning & has just expansive staircases & granite, marble etc. We got to our room & I will admit the rooms are large however the shower is extremely tight & tiny with awkward jet streams. The bed is rock hard. The bathroom has no ventilation which makes for a humid situation and the toliet leaked over the floor with every flush. Even after reading this, if you do decide stay@this resort stay away from their Beachside restaurant during the day & also their late night eatery La Bodita, the food is horrible I mean not even edible. The Seaside restaurant is great for dinner when they cook the food & bring it directly to you but during the day the buffet is covered with flys and the food is so wet from the humidity you would think they would come up with a different way to serve it. The customer service from the guest relations dept which is your main point of contact is terrible. If you aren't 100% FLUENT in spanish they treat you terribly. There just always seemed to be an attitude from them, NO SMILES EVER, the friendliest people are the ones selling in the stores b/c they are SELLING YOU SOMETHING. Internet not included $10/day unless you are an Elegance Club member. No WiFi on property at all, you have to pay $10 for a internet cable cord to use their $10/day internet. Room service menu extremely limited & food always cold. Only pluses are the Coco Nightclub & the japanese restaurant along with the steak house. Watersports are very limited, and the worst part a couple went out on Hobie boat & flipped over they wouldn't send someone to get them out the water saying, "they went out at their own risk" 15 mins went by with my husband & I yelling for help before someone FINALLY went to get the couple out of the water. Just ridiculous, lazy, and rude staff. Never going back, we've been on many all inclusive trips and this just was the biggest waste, we need a 2ND HONEYMOON!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scot1001
Business
Edinburgh, UK
Jun 15, 2010

excellent

hotel and staff were great. Excellent facility and good quaity food at restaraunts - the Japanese was just okay, but all the rest were very good. Staff at the dive centre were very good and at the pool bars and the buffet too. All in all an ecellent experience and will be strongly recommending this hotel to friends and family. Best All inclusive hotel we've been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando,Fl.
Jun 13, 2010

Not bad, but not great.

Hotel is five stars all the way. Food is about 3 stars. Well worth the money, but do not expect great food, I promise you will be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

buffet only!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie Nanny
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 11, 2010

Fabulous Vacation

We have never been to an all inclusive resort before. This exceeded my expectations. The people were great and very friendly. I recommend if you are looking for a little piece of paradise, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are 6 restaurants in this resort and you do need to make reservations with guest services for the French restaurant, which I highly recommend, and the Japanese restaurant. The sushi was great but the cooked food was just okay. For these places, proper dress is required which means that men need to wear dress slacks and a collared shirts or they will not allow you in. This also applies for the Italian restaurant, which was great, as well. No reservation is required for this restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Relax
Business
VA
Jun 11, 2010

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana, DR

Really good service. Room is clean but have some kind of smell, not that bad of a smell. Asked for room air freshner but never received it. Food is pretty good. Special restaurants: French, Italian, & Japanese. For French & Japanese restaurants, you have to make reservations. For guys, you need long pants for all three restaurants. The beach is very nice. The pool is very clean and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony-not impressed
Business
Philadelphia PA
Jun 9, 2010

not impressed

We upgraded to the Elegance club for better service. At time of checkin it took 4hrs to finally get into out room. We were placed in a room with double beds which was not what we requested. After we finally got into our room, it was beautiful. We went to many of the resturants and were no impressed with the food or the service. We enjoyed the Italian resturant the most. Duing our stay, we relaxed at the Elegance Club pool. The wait staff at the pool were not of service at all. We expected to be able to sit by the pool and be waited on. Instead we had to get out of the pool every time to get a drink. In the room we had the luxuary to call for pillow, candles, room aromatheropy. We called for pillows 2 nights and never received them. we called for an iron board 3 times before they brought it to us. We did call to get our jacuzzi set and it was perfect. Our last day we called for our bags to be picked up at 11:30 and nobody showed up. We took out bags ourself. Needless to say we were not impressed that we paid for the upgrade and were not accomidated at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top