$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
532 reviews
Family vacation

Great place!They did not have room available so they gave us majtic elegance which is better... See full review

  • mia and family
  • Jul 13, 2014
Great fun

Very clean. Great staff. Plenty of activities and resteraunts. Something new everyday to keep you... See full review

  • Jaybabejoiner
  • Jul 12, 2014
Punta Cana all inclusive, all junior suite resort with Jacuzzi, New Colonial Club adults only section

An oceanfront resort on a beautiful shore, Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive provides all-inclusive options for families who love variety and couples alike. With meals and drinks included at six restaurants and eleven bars, guests can relax and enjoy the Caribbean feel. Children have their own pool, club, playground, mini disco and video games. Swimming and sunning combine with a chance to join beach football or volleyball or to get in a kayak or small sailboat. At night, head to the piano bar, Disco, sports bar, or a live show.

NEW colonial Club adults only section opening November 2012 with 318 rooms including five different room categories, two new private swimming pools with swim up bars and Bali beds, private lounges with drinks and snacks, butler service, free Internet access, restaurant for a la carte breakfast and lunch, 24-hour room service, among other upgraded amenities. 

Highlights
  • Complimentary water sports, small boat rentals, scheduled activities and  two kids' clubs
  • Fitness center, tennis courts and basketball court
  • On site spa and casino (fees apply)
  • Adjacent to the Nick Price golf course Golf Punta Blanca
  • New adults only section
  • Unlimited a la carte dining
  • All junior suites with Jacuzzi
Location

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive is located on the shore in Arena Gorda (Playa Bavaro). The area has become a popular global golf destination. Explore the area's parks and semi-deserted islands such as Saona Island and Catalina Island.

Rooms

Choose a tailored room type in one of 658 junior suites at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive. All rooms are furnished with a Jacuzzi and quality materials and  facilities you would expect in a 5 star resort.  King size 4 poster beds or two double size beds depending on the room category, complete bathroom with Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee machine, mini bar re-stocked daily, working desk, iron and ironing board and a nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Colonial Club rooms including the Majestic Supreme service exclusive upgraded amenities and services.

Recreation

Active types who love the water seek out snorkeling, aqua aerobics, water polo or windsurfing. Take a dance class, Spanish lesson or learn to scuba dive in the pool. Guests of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive enjoy special rates at the Golf Punta Blanca and golf courses close to the Bavaro Beach.

Dining

Six restaurants present a variety of international cuisine styles, from Asian and Caribbean menus, and favorite steak and seafood dishes. For tropical cocktails, visit the eleven bars, including a swim-up bar.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
Attractions
  • Golf Punta Blanca (200 metres from the main gate)
  • Ecological reserve (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (24.6 mi/39.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (57.7 mi/92.9 km)
Business
  • Wireless Internet in lobby and wired Internet in room (fees apply)
  • Business center with Internet access (fees apply)
  • Over 10,000 square feet of event space in six meeting rooms for up to 600 people

Hotel Map

18.7326 -68.4672
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)-Estimated distance 35 km. La Romana International Airport 1 hour distance, and 3 hours from Santo Domingo's International Airport of "Las Americas".
Area description
Area Location- Beach front, Nick Price Golf Course- adjacent, Manaty Park- 7 km (4 minutes), Altos de Chavon-32 km (20 minutes), Saona Island- 38 km (25 minutes).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Colonial Club Junior Suite Ocean View
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+. Wonderful Ocean view either frontal or lateral. One King size four poster bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others.
Colonial Club One Bedroom Suite with Jacuzzi
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+. Spacious 1064 sq feet Suites, located on 4th floor, garden or pool view, bedroom plus living area separated with sliding doors. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, and nesspreso machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others.
Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
All Junior Suites are furnished with quality materials and with all the facilities you would expect in a 5 star resort. One King size four poster bed or two double size beds, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs with beautiful views to the garden or pool view given random to the client.
Majestic Junior Suite
Swim up rooms, located on the ground floor with outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to the swimming pool, small garden area and outdoor Jacuzzi chaise long and chairs. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival, Maximum occupancy 2 adults.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Wonderful Ocean view either frontal or lateral. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival, nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Maximum occupancy 2 adults.
One Bedroom Suite with Jacuzzi
Spacious 1064 sq feet Suites, located on 4th floor, garden or pool view, bedroom plus living area separated with sliding doors. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, and nesspreso machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs.
Colonial Club Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+. Beautiful garden or pool view given random to the client, located on all floors. One King size four poster bed or two double size beds, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others.
Colonial Club Majestic Junior Suite
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+ Swim up. Located on the ground floor with indoor Jacuzzi, direct access to the swimming pool and a small garden area chaise long and chairs. One King size four poster bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Centre Majestic, with more than 1000m2 (10764ft) and 6 functional rooms provides capacity for up to 600 delegates and comprises up to the minute technical equipment to effortlessly run seamless events. Together they provide an exotic setting for a range of events from conferences & product launches, seminars and Exhibitions to Theme Nights and Gala Diners. Groups Department available to fulfull all our clients expectations.

Dining

La Bodeguita de Majestic
Fast food corner, to take a way or to eat around the corner. Open till 6 o'clock in the Morning with a selection of fast foods and soft drinks and Beer.
Taino
Caribbean style restaurant open for dinner and closing its doors at mid night. No reservation required. Restaurant with Air Conditioned.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet Cuisine with delicious meat and fish dishes. Open for dinner, only for adults. Dress code applies. Reservations are required.
Portofino & Supreme.
The Main Buffert restaurant offering Italian and International food with several show cooking areas. Open for Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Restaurant with air conditioned. Dress code applies.
Matsuri / Sushi Bar
Oriental restaurant offering two different options for dinner: The Tappan-yaki (with reservation). And a la carte restaurant: with a well assorted sushi bar, oriental food and desserts. ( no reservation required for the Sushi Bar or the oriental a la carte). Dress code applies.
Tres Carabelas
Specialized in Seafood and fish. Available for dinners, salad bar for starters and main dish served a la carte. Open air restaurant.
Rodeo Grill
Specialize in Grilled meats. Available for dinners, salad bar for starters and main dish served a la carte. Open air restaurant
La Hispaniola
Beach front restaurant with beautiful views to the sea, its open for Continental Breakfast from 10.30 to 12.30, Lunch as a buffet from 12.30 to 15.30 and Snacks from 15.30 to 18.30.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (532)

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
532 out of 532
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linda wick
Jupiter FL
Jan 9, 2014

Engagement

Not good workmanship in rooms. The key/ towel thing was not convenient. The room smelled strongly of chlorine, which I guess is better than mold. The food was not great.. The staff was nice but not great. We had early flight and there was not a cup of coffee or hot water to be found for tea. Something in the main lobby one came to pick us up until 6:30 and then he had to go to another hotel. We had the impression that we wer the only passengers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Domestic Over-Achiever
Colorado
Jul 19, 2010

Beautiful location

There were many things to do - tour a nearby town, go on the zip lines, parasailing and shopping to name a few. There were a couple of destination weddings while we were there, and the noise factor (people talking loudly outside our door till 3 or 4 in the morning) was a bit of a problem. The resort definitely had enough to keep the grown-ups happy and partying till the wee hours of the morning, but I didn't see very many kids. I know that the resort provides some things for the kids to do, but it seemed more like a place for singles and couples in their 20's and early 30's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Haggle, haggle, haggle! Never take the price they give you. This is for the vendors who are not part of the resort. They inflate the price by at least 150% usually. My father was quoted $60 for a bag of mamajuana (totally rediculous) and talked the man down to $8 (still a bit steep from my point of view for a tree root). Also, it seems that all the vendors carry basically the same stuff.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just for relax
TX
Mar 23, 2010

Recent Trip

Hotel itself was really nice. I went for a wedding which turned out awesome on the beach. Service quality was for the most part great for me and it definitely helped I knew spanish. I knew people who didn't experience as good of service due perhaps to some language barrier. Although there were plenty of people who spoke english well enough. Food was hit or miss. For most part just average. Best food was at the French restaurant Le Gourmet. Shopping was not great due to all of the haggling involved. My wife saw a necklace for sale at one stand for $20. At another stand later she decided she wanted it and they started us out at $235! I talked him down telling him what I saw previously and purchased it for $20. I did scuba through beach services which was ok, dive was at nearby reef, approx 45 ft depth, 40-50 ft visibility, 45 min dive. Kataraman's were a bit difficult to get a hold of but not impossible. I recommend planning a little better than I did and reserve the restaurant/beach equipment/etc as soon as possible. The resort & beach was was very similar to an all-inclusive hotel/trip I took in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAAN
NEW JERSEY
Jul 14, 2010

hot, and not!

THE HOTEL WAS OK - DIFFICULT TO GET THE STAFF TO UNDERSTAND NECESSITIES - ROOM ATTENDANTS SPOKE LITTLE ENGLISH - HAD TROUBLE A FEW TIMES WITH ELECTRONIC KEYS WORKING iN JULY IT WAS HOT AND LITTLE AC - SOME RESTAURANTS HAD AC BUT STILL HOT. THE NIGHT LIFE WAS ALL OUTSIDE - EVEN THE THEATER WAS OPEN AIR. ALL INCLUSIVE DRINKS BUT IT WAS TOO HOT TO DRINK. SEVERAL IN OUR GROUP GET VERY SICK - ONE HAD TO GO TO THE MEDICS AND THAT IS NOT INCLUDED

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Shopping tip: In Hotel

HOT AND LONG AND THEN YOU HAD TO BICKER FOR PRICE - NOT SO GOOD VALUES

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Aug 13, 2009

the good the bad the ugly

for the first 4 days there was no air conditoner the room wasnt horrible but could have been so much better. the best places to eat we're the supreme and the matsri resturants the "gourmet" was horrible plus they didn't want to compensate us for those nights we couldnt sleep cause of the broken air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Petrovsky
New Jersey
Jun 13, 2011

You pay for what you get

I went for 8 nights and although I had a great time, the experience was very average. Some of the hotel staff was very friendly while others lacked a friendly personality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We went on the speed boat/snorkeling excursion and there was just something about this place that would make me not want to do excursuions in the future. I would just stay in the resort the entire time.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
May 26, 2009

Nita

I enjoyed myself, but we did have to wait 2.5 hours to check in because room was not done. We also did not get to eat at 2 restaurants because there were no reservations available. but restuarants looked empty. Also did not like the transport service of Coco tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SUESEA
BOSTON, MA
Jun 28, 2009

good times bad times

THE FIRST DAY WE HAD SOME ISSUES WITH ONE OF THE ROOMS, IT HAD A LEAK IN THE CEILING, AND THE A/C WASN'T WORKING. AFTER SOME CAJOLING, BOTH WERE FIXED BY THE NEXT DAY. THE MAID SERVICE WAS IRREGULAR AT BEST. SHE WOULD COME ANY TIME BETWEEN 7 AM AND 8 PM, AND FORGOT TO GIVE US TOWELS A COUPLE OF TIMES. WE WERE ON THE GROUND FLOOR, SO IT WAS PRETTY NOISY WELL INTO THE NIGHT AND EARLY MORNING. ALSO, THERE WERE A FEW BUGS. THE POOL HAD VERY WARM WATER AND WAS ONLY ABOUT 4 FEET DEEP. IT WAS A HUGE POOL WITH TWO DIFFERENT BARS ONE OF WHICH WAS A SWIM UP. THEY HAVE NO BLENDERS BY THE POOL, SO DON'T EXPECT A FROZEN DRINK. MY ADVICE, IS TO BRING AN INSULATED MUG TO GET DRINKS AND BEER. THERE IS ONLY ONE TYPE OF BEER. ALSO, IN ORDER TO GET A PALAPA HUT, YOU NEED TO GET THERE VERY EARLY. AND BELIEVE ME, YOU NEED ONE, OR ELSE YOU WILL FRY IN THE SUN. THE FOOD WAS OK. THERE ARE 5 RESTAURANTS, GOURMET (DIDN'T TRY), JAPANESE (GOOD), STEAKHOUSE(GOOD), SEAFOOD(DID'T TRY), CARRIBEAN(GOOD) AND ALSO A BUFFET(GOOD). YOU NEED TO MAKE RESERVATIONS ASAP FOR THE GOURMET AND JAPANESE. THE OTHERS DONT NEED RESERVATIONS. SERVICE AT THE RESTAURANTS IS OVERALL PRETTY GOOD AND THE PEOPLE THERE ARE VERY NICE. THREE OF THE PEOPLE IN OUR GROUP GOT MASSAGES AT THE SPA AND SAID THEY WERE GOOD. YOU CAN ALSO USE THE PRIVATE POOL THERE FOR A FEE. WHICH MAY BE WORTH IT BECAUSE ITS THE ONLY COOL POOL THERE, BECAUSE IT IS SHADED. ONE BAD POINT WAS THE CUSTUMER SERVICE IN THE SPA, WHICH WAS AWFUL. THEY PAYED NO ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU WERE SAYING, THEY WHISPERED BEHIND YOUR BACK. GENERALLY THEY WERE JUST RUDE. THE BEACH WAS THE BRIGHTEST POINT. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL, WHITE SAND, AND GREAT FOR SWIMMING AND SNORKELING. AGAIN, JUST GET THERE EARLY FOR A PALAPA HUT. THERE IS A BAR RIGHT NEXT TO THE BEACH AND IT IS OPEN AT 10:30 FOR LIGHT BREAKFAST AND LATER ON FOR LUNCH AND SNACKS. IT IS ALSO WHERE THE STEAK AND SEAFOOD PLACES ARE. OVERALL, WE HAD A GOOD TIME, ALTHOUGH ONE OF THE WOMEN WITH US HATED IT. YOU HAVE TO HAVE AN OPEN MIND, A WILLINGNESS TO LEARN A LITTLE SPANISH, AND NO MATTER HOW HARD WE TRIED WE COULDN'T ESCAPE SOME MILD STOMACH ISSUES. BOTTOM LINE, I WONT BE BACK TO THIS RESORT, ALTHOUGH I WOULD BE WILLING TO GO TO PUNTA CANA AGAIN. GOOD LUCK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

IF YOU NEED TO SHOP FOR SOUVENIERS THERE IS A MARKET AT THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY. IT IS A SHORT WALK BUT IT IS VERY HOT IN THE SUN, SO GO EARLY. ALSO, THEY ARE VERY, VERY PUSHY AND YOU DEFINITELY NEED TO BARGAIN. IF YOU DON'T LIKE TO BARGAIN JUST GO TO THE STORES AT THE RESORT. THE MAJESTIC ELEGANCE IS CONNECTED, SO YOU CAN TRY THERE STORES AS WELL.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SUESEA
BOSTON, MA
Jun 28, 2009

good times bad times

THE FIRST DAY WE HAD SOME ISSUES WITH ONE OF THE ROOMS, IT HAD A LEAK IN THE CEILING, AND THE A/C WASN'T WORKING. AFTER SOME CAJOLING, BOTH WERE FIXED BY THE NEXT DAY. THE MAID SERVICE WAS IRREGULAR AT BEST. SHE WOULD COME ANY TIME BETWEEN 7 AM AND 8 PM, AND FORGOT TO GIVE US TOWELS A COUPLE OF TIMES. WE WERE ON THE GROUND FLOOR, SO IT WAS PRETTY NOISY WELL INTO THE NIGHT AND EARLY MORNING. ALSO, THERE WERE A FEW BUGS. THE POOL HAD VERY WARM WATER AND WAS ONLY ABOUT 4 FEET DEEP. IT WAS A HUGE POOL WITH TWO DIFFERENT BARS ONE OF WHICH WAS A SWIM UP. THEY HAVE NO BLENDERS BY THE POOL, SO DON'T EXPECT A FROZEN DRINK. MY ADVICE, IS TO BRING AN INSULATED MUG TO GET DRINKS AND BEER. THERE IS ONLY ONE TYPE OF BEER. ALSO, IN ORDER TO GET A PALAPA HUT, YOU NEED TO GET THERE VERY EARLY. AND BELIEVE ME, YOU NEED ONE, OR ELSE YOU WILL FRY IN THE SUN. THE FOOD WAS OK. THERE ARE 5 RESTAURANTS, GOURMET (DIDN'T TRY), JAPANESE (GOOD), STEAKHOUSE(GOOD), SEAFOOD(DID'T TRY), CARRIBEAN(GOOD) AND ALSO A BUFFET(GOOD). YOU NEED TO MAKE RESERVATIONS ASAP FOR THE GOURMET AND JAPANESE. THE OTHERS DONT NEED RESERVATIONS. SERVICE AT THE RESTAURANTS IS OVERALL PRETTY GOOD AND THE PEOPLE THERE ARE VERY NICE. THREE OF THE PEOPLE IN OUR GROUP GOT MASSAGES AT THE SPA AND SAID THEY WERE GOOD. YOU CAN ALSO USE THE PRIVATE POOL THERE FOR A FEE. WHICH MAY BE WORTH IT BECAUSE ITS THE ONLY COOL POOL THERE, BECAUSE IT IS SHADED. ONE BAD POINT WAS THE CUSTUMER SERVICE IN THE SPA, WHICH WAS AWFUL. THEY PAYED NO ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU WERE SAYING, THEY WHISPERED BEHIND YOUR BACK. GENERALLY THEY WERE JUST RUDE. THE BEACH WAS THE BRIGHTEST POINT. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL, WHITE SAND, AND GREAT FOR SWIMMING AND SNORKELING. AGAIN, JUST GET THERE EARLY FOR A PALAPA HUT. THERE IS A BAR RIGHT NEXT TO THE BEACH AND IT IS OPEN AT 10:30 FOR LIGHT BREAKFAST AND LATER ON FOR LUNCH AND SNACKS. IT IS ALSO WHERE THE STEAK AND SEAFOOD PLACES ARE. OVERALL, WE HAD A GOOD TIME, ALTHOUGH ONE OF THE WOMEN WITH US HATED IT. YOU HAVE TO HAVE AN OPEN MIND, A WILLINGNESS TO LEARN A LITTLE SPANISH, AND NO MATTER HOW HARD WE TRIED WE COULDN'T ESCAPE SOME MILD STOMACH ISSUES. BOTTOM LINE, I WONT BE BACK TO THIS RESORT, ALTHOUGH I WOULD BE WILLING TO GO TO PUNTA CANA AGAIN. GOOD LUCK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

IF YOU NEED TO SHOP FOR SOUVENIERS THERE IS A MARKET AT THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY. IT IS A SHORT WALK BUT IT IS VERY HOT IN THE SUN, SO GO EARLY. ALSO, THEY ARE VERY, VERY PUSHY AND YOU DEFINITELY NEED TO BARGAIN. IF YOU DON'T LIKE TO BARGAIN JUST GO TO THE STORES AT THE RESORT. THE MAJESTIC ELEGANCE IS CONNECTED, SO YOU CAN TRY THERE STORES AS WELL.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
May 3, 2009

Beautiful Resort , room not so good !

The beaches were beautiful and the snorkeling right off the resort was excellent. I thought the waiters and waitresses at the restaurants were very friendly and helpful. The food at the specialty restaurants were all delicious. It was nice to have entertainment every night at the theatre and thought the shows were very good. Now, for the worst part of the resort... When we arrived at our room 1122 it smelled very musty. We had brought our own Lysol spray but that did not help. We were told that they close off sections of the resort (garden view)during less busy times and that is why they become musty. The pillows were musty, beds were hard and lamp shade/underside of rug by bed were mildewed. I turned the rug over so room service could see and they put it outside on the patio. Only 2 bath towels were provided the first day. I left a note for hand towels, wash (face) cloths and robes (that were suppose to be included). We got the hand towels, 2 wash cloths and robes that looked like they were washed 100 times. We stayed for 5 nights and never did receive any more wash cloths even though we left a tip each day except for the last day. Another couple we became friends with had a pool view room and their room did not smell, they had rose pedals on their bed each night but also had trouble obtaining wash cloths for some unknown reason. We reported this to the front desk but had a language barrier. We would of asked to be moved to another room from the beginning but thought it was going to get better and didn't want to pack up everything again and move. If I had to do it over again, I would of asked for another room the first day. By the end of our stay was thoroughly disgusted by the smell and room service. I would of preferred to have stayed at the Majestic Elegance where the rooms would of been newer and cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top