$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Long Island, New York
Jun 27, 2011

Nice Spot

I traveled to the Majestic Elegance on June 15th for a week with a friend. This spot, probably like most, has a lot of couples. The beach was beautiful. You could always find a spot at the beach and the pool. The food was decent for an all inclusive resort. I have traveled all over and found the food here average. You need to make reservations at 8am for the French restaurant as well as the Japanese Steak House. The Japanese Steak house is a must. You can skip the French restaurant as well as the Seafood hut which is just awful. We had a butler who was very attentive. Probably a little too attentive. The one negative thing is the rule with the towels. You will get a towel card when you arrive at the resort. You must go to your section at the resort and use that card to get 1 towel. You cannot get more then one and will need to return that towel to get your card back which you need at check out. It became a pain because you had to carry around a wet towel all day and some days when you went to exchange for a dry towel there were none left. The hotel staff is very nice and attentive. We did one excursion which was the zip lining. I was terrified beforehand, but had the best time. A little hiking was required. We also did the spa on site which was very nice. The resort is very spread out so nothing is very really crowded. The nightly shows were good and entertaining, but other then the shows there was no night life. Now you have to like the heat if you come here. Your room barely gets chilled and once you leave the room the ac along with everything else will turn off sense it is all on sensors. None of the restaurants are air conditioned either except for the buffet (I suggest you go to the buffet by the lobby for breakfast and lunch). The hotel is about 25-30 minutes away from the air port as well. The spot was amazing and for the price I paid I was extremely happy. If you get the elegance package you really won't run into kids either which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Wappingers Falls, New York
Jun 27, 2011

Pleasantly Surprised

We have been to Punta Cana before, this was our first vist to Majestic Elegance. Upon our arrival we were upgraded at no charge to the elegance club and all it's benefits! What can I say the grounds, pools, and resurants were all great! No delays with the flights and transportation to the hotel was easy. We spent one day on a Dominican Safari visiting a school, churches, plantation with coffee, and coco, horseback riding, delicious lunch, and a dip in the ocean at a beautiful beach, what a day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Columbus, OH
Jun 27, 2011

Excellent All Inclusive experience!

Our trip was a vacation / friends wedding and was a great experience! We traveled for a total of 5 days and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on the resort the entire time and didn't have time to participate in any of the excursions, but were definitely able to relax by the pool and at the beach. All of the staff was extremely friendly and entertaining. We always felt that they enjoyed what they were doing and the grounds crew / cleaning crew kept the resort in excellent condition! The ONLY downfall was some of the food wasn't what was expected and caused our stomachs to be uneasy for a few days. When traveling to another country, such as D.R., I recommend eating what you know and are comfortable with. It's not a time to venture onto new territory with trying new things. The 2 buffets were the best food we had - it was all very fresh and simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

One tip in dining at the Majestic Elegance would be to stick with what you know and I don't recommend venturing into trying new foods. The food is very different than what is expected in America, which is all just the adventure of traveling to new countries. The food wasn't 'food poisoning' bad, it just caused an uneasy stomach if I ate something I wouldn't ordinarily eat.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Orange, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

Time when travel weather was terrific in June. Never crowed at the pool or at the beach. Could always a lounge chair under the shade. Service was excellent. Beach and pool in good condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texas Fun Group
Friends
Punta Cana, Domibican Republic
Jun 27, 2011

Awesome trip to DR

We had so much fun on our trip. The Majestic Elegance was everything I wanted In a hotel resort and more! We stayed in the Club section, which I think is a must! Our butlers Angel and Juan were AWESOME! They took such good care of us, they made sure we had the best of everything! We went on a couple of excursions, snorkeling is a must, it's one big party! I don't recommend the deep sea fishing at least not in June! At the resort be prepared to walk a lot, it's a very big resort, you will get your exercise. Few things that you may want to bring with you is; mug for drinking (all drinks are served in a small plastic cup), small fan if you like it cold in your room,(All the electricity goes off when you leave the room), ink pen, float, dollar bills for tipping, sun screen (it's very expensive on the resort) and a wash cloth. Enjoy your trip it's worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dweezyteez
Couples
Columbus, OH
Jun 25, 2011

Fantastic experience!

We just returned from a 5-night stay at the Majestic Elegance, and we had such a wonderful experience. The resort is very lovely...marble and polished stone everywhere, very clean, well manicured. We booked an ocean view one bedroom suite, and the room was absolutely gorgeous. Unfortunately, we didn't get the ocean view from our room, and when we expressed our great disappointment with our butler, he contacted the manager and we were given a $250 voucher to use for hotel services. We spent it at the spa and to order special bottles of wine at dinner a couple of nights. We were definitely aggravated about not getting the view we paid for, but the voucher was a nice compensation and the room was still very nice.The beach is fantastic...turquoise water, absolutely no shells, rocks, coral, nothing on the beach or in the water but soft, soft sand. Lots of beach chairs on the beach, and we never had a problem finding one under a thatched hut when we wanted one. The pools are also lovely and very clean.We thought the food was very, very good, especially when compared to an all-inclusive experience at another hotel in Cancun last summer. Best restaurants in our minds were the steakhouse (but be sure to order the filet instead of the t-bone or sirloin...those were not good, we hear), and the Japanese restaurant. The Italian restaurant was also really good. Only ate in the buffet for breakfast, but that was decent. Had lunch at the Sea and See by the beach each day, and always had a good meal there. Ordered room service twice and both times it was very good. Some folks there complained about the food, but we didn't share their concerns, and we consider ourselves fairly discriminating eaters.The service was generally good. They could definitely improve the check-in process. Be sure to bring a PRINTED copy of your hotel confirmation number. [...] They make a big deal about that for some reason. The bartenders could be friendlier, in my opinion. Bring plenty of ones and fives with you for tipping...that makes a difference and getting bigger bills broken into smaller ones was a real chore there. Drinks are OK, but tend to be pretty weak unless you special-order what you want. Top shelf liquor is hidden away and only available at certain bars, so be on the lookout, tip well, and ask for it if you want it.The entertainment was pretty lame but we were pretty tired each night so didn't see all of them. But the Michael Jackson show was seriously pretty good and worth it to go that night. It travels to many of the resorts in the area through the week.We didn't experience a bug problem like others have reported. A few mosquito bites on the ankles, but we never saw or felt them. But bring your own bug spray if you're worried (as well as lots of suntain lotion). You'll pay over $30 for either at the hotel.My main tip...if you can, book a room in the Elegance Club category. We're glad we did! You get a butler who will provide specialized attention at check-in, help you troubleshoot any problems you encounter, book restaurant reservations for you, and basically be your advocate to ensure you have a great time. Also, you get access to private pools, bars, lounges, and beach areas. You can have a great time there without Elegance Club membership, but you can have an even better time with it!We loved our visit to this resort and would definitely return again...hopefully with friends in tow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring lots of ones with you. Getting larger bills broken into smaller ones can be really difficult, and you will get better service and better drinks if you tip the staff now and then.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pocaho Joe
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jun 22, 2011

Great Relaxing Get Away

This was our first trip so we didn't know what to expect. The hotel was clean, elegent, everybody was very friendly. The food was good but not great. The Japanese Steak house was the best. The beaches and pools were clean. The only improvements I can think of is, they need more beach towels and our personnel butler was never there. Other couples had excellent personnel butlers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book early for Japanese Steak House

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 19, 2011

Honeymoon

We spent a week here for our honeymoon. We did not book a honeymoon package but did stay in the Elegance Club which I highly recommend (your luggage is taken to room for you, you have private pools but also access to everything else, also private area on beach!!) Overall we had a really great time and experience. My husband and I are both really easy going which I think helped us while staying here. The food was just okay, the dinner was definitely the best. We enjoyed the Japanese Hibachi grill as well as the Steak resturant. The staff overall is nice, most speak very little English which I guess is to be expected. I did feel like we may have been treated better or have gotten some perks by tipping extra which I didn't care for (such as getting a reservation for dinner, breakfast in bed etc which we almost did not get) Maybe that is the norm (first time for us out of the country. The beach is absoutely Beautiful!!! The entire place is extremely clean, the room was very nice. We had a garden view as well as ocean and it was nice. Overall, great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The 9 Doors resturant was really good, we ate there twice! The steak resturant was also suprisingly good! Lunch and buffets were just ok, we managed. Drinks are great at all bars, lots of yummy frozen drinks and anything else you could think of!! Italian resturant has small portions...definitely can order an appetizer or starter or even two dinners! :)

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paige Mama
Couples
Denver, CO
Jun 15, 2011

Best Vacation EVER!

[...] I paid for the $17 per night upgrade to the Junior Majestic Suite, thinking that it would put us in the Elegance Club (adults only area). There are more perks within the Majestic for the Club members, but I just wanted to get away from the kids. Upon check in, we discovered that it was only a room upgrade, which wasn't part of the Club area. [...] After the stress of check in, the rest of the trip was FANTASTIC and it didn't really matter about not being in the upgraded section! All of the Club members ended up hanging at the big pool anyway as that is where the party was going on. The food was WONDERFUL, which was one of my main concerns going into this upon what I read in reviews prior to my arrival. I could not see one thing wrong with any of our meals. The food was beautiful! The drinks were strong and the nightly shows, some corny, but were still entertaining! Finally, the hotel.... I cannot say enough about this place. The beach was crystal clear and the sand was like none I have ever felt, soft, like peanut butter cookie dough! The pool was amazing! We did get a room that the back door opened right onto the pool and it was AWESOME! I needed a boost to get out, but it was so great to lay out on the beds in the morning and get some rays! After being in the Dominican Republic, I will never go to Mexico again. There is NO comparison!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the food was great, the buffet has something for everyone. We went to the French restaurant twice (La Gourmand), and the tenderloin steak was as good as any steak house we ever been to. The Japanese was fun and tasty! I decided to not try the Sushi, raw fish in hot weather....um, no. We never even went into the Italian or Steak house, as the buffet had different ethnic selections nightly.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chico, California, USA
Jun 13, 2011

Best Punta Cana all-inclusive resort!

We were absolutely satisfied with our stay at the Majestic Elegance Punta Cana all-inclusive resort in Dominican Republic. We researched various resorts for price and service, and amenities. We arrived at the resort after a very long 3 flight travel from Chico, California, and found the resort to be absolutely stunning! Our room was beautiful, well air-conditioned, clean, and very inviting. When we compared the Majestic "Elegance" to it's neighboring sister resort the Majestic "Colonial" we realized that we made the right choice. The Colonial seemed a little older and outdated, rooms were smaller and not as modern, and the pools, fountains, and other facilities not as clean or nice. The only thing that the Colonial had that the Elegance did not have was play facilities fro younger children (which I didn't mind since we weren't traveling with kids). The restaurants and buffet food was good, and plentiful, however the food is a little different than American food and you need to keep this in mind when first getting there. The common american versions of Latino foods and other world cuisines will not match your tastes. If you keep and open mind and sample you will find some very tasty foods here. The Steakhouse was excellent as was the See and Sea restaurant, but my favorite was the French "Gourmand" restaurant! Ate there several times! The beach is well kept, clean, and BEAUTIFUL. We walked the length of the beach, approx 3-4 miles, and passed all the neighboring resorts. We are certain that we got the best deal for our money at the Majestic Elegance. We met a couple that have been traveling to the Dominican Republic for years, have been to Punta Cana some 19 times, and have resulted in return stays at the Elegance for the past 12 trips. We will be returning there next year, and this time will take our 3 children ages 10-14, as we were satisfied with the security, safety, and cleanliness of this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Those that are looking for cheap souvenirs to bring home, you should know there are numerous shops right in this property on the resort. Prices seem a little high, but not any extreme. For those a little more adventurous, there are 3 different "markets" around the resort within a short distance, be prepared to "barter" aggressively, don't be suckered with the "Draw" of free welcoming items.

Back to menu Return to top