$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
372 reviews
OUTSTANDING resort!

We stayed for 10 days at this resort, and it was absolutely phenomenal. The staff, the food, the... See full review

  • k8esears
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great Beach Vacation

We were in the Colonial Club which insured our room was in the adults only area of the resort. They... See full review

  • rem11
  • Nov 20, 2014
Punta Cana all inclusive, all junior suite resort with Jacuzzi, New Colonial Club adults only section

An oceanfront resort on a beautiful shore, Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive provides all-inclusive options for families who love variety and couples alike. With meals and drinks included at six restaurants and eleven bars, guests can relax and enjoy the Caribbean feel. Children have their own pool, club, playground, mini disco and video games. Swimming and sunning combine with a chance to join beach football or volleyball or to get in a kayak or small sailboat. At night, head to the piano bar, Disco, sports bar, or a live show.

NEW colonial Club adults only section opening November 2012 with 318 rooms including five different room categories, two new private swimming pools with swim up bars and Bali beds, private lounges with drinks and snacks, butler service, free Internet access, restaurant for a la carte breakfast and lunch, 24-hour room service, among other upgraded amenities. 

Highlights
  • Complimentary water sports, small boat rentals, scheduled activities and  two kids' clubs
  • Fitness center, tennis courts and basketball court
  • On site spa and casino (fees apply)
  • Adjacent to the Nick Price golf course Golf Punta Blanca
  • New adults only section
  • Unlimited a la carte dining
  • All junior suites with Jacuzzi
Location

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive is located on the shore in Arena Gorda (Playa Bavaro). The area has become a popular global golf destination. Explore the area's parks and semi-deserted islands such as Saona Island and Catalina Island.

Rooms

Choose a tailored room type in one of 658 junior suites at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive. All rooms are furnished with a Jacuzzi and quality materials and  facilities you would expect in a 5 star resort.  King size 4 poster beds or two double size beds depending on the room category, complete bathroom with Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee machine, mini bar re-stocked daily, working desk, iron and ironing board and a nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Colonial Club rooms including the Majestic Supreme service exclusive upgraded amenities and services.

Recreation

Active types who love the water seek out snorkeling, aqua aerobics, water polo or windsurfing. Take a dance class, Spanish lesson or learn to scuba dive in the pool. Guests of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive enjoy special rates at the Golf Punta Blanca and golf courses close to the Bavaro Beach.

Dining

Six restaurants present a variety of international cuisine styles, from Asian and Caribbean menus, and favorite steak and seafood dishes. For tropical cocktails, visit the eleven bars, including a swim-up bar.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
Attractions
  • Golf Punta Blanca (200 metres from the main gate)
  • Ecological reserve (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (24.6 mi/39.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (57.7 mi/92.9 km)
Business
  • Wireless Internet in lobby and wired Internet in room (fees apply)
  • Business center with Internet access (fees apply)
  • Over 10,000 square feet of event space in six meeting rooms for up to 600 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Colonial Club Junior Suite Ocean View
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+. Wonderful Ocean view either frontal or lateral. One King size four poster bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others.
Colonial Club One Bedroom Suite with Jacuzzi
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+. Spacious 1064 sq feet Suites, located on 4th floor, garden or pool view, bedroom plus living area separated with sliding doors. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, and nesspreso machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others.
Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
All Junior Suites are furnished with quality materials and with all the facilities you would expect in a 5 star resort. One King size four poster bed or two double size beds, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs with beautiful views to the garden or pool view given random to the client.
Majestic Junior Suite
Swim up rooms, located on the ground floor with outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to the swimming pool, small garden area and outdoor Jacuzzi chaise long and chairs. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival, Maximum occupancy 2 adults.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Wonderful Ocean view either frontal or lateral. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival, nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Maximum occupancy 2 adults.
One Bedroom Suite with Jacuzzi
Spacious 1064 sq feet Suites, located on 4th floor, garden or pool view, bedroom plus living area separated with sliding doors. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, and nesspreso machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs.
Colonial Club Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+. Beautiful garden or pool view given random to the client, located on all floors. One King size four poster bed or two double size beds, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others.
Colonial Club Majestic Junior Suite
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+ Swim up. Located on the ground floor with indoor Jacuzzi, direct access to the swimming pool and a small garden area chaise long and chairs. One King size four poster bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Centre Majestic, with more than 1000m2 (10764ft) and 6 functional rooms provides capacity for up to 600 delegates and comprises up to the minute technical equipment to effortlessly run seamless events. Together they provide an exotic setting for a range of events from conferences & product launches, seminars and Exhibitions to Theme Nights and Gala Diners. Groups Department available to fulfull all our clients expectations.

Dining

La Bodeguita de Majestic
Fast food corner, to take a way or to eat around the corner. Open till 6 o'clock in the Morning with a selection of fast foods and soft drinks and Beer.
Taino
Caribbean style restaurant open for dinner and closing its doors at mid night. No reservation required. Restaurant with Air Conditioned.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet Cuisine with delicious meat and fish dishes. Open for dinner, only for adults. Dress code applies. Reservations are required.
Portofino & Supreme.
The Main Buffert restaurant offering Italian and International food with several show cooking areas. Open for Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Restaurant with air conditioned. Dress code applies.
Matsuri / Sushi Bar
Oriental restaurant offering two different options for dinner: The Tappan-yaki (with reservation). And a la carte restaurant: with a well assorted sushi bar, oriental food and desserts. ( no reservation required for the Sushi Bar or the oriental a la carte). Dress code applies.
Tres Carabelas
Specialized in Seafood and fish. Available for dinners, salad bar for starters and main dish served a la carte. Open air restaurant.
Rodeo Grill
Specialize in Grilled meats. Available for dinners, salad bar for starters and main dish served a la carte. Open air restaurant
La Hispaniola
Beach front restaurant with beautiful views to the sea, its open for Continental Breakfast from 10.30 to 12.30, Lunch as a buffet from 12.30 to 15.30 and Snacks from 15.30 to 18.30.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western New York
Jul 20, 2009

Goods & Bads

I have mixed reviews about this place. Goods & Bads. More goods than bads though. This was my second trip to Punta Cana and I stayed at a different resort the previous time (Paradisus Palma Real). This time my husband and I came with ~20 other people for a destination wedding at the resort. It was a great wedding and overall we had a great time. The goods: -Beautiful location, beautiful resort, pool was amazing, beach was nice (be careful of the coral if you go too far out) -Nice & clean rooms - the staff was very nice (but most did not speak english) - the beds were very hard though - Nightly entertainment was very good - there was always things to keep you busy and was very impressed by the beach party/bonfire, some of the shows were good too - Definitely recommend doing the photography session - lots of fun and the pictures are amazing The bads: - Service was sub-par - we had many mix up's with our rooms and had to have it switched 2 times, since one you could hear people in the adjacent room and the other was not clean. We had some problems with details regarding the wedding - but overall the wedding ceremony and reception went very well - but just some details that would have made things go more smoothly - Food was average - the absolute best food was at the French restaurant and we were unable to make reservations at the Japanese (They were booked out 4 days in advance). The other restaurants and buffets were okay, lots of variety but disappointed overall in the quality. - Deep sea fishing - expensive, only caught one fish (average size) and majority of the boat got sea sick (even though most of us never had this happen on a boat before) - It could be the season for bad fishing or something though and very rough waters - Not many "extras" included - had to pay for most extra activities during the day, room service was not included with the cheaper rooms, only one type of wine was free (had to pay extra for better liquour - and it is expensive!) Overall - I was happy with the resort, especially for the price. It worked out well for our big group since the resort was big enough for us to have privacy but also have dinner and spend time together as a group as well. Lots of variety of things to do! There was lots of kids and families at the resort as well. As I stated before I stayed at the Paradisus Palma Real 3 years previously and enjoyed that resort more for the purposes of a honeymoon (not as a large group) - it is more of a relaxing atmosphere, better service, better food and more extra's included but the night life was not as extensive as this resort and not as large. If I was to go to Punta Cana again - I probably would try another resort and not return to this one but we did enjoy the time we spent here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

- Book reservations for the (2) restaurants - Japanese and French as soon as you get to the resort. Also book your shuttle back to the airport with your agent at the resort as well (it is cheaper than taking another taxi back).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom Ready to Relax
Business
DE
Apr 9, 2010

Beautiful Beaches but just "OK" Resort

We had a nice, relaxing and enjoyable time, but a few things would have made it better. The hotel website (video) led you to believe that you could use the facilities at the sister hotel, Majestic Elegance, but once we visited an area we were told to leave even though walkways lead that way and no signs are posted stating no entrance or use of facilities. Hotel was more 3 then the website claims 5 star. Beautiful beach and grounds with lots of tropical plants! Pool was long and relaxing but not enough pool games-such as water polo... Rooms were clean and adequate. Drinks in mini bar were not replaced daily. Robes and towels needed to be tossed out and replaced. When we got there we had to call room service to correct a few problems. Food and service was a dissapointment compared to many of the resorts I have stayed in in Mexico. The menu was the same daily. The food was ok but at nightly a la carte restaurants you could tell that what was left over during lunch was used to create the night menu. During the day there was no outside grills or places to eat and you were not allowed to take food out. Restrooms were hard to find and the only one I found if on the beach was in the restaurant, so you had to go through dining room. I will return to Punta Cana but will try another resort. Again I will stress that it was not a bad place to stay just not 4/5 star as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Take what you need-buying in DR is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jun 21, 2010

Bachelorette Trip

Pros: Friendly Staff, great Bartendars (they were fun!!), clean grounds, good drinks, food was good at the French and Chinese restaurant as well as the main dining room - clean areas at the buffet station, friendly waiters, sommelier was well educated, spacious rooms!!, club was decent, the entertainers for the nightly shows and at the pool were a lot of fun and they hung out with you at the club at night...awesome!! Cons: the rooms were very outdated and the furniture was old and saw bugs in the room, room service took too long, all the receptionist did not speak english, the buffet area at the beach bar was not clean at all but the one in the main dining room was super clean - high standards should be in all restaurants...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Langhorne, PA
Jun 21, 2010

Okay

The staff were always friendly and spoke very good English - and appreciated when we tried to speak Spanish. The restraunts all pretty much had the same food, just a different name for it. Quality wasn't great - sushi bar was not a sushi bar at all. We ended up getting sick despite our efforts to avoid using water. The resort is BEAUTIFUL and wonderful pool - GREAT BEACH! We would go back, but not for 7 days - maybe 4 or 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Counselor4444
Business
NJ
May 28, 2009

Majestic Colonial- Good Not Great

My husband and I (both 30 years old) stayed at the Majestic Colonial Punta Cana from 5/16/09-5/23/09. We booked airfare via Continental and hotel/transfers via Orbitz. We have stayed at a number of all inclusive hotels previously and rate our stay at the Majestic Colonial as good, not great. This hotel is a moderate 3.0 to 3.5 star all inclusive. We only paid $1050 for seven nights for both of us, so we were not expecting luxury and did not get it. It is very unlikely that we would return to the Majestic Colonial if/when we return to Punta Cana in the future simply because our experience was not so wonderful that we would not want to try something else. But I do want to make sure it is clear that nothing went terribly wrong on our trip either. It was just an "ok" resort. Luckily, I did plenty of research before going and knew what to expect. Do NOT book Coco Tours through Orbitz. We had a terrible experience with them- they picked us up almost an hour late without explanation and we almost missed our flight! We paid for a Junior Suite. We stayed in room 3322 (third floor of a three floor building). The room is very large, had high ceilings, a large ceiling fan, and has nice marble floors and counters. We loved the large Jacuzzi. These rooms are made for couples- not families or friends traveling together. As we knew ahead of time, the shower and toilet stall have frosted glass doors and the doors do not extend to the ceiling. We had no issues, but others may. We had no musty smell and no mosquitoes. Air conditioning worked well. Our mattress was horrible- very cheap thin mattress. Became very uncomfortable after a week of sleeping on it. Unlike others, we requested extra pillows and had no pillow problems. Our sheets/towels were not stained as others have stated in their reviews. One issue we had were ants. Dozens everyday all along the bathroom counter, bathroom floor area, hot tub area, and mini fridge area. At first I could deal, but then it just got annoying. I know this is the Caribbean and the humidity encourages insects, but this was ridiculous. The hotel needs to spray. Room was cleaned everyday around 11AM. Hotel also had a maid come around between 9PM-10PM asking if you needed more clean towels. This was nice except if you were sleeping or you have kids that were sleeping! TV offered the following English channels: CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX, ESPN News, TNT, and USA. The room was nice, but not luxury by any means- cracks in the walls, missing cement and corking in corners, open electrical outlets in the walls with exposed wires. Food/Bars Breakfast: is excellent- made to order crepes, eggs, omelets plus hot chafing dishes, fresh fruit, fruit smoothies, etc. Lunch: is ok- indoor buffet has chafing dishes, burgers, one carving meat, made to order pasta, and salads. Outdoor lunch buffet has made to order grilled sandwiches, burgers, paella, made to order pasta, and a few other miscellaneous things. Meat quality was fair. Many foods are not kept hot enough/cold enough. Dinner: is a hit or miss here. Overall, with a few exceptions, we found the quality of the meat and dishes to be sub par compared to other all inclusives we had been to (the Palace Resorts in Mexico are way better in this respect) There isn't much seafood, the carving stations serve dried out poor quality meat, and many restaurants serve reheated meat. We tried every restaurant except the Chinese. Japanese Restaurant: excellent and you should make sure to book your reservation as soon as possible. Great show and great fresh food. Steakhouse and Seafood Restaurants: At the steakhouse for an appetizer we had the tempura pineapple/chicken skewers which unfortunately did not taste fresh and instead tasted like it had been made hours before and were reheated and tough. The chateaubriand is excellent but its side dishes were fair- overcooked mini corn on the cob and cold, pre-made boxed mashed potatoes. The steakhouse and se...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a reservation for the Japanese and french restaurants as soon as you arrive because both book up quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Next trip will not be to Punta Cana
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 25, 2010

Room reservations not guaranteed

We reserved an oceanview room - none were available when we arrived. The pool view room we were given had a water leak causing our bathroom to be flooded - 2 days before it was fixed (literally 3 inches of water standing in the bathroom). We demanded another room, and were moved to the oceanview room we originally reserved - the room safe didn't work and we had to have our door fixed twice as our room keys didn't work. All in all, we spent the first full 3 days of a 7 day vacation dealing with room issues (even missed dinner with the family one night). The hotel manager's solution was he would provide us with a letter to provide to [...] so we could request a reimbursement and only be charged for the pool view room instead of the oceanview room for the first 2 nights (that should've been "a given"...why should we pay for a room we didn't receive! For our 3 day's of inconvenience and wading through water to use our bathroom, we were given a complimentary 25 minute massage - the massage was great, but not worth the 3 days of frustration!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's great snorkeling about 10 feet off shore at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danbury, CT
Oct 31, 2010

Majestic is only somewhat majestic

Overall it was a great trip - the service was wonderful, the staff was very friendly, everything was very clean. The one downfall, which was a pretty big one, was the food which really wasn't very good. Our first meal at one of the buffets was pretty much inedibile The Japanese restaurant was the best meal we had, but the standard was set very low. We had many meals of rice and fruit because everything else wasn't appealing to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to sign up for the ground transportation when you book. The taxi situation is a little shady at the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
May 3, 2009

Beautiful Resort , room not so good !

The beaches were beautiful and the snorkeling right off the resort was excellent. I thought the waiters and waitresses at the restaurants were very friendly and helpful. The food at the specialty restaurants were all delicious. It was nice to have entertainment every night at the theatre and thought the shows were very good. Now, for the worst part of the resort... When we arrived at our room 1122 it smelled very musty. We had brought our own Lysol spray but that did not help. We were told that they close off sections of the resort (garden view)during less busy times and that is why they become musty. The pillows were musty, beds were hard and lamp shade/underside of rug by bed were mildewed. I turned the rug over so room service could see and they put it outside on the patio. Only 2 bath towels were provided the first day. I left a note for hand towels, wash (face) cloths and robes (that were suppose to be included). We got the hand towels, 2 wash cloths and robes that looked like they were washed 100 times. We stayed for 5 nights and never did receive any more wash cloths even though we left a tip each day except for the last day. Another couple we became friends with had a pool view room and their room did not smell, they had rose pedals on their bed each night but also had trouble obtaining wash cloths for some unknown reason. We reported this to the front desk but had a language barrier. We would of asked to be moved to another room from the beginning but thought it was going to get better and didn't want to pack up everything again and move. If I had to do it over again, I would of asked for another room the first day. By the end of our stay was thoroughly disgusted by the smell and room service. I would of preferred to have stayed at the Majestic Elegance where the rooms would of been newer and cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SUESEA
Business
BOSTON, MA
Jun 28, 2009

good times bad times

THE FIRST DAY WE HAD SOME ISSUES WITH ONE OF THE ROOMS, IT HAD A LEAK IN THE CEILING, AND THE A/C WASN'T WORKING. AFTER SOME CAJOLING, BOTH WERE FIXED BY THE NEXT DAY. THE MAID SERVICE WAS IRREGULAR AT BEST. SHE WOULD COME ANY TIME BETWEEN 7 AM AND 8 PM, AND FORGOT TO GIVE US TOWELS A COUPLE OF TIMES. WE WERE ON THE GROUND FLOOR, SO IT WAS PRETTY NOISY WELL INTO THE NIGHT AND EARLY MORNING. ALSO, THERE WERE A FEW BUGS. THE POOL HAD VERY WARM WATER AND WAS ONLY ABOUT 4 FEET DEEP. IT WAS A HUGE POOL WITH TWO DIFFERENT BARS ONE OF WHICH WAS A SWIM UP. THEY HAVE NO BLENDERS BY THE POOL, SO DON'T EXPECT A FROZEN DRINK. MY ADVICE, IS TO BRING AN INSULATED MUG TO GET DRINKS AND BEER. THERE IS ONLY ONE TYPE OF BEER. ALSO, IN ORDER TO GET A PALAPA HUT, YOU NEED TO GET THERE VERY EARLY. AND BELIEVE ME, YOU NEED ONE, OR ELSE YOU WILL FRY IN THE SUN. THE FOOD WAS OK. THERE ARE 5 RESTAURANTS, GOURMET (DIDN'T TRY), JAPANESE (GOOD), STEAKHOUSE(GOOD), SEAFOOD(DID'T TRY), CARRIBEAN(GOOD) AND ALSO A BUFFET(GOOD). YOU NEED TO MAKE RESERVATIONS ASAP FOR THE GOURMET AND JAPANESE. THE OTHERS DONT NEED RESERVATIONS. SERVICE AT THE RESTAURANTS IS OVERALL PRETTY GOOD AND THE PEOPLE THERE ARE VERY NICE. THREE OF THE PEOPLE IN OUR GROUP GOT MASSAGES AT THE SPA AND SAID THEY WERE GOOD. YOU CAN ALSO USE THE PRIVATE POOL THERE FOR A FEE. WHICH MAY BE WORTH IT BECAUSE ITS THE ONLY COOL POOL THERE, BECAUSE IT IS SHADED. ONE BAD POINT WAS THE CUSTUMER SERVICE IN THE SPA, WHICH WAS AWFUL. THEY PAYED NO ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU WERE SAYING, THEY WHISPERED BEHIND YOUR BACK. GENERALLY THEY WERE JUST RUDE. THE BEACH WAS THE BRIGHTEST POINT. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL, WHITE SAND, AND GREAT FOR SWIMMING AND SNORKELING. AGAIN, JUST GET THERE EARLY FOR A PALAPA HUT. THERE IS A BAR RIGHT NEXT TO THE BEACH AND IT IS OPEN AT 10:30 FOR LIGHT BREAKFAST AND LATER ON FOR LUNCH AND SNACKS. IT IS ALSO WHERE THE STEAK AND SEAFOOD PLACES ARE. OVERALL, WE HAD A GOOD TIME, ALTHOUGH ONE OF THE WOMEN WITH US HATED IT. YOU HAVE TO HAVE AN OPEN MIND, A WILLINGNESS TO LEARN A LITTLE SPANISH, AND NO MATTER HOW HARD WE TRIED WE COULDN'T ESCAPE SOME MILD STOMACH ISSUES. BOTTOM LINE, I WONT BE BACK TO THIS RESORT, ALTHOUGH I WOULD BE WILLING TO GO TO PUNTA CANA AGAIN. GOOD LUCK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

IF YOU NEED TO SHOP FOR SOUVENIERS THERE IS A MARKET AT THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY. IT IS A SHORT WALK BUT IT IS VERY HOT IN THE SUN, SO GO EARLY. ALSO, THEY ARE VERY, VERY PUSHY AND YOU DEFINITELY NEED TO BARGAIN. IF YOU DON'T LIKE TO BARGAIN JUST GO TO THE STORES AT THE RESORT. THE MAJESTIC ELEGANCE IS CONNECTED, SO YOU CAN TRY THERE STORES AS WELL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 26, 2009

Nita

I enjoyed myself, but we did have to wait 2.5 hours to check in because room was not done. We also did not get to eat at 2 restaurants because there were no reservations available. but restuarants looked empty. Also did not like the transport service of Coco tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top