$255 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
486 out of 486
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alliecat423
Atlanta, GA
Oct 29, 2012

Everything I hoped for!

I went to this resort and stayed in the Elegance Club on my honeymoon, October 21-26, and could not have asked for a better time! The staff was so friendly and really treated you like they wanted you there and wanted you to have a great time. It even rained for an entire day we were down there, but the resort staff made sure everyone was entertained and still had a good time. We went to two shows while we were there (a karaoke night and a 70/80s show) and they were both very entertaining. The beach was wonderful and there were always plenty of beach chairs. The pools were beautiful and always clean. The private pools for Elegance Club were perfect if you wanted to relax and not be in the middle of all the excitement. Sometimes it was hard to get new beach towels (complimentary for Elegance Club) if you didn't get them first thing in the morning, but that was minor. The food and drinks were great and there were lots of options to chose from. We went to every restaurant but the French and Japanese. The buffets were great and the Steakhouse was AMAZING. There was always an open bar to go to and you typically got served right away. Everything really was included, no hidden fees. We decided to tip after getting a few drinks or after a meal if the service was really good. I didn't feel as though it was ever expected or that they treated us any worse when we didnt. We just wanted to thank them if they were pleasant and served us well. My only real complaint about the resort is that I felt like they were a little stingy on their linens and the room didn't always look as nice as I wanted it to after the cleaning service had been there. They gave my husband and I two towels and two hand towels total and no wash rags. I felt like I needed to protect my one towel each day because if it got dirty you wouldn't have a new one until the next day. The pillows were also pretty dingy... but again, very MINOR things compared to the overall blast we had on the trip! I would go back in a heartbeat and recommend this place to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

When making a reservation for the Japanese restaurant, make it as early as possible because they fill up quick! Also, be clear about your time preference because I heard they may try and fill up later time slots first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paige Mama
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 15, 2011

Best Vacation EVER!

[...] I paid for the $17 per night upgrade to the Junior Majestic Suite, thinking that it would put us in the Elegance Club (adults only area). There are more perks within the Majestic for the Club members, but I just wanted to get away from the kids. Upon check in, we discovered that it was only a room upgrade, which wasn't part of the Club area. [...] After the stress of check in, the rest of the trip was FANTASTIC and it didn't really matter about not being in the upgraded section! All of the Club members ended up hanging at the big pool anyway as that is where the party was going on. The food was WONDERFUL, which was one of my main concerns going into this upon what I read in reviews prior to my arrival. I could not see one thing wrong with any of our meals. The food was beautiful! The drinks were strong and the nightly shows, some corny, but were still entertaining! Finally, the hotel.... I cannot say enough about this place. The beach was crystal clear and the sand was like none I have ever felt, soft, like peanut butter cookie dough! The pool was amazing! We did get a room that the back door opened right onto the pool and it was AWESOME! I needed a boost to get out, but it was so great to lay out on the beds in the morning and get some rays! After being in the Dominican Republic, I will never go to Mexico again. There is NO comparison!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the food was great, the buffet has something for everyone. We went to the French restaurant twice (La Gourmand), and the tenderloin steak was as good as any steak house we ever been to. The Japanese was fun and tasty! I decided to not try the Sushi, raw fish in hot weather....um, no. We never even went into the Italian or Steak house, as the buffet had different ethnic selections nightly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, California, USA
Jun 13, 2011

Best Punta Cana all-inclusive resort!

We were absolutely satisfied with our stay at the Majestic Elegance Punta Cana all-inclusive resort in Dominican Republic. We researched various resorts for price and service, and amenities. We arrived at the resort after a very long 3 flight travel from Chico, California, and found the resort to be absolutely stunning! Our room was beautiful, well air-conditioned, clean, and very inviting. When we compared the Majestic "Elegance" to it's neighboring sister resort the Majestic "Colonial" we realized that we made the right choice. The Colonial seemed a little older and outdated, rooms were smaller and not as modern, and the pools, fountains, and other facilities not as clean or nice. The only thing that the Colonial had that the Elegance did not have was play facilities fro younger children (which I didn't mind since we weren't traveling with kids). The restaurants and buffet food was good, and plentiful, however the food is a little different than American food and you need to keep this in mind when first getting there. The common american versions of Latino foods and other world cuisines will not match your tastes. If you keep and open mind and sample you will find some very tasty foods here. The Steakhouse was excellent as was the See and Sea restaurant, but my favorite was the French "Gourmand" restaurant! Ate there several times! The beach is well kept, clean, and BEAUTIFUL. We walked the length of the beach, approx 3-4 miles, and passed all the neighboring resorts. We are certain that we got the best deal for our money at the Majestic Elegance. We met a couple that have been traveling to the Dominican Republic for years, have been to Punta Cana some 19 times, and have resulted in return stays at the Elegance for the past 12 trips. We will be returning there next year, and this time will take our 3 children ages 10-14, as we were satisfied with the security, safety, and cleanliness of this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Those that are looking for cheap souvenirs to bring home, you should know there are numerous shops right in this property on the resort. Prices seem a little high, but not any extreme. For those a little more adventurous, there are 3 different "markets" around the resort within a short distance, be prepared to "barter" aggressively, don't be suckered with the "Draw" of free welcoming items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thatGuy
Business
nyc
Jun 10, 2011

Good but not great

It was good there was alot of entertainment place was not to big it was easy to get oriented ,staff was great and friendly they bend over for you make u feel on vacation mode....room was clean no problems,the problem was the flies at the buffe, and bathrooms were filthy always ran out of paper and soap ,poor maintenance, and it looked as tips were verry well accepted,not as great as they make it look but still ive been to worse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to bring long pants for the restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2011

Decent all inclusive

After graduating from medical school, my boyfriend and I were looking for an affordable, relaxing getaway. I wanted an all-inclusive hotel where everything is on site. The perks about Majestic are that everything is right there for you. They have all the food you would want, nightly shows, beach activities, etc. The nightlife on campus was actually pretty lively, after the shows people would go to the lobby bar, nightclub, and casino (which is small but adequate). The food is decent. I read before going that you shouldn't expect the "best" food and that's correct, it was average. I found I liked the buffet best because I had a lot to pick from but my significant other preferred the restaurants. We stayed in the Elegance club which also has advantages. I don't think we got a ton out of staying in the club but it wasn't that expensive either. We did go to Italian restaurant twice for lunch (not open to regular guests at lunch only elegance club) but after seeing the buffet, I didn't think this was worth it. We did order room service twice which is free for elegance club and this was definitely worth it. Other perks included having an elegance club pool that was quieter and perhaps cleaner, plus an elegance bar. There was a swim up bar at the main pool and definitely more to do at the main pool such as pool volleyball so depending on how much interaction you would like, depends on how much benefit the club pool is for you. My boyfriend and I also did a zip lining excursion which was really fun but expensive (close to 100 dollars each). I would say an excursion is a must. We were getting bored sitting by the pool all day, etc. We also got a couples massage - again good but expensive. What else, bartenders are nice, drinks are ok, some are a little "off". All in all, it's a good value for the money if you're looking for a relaxing vacation especially if coming with a large group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book transportation from airport in advance. I believe you get get a deal for $25 to hotel. Boyfriend and I winged it on way there and ended up paying $40 for a random taxi - was able to set-up the group bus for $25 per couple on the way back. It's a quick $15 save.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jksk
Business
minnesota
Jun 9, 2011

Beautiful beach, not so good food

the resort was well maintained but the service was not good. We had paid to be in the "Elegance Only" or otherwise known as the adult only section of the resort, they put us in the wrong building for 2 nights due to poor management of reservations. They did however give us a credit to use toward the spa for the inconvenience. We did have to make our voice heard to get the changes made. We were moved into the correct building the next day. The bartenders are great! Entertaining. Some of the bellman are excellent... Ask for Horman. We did the Zip line tour; it was okay... we wish we could have been able to make more runs down the cables. The ride to the cables is bumpy but very picturesque. the resort did a good job on having activities for people to do or see. They had a show every night at the theater... circus act, magician, a Micheal Jackson show and so on. The beach was beautiful. the pools are great. The food was not the best... I would compare it to a Applebees or Chilis... We just expected a higher quality then your everyday take out. If I had a recommendation to the resort it would be to get a good computer program to help with booking reservations and tracking your guests rooms. You have fill out paperwork when you get there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carribean kid
Business
Germantown, MD
Jun 4, 2011

Great Vacation

This place was great!! the room we had at the elegance club area was amazing with jacuzzi and full bar and it was poolside so we could just walk out the back door and jump in the pool. The butler service was very good, the butler would make sure we had clean beach towels cuz they were hard to come by and we had him fix up our jacuzzi and he topped it off with bath salts and rose pedals and set the mood perfectly. The resort was very clean and the food was good, a lot of different choices. The shows in particular were amazing and the best of them all was the michael jackson show. The only problem we had was when we first got there we didnt have a confirmation printout of our reciept so it took them awhile to settle us in so just make sure u have a printout of some sort of confirmation with ur room type and number of people and what u payed to avoid this problem. other than that everything was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet dining isnt particularly good and we had some issues eatin at the french restaurant cause we didnt understand the food on the menu and it wasnt that great, but the italian is awesome and so is the steakhouse so dinner should be done in one of the a la carte restaurants and use buffet for just breakfast and lunch but try to get there right when they open cuz the food is a lot better fresh.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanned Dude
Business
Stamford, CT
Jun 2, 2011

GREAT!!

Its well worth the price, these guys make sure that ALL GUESTS are happy and having a great time. I loved the hotel, I loved the food at the hotel and LOVED the experience. I will be going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Youngstown, Ohio
May 30, 2011

The Best Overall Trip My Wife and I HAD

I have no idea how anyone could complain about this Experience. We stayed in the Elegance section, which I would strongly suggest. Service was excellent. The Beach is the best ever and I have been to Maui, Ca. and Florida. None even close. The food was real Good, but a little of limited selection. Did not bother us, but I could see picky eaters having a problem Over all a wonderful trip and we will defiantly be back. It is really a steal$$$ when you consider all you Get

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drake_Specialist
Business
Dallas, TX.
May 25, 2011

Majestic Elegance

beach(Amazing), Pool(Good), Animation Team(Great), Food(OK), Staff(Pretty Good)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can bargain with the local shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bso
Business
Leavenworth, KS
May 21, 2011

First visit to Punta Cana...And nice!

Very nice rooms at the Elegance Club section of the hotel, although they have given us a two bed room (there where no king size bed rooms availabe when we arrived). The 5 hotel restaurants are good (don't expect first class food). The restaurant by the beach starts serving breakfast only after 09 AM, which I found to be a little late (We would rather eat our breakfast at the elegance lobby, instead). The staff is friendly and nice. They try to make you feel you're among friends. The hotel is plenty of activities for guests of all ages (games, dance, shows, etc); these are particularly nice for young couples and honeymooners... The hotel should include the transportation from/to the airport. Taking a taxi or a private shuttle is something one may feel unconfortable doing as he/she arrives at the airport (You cannot be sure about the quality of the transportation provided and the prices being asked by the drivers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top