$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
365 reviews
Amazing family vacation

I went with my husband and our 2 yr old daughter and we had an absolutely amazing time all the... See full review

  • Cyn lee
  • Oct 10, 2014
Couple Vac

good hotel for couple. everything was good, food, drinks, room, and entertainment. See full review

  • Siwy
  • Oct 6, 2014
Punta Cana all inclusive, all junior suite resort with Jacuzzi, New Colonial Club adults only section

An oceanfront resort on a beautiful shore, Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive provides all-inclusive options for families who love variety and couples alike. With meals and drinks included at six restaurants and eleven bars, guests can relax and enjoy the Caribbean feel. Children have their own pool, club, playground, mini disco and video games. Swimming and sunning combine with a chance to join beach football or volleyball or to get in a kayak or small sailboat. At night, head to the piano bar, Disco, sports bar, or a live show.

NEW colonial Club adults only section opening November 2012 with 318 rooms including five different room categories, two new private swimming pools with swim up bars and Bali beds, private lounges with drinks and snacks, butler service, free Internet access, restaurant for a la carte breakfast and lunch, 24-hour room service, among other upgraded amenities. 

Highlights
  • Complimentary water sports, small boat rentals, scheduled activities and  two kids' clubs
  • Fitness center, tennis courts and basketball court
  • On site spa and casino (fees apply)
  • Adjacent to the Nick Price golf course Golf Punta Blanca
  • New adults only section
  • Unlimited a la carte dining
  • All junior suites with Jacuzzi
Location

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive is located on the shore in Arena Gorda (Playa Bavaro). The area has become a popular global golf destination. Explore the area's parks and semi-deserted islands such as Saona Island and Catalina Island.

Rooms

Choose a tailored room type in one of 658 junior suites at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive. All rooms are furnished with a Jacuzzi and quality materials and  facilities you would expect in a 5 star resort.  King size 4 poster beds or two double size beds depending on the room category, complete bathroom with Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee machine, mini bar re-stocked daily, working desk, iron and ironing board and a nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Colonial Club rooms including the Majestic Supreme service exclusive upgraded amenities and services.

Recreation

Active types who love the water seek out snorkeling, aqua aerobics, water polo or windsurfing. Take a dance class, Spanish lesson or learn to scuba dive in the pool. Guests of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive enjoy special rates at the Golf Punta Blanca and golf courses close to the Bavaro Beach.

Dining

Six restaurants present a variety of international cuisine styles, from Asian and Caribbean menus, and favorite steak and seafood dishes. For tropical cocktails, visit the eleven bars, including a swim-up bar.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
Attractions
  • Golf Punta Blanca (200 metres from the main gate)
  • Ecological reserve (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Basilica de Higüey (24.6 mi/39.5 km)
  • Altos de Chavón (57.7 mi/92.9 km)
Business
  • Wireless Internet in lobby and wired Internet in room (fees apply)
  • Business center with Internet access (fees apply)
  • Over 10,000 square feet of event space in six meeting rooms for up to 600 people

Hotel Map

18.7326 -68.4672
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)-Estimated distance 35 km. La Romana International Airport 1 hour distance, and 3 hours from Santo Domingo's International Airport of "Las Americas".
Area description
Area Location- Beach front, Nick Price Golf Course- adjacent, Manaty Park- 7 km (4 minutes), Altos de Chavon-32 km (20 minutes), Saona Island- 38 km (25 minutes).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Colonial Club Junior Suite Ocean View
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+. Wonderful Ocean view either frontal or lateral. One King size four poster bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others.
Colonial Club One Bedroom Suite with Jacuzzi
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+. Spacious 1064 sq feet Suites, located on 4th floor, garden or pool view, bedroom plus living area separated with sliding doors. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, and nesspreso machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others.
Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
All Junior Suites are furnished with quality materials and with all the facilities you would expect in a 5 star resort. One King size four poster bed or two double size beds, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs with beautiful views to the garden or pool view given random to the client.
Majestic Junior Suite
Swim up rooms, located on the ground floor with outdoor Jacuzzi, direct access to the swimming pool, small garden area and outdoor Jacuzzi chaise long and chairs. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival, Maximum occupancy 2 adults.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Wonderful Ocean view either frontal or lateral. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival, nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Maximum occupancy 2 adults.
One Bedroom Suite with Jacuzzi
Spacious 1064 sq feet Suites, located on 4th floor, garden or pool view, bedroom plus living area separated with sliding doors. One King size bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, and nesspreso machine, working desk, iron and ironing board, bottle of Rum and Whiskey upon arrival. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs.
Colonial Club Junior Suite with Jacuzzi
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+. Beautiful garden or pool view given random to the client, located on all floors. One King size four poster bed or two double size beds, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Nice terrace or balcony with chairs. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others.
Colonial Club Majestic Junior Suite
Adults only section MUST BE AT LEAST 18 YRS OLD+ Swim up. Located on the ground floor with indoor Jacuzzi, direct access to the swimming pool and a small garden area chaise long and chairs. One King size four poster bed, complete bathroom with indoor Jacuzzi, independent walk in shower (with three functions: Rain, massage and soft), hair dryer, bath robes and slippers, air conditioning, ceiling fan, Satellite TV, sofa, telephone, Hi speed internet connection ($), safety deposit box, mini bar re-stocked daily, coffee machine, working desk, iron and ironing board. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. Including the Majestic Supreme Service additional upgraded amenities as Butler service, Private Pool areas, Private beach areas with Bali beds, exclusive access for breakfast and lunch a la carte, free internet access, In room Bar selection (specific choices), Private lounges with drinks and snacks, among others

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

La Bodeguita de Majestic
Fast food corner, to take a way or to eat around the corner. Open till 6 o'clock in the Morning with a selection of fast foods and soft drinks and Beer.
Taino
Caribbean style restaurant open for dinner and closing its doors at mid night. No reservation required. Restaurant with Air Conditioned.
Le Gourmet
Gourmet Cuisine with delicious meat and fish dishes. Open for dinner, only for adults. Dress code applies. Reservations are required.
Portofino & Supreme.
The Main Buffert restaurant offering Italian and International food with several show cooking areas. Open for Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Restaurant with air conditioned. Dress code applies.
Matsuri / Sushi Bar
Oriental restaurant offering two different options for dinner: The Tappan-yaki (with reservation). And a la carte restaurant: with a well assorted sushi bar, oriental food and desserts. ( no reservation required for the Sushi Bar or the oriental a la carte). Dress code applies.
Tres Carabelas
Specialized in Seafood and fish. Available for dinners, salad bar for starters and main dish served a la carte. Open air restaurant.
Rodeo Grill
Specialize in Grilled meats. Available for dinners, salad bar for starters and main dish served a la carte. Open air restaurant
La Hispaniola
Beach front restaurant with beautiful views to the sea, its open for Continental Breakfast from 10.30 to 12.30, Lunch as a buffet from 12.30 to 15.30 and Snacks from 15.30 to 18.30.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Centre Majestic, with more than 1000m2 (10764ft) and 6 functional rooms provides capacity for up to 600 delegates and comprises up to the minute technical equipment to effortlessly run seamless events. Together they provide an exotic setting for a range of events from conferences & product launches, seminars and Exhibitions to Theme Nights and Gala Diners. Groups Department available to fulfull all our clients expectations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (365)

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Next trip will not be to Punta Cana
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 25, 2010

Room reservations not guaranteed

We reserved an oceanview room - none were available when we arrived. The pool view room we were given had a water leak causing our bathroom to be flooded - 2 days before it was fixed (literally 3 inches of water standing in the bathroom). We demanded another room, and were moved to the oceanview room we originally reserved - the room safe didn't work and we had to have our door fixed twice as our room keys didn't work. All in all, we spent the first full 3 days of a 7 day vacation dealing with room issues (even missed dinner with the family one night). The hotel manager's solution was he would provide us with a letter to provide to [...] so we could request a reimbursement and only be charged for the pool view room instead of the oceanview room for the first 2 nights (that should've been "a given"...why should we pay for a room we didn't receive! For our 3 day's of inconvenience and wading through water to use our bathroom, we were given a complimentary 25 minute massage - the massage was great, but not worth the 3 days of frustration!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's great snorkeling about 10 feet off shore at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western New York
Jul 20, 2009

Goods & Bads

I have mixed reviews about this place. Goods & Bads. More goods than bads though. This was my second trip to Punta Cana and I stayed at a different resort the previous time (Paradisus Palma Real). This time my husband and I came with ~20 other people for a destination wedding at the resort. It was a great wedding and overall we had a great time. The goods: -Beautiful location, beautiful resort, pool was amazing, beach was nice (be careful of the coral if you go too far out) -Nice & clean rooms - the staff was very nice (but most did not speak english) - the beds were very hard though - Nightly entertainment was very good - there was always things to keep you busy and was very impressed by the beach party/bonfire, some of the shows were good too - Definitely recommend doing the photography session - lots of fun and the pictures are amazing The bads: - Service was sub-par - we had many mix up's with our rooms and had to have it switched 2 times, since one you could hear people in the adjacent room and the other was not clean. We had some problems with details regarding the wedding - but overall the wedding ceremony and reception went very well - but just some details that would have made things go more smoothly - Food was average - the absolute best food was at the French restaurant and we were unable to make reservations at the Japanese (They were booked out 4 days in advance). The other restaurants and buffets were okay, lots of variety but disappointed overall in the quality. - Deep sea fishing - expensive, only caught one fish (average size) and majority of the boat got sea sick (even though most of us never had this happen on a boat before) - It could be the season for bad fishing or something though and very rough waters - Not many "extras" included - had to pay for most extra activities during the day, room service was not included with the cheaper rooms, only one type of wine was free (had to pay extra for better liquour - and it is expensive!) Overall - I was happy with the resort, especially for the price. It worked out well for our big group since the resort was big enough for us to have privacy but also have dinner and spend time together as a group as well. Lots of variety of things to do! There was lots of kids and families at the resort as well. As I stated before I stayed at the Paradisus Palma Real 3 years previously and enjoyed that resort more for the purposes of a honeymoon (not as a large group) - it is more of a relaxing atmosphere, better service, better food and more extra's included but the night life was not as extensive as this resort and not as large. If I was to go to Punta Cana again - I probably would try another resort and not return to this one but we did enjoy the time we spent here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

- Book reservations for the (2) restaurants - Japanese and French as soon as you get to the resort. Also book your shuttle back to the airport with your agent at the resort as well (it is cheaper than taking another taxi back).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom Ready to Relax
Business
DE
Apr 9, 2010

Beautiful Beaches but just "OK" Resort

We had a nice, relaxing and enjoyable time, but a few things would have made it better. The hotel website (video) led you to believe that you could use the facilities at the sister hotel, Majestic Elegance, but once we visited an area we were told to leave even though walkways lead that way and no signs are posted stating no entrance or use of facilities. Hotel was more 3 then the website claims 5 star. Beautiful beach and grounds with lots of tropical plants! Pool was long and relaxing but not enough pool games-such as water polo... Rooms were clean and adequate. Drinks in mini bar were not replaced daily. Robes and towels needed to be tossed out and replaced. When we got there we had to call room service to correct a few problems. Food and service was a dissapointment compared to many of the resorts I have stayed in in Mexico. The menu was the same daily. The food was ok but at nightly a la carte restaurants you could tell that what was left over during lunch was used to create the night menu. During the day there was no outside grills or places to eat and you were not allowed to take food out. Restrooms were hard to find and the only one I found if on the beach was in the restaurant, so you had to go through dining room. I will return to Punta Cana but will try another resort. Again I will stress that it was not a bad place to stay just not 4/5 star as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Take what you need-buying in DR is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 24, 2009

Majestic Colonial-Punta Cana

Check-in/out-very fast and organized. Greeted with the famous majestic drink...very good Rooms-very clean, came with a stocked frig...2 beers about 4 sodas, 4 bottled waters, and chocolate. Refilled daily. Double vanity which is a plus and huge showers and jacuzzi tub. Each room gets two beach towels for the stay. If you want new beach towels you have to exchange them by the beach between 9AM-4PM. Bed was pretty hard but I slept like a rock. Pillows were great! TV's had huge variety of stations in several languages. Several English channels were available. Tours- we went on two tours with Coco tours. One was the Snorkeling and swimming with stringrays and sharks ($89 per person). I highly recommend this trip. The went on a huge catamaran and it was tons of fun...included snacks and drinks (sodas and alcohol) and a cool crew and dancing. The other tour we went on was ziplining ($85 per person)...it was ok. I ziplined before in mountains and this tour was just over land. Wouldn't recommend it. Pool- the pool was gorgeous and had a swim-up bar. We stayed in a suite and our balcony walked up write to the pool. Was noisy during the day because they have enteratainment by the pool. If you want a quieter room either try to get right by the beginning or end of the pool (not the middle. Restaurants- highly recommend the french and japanese restaurants (both require reservations). The buffet was good at all times of the day. Be careful though when you eat. If you go towards the end of the meal time stuff has been sitting out for a few hours. A few people in my group did get sick off of some hamburgers that we ate at the end of snack time. The steak house/ seafood by the beach was good also. Shows- start at 10PM and were for the most part pretty fun. Make sure you go the Micheal Jackson show..it was great! Disco-open from 11PM-4AM. For themost part we had fun, however one night an old lady that lives up stairs and owns the club came in and told the DJ to turn the music down...which is ridiculous since it is a club. Music was so low that you couldn't even hear it over the conversations from all the people. Shops- very inexpensive priced shops right by the kids pool club on the resort...go to those shops. Do NOT go to the shops right outside the resort. The people will not leave you alone and are ridiculously priced. My friend ended up paying $30 for a necklace and the guy started the price at $300. So do not pay waht they ask for. Beach-very beautiful. Sand volleyball and soccer daily...very fun. There were a lot of topless women so people might not want to go there with kids. Can get snorkeling equipment. Plenty of chairs and covers for people. Make sure to ride the banana boat $10 per person for 15 mins. which is enough time. Location-not in a great location...kinda far from tours, no city really close by to shop, eat and see the Dominican way of life. Staff-for the most part very friendly and almost everyone spoke English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay on the resort! On Thursday night they had people from the shops right outside the resort come in (set up between the theatre and lobby)....just stay away...those people are crazy and annoying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Squirrel seeker
Business
MA
Feb 20, 2011

Majestical Trip

The trip from the airport was a short one, we had arranged a car service as the hotel didn't provide transportation directly. The check-in process was quick and painless. The only downfall is that I was not given the room that I had reserved and paid more money for. Others that we traveled with also did not receive the room they reserved. The rooms were nice and spacious. Negative points for room would be the shampoos, conditioners and no face clothes provided. In addition there were no skin lotions provided. All of these things are items that we had provided at other all inclusive resorts having stayed at. The beach was one of the better that we had on vacations. The pool also was very nice. Negatives here would be bathrooms. They were few and far between for such a large space of pool/beach areas. The staff was very friendly. Other negatives would be no fresh orange juice. Drinks received were not always what was ordered. The selection of alcohol was limited. Four of the six traveling in my group had an adverse affect to the food. One of which ended up in the hospital. Food was good. The japanese restaurant was great and entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Didn't leave the resport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jun 21, 2010

Bachelorette Trip

Pros: Friendly Staff, great Bartendars (they were fun!!), clean grounds, good drinks, food was good at the French and Chinese restaurant as well as the main dining room - clean areas at the buffet station, friendly waiters, sommelier was well educated, spacious rooms!!, club was decent, the entertainers for the nightly shows and at the pool were a lot of fun and they hung out with you at the club at night...awesome!! Cons: the rooms were very outdated and the furniture was old and saw bugs in the room, room service took too long, all the receptionist did not speak english, the buffet area at the beach bar was not clean at all but the one in the main dining room was super clean - high standards should be in all restaurants...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Langhorne, PA
Jun 21, 2010

Okay

The staff were always friendly and spoke very good English - and appreciated when we tried to speak Spanish. The restraunts all pretty much had the same food, just a different name for it. Quality wasn't great - sushi bar was not a sushi bar at all. We ended up getting sick despite our efforts to avoid using water. The resort is BEAUTIFUL and wonderful pool - GREAT BEACH! We would go back, but not for 7 days - maybe 4 or 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grazz70
Business
new jersey
Sep 15, 2011

nice hotel but not the best i ve been in in punta cana

place was clean no room service unless u pay extra ok liquor food not the best pool was very big and clean beach was clean but not alot of waiters or waiteres had to wait a long time but for the money it was a nice place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

go early so food is fresh

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
May 3, 2009

Beautiful Resort , room not so good !

The beaches were beautiful and the snorkeling right off the resort was excellent. I thought the waiters and waitresses at the restaurants were very friendly and helpful. The food at the specialty restaurants were all delicious. It was nice to have entertainment every night at the theatre and thought the shows were very good. Now, for the worst part of the resort... When we arrived at our room 1122 it smelled very musty. We had brought our own Lysol spray but that did not help. We were told that they close off sections of the resort (garden view)during less busy times and that is why they become musty. The pillows were musty, beds were hard and lamp shade/underside of rug by bed were mildewed. I turned the rug over so room service could see and they put it outside on the patio. Only 2 bath towels were provided the first day. I left a note for hand towels, wash (face) cloths and robes (that were suppose to be included). We got the hand towels, 2 wash cloths and robes that looked like they were washed 100 times. We stayed for 5 nights and never did receive any more wash cloths even though we left a tip each day except for the last day. Another couple we became friends with had a pool view room and their room did not smell, they had rose pedals on their bed each night but also had trouble obtaining wash cloths for some unknown reason. We reported this to the front desk but had a language barrier. We would of asked to be moved to another room from the beginning but thought it was going to get better and didn't want to pack up everything again and move. If I had to do it over again, I would of asked for another room the first day. By the end of our stay was thoroughly disgusted by the smell and room service. I would of preferred to have stayed at the Majestic Elegance where the rooms would of been newer and cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SUESEA
Business
BOSTON, MA
Jun 28, 2009

good times bad times

THE FIRST DAY WE HAD SOME ISSUES WITH ONE OF THE ROOMS, IT HAD A LEAK IN THE CEILING, AND THE A/C WASN'T WORKING. AFTER SOME CAJOLING, BOTH WERE FIXED BY THE NEXT DAY. THE MAID SERVICE WAS IRREGULAR AT BEST. SHE WOULD COME ANY TIME BETWEEN 7 AM AND 8 PM, AND FORGOT TO GIVE US TOWELS A COUPLE OF TIMES. WE WERE ON THE GROUND FLOOR, SO IT WAS PRETTY NOISY WELL INTO THE NIGHT AND EARLY MORNING. ALSO, THERE WERE A FEW BUGS. THE POOL HAD VERY WARM WATER AND WAS ONLY ABOUT 4 FEET DEEP. IT WAS A HUGE POOL WITH TWO DIFFERENT BARS ONE OF WHICH WAS A SWIM UP. THEY HAVE NO BLENDERS BY THE POOL, SO DON'T EXPECT A FROZEN DRINK. MY ADVICE, IS TO BRING AN INSULATED MUG TO GET DRINKS AND BEER. THERE IS ONLY ONE TYPE OF BEER. ALSO, IN ORDER TO GET A PALAPA HUT, YOU NEED TO GET THERE VERY EARLY. AND BELIEVE ME, YOU NEED ONE, OR ELSE YOU WILL FRY IN THE SUN. THE FOOD WAS OK. THERE ARE 5 RESTAURANTS, GOURMET (DIDN'T TRY), JAPANESE (GOOD), STEAKHOUSE(GOOD), SEAFOOD(DID'T TRY), CARRIBEAN(GOOD) AND ALSO A BUFFET(GOOD). YOU NEED TO MAKE RESERVATIONS ASAP FOR THE GOURMET AND JAPANESE. THE OTHERS DONT NEED RESERVATIONS. SERVICE AT THE RESTAURANTS IS OVERALL PRETTY GOOD AND THE PEOPLE THERE ARE VERY NICE. THREE OF THE PEOPLE IN OUR GROUP GOT MASSAGES AT THE SPA AND SAID THEY WERE GOOD. YOU CAN ALSO USE THE PRIVATE POOL THERE FOR A FEE. WHICH MAY BE WORTH IT BECAUSE ITS THE ONLY COOL POOL THERE, BECAUSE IT IS SHADED. ONE BAD POINT WAS THE CUSTUMER SERVICE IN THE SPA, WHICH WAS AWFUL. THEY PAYED NO ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU WERE SAYING, THEY WHISPERED BEHIND YOUR BACK. GENERALLY THEY WERE JUST RUDE. THE BEACH WAS THE BRIGHTEST POINT. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL, WHITE SAND, AND GREAT FOR SWIMMING AND SNORKELING. AGAIN, JUST GET THERE EARLY FOR A PALAPA HUT. THERE IS A BAR RIGHT NEXT TO THE BEACH AND IT IS OPEN AT 10:30 FOR LIGHT BREAKFAST AND LATER ON FOR LUNCH AND SNACKS. IT IS ALSO WHERE THE STEAK AND SEAFOOD PLACES ARE. OVERALL, WE HAD A GOOD TIME, ALTHOUGH ONE OF THE WOMEN WITH US HATED IT. YOU HAVE TO HAVE AN OPEN MIND, A WILLINGNESS TO LEARN A LITTLE SPANISH, AND NO MATTER HOW HARD WE TRIED WE COULDN'T ESCAPE SOME MILD STOMACH ISSUES. BOTTOM LINE, I WONT BE BACK TO THIS RESORT, ALTHOUGH I WOULD BE WILLING TO GO TO PUNTA CANA AGAIN. GOOD LUCK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

IF YOU NEED TO SHOP FOR SOUVENIERS THERE IS A MARKET AT THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY. IT IS A SHORT WALK BUT IT IS VERY HOT IN THE SUN, SO GO EARLY. ALSO, THEY ARE VERY, VERY PUSHY AND YOU DEFINITELY NEED TO BARGAIN. IF YOU DON'T LIKE TO BARGAIN JUST GO TO THE STORES AT THE RESORT. THE MAJESTIC ELEGANCE IS CONNECTED, SO YOU CAN TRY THERE STORES AS WELL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top