$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C Dot
Couples
Boston, Massachusetts
Aug 21, 2011

Good Hotel for the Money

My boyfriend and I stayed at Majestic Elegance from August 10-16th. We had an amazing vacation. This was our first trip to an all-inclusive resort, so that my have some bearing on my review. Resort: The resort was gorgeous. It was very well-maintained and easy to navigate. Beach was cleaned every morning. Chairs were easy to find as beach was never too crowded. Room: Our room was great. Clean, close to everything. King bed, flat screen TV with a lot of channels, marble floors, jacuzzi in-suite. Pillows felt small, but there were extra in the closet so we could double up. Blow dryer and iron worked great - glad I did not have to bring either. We used the safe in the room with no issues. We brought our own shampoo, conditioner, etc. - but those were provided. I came prepared with room spray after several reviewers complained of a musty smell, but we did not actually have any problems with the smell of the room. Food: Food was as to be expected at an all-inclusive - overall, good, but not great. There was some things that we thought were really good: Japanese restaurant, plantains, and a lot of the seafood. Most of the food was pretty average. We did not have any sickness issues with the food, and did not hear of anyone else at the resort while we were there having any issues either. Drinks: We never saw a drink menu, but throughout our trip discovered at least three drinks worth mentioning. Mama Juana - a drink native to the DR that comes as a shot. Very interesting - just google it. Majestic - a creamy orange drink that you can add rum or vodka to. Tastes like a creamsicle. Dirty Monkey - banana coconut rum drink with a chocolate swirl. Delic. Elegance Club: We were really glad we upgraded to the Elegance Club. Perks we used: private beach, pools, bars, access to the Italian restaurant, free internet, 24-hr room service, continental breakfast and snack bar in the two Elegance Club lounges. We were not really anticipating using our butler for anything, and that's a good thing, because we only saw him twice - to take us to our room and to prepare our jacuzzi. Staff: Overall the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did wish we knew more Spanish or that some staff members knew more English, but no real issues. We brought a lot of small bills for tipping, which they appreciated. Overall, we had an amazing trip. For what we paid, the resort had everything we wanted. I don't think you can go wrong with this resort if it is within the budget you've set.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Email the resort a week or so before you arrive to confirm your room requests/preferences (non-smoking, double or queen bed, first floor, e.g.)

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. P
Couples
Smyrna, DE, USA
Aug 18, 2011

A Dream Honeymoon!

We visited the Majestic Elegance last week for our honeymoon. We were there during their rainy season and it only rained for one 15 minute burst on three different days of our trip. The hotel itself was pristine. Everything from the room, the pool, the restaurants, the beach, and the gardens were kept in excellent condition. We heard from fellow travelers who had visited another beach in the area that the Majestic beaches were much cleaner and more free of seaweed than the others. The dinner experience was 5 star. My husband and I had dinner at each of the Italian, French, Japanese and Argentinean restaurants and loved them all. We repeated dinner at the Italian and the Argentinean because we liked their food so much. The best thing we did at this resort was the private dinner on the beach. We had to pay extra for this because we did not order the honeymoon package with our room, but it turned out to be a much more private setting and better food options than the dinner on the beach that was included in the honeymoon package. I believe that this option was only available for people staying in the elegance club however. For honeymooners, we highly recommend the Elegance club. It is a completely separate area in the resort that is adults only, it has its own pool and beach area, and it includes extra amenities such as a private butler service, a VIP lounge with internet access, and a snack bar that is open all day even when all of the restaurants are closed between breakfast, lunch and dinner. The elegance club has its own private consierge so that you can make all of your dinner reservations without having to walk all the way back to the main lobby. We did notice that if you were not staying in the elegance club you were restricted to the main pool which was very crowded and had a lot of loud activities going on throughout the day. It was more of the "spring break" scene rather than a quiet relaxing honeymoon. Our experience with the Elegance club was that we always had a open seat by the pool or at the beach, we had a butler who fetched us our drinks so that we didn't have to get out of the pool, and we had a much quieter more relaxing experience. I highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a gorgeous, all inclusive, relaxing, beach honeymoon. Oh, and make sure you get a room with a jacuzzi inside. Some of the rooms have the jacuzzi outside on the patio (much less private). We used our indoor jacuzzi every night on the trip. It was one of the highlights of our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We didn't book our excursions ahead of time, but we found that when we booked them at the hotel using the same travel company that we booked our vacation through, we got a discount.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
psgmolina
Family
MD
Aug 15, 2011

Good overall vacation

Pros - Beautiful hotel, gardens and very friendly staff. - The food was good in all of the Buffets - The Pool is huge, cleaned every day - Beach was clean and water was clear (did see some seaweed) - The Animation team was good but since I was with younger children we did not hang around much in the area they were at. - Although the hotel was fully booked, there are plenty of places to go if you don’t want to be around all of the commotion. - Room Service is included so we took advantage of this on multiple occasions. TIPS: 1. For Shopping, go outside of the hotel, about a 5 minute walk to the shops there. Prices are much more reasonable. 2. Make sure to bring your medication i.e. Tums, and children’s' medication just in case. 3. Tipping a dollar here and there goes a long way. Although I found tipping was not necessary, these folks really seemed to enjoy making you feel good during your stay with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go outside of the hotel, about two minute walk to shops there. Better selection and definitely better prices.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BESJLW
Couples
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Nice Resort But Poor service

The resort is close to the airport. We went there for a destination wedding. The resort itself was clean and well kept, with modern decor, great amenities, and a very nice beach. The pools were great and the Bali beds were a nice touch. The hot tubs, both inside and out, are really just bathtubs so don't get too excited about these. The food was average at the buffets however, we did find that the restaurants were much better. If you like good food, you will not find it at this resort. We are not foodies, but we stuggled to find a good meal. The drinks were light on the alcohol, but I saw many people tipping the bar tenders even though this is not allowed to get a normal drink. There is no wireless network which I found very frustrating because I had to work during the vacation. The biggest complaint I had was the service. We stayed in the Club section which was supposed to have a butler to help you with everything. We saw this guy during the first five minutes we were there and that was it all week. Relatively few employees spoke English which was pretty amazing. This was problematic because you would ask them to fix something in your room, thinking they would take care of it, but they just noded and then it did no get done. I went to get towels on several days and they were out. They told me to come back in an hour or two when they would get another shipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sinking Spring, PA
Aug 6, 2011

Romantic Getaway

I have been to many Caribbean resorts and this was the best one yet! The beach is clean and the water is clear. The room was very luxurious. The shower had a showerhead and 3 streams on the sides that massage your back. Great resort, I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Flavors and the Steakhouse were the best restaurants.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
everysummer
Couples
New York, Ny
Aug 5, 2011

Majestic Elegance

Are you looking for elegance, well you will certainly find it in Punta Cana's Majestic Elegance. All inclusive jacuzzi, private pool, beach is sandy white and the water.......whew clear blue. We relaxed,ate,drank,gambled and repeated the process for 6 straight nights. We've been to Jamaica's Grand Lido and other well known places and we are rating this the Majestic Elegance 5 stars out of 5......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ladies no high heels... be comfortable

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York
Aug 4, 2011

Fantastic!

The name of the resort says it all - the property, the rooms, the beach, the pools are all Majestic. Everything in this resort was designed to make travelers feel royal and at home. The staff - is made up of welcoming, warm and caring locals who will make sure that each and every one of your requests get fulfilled. Chocolate Girl, Spaggetti Boy, Johnny will make sure you are dancing and smiling at all times, Maxima and Mariano will introduce you to "Mamajuana" and make sure that you are always happy and each and every server will make sure you have everything you need. The property - is absolutely breathtaking and picture perfect - every corner of the hotel will serve a gorgeous backdrop for your vacation memories. The rooms are absolutely spectacular. The showers in the Elegance Club have water coming at you from every direction and the jacuzzi adds a nice touch of romance to your evening. Food - Delicious. I highly recommend following a strict diet before and after your visit. Being that everything is all inclusive, you will want to try and taste EVERYTHING! Overall - The Elegance Club is worth every penny. If you want to experience and feel the beauty of the Dominican Republic at all times, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dxd135
Family
va
Aug 2, 2011

Vacation

I think the overall vacation was ok [...] customer seervices may need to improve a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The bitting vacation
Family
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2011

Mixed opinions.

The hotel is beautiful. The beach is outstanding and great location. The waiters and bartenders were very nice and polite, they would go out of their way to help out. Now the bad things, the housekeeping staff was terrible. They would clean the room at different times which made it hard to relax in the room after the beach since they needed to come in and clean. Would be very skimpy with towels, you get two bath towels and one hand towel. Would take very long to come if you call about extra towels or to clean the room. The hotel is an open air deign, in other words the hotel lobby is open no ac, plus most of the hotel area. The nice lobby bars are all very hot and not a lot of ventilation thru them. Not very pleasant to sit there in your nice clothes and be sweating because it's 90 degrees. I understand a poolside bar or lounge but this is where they play mucic and you have a beautiful bar to hang out. Also the food was very poor in quality. The fancy restaurants they have have mediocre food that are lacking in taste. They are very skimpy in their portions and are kind of eager to move you along, kind of rushing you out. Also be prepared to be eaten alive by mosquitos. When you are out trying to enjoy the nightly shows sweating beacuse it's outdoors and then you have mosquitos bitting you like crazy. We had to buy bug spray at the shop in the hotel for $17 for a small spray can. The worst was when we had some mosquitos got into our room at night and in the morning we were bit in multiple places. I don't recommend this hotel, if you don't mind beign constantly hot, or if you plan on hanging out in your room then you are ok then. Also the pools close at night, no swimming after hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Cuajo
Friends
San juan, PR
Jul 30, 2011

Fantastic Food and service!!

Its really good especially the japanese restaurant!! Nice club and closes late not like other hotels that bars close at 1 A.M.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top