$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nats L
Couples
Chicago, IL
Oct 13, 2013

Amazing Anniversay Getaway!

My husband and I stayed here on the "Elegance" side (adults only) and it was amazing. The staff, the room, teh spa, the food, the pools everything was fantastic! We had an amazing anniversary from the cake our butler suprised us with to the champagne and rose petals in our jacuzzi we had a fantastic vacation. Couldn't ask for anything more! Zip lining trip booked at the conceirge desk was phenomenal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Travelers Two
Couples
Georgia
Oct 7, 2013

Just out for a week of relaxation

Pools and Beach were the bomb but the service needs be a bit better and more smiles, There was a big language barrier with almost all the staff. A lot of construction going on and due to this the beach restaurant and lounge were not open. The food was fair in most restaurants but the Steak house food and service was the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avee
Couples
R-DU
Sep 28, 2013

I needed a break from Life!

We arrived on Monday afternoon at the Majestic Elegance with a "special" VIP checkin at the hotel for Elegance members with a cup of wine to start. Everyone at this hotel is more then helpful, even if they don't all speak english, they do try their hardest to make sure someone helps. I really appreciated the "hola" and "como estas?" every day and through out the day. The staff is top-notch. Our room was very cozy, very clean and very spacius facing the pretty lush forest and beach view. The sheets were a little damp on the first night so we asked for a changed of sheets and this was much better. The chairs in the room were very dirty, I would recommend that they throw them away and replace.. So dirty I didn't bother to sit in them. Also the box spring was ripped and showed thread hanging. The shower heads could use some CLR to clear the lime and rust. As for the resort.. Its very beautiful, lots of food and drinks all the time. the food was average, the lunch buffet was the best meal we had there. We went to all but one restaraunt , i would give them 3 out of 5 stars. I have to say the all the inclusive drinks were probably the worse i've had.. none were tasty, just tasted like cheap liqour and watered down mixers. I would recommend they use real mixer juices instead of watered down kool-aid mixes. I was very disappointed with the drinks.. not good.. Entertainment at this resort was bad, the guide that tells you what is going on everyday was incorrect.. we went for the "michael jackson" show.. instead it was a magic show that was...blah... I would love it if this place had WiFi through out the entire property instead of one lousy lounge with dirty white furniture that needs to be replaced with something that doesn't show stains. If it weren't for the location, and availability of things to do at beach and the excellent staff .. i would grade it lower. these people work for you.. i appreciated it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Just eat the buffet, its better then all the restaraunts.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
THarper
Couples
Georgia
Sep 24, 2013

Under Renovation

We would have loved to have known beforehand that this hotel was under renovation. Especially this being our 1st time to Punta Cana and on our honeymoon. From the time of check-in we experienced issues. It took us 2 days to get someone to open our safe. This was after us calling from our room and then going to speak to guest services. The same issue happened with the hair dryer. They said they were 'on their way' and after 30 minutes of waiting we left for our dinner reservation. We finally got someone in on the 3rd day. When we had our room cleaned, they did not change our seats nor did they give us CLEAN towels. They simply left our dirty towels hanging up. So again, we had to call and ask for new sheets and new towels. Quite ridiculous. And to top it all off my husband and I both got sick almost every day from the food. The only thing that made this trip worth while was the awesome weather, beautiful beach and our zip-lining excursion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little shopping center right outside the resort where local vendors are. You can get much better deals on items than what they are selling at the hotel. Def. worth the walk.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCWineguy
Couples
Wilmington, NC
Sep 24, 2013

First All Inclusive Experience

This was our first trip to the DR and the first time we tried an all inclusive. Overall the experience was a good one. We knew going into the trip that there was some construction on site which did cause some minor interruptions in service and available amenities, but nothing that was a deal breaker for us. The resort grounds were gorgeous and well maintained. The beach and water absolutely stunning. There is some beach erosion, but there really isn't anything the resort can do about that. The pools expansive with plant of places to get a refreshing beverage although we spent very little time there as the water was too warm.. Our first room was second floor and faced the Majestic Colonial. A/C worked well and was quiet, but the room was musty and the view was depressing. My wife went to Natalie at guest services and asked if anything could be done. After a few phone calls we got the thumbs up and rooms were changed to a fourth floor pool view/partial ocean view. A vast improvement to our final four days at ME. The service was outstanding and courteous. The food was acceptable and better than expected. We stayed club level which seems to be the most popular way to stay. The minor additional cost was worth it alone for the club lounge. Snacks, water, and coffee available all day long. We will definitely consider returning to the Majestic Elegance for out next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Allow the porters at the airport to take your bags and whisk you through security to your taxi/transfer. Definitely worth a dollar or two per bag.

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grampa Lou
Family
Chino Hills Ca
Sep 17, 2013

Great Value for the $$$$

The location was great. Beautiful. Depending where you're room is there is some walking involved. Ground kept up nicely, for a tropical location encountered no insects. Rooms did have a few repairs required while we were there but taken care of immediately which made it bearable. Food selection was excellent except for Japanese restaurant which was deceiving, not at all resembling a Bennihanas type menu. French,Italian,seafood were excellent even the buffet was beyond average with multiple selections. Plenty of activities planned daily with entertainment nightly at resort and sister resort. Staff was friendly and helpful. Brush up on you're Spanish though. would go back and highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Violetta Princessa
Couples
New York, NY
Sep 4, 2013

VIP Stay

It is a very nice and comfortable resort, especially the Elegance Club category. If you like to have good drinks, you will have them and they are top shelf liquers, champagne, wine, beer and bottles in your room. The only thing you need to find out when they having construction on the resort property... it was my second time around with construction and it wasn't a good time, since 8:00am in the morning I had to listen for the banging, hammering and lot's of undesirable site of the construction. Otherwise it is very good resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japonese Restaurant

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victoria445
Couples
New York City
Aug 19, 2013

Family vacation

We had a great time - when we got there we decided to upgrade to a swim up room which made the stay much nicer - the staff was nice specially the ones that worked the bar right outside our rooms - the food was good specially the dinner we reserved for a birthday celebration. I would recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mritchie
florida
Aug 4, 2013

staff no help

roon not what was told to use on the phone by front desk, food was not good, we both got sick on day three, air conditioner made noise and staff could not fix it after five tries, managenment never offered us a new room. will never go back to that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of Majestic Elegance Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chief TC
Couples
New Iberia, LA
Aug 2, 2013

Not all that Elegant for the price

Pros: Beautiful property, good food, fairly nice beach (not great), good activities and shows. Beach area okay, and no waiter service at your chairs. Availability of snacks great and at many hours. Helpful personnel in the lounge areas, but the front desk is useless. House-keeping great. Beds good. Travel from airport: I paid for roundtrip service. It was very difficult to locate personnel who were to take us to the property. Long wait and long drive to property. I’d suggest pay the $40 per trip and take a taxi both ways. Return was in a full sized bus that made 4 stops at different properties, bus A/C didn’t work, and it took a long time to get to airport. Check-in : Very slow and I could see no reason. You have to wear these goofy wrist bands that no one checks for. Most of the guests do not wear them, because if you lose them, it’s $90 each to replace. Adults-only property: What a joke. The only place it’s adult-only is in your room and a few pools. Screaming kids at dinner in the restaurants, screaming kids at the beach. What a waste of paying extra money for an adults-only property. 5 star hotel: No way. 3 star at best. Service is the worst I ever experienced in all my worldly travels. You’re assigned a butler (another joke) but don’t look for service, unless you grease palms. Getting and replacing beach towels alone is a pain in the rear. We had to go 3 days with wet towels before we could exchange them (Don’t dare lose your beach towel cards or you will be charged a huge fee). Had problems with A/C, promised to fix, and never did. I packaged laundry for pick-up per instructions on form. Never could get them to take it in 2 days, numerous calls with no help, had to hand carry it to office to get it done. Non-paying guests are allowed to use beach area, taking prime spots, with their kids, as long as they knew the guard. Alcoholic drinks, suck. Beach property at border areas very filthy with trash and debris. Activities: Golf- Was promised free rounds of golf. It’s a free tee-times. Carts are $45, $25 more if you want your spouse to ride only, $50 for club rental (Don’t bring your own for this course, b/c it has gravel traps with large rocks, not sand). Course is in poor shape. Greens extremely slow. Horse-back riding: Promised good horses that we could choose which we wanted. Yeah right. Old plugs that should have been euthanized years ago and you have no choices. Long hard ride in the back of a cargo truck. Para-sailing: Great. Do it. Snorkeling: Long rough ride in small boat to the snorkeling area. Dead reef. Very few small fish. Don’t go if the wind is blowing too hard. Snorkeling gear is cheap and bad. Free kayaking: Good Disco: If you like high energy music focused at locals versus guests, with cheap alcohol, then go. Doesn’t open until 11pm Casino: What a joke. Spend a few bucks, and take a 10 minute ride to Hard Rock Casino Resort Shopping: Bring everything you need. Normal day to day items priced 300% over norm. Tee shirts were amazingly reasonably priced, but that’s about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top