$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
415 out of 415
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patricia S.
Family
Young Harris
Apr 22, 2015

Fell short of expectations

The hotel staff, service and facility have a lot of positives...but could definitely improve to remain competitive. Displays and food presentations where lovely, but the quality of the food was poor, even in the specialty restaurants. Room amenities (shampoo, conditioner, bath gel) were very low quality. We were disappointed that this hotel, which was more expensive than the all-inclusive we stayed at on our first visit, left much to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessica P.
Couples
annandale
May 19, 2015

Second All Inclusive

Getting to the resort was very pleasant due to the major highway. The beach was very nice and big, offering many shaded huts. There are people walking up and down the beach but will not push you to buy something and take no for an answer. Resorts are on either side so there is mainly tourists and feels safe. Rooms are nice and big but the air conditioning was not very good (heard this from multiple people), bed caused some stiff backs in the morning (also multiple people), and there is no fan in the toilet area. Spa was very nice but also pricey - nail services were ok pricing but any body services was steep. Food was ok - dinner was always good but lunch and breakfast you have to find a couple things you like and end up sticking with it for the rest of the trip. Since it was buffet, its just a bunch of mediocre options with a few gems (fried cheese and french toast :)). Biggest problems were customer service, drinks, and entertainment. A few waiters and the bartenders at the adult pool were amazing - but the rest of the staff made me feel very unappreciated like they didn't want me in their country. They would also have conversations with each other in Spanish for much longer than the request or question required which just made me think they were talking about me. Butler was a great guy but we saw him every other day. NOT TRUE BUTLER SERVICE! I've had it in Sandals - nowhere even close to that level. Shouldn't really be called a butler. Drinks are good the first day until you realize its just sugar and syrup and not real juices. Entertainment also left a lot to be desired - not much to do, shows weren't great, pool activities weren't set up very well, took us over a hour to find a volleyball from the resort to play on the beach. Ended up at the sports bar every night. I was sick for a good portion of the trip due to something I ate the second day and my only other experience was at Sandals in Antigua so I do have a more negative view of this place. I can see why people liked it but it is not a resort I would recommend or visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daisy
Couples
Germantown
May 4, 2015

Food was just ok

The beach was beautiful! Weather was perfect! The food was just ok. The staff was cordial, but didn't go over and beyond. Resort was big enough for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dee M.
Family
N/A
Jul 6, 2015

Family Trip

This is our 2nd trip to the Dominican but our 1st time bringing family. We had an ok trip. As you have read on other reviews the food is nothing to write about but we were always able to find something to eat unfortunately it was the same thing for 7days :(. The Japanese restaurant is the only one worth visiting. The rooms were awesome and BIG! I booked off of here but they didn't even think of upgrading us so don't even expect it and I asked.... they were not filled because I came back another day to ask about upgrading and I heard of all of my choices...hmmmm! Anyway our room was big enough and we didn't really need to upgrade and pay for it. The bathroom was seriously not an issue, I'm not sure what the issue was. It is not really see through and it's completely away from the sitting area. Run some water while your in there and move on! We did utilize the kids club. There isn't alot of supervision so we only did it one day for a couple of hours. All in all I had a great family vacation but this will be our last visit to the Dominican with the political events going on there we will not support the views of the government. What a shame!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Francesca D.
Family
N/A
Jul 25, 2015

will dont return

the food left you with poor quality don't drink the tab water or ice in your drinks you will get bacterial infection and have diarrhea

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sand Digger
Single
Tejas
Jan 9, 2014

Great Stay! Highly Recommend

This place was FANTASTIC! Stayed a week for a friend's weeding and loved it. We stayed our first night on the island at another "resort" and thought we were living large; this place put it to shame! Great staff, decent food (lots of it!), the grounds are beautiful, and and the place is huge. They have great activities throughout the day for families as well as adults. -Volleyball Champs 2013

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Apart from special occasions (e.g. Thanksgiving) the buffet dinners were meh. I recommend checking out the steakhouse or other restaurants (some included, some extra). I was never disappointed.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GuyNY
Couples
NY, NY
Jan 30, 2014

Nice stay!

Room wasn't ready when we arrived, food was hit or miss, especially on New Year's Eve and Day, but otherwise Everything was great, especially the quiet areas in the Club section and the Club lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make rez at the Hibachi place. Entertaining and delicious.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelDan
Couples
Boston, MA
Feb 7, 2014

Quick Couples Getaway

My GF and I had the best time at the Majestic Colonial(MC). From the fantastic beach, EXCELLENT staff and accessibility to off-resort activities this resort really delivered. This was our 3rd stay and for good reason. The value is outstanding. Roughly a half hour from the airport, the MC is in the Bavaro Beach area of Punta Cana. Check in was easy and fast and we were pleased with the room. The pool areas and the beach are spotless and the staff has you covered from the numerous bars all the way to the beach. The beach itself is only a 2 min walk from any room in the resort which is a big plus. Other resorts require a bit of a walk, but that is not he case at the MC. The MC staff always ensure that there is something to do if you want to take a break from laying in the beach. There were a parties, live music, various beach contests and numerous pool area activities each afternoon. The food was pretty good too. There are a couple of restaurants that require you to reserve, but all others as well as the general dining areas are walk-in. I can't say enough about the staff, they are are friendly, funny and work hard to ensure you are a having a good time. Enough reading, just book it, you will be glad you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend that you see someone your first day there to plan your off-resort activities. There are numerous to choose from, but my GF and I really enjoyed the swim with the dolphins, dune buggy ride and the surfing.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fitward
Friends
Marion, Ohio
Feb 11, 2014

Adult getaway

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! We upgraded to the Colonial Club and it was worth the extra money! Resort was very clean. Staff was very friendly (although some do not speak much english). Beach was very well kept and beautiful. Shows were just okay (Michael Jackson show was the best and it is only on sundays). They have a beach party on Monday that seemed like it'd be a lot of fun but that was the day we left. The food was just average. None of us got sick from the food, like I had read in previous reviews, however a lot of the food was the same at all restaurants. Matsuri, the Japanese restaurant which requires reservations was our favorite! One thing we found a little odd was that the rooms didn't have alarm clocks and you just didn't see clocks period. Some may like this as you are on vacation and not a a schedule, however when having reservations at a restaurant, you need to know the time. We had cell phones but because we didn't have a global package, they were pretty useless unless you're willing to pay 1.99/minute and .50/text.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lottery winner
Family
long island, new york
Feb 22, 2014

lovely place

very nice, clean and a wide variety of food. bartenders and staff very friendly and pleasant . beach was beautiful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top