$293 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBamm
Business
NJ
Dec 8, 2014

POOPACANA

I will start off by saying this resort was beautiful - grounds were perfectly groomed, rooms were nice which included a daily stocked mini fridge, beach was beautiful. Weather was great most days. I have never been one to leave a review bc I feel so many people complain about trivial stuff but this was important to mention: What ruined our trip - which I planned for my 15th wedding anniversary was the fact that my husband and I got sick the second day we were there. Major diarrhea - kept us in the bathroom most of the time and up most nights. Not sure if it was the food or water or both - but have been home since yesterday and still so very sick. Visiting the Dr today. This will deter me from ever returning to DR. Food was so-so. Nothing special. But after being so sick we didn't even want to eat or drink for fear of what was going to happen. If you are looking to go somewhere that is beautiful, this is the place, but my recommendation is to not eat and only drink bottled water:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be careful of what you eat and drink!!!

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adioscowboy
Business
Bogota
Mar 10, 2015

Nice trip but

The hotel was nice and the staffs were great but the beach was not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adioscowboy
Business
Bogota
Mar 10, 2015

It was a nice trip but

It could be more perfect if there was a more nice beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dallis M.
Business
N/A
Mar 18, 2015

Not what we expected

Fun trip but have no interest in going back. Compared to other all-inclusive hotels I've been to this one was a let down. The food was ok, the entertainment was lacking and the bartenders didn't seem to be consistent with how they made drinks which, was very annoying. Mexico would have probably been a better option for spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Claudiu N.
Business
Pierrefonds
Mar 19, 2015

Just OK

Everyone is looking to give them money, services are ok, the room smelled of mold, I changed 4 rooms up to find convenient one for which I paid 400 $ extra, because it was closer to the sea. The food is ok, ok activities, clean beach, over all I do not know if I come back there. I had paid for tickets 6000 $, 3 adults and 1 child, I would have expected something more considering the reviews that I read.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C
Business
N/A
Mar 21, 2015

Winter Getaway

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff. However there should be more activities. Food was HORRIBLE!! Dinner at the Japanese restaurant was the only plus side to our vacation. Beach was dirty, and room needs to be updated!! Overall it's a great budget-friendly choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandon B.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

our getaway

Wife and I just got back from our trip on the 9th of April. When we arrived we were taken care of and felt very secure in the resort. This was our 2nd trip to the Dominican and will make a repeat trip. Now for the resort it was very clean and the food was great...the Japanese restaurant and the Mexican restaurants were by far our favorite!!! The buffet was ok..not something I would want to eat every night, and the restaurant down by the beach called Rodeo Grill was not good at all!!! The beach itself was very nice very clean and the staff was very friendly. The pool, albeit very large was not very deep so not much time spent there. We upgraded to the colonial club and tell the truth it really was not worth the upgrade, the private pools they had for them were very boring, unless you like to just lay there. As for the entertainment... well it was very bad!!! Not much going on at all if you are at this resort to have fun then you picked the wrong one. We are in our 40's and still like to have some fun especially if we drop 4000 on a trip!!! Not all is bad... if you like to go and just kinda mingle and have a few drinks and just lay there then this is the trip for you. We did take an excursion and it was a real good time, got to see a lot of the Dominican people and how they live. We will return....just not back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patricia S.
Business
Young Harris
Apr 22, 2015

Fell short of expectations

The hotel staff, service and facility have a lot of positives...but could definitely improve to remain competitive. Displays and food presentations where lovely, but the quality of the food was poor, even in the specialty restaurants. Room amenities (shampoo, conditioner, bath gel) were very low quality. We were disappointed that this hotel, which was more expensive than the all-inclusive we stayed at on our first visit, left much to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just for relax
Business
TX
Mar 23, 2010

Recent Trip

Hotel itself was really nice. I went for a wedding which turned out awesome on the beach. Service quality was for the most part great for me and it definitely helped I knew spanish. I knew people who didn't experience as good of service due perhaps to some language barrier. Although there were plenty of people who spoke english well enough. Food was hit or miss. For most part just average. Best food was at the French restaurant Le Gourmet. Shopping was not great due to all of the haggling involved. My wife saw a necklace for sale at one stand for $20. At another stand later she decided she wanted it and they started us out at $235! I talked him down telling him what I saw previously and purchased it for $20. I did scuba through beach services which was ok, dive was at nearby reef, approx 45 ft depth, 40-50 ft visibility, 45 min dive. Kataraman's were a bit difficult to get a hold of but not impossible. I recommend planning a little better than I did and reserve the restaurant/beach equipment/etc as soon as possible. The resort & beach was was very similar to an all-inclusive hotel/trip I took in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessica P.
Business
annandale
May 19, 2015

Second All Inclusive

Getting to the resort was very pleasant due to the major highway. The beach was very nice and big, offering many shaded huts. There are people walking up and down the beach but will not push you to buy something and take no for an answer. Resorts are on either side so there is mainly tourists and feels safe. Rooms are nice and big but the air conditioning was not very good (heard this from multiple people), bed caused some stiff backs in the morning (also multiple people), and there is no fan in the toilet area. Spa was very nice but also pricey - nail services were ok pricing but any body services was steep. Food was ok - dinner was always good but lunch and breakfast you have to find a couple things you like and end up sticking with it for the rest of the trip. Since it was buffet, its just a bunch of mediocre options with a few gems (fried cheese and french toast :)). Biggest problems were customer service, drinks, and entertainment. A few waiters and the bartenders at the adult pool were amazing - but the rest of the staff made me feel very unappreciated like they didn't want me in their country. They would also have conversations with each other in Spanish for much longer than the request or question required which just made me think they were talking about me. Butler was a great guy but we saw him every other day. NOT TRUE BUTLER SERVICE! I've had it in Sandals - nowhere even close to that level. Shouldn't really be called a butler. Drinks are good the first day until you realize its just sugar and syrup and not real juices. Entertainment also left a lot to be desired - not much to do, shows weren't great, pool activities weren't set up very well, took us over a hour to find a volleyball from the resort to play on the beach. Ended up at the sports bar every night. I was sick for a good portion of the trip due to something I ate the second day and my only other experience was at Sandals in Antigua so I do have a more negative view of this place. I can see why people liked it but it is not a resort I would recommend or visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top