$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple getaway from WI
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel - VIP service isn't great

Hotel was beautiful, lots to do, lots of choices. Pools were everywhere, nice accommodations at the beach. Rooms were very nice. We paid for VIP service, and the butler service was terrible compared to other resorts in other places in the Carribean. Rarely saw the butler after the first day. Communication between the two Magestic resorts (Colonial and Elegance) we not good as well. Magestic needs to improve their VIP service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

if you want local shopping just walk down the long drive to the main road - shopping there. The shopping excursion they talk you into is not worth it - only one store and prices are about the same as the hotel shops. ATV is worth it - guys had fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disgruntled Sherry
Business
New York
Feb 7, 2013

Will not be going back

The hotel appearance was okay, but the room, even though we upgraded, was horrible! One sink did not work, the door to the balcony was stuck and eventually broke, the bathroom and shower was directly in the room so each time we showered the entire room filled with steam. All our clothes and bed sheets felt damp and uncomfortable as a result. I travelled with my kids and there was no privacy in the room because the shower area was IN the room. All the closet doors were stuck and would not close properly because the room was so damp. I had to hide behind the closet doors in order to simply change my clothes. The food was decent, but we will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevlarklh
Business
Springboro, OH
Jun 12, 2013

Great Beach - Hit / Miss on Food

The beach was awesome, the bartenders were very personable and enjoyed entertaining us. They made every drink that we could think of. You have to ask for the top shelf liquor as they keep if locked up at the bars. We saw staff constantly maintaining the grounds so everything always looked nice. Our room was cleaned every day but it did have a slight musty odor. The wait staff at the buffet and restaurants were good but the food was hit or miss. The french restaurant was the best meal that my wife and I had at the Majestic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant was the best meal at this resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FifiBklyn
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 24, 2013

Family Wedding Getaway

The food seemed to be very repetitive and low quality.... almost inedible (e.g. burgers tasted like they had breadcrumbs in them). The staff seemed to be overly friendly among themselves, but just OK to the guests. It seemed like every answer began with a No. The room was very clean and nice. The bed was comfortable, the butler was nice. The water went out one day for 1 hour; internet wi-fii was not good on the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
allochka_ny
Business
New York
Jun 23, 2009

could be better

boring

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott 305
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 26, 2009

Magestic was OK

The hotel is nice. The staff seemed a bit lazy at times. Went on the ATV excursion, and did not enjoy as we drove on the paved road 80% of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Buffet is your best bet for dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Counselor4444
Business
NJ
May 28, 2009

Majestic Colonial- Good Not Great

My husband and I (both 30 years old) stayed at the Majestic Colonial Punta Cana from 5/16/09-5/23/09. We booked airfare via Continental and hotel/transfers via Orbitz. We have stayed at a number of all inclusive hotels previously and rate our stay at the Majestic Colonial as good, not great. This hotel is a moderate 3.0 to 3.5 star all inclusive. We only paid $1050 for seven nights for both of us, so we were not expecting luxury and did not get it. It is very unlikely that we would return to the Majestic Colonial if/when we return to Punta Cana in the future simply because our experience was not so wonderful that we would not want to try something else. But I do want to make sure it is clear that nothing went terribly wrong on our trip either. It was just an "ok" resort. Luckily, I did plenty of research before going and knew what to expect. Do NOT book Coco Tours through Orbitz. We had a terrible experience with them- they picked us up almost an hour late without explanation and we almost missed our flight! We paid for a Junior Suite. We stayed in room 3322 (third floor of a three floor building). The room is very large, had high ceilings, a large ceiling fan, and has nice marble floors and counters. We loved the large Jacuzzi. These rooms are made for couples- not families or friends traveling together. As we knew ahead of time, the shower and toilet stall have frosted glass doors and the doors do not extend to the ceiling. We had no issues, but others may. We had no musty smell and no mosquitoes. Air conditioning worked well. Our mattress was horrible- very cheap thin mattress. Became very uncomfortable after a week of sleeping on it. Unlike others, we requested extra pillows and had no pillow problems. Our sheets/towels were not stained as others have stated in their reviews. One issue we had were ants. Dozens everyday all along the bathroom counter, bathroom floor area, hot tub area, and mini fridge area. At first I could deal, but then it just got annoying. I know this is the Caribbean and the humidity encourages insects, but this was ridiculous. The hotel needs to spray. Room was cleaned everyday around 11AM. Hotel also had a maid come around between 9PM-10PM asking if you needed more clean towels. This was nice except if you were sleeping or you have kids that were sleeping! TV offered the following English channels: CBS, NBC, ABC, FOX, ESPN News, TNT, and USA. The room was nice, but not luxury by any means- cracks in the walls, missing cement and corking in corners, open electrical outlets in the walls with exposed wires. Food/Bars Breakfast: is excellent- made to order crepes, eggs, omelets plus hot chafing dishes, fresh fruit, fruit smoothies, etc. Lunch: is ok- indoor buffet has chafing dishes, burgers, one carving meat, made to order pasta, and salads. Outdoor lunch buffet has made to order grilled sandwiches, burgers, paella, made to order pasta, and a few other miscellaneous things. Meat quality was fair. Many foods are not kept hot enough/cold enough. Dinner: is a hit or miss here. Overall, with a few exceptions, we found the quality of the meat and dishes to be sub par compared to other all inclusives we had been to (the Palace Resorts in Mexico are way better in this respect) There isn't much seafood, the carving stations serve dried out poor quality meat, and many restaurants serve reheated meat. We tried every restaurant except the Chinese. Japanese Restaurant: excellent and you should make sure to book your reservation as soon as possible. Great show and great fresh food. Steakhouse and Seafood Restaurants: At the steakhouse for an appetizer we had the tempura pineapple/chicken skewers which unfortunately did not taste fresh and instead tasted like it had been made hours before and were reheated and tough. The chateaubriand is excellent but its side dishes were fair- overcooked mini corn on the cob and cold, pre-made boxed mashed potatoes. The steakhouse and se...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a reservation for the Japanese and french restaurants as soon as you arrive because both book up quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danbury, CT
Oct 31, 2010

Majestic is only somewhat majestic

Overall it was a great trip - the service was wonderful, the staff was very friendly, everything was very clean. The one downfall, which was a pretty big one, was the food which really wasn't very good. Our first meal at one of the buffets was pretty much inedibile The Japanese restaurant was the best meal we had, but the standard was set very low. We had many meals of rice and fruit because everything else wasn't appealing to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to sign up for the ground transportation when you book. The taxi situation is a little shady at the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY and NJ
Jun 13, 2010

gorgeous but unenjoyable

The staff was so nice and full of energy. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The room was nice and had a jacuzzi right on the terrace as well as in the room. The pool was enormous with a swim up bar, but... The food was so horrible we couldn't even enjoy our trip. It started off not being great but then got us both terribly sick to the point we couldn't even leave our room!!! Great price but not worth not being able to enjoy ourselves or the island!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go on Mike's Dominican Adventure Boca de Yuma trip it was great!!! You get to meet locals and see beautiful sights you wouldn't see otherwise!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Aug 13, 2009

the good the bad the ugly

for the first 4 days there was no air conditoner the room wasnt horrible but could have been so much better. the best places to eat we're the supreme and the matsri resturants the "gourmet" was horrible plus they didn't want to compensate us for those nights we couldnt sleep cause of the broken air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top