$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
440 out of 440
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spider Mike
NJ
Sep 27, 2012

Worth every penny!

Everything was coordinated just right. There is not a better dollar you can spend on the time we had. I recommend the xtra money for the swim up room with jacuzzi. The food was really good and the entertainment was the best I have seen in some time. Its location is the one you want to be in and look forward to next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I would have like to have taken a trip in town to go shopping. It is worth it to save the maney

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SUESEA
Business
BOSTON, MA
Jun 28, 2009

good times bad times

THE FIRST DAY WE HAD SOME ISSUES WITH ONE OF THE ROOMS, IT HAD A LEAK IN THE CEILING, AND THE A/C WASN'T WORKING. AFTER SOME CAJOLING, BOTH WERE FIXED BY THE NEXT DAY. THE MAID SERVICE WAS IRREGULAR AT BEST. SHE WOULD COME ANY TIME BETWEEN 7 AM AND 8 PM, AND FORGOT TO GIVE US TOWELS A COUPLE OF TIMES. WE WERE ON THE GROUND FLOOR, SO IT WAS PRETTY NOISY WELL INTO THE NIGHT AND EARLY MORNING. ALSO, THERE WERE A FEW BUGS. THE POOL HAD VERY WARM WATER AND WAS ONLY ABOUT 4 FEET DEEP. IT WAS A HUGE POOL WITH TWO DIFFERENT BARS ONE OF WHICH WAS A SWIM UP. THEY HAVE NO BLENDERS BY THE POOL, SO DON'T EXPECT A FROZEN DRINK. MY ADVICE, IS TO BRING AN INSULATED MUG TO GET DRINKS AND BEER. THERE IS ONLY ONE TYPE OF BEER. ALSO, IN ORDER TO GET A PALAPA HUT, YOU NEED TO GET THERE VERY EARLY. AND BELIEVE ME, YOU NEED ONE, OR ELSE YOU WILL FRY IN THE SUN. THE FOOD WAS OK. THERE ARE 5 RESTAURANTS, GOURMET (DIDN'T TRY), JAPANESE (GOOD), STEAKHOUSE(GOOD), SEAFOOD(DID'T TRY), CARRIBEAN(GOOD) AND ALSO A BUFFET(GOOD). YOU NEED TO MAKE RESERVATIONS ASAP FOR THE GOURMET AND JAPANESE. THE OTHERS DONT NEED RESERVATIONS. SERVICE AT THE RESTAURANTS IS OVERALL PRETTY GOOD AND THE PEOPLE THERE ARE VERY NICE. THREE OF THE PEOPLE IN OUR GROUP GOT MASSAGES AT THE SPA AND SAID THEY WERE GOOD. YOU CAN ALSO USE THE PRIVATE POOL THERE FOR A FEE. WHICH MAY BE WORTH IT BECAUSE ITS THE ONLY COOL POOL THERE, BECAUSE IT IS SHADED. ONE BAD POINT WAS THE CUSTUMER SERVICE IN THE SPA, WHICH WAS AWFUL. THEY PAYED NO ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU WERE SAYING, THEY WHISPERED BEHIND YOUR BACK. GENERALLY THEY WERE JUST RUDE. THE BEACH WAS THE BRIGHTEST POINT. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL, WHITE SAND, AND GREAT FOR SWIMMING AND SNORKELING. AGAIN, JUST GET THERE EARLY FOR A PALAPA HUT. THERE IS A BAR RIGHT NEXT TO THE BEACH AND IT IS OPEN AT 10:30 FOR LIGHT BREAKFAST AND LATER ON FOR LUNCH AND SNACKS. IT IS ALSO WHERE THE STEAK AND SEAFOOD PLACES ARE. OVERALL, WE HAD A GOOD TIME, ALTHOUGH ONE OF THE WOMEN WITH US HATED IT. YOU HAVE TO HAVE AN OPEN MIND, A WILLINGNESS TO LEARN A LITTLE SPANISH, AND NO MATTER HOW HARD WE TRIED WE COULDN'T ESCAPE SOME MILD STOMACH ISSUES. BOTTOM LINE, I WONT BE BACK TO THIS RESORT, ALTHOUGH I WOULD BE WILLING TO GO TO PUNTA CANA AGAIN. GOOD LUCK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

IF YOU NEED TO SHOP FOR SOUVENIERS THERE IS A MARKET AT THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY. IT IS A SHORT WALK BUT IT IS VERY HOT IN THE SUN, SO GO EARLY. ALSO, THEY ARE VERY, VERY PUSHY AND YOU DEFINITELY NEED TO BARGAIN. IF YOU DON'T LIKE TO BARGAIN JUST GO TO THE STORES AT THE RESORT. THE MAJESTIC ELEGANCE IS CONNECTED, SO YOU CAN TRY THERE STORES AS WELL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 26, 2009

Nita

I enjoyed myself, but we did have to wait 2.5 hours to check in because room was not done. We also did not get to eat at 2 restaurants because there were no reservations available. but restuarants looked empty. Also did not like the transport service of Coco tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Petrovsky
Business
New Jersey
Jun 13, 2011

You pay for what you get

I went for 8 nights and although I had a great time, the experience was very average. Some of the hotel staff was very friendly while others lacked a friendly personality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We went on the speed boat/snorkeling excursion and there was just something about this place that would make me not want to do excursuions in the future. I would just stay in the resort the entire time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Terrapin
Business
New York, NY
Jun 10, 2009

Just OK. Nothing great.

Hotel was just ok. Hotel needs to be fixed up. For example, our room needed really needed a re-painting and some tiles in the shower were missing. Also, it was really odd that the room did not have a separate bathroom. The toilet was just behind a glass (frosted) door, but noise and odor seeped underneath and above the stall. The food was just barely edible. The beach was very nice, lots of space. The pool was adequately large. For the money the Majestic is a good value. You get what you pay for. However, for an extra $50, I would recommend another resort with better food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newlywed in Ohio
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 15, 2011

Very nice but lacking in some areas

Overall the hotel is very nice. We found that we got very tired of the food there. The food was pretty bland and the same exact things were served nearly every single day. To be honest, the food was a letdown. Also, our bed was hard as a rock. We both woke up every morning with a stiff back. While there were things to do on the resort, we still found that a week was too long to be there because we ran out of things to do besides relax. We were visiting on our honeymoon and found that this may not have been the best place to relax and get away together because during the afternoon the pool area turned into a college spring break atmosphere. The staff was very nice and helpful, but I would say look for another hotel in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Domestic Over-Achiever
Business
Colorado
Jul 19, 2010

Beautiful location

There were many things to do - tour a nearby town, go on the zip lines, parasailing and shopping to name a few. There were a couple of destination weddings while we were there, and the noise factor (people talking loudly outside our door till 3 or 4 in the morning) was a bit of a problem. The resort definitely had enough to keep the grown-ups happy and partying till the wee hours of the morning, but I didn't see very many kids. I know that the resort provides some things for the kids to do, but it seemed more like a place for singles and couples in their 20's and early 30's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Haggle, haggle, haggle! Never take the price they give you. This is for the vendors who are not part of the resort. They inflate the price by at least 150% usually. My father was quoted $60 for a bag of mamajuana (totally rediculous) and talked the man down to $8 (still a bit steep from my point of view for a tree root). Also, it seems that all the vendors carry basically the same stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAAN
Business
NEW JERSEY
Jul 14, 2010

hot, and not!

THE HOTEL WAS OK - DIFFICULT TO GET THE STAFF TO UNDERSTAND NECESSITIES - ROOM ATTENDANTS SPOKE LITTLE ENGLISH - HAD TROUBLE A FEW TIMES WITH ELECTRONIC KEYS WORKING iN JULY IT WAS HOT AND LITTLE AC - SOME RESTAURANTS HAD AC BUT STILL HOT. THE NIGHT LIFE WAS ALL OUTSIDE - EVEN THE THEATER WAS OPEN AIR. ALL INCLUSIVE DRINKS BUT IT WAS TOO HOT TO DRINK. SEVERAL IN OUR GROUP GET VERY SICK - ONE HAD TO GO TO THE MEDICS AND THAT IS NOT INCLUDED

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

HOT AND LONG AND THEN YOU HAD TO BICKER FOR PRICE - NOT SO GOOD VALUES

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
May 23, 2009

So so

Location was far from real Dominican country. Food was mediocre. Hotel facilities were tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Jun 23, 2009

HUGE Pool

Had a really great time. Alot of activites to do within the resort. Location of resort was far (45 min) from other cities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The workers in the shopping centers near the resort are very agressive. I would recoomend just buying the stuff from the shops within the hotel or go to the nearest city (45 min) for good prices (but the taxi for there and back was $120. for 6 ppl.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lets go gators
Business
Miami
Jun 23, 2014

Not Great, but staff is great and very friendly

We went for a wedding this past weekend and it wasn't anything to write home about. We had one great dinner at a Japanese restaurant our last night there and that was the only meal i really liked. As far as the alcoholic drinks go they were all well drinks so it was ok. It was really really hot this past weekend and the AC in our room wasn't that cold. The staff was definitely friendly and the hotel is beautiful but food and drinks were not the greatest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese restaurant below the lobby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top