$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alliecat423
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Oct 29, 2012

Everything I hoped for!

I went to this resort and stayed in the Elegance Club on my honeymoon, October 21-26, and could not have asked for a better time! The staff was so friendly and really treated you like they wanted you there and wanted you to have a great time. It even rained for an entire day we were down there, but the resort staff made sure everyone was entertained and still had a good time. We went to two shows while we were there (a karaoke night and a 70/80s show) and they were both very entertaining. The beach was wonderful and there were always plenty of beach chairs. The pools were beautiful and always clean. The private pools for Elegance Club were perfect if you wanted to relax and not be in the middle of all the excitement. Sometimes it was hard to get new beach towels (complimentary for Elegance Club) if you didn't get them first thing in the morning, but that was minor. The food and drinks were great and there were lots of options to chose from. We went to every restaurant but the French and Japanese. The buffets were great and the Steakhouse was AMAZING. There was always an open bar to go to and you typically got served right away. Everything really was included, no hidden fees. We decided to tip after getting a few drinks or after a meal if the service was really good. I didn't feel as though it was ever expected or that they treated us any worse when we didnt. We just wanted to thank them if they were pleasant and served us well. My only real complaint about the resort is that I felt like they were a little stingy on their linens and the room didn't always look as nice as I wanted it to after the cleaning service had been there. They gave my husband and I two towels and two hand towels total and no wash rags. I felt like I needed to protect my one towel each day because if it got dirty you wouldn't have a new one until the next day. The pillows were also pretty dingy... but again, very MINOR things compared to the overall blast we had on the trip! I would go back in a heartbeat and recommend this place to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

When making a reservation for the Japanese restaurant, make it as early as possible because they fill up quick! Also, be clear about your time preference because I heard they may try and fill up later time slots first.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billios996
Couples
Easton, PA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

enjoy this resort

My GF and I had a great relaxing time at the Majestic Elegance Punta Cana. Punta Cana is strictly a resort destination, there's nothing outside the resorts. If you want to walk outside the hotel and do some urban exploration, look elsewhere. This is a couples oriented destination. There is a kids area, but as a big kid myself, it looked kinda lame. The buildings and grounds are gorgeous. There were plenty of daily activities to keep you occupied when you are done relaxing on the perfect beach or one of the huge pools. The food was quite good, better than I expected. You need to have an open mind, some of the dishes get lost in translation. Avoid the outdoor buffet. There is no air conditioning besides your room and the restaurants. I wish there were some activities organized indoors in the A/C to escape the heat. The activities start at noon by the pool or beach, which in my prior experience, is siesta time. At the airport, don't let anybody take your bags, they want an absurd payment like $5 per bag. Ask me how I know :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian and the gourmet restaurant have a better filet mignon dish than the steak house. Avoid the See and Sea buffet, go to the big indoor buffet instead. The bartenders make great mojitos.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty Ricky
Couples
Miami, FL, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Excellent Honeymoon!

This is by far the best all-inclusive I have been to in Dominican republic. We were there for our honeymoon (9 days, 8 nights) and couldn't of had a better time. The food is very good (except room service), the staff is A+++(thank you so much Dalton), the beach is gorgeous and the rooms are amazing. We stayed in the Elegance Club and would recommend the upgrade to any couples booking. We enjoyed all the meals we ate in the 6 different restaurants and the top shelf liquor was a plus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax, eat, drink, and enjoy a wonderful beach. We also had a spa day and I would highly recommend the chocolate wrap with exfoliation and massage. Overall we had a wonderful experience and we were very sad to go back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

You need to try the French and Italian Restaurants.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke and Lib
Couples
Florence, SC, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Tropical vacation

The hotel complex was large and well planned. Everything was centered around a lovely courtyard. As in most hotels, the music was too loud. Being from the USA, I like to have a face cloth to wash my face. Very hard to get hotel to give you one. Oh, they have them, just don't want to put them in the linen. Had to request them each day and then the maid expected a tip. Don't leave money laying around, maids think it is their tip for the day. Food was plentiful but just average. Had own transportation and hotel was dificult to find because roads are not clearly marked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi to Captain Cook's Seafood in Punta Cana. On beach,fresh caught seafood, delightfully prepared. Do not accept credit cards. Lunch for 2 cost about US$52.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chitown23
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Good hotel, good food, excellent beach!

The resort and pools are very beautiful. The rooms are ok, the food is good but the best part is the beach and ocean. The beach and water are very clean. We loved spending our time on the beach. Overall I would rate this trip as one of the best vacations. I would definitely recommended this resort to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Great beach and water to snorkel!

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HDL2984
Friends
Illinois, USA
Sep 2, 2011

**Great Hotel- No Longer ADULTS ONLY though**

This was our second time at the Majestic Elegance and the only thing that we were very disappointed about was that it is no longer adults only- no matter what they tell you. It is a fabulous hotel that we fell in love with last year, but one of the main reasons we chose to come back again was that there were no kids on our side. However, this year they were everywhere- in the main lounge/bar area, pools, building, grounds, beach, etc. where it was suppose to be adults only. The first night there we watched a girl (maybe 10 or 11) have a full-blown temper tantrum on the floor after her sister hit her. If I wanted to listen and watch that I would have stayed home or brought my own kids. A lot of people were upset and noticed the same. The staff kept telling us that nothing had changed, but it is obvious that something has changed- which would be fine if they told customers that ahead of time. We took pictures of quite a few kids that were in the adults only part to prove that they were all over. They are supposed to be on the Colonial side, but they are not. Starlin is awesome though and deserves to be promoted even more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the little strip mall right outside the hotel's gates. You can talk the vendors down drastically, but be ready for battle. They all come at you and beg you to come into their shops. Prices are so much cheaper and they have a different variety- especially for paintings. Their first few prices are WAY OVERPRICED, so talk them down. I bought one of the large carved wooden masks and handmade large plate for $50 (hotel price for mask alone was $55) but the vendors first price was $178. I gave him my bottom and started to walk out and he took it. I did that with several other things and vendors.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JULIDIA
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Aug 30, 2011

YUVELKA FROM BRONX, NEW YORK

MY EXPERIENCE AT THE MAJESTIC ELEGANCE RESORT IN PUNTA CANA WAS JUST INCREDIBLE. I JUST COULD NOT BELIEVE THAT IN SPITE OF HURRICANE IRENE THE HOTEL REMAINED SPOTLESS FROM THE DAY ME AND MY BOYFRIEND KEVIN ARRIVED. OUR FLIGHT WAS CANCELED MONDAY SO WE TRAVELED ON THE FOLLOWING DAY. IT RAINED FOR A COUPLE DAYS, BUT THEN THE SUN CAME OUT AND EVERYTHING LOOKED SPECTACULAR. I COULD NOT THANK THE AMAZING STAFF ENOUGH STARTING WITH JOSE LUIS ( POOL SITE BUFFET) WHO WAS VERY ATTENTIVE AND MADE SURE THAT WE WERE 100% SATISFIED. THE POOL ANIMATION WAS ALSO GOOD SPECIALLY CHOCOLATE AND THE OTHER GUYS, THEY WERE GREAT. THE SHOWS AT NIGHT, THE CASINO THE BARS AND THE FOOD WERE OUTSTANDING SPECIALLY THE JAPANESE AND THE STEAK HOUSE RESTAURANTS. THE FRENCH RESTAURANT HAS A MAGNIFICENT AMBIENT. ALL FIVE RESTAURANT WORTH FIVE STARS. THE BEACH, OMG, WHAT A PARADISE. THE CLEANING LADIES, BRAVO OUR ROOM WAS SPOTLESS AND NICELY DECORATED EVERY MORNING. I FELT LIKE A PRINCESS IN THIS RESORT. I AM LOOKING FORWARDS TOWARDS MY NEXT TRIP TO PUNTA CANA. THIS IS JUST MAGIC :-))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

PLEASE NOTE, YOU NEED TO MAKE RESERVATION TO THE ITALIAN, FRENCH AND JAPANESE RESTAURANTS. YOU ALSO NEED TO DRESS UP FOR THE FRENCH AND ITALIAN RESTAURANTS. YOU DON'T NEED RESERVATION FOR THE REST.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flacoflaco
Single
Bronx, NY, USA
Aug 29, 2011

wooooowwwww

I never been place like that on my life the food was great everything was great I don't have word to describe this was so perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The sport bar play good music is next to casino

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lunasea
Couples
Broadkill Beach, Lewes, DE, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Beautiful Wedding

Our vacation would have wonderful if Hurricane Irene hadn't decided to visit. Fortunately our niece's wedding was on Saturday and it was lovely. It was a shame that pool and beach had to be closed for two days (our main choice of entertainment ) and the bars for one day. We'd never been to an all inclusive before this trip. It was interesting but cruises still appeal to us more. The maid service was below par. I believe because of their lack of training. Just giving them a check list would have helped. The rest of the service was really great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own wash cloths, insulated mugs, and rafts.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kokotan
Couples
Kansas City, KS, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Nice Place

I had read tons of other reviews and my experience was a mix of those reviews. Upon arrival they took us to a private area to be checked in. That process took what I would consider to be too long, but eventually we headed towards our room. When we walked into our room I knew it was not right. I pointed this out to them and they said yes, your room is not available. I had read about this several times so it was not totally unexpected. What could we do, we had to take it. The next day we were moved to the room we had actually reserved. Kind of a pain, but overall not a huge issue. Once we got a chance to look around the resort it was a nice place. Very clean and well kept. For the most part the people were friendly and helpful. The food, it is ok, not great, but on par with the other all-inclusive places I have been to. The steak house, in my opinion, was the best restaurant. The French restaurant is just that, French. If you do not like foo-foo then don't go. The pools are huge and not overly crowded. They could use cleaned a little more often however. The beach is nice and they keep the seaweed off of the beach. The sand is soft and the water is fairly clear. The only downfall of this beach is that the water gets deeper pretty quickly. About 10 feet out in the water and you are 4-5 foot deep. No a bad thing necessarily, just depends what you are looking for. Entertainment on the resort was ok. At night they have bands and shows. The bands typically end around 10-10:30 and the shows start after that. The shows last around an hour or so. Most of the shows were ok at best. The Michael Jackson show was good. Besides the music and shows there is not a ton to do. There is a spa with fair prices. There is a casino that is open in the evenings. They say they have a sports bar, but that is a joke. It is not a sports bar. Just outside of the gates there is a shopping area that many people went to. We did not. There is also a nice golf course close by. We did stay in the Majestic Elegance part where children are not allowed. If this is something you desire then I highly recommend it. No kids splashing around in the pool or running around and yelling. Room service is included 24/7 in these rooms too which was nice. Now for the bad, don't drink the water. I have been to many different countries and have had issues before. No different here. About 2 days in I started to feel odd. It took my wife around 4 days but she too was knocked out for a couple days. We thought we had stayed away from the tap water but who knows, could have been the salad or something we ate. Overall this is a good place to go as long as you know what it is and it fits your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a private taxi to the resort. These cost around $80-$100 round trip if you look around. Make sure the company is reputable. You will get to your resort twice as fast, at least, than shared transport.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NaNa 44
Family
Connecticut, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Kid Friendly and lots to do!!

Exceptional Hotel and Staff. Weather was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to have fun, fun, fun.

Back to menu Return to top