$246 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
majestic colonial punta cana
Jun 20, 2010

will never go back to punta cana again

first we went american airlines ,we boarded two different planes with problems second one had cracked window andthey made us get off they did not have another flight until wednesday sowe had to take a flight to miami and leave the next day to san dominico and take a taxi ride for 3 and half hours to our resort majestic colonial.we missed two days of our seven days trip. my experience was the worst when we got to the hotel the desk didnt care on bit that we missed two days vacation with no compensation. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I had ants inmy roommand they came and sprayed and we couldnt get back in room for several hours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Dissapointed
Business
Atanta, GA.
Aug 8, 2009

Could be better.

To start off, this was my first time in Punta Cana and usually I make the most out of any situation, but at this time I must say I was dissapointed. I was not impressed with this resort at all. When we first arrived things started out well, but to our surprise it wasn't what we expected. The room was not cleaned properly and it took an hour to get it cleaned and we still ended up with old sheets. The bed was made everyday but the sheets remained the same throughout our stay. As we moved on the area in general is well groomed and the beach is clean and nice. The food and service leaves something to be desired. If you do not speak spanish or do not understand any spanish at all this is not the resort for you. The plates and glasses were not cleaned well at all and the food was the same everyday. The service is very poor, although friendly we could not get anything we asked for until 15 mins later when it came to ordering drinks, trying to place an order in their overly booked resturants, or receiving your food before it got cold after you placed your order and an hour if it was something for the room. They are very unorganized in their service at this resort and would recommend you staying on the elegance side of the resort, but I don't think its going to be any better if you decide to book here. I have been to other all inclusive resorts and never have I been so dissapointed. I made the best of the situation and did what I could to enjoy may stay over all and refrained from asking for anything and making sure the plates were cleaned even though I got sick after I left with a stomach virus. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone I like and wish that I could have proposed to my girlfriend at a better location. For this place to be only 4 years old it needs help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure that everything is clean when you pick up a plate or glass. If you ask for a drink understand that the glass you receive may not be its cleanest. Also, be very careful about what you eat, it could make you sick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, NH
Jul 17, 2010

Look elsewhere in Punta Cana

The location was fantastic, the room beautiful and, aside from disgustingly green ponds, the property was nice too. The biggest shortfall was easily the food. I went to a wedding here with about 20 guests, nearly every single one of whom was sick the entire time with various ailments related to food poisoning. I never got sick, so not everyone does, but I was amazed to be literally the only person at the wedding who didn't get sick. Another travel website had many reviews that noted the food was bad, but I thought they were wrong. They weren't. I spoke to people who stayed at other resorts and they had no complaints about their food. Although I didn't get sick, I was very disappointed by the lack of variety. I was there five days and the buffet served essentially the same food every single day. The food was also mostly American, which was disappointing because I hoped for something with a Caribbean flare. Why travel so far just to eat eggs, potatoes and sausage for breakfast? The service was also mediocre. Not terrible, just nothing to write home about. Some were very nice, but others were downright rude. One hostess told us we needed reservations to eat at a restaurant and only allowed us in after I told her she was wrong and pointed out that the hotel's own guidebook said the restaurant did not require reservations. The most bizarre part was that nearly the entire restaurant was empty. Others clearly believed her because another person from my party was told we needed reservations and we were only allowed in after I spoke to the hostess myself. This same hostess was rude at another restaurant we ate at. Several areas of the property needed a thorough cleaning, namely the pool, which was murky. I want to believe it was from spilled drinks, but I don't know that. The pool was also three feet nine inches at its deepest. Very odd. There were also many ponds on the property that were green. Not kind of green, I mean bright green, like Mountain Dew. I literally did a double take. Overall though, the property and the rooms were beautiful. The beach was too. Still, it's hard to enjoy that when everyone in the wedding is busy in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bottles of water are available at every single bar so make use of them. I didn't realize this until late in my first day there and the few bottles supplied in the minibar don't last long when it's so hot. Also, you must bring proper attire, dress pants and a collared shirt for men, to eat at certain restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sportet
Business
Memphis, TN
Jun 22, 2009

DISAPPOINTED

The positive: the resort, pool and beach were beautiful but that is where it stopped. Very disappointed with the service..most staff do not speak or understand English at all!! Most only understand and speak Spanish. This 5 star in DR is comparable to a 3 star in Mexico. The ones that did speak English were not service oriented.. We are not high maintenance people but if we need something we expect to be acknowledged. There were no washcloths available and we asked repeatedly (x5days)but NEVER received one. Housekeeping failed to put drinks in refrigerator...after 48 hours and a call to guest services still no drinks...activities people were not organized so guests entertained themselves during the day around the pool. They were only interested in dancing in late afternoon. Food was WAY below PAR..many people (including my husband and son) were sick..both were using bottled water but it didn't matter. Majestic Colonial Pharmacy was out of Immodium so they sent him over to Majestic Elegance (sick) to get some and they would only sell him 1 blister back of 10 pills...rationing Immodium?? I heard other guests discussing people being sick. We will not return to the DR. Do not leave the resort unless on an outing with a tour company. Dangerous outside of resort. Rooms were huge but beware the coolest was around 78 degrees at night. Extremely hot..Overall we were very disappointed and we had read the reviews before booking the trip. The resort has SO much potential but they need to concentrate on the level and quality of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ralph and Alice
Business
New York, NY
Jun 7, 2010

frustrated couple

This hotel is beautiful and full of atmosphere but the rooms layout is terrible. this resort is very large and requires a long sweaty walk to everything and buy the time you get there you need to sit down and rest. If you are in a room close to the beach , you are a half mile walk away from the front desk and if you can't get in your room for a lost or forgotten key, then you have to make that walk all the way back to the front desk then to that room again. No service is provided for the not so fit, or elderly who tire easily. WE who are both in our late 40's early 50's found the walking distance between any activiy made enjoying that activity much less appealing... We stayed in our rooms more than we went out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get lots of small bills I reccommend 50 single dollar bills for tipping 5,10s for shopping. the hotel does not have change. the ATM there will only despence Pesos for a small ATM charge of 12 US dollars and you will end up giving a bigger tip than you intented or not be able to give a tip at all for a lack of change. and haggle for a better price on everything you buy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Skinny Jason
Business
Washington, PA
Aug 3, 2014

Party of 21 - ALL SICK!

Start positive: The beach was beautiful! My wife and I had been to Punta Cana twice before and that's what we loved, the beach, but we never would have brought 19 of our friends with us had we known we all would lose several days of our trip to a bad stomach flu/virus. In fact one of us had to visit the on-site medic. We talked to many other people at the hotel and they all said the same thing: at least half of the people in their party got sick. This is the only vacation I've taken when I've come back weighing significantly LESS than before I left. Not the best way to lose weight! We traveled the last week of July and had beautiful weather all week, but the vacation was definitely marred by the illness. Something needs to be done about this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take antibiotics before, during, and after your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just for relax
Business
TX
Mar 23, 2010

Recent Trip

Hotel itself was really nice. I went for a wedding which turned out awesome on the beach. Service quality was for the most part great for me and it definitely helped I knew spanish. I knew people who didn't experience as good of service due perhaps to some language barrier. Although there were plenty of people who spoke english well enough. Food was hit or miss. For most part just average. Best food was at the French restaurant Le Gourmet. Shopping was not great due to all of the haggling involved. My wife saw a necklace for sale at one stand for $20. At another stand later she decided she wanted it and they started us out at $235! I talked him down telling him what I saw previously and purchased it for $20. I did scuba through beach services which was ok, dive was at nearby reef, approx 45 ft depth, 40-50 ft visibility, 45 min dive. Kataraman's were a bit difficult to get a hold of but not impossible. I recommend planning a little better than I did and reserve the restaurant/beach equipment/etc as soon as possible. The resort & beach was was very similar to an all-inclusive hotel/trip I took in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maizystarr
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Nice Christmas family getaway

Nice hotel w/ a pleasant atmospher. As for the staff it was hit or miss when it came to interacting. Some were rude and dismissive while most honestly enjoyed conversing & serving us and our 4year old.Room cleanliness was well maintained by our maid.Food was very good compared to other hotels in DR. Desserts were the best ever! The gym is quite under equipt but enough to work with.Spa was just good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Buy your snacks & gifts elsewhere. Ex;$7 for a bag of Doritos! & kid shades $18 and $10 next door for the same ones ,so shop smart and compare prices before you purchase anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Divz
Business
NewYork
Jan 19, 2012

May be average at best

well the hotel was average at best, the room a bit dirty, the cleanilness was not there, the food was average at best, typical buffet food. the drinds were limited to few choices. Nothing extraordinary that would jump me to book this hotel again. But the pool and beaches was good...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoya144
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Spring break for stressed college students

My friend and I recently stayed at the majestic colonial for a four night trip. We loved The atmosphere and bars. Our problem was that the staff's lack of English provided problems with communicating food allergies. Also, the beds in the room were akin to wooden boards. All in all it was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Never accept full price. Always haggle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top