$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fuschia Dee
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 21, 2014

Excellent Beach Vacation Spot!

We stayed at the Majestic Colonial for 5 nights and it was absolutely the best beach vacation I've ever had. We went in Sept which is technically hurricane season but had perfect weather. The hotel was priced well and I would definitely book there again. Pros: our room- which was on the ground floor, along the swimming pool, and close to the beach, which was a perfect location for us as we spent every day on the beach. It had plenty of room, a sofa, desk, in-room safe for valuables, comfortable bed, ceiling fans, a large walk-in shower, even a Jacuzzi. The beach- clean with lots of lounge chairs. The hotel provides you with a card so you can get a beach towel every day. The staff- absolutely the best. Very friendly without being pushy at all. From the clerks in the Guest Services to the staff in the buffet dinner area to the activities personnel who were in the beach areas, they really made our vacation so nice. Activities- the hotel has something planned every single hour from early morning to late night: contests, dance lessons, Spanish lessons, yoga, a magic show, free snorkeling, and our favorites: the swimming pool foam party by the wet bar and the beach party with barbeque foods and a live band. My only cons were: the food and maid service. The hotel had several restaurants and buffets, but they all were average, a bit disappointing although maybe I have higher expectations.... while the service was always over-the-top excellent, the food at their buffet was the best due to variety and freshness and the food at the exclusive French restaurant was by far our biggest disappointment due to fatty, tough meats, odd versions of common dishes such as lobster bisque, and limited menu options. Other con: the maid service. And yes, we tipped every night until the last 2 and that was because we weren't getting good service. It was very hit-or-miss with refilling the free mini bar with bottled water, sodas, and even the toilet paper. And I don't think the bedsheets were changed at all during our stay. The floors were tile and only mopped once. No, we didn't notify the desk because we really did not want to get anyone in trouble, but it was frustrating at times. Suggestions for hotel: improve the maid service, refill the mini bars with drinks and snacks on a daily basis, get better bed pillows, put a clock in the rooms, offer a guided tour around the facility when guests first arrive, keep the pool open a bit later than 6pm, or maybe a late night pool party would be fun, and improve the restaurant menus with more selections and food quality. Suggestions for travelers: only book excursions through the hotel, the airport is open air and hot so dress accordingly, bring insect repellent, bring outlet adaptors for chargers, make dinner reservations ahead, and get an activities calendar from Guest Services. I came to Punta Cana to relax and enjoy the beach, not necessarily to eat and gain weight, so this vacation at this hotel exceeded my expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Visit Guest Services to get an activities calendar and book your dinner reservations. Walk around when you first arrive and see where everything is and what they have to offer. There's so much to do and you don't want to miss the larger parties which are really fun and had the best food too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adioscowboy
Business
Colombia
Sep 17, 2014

Nice choice

It was a nice choice, I think. beautiful beach,,nice Golf course, long swimming pool,,two jacuzzi for the room,,very kind staffs,,, except only one thing,,,the transportation bewteen airport and hotel,,,each paid 40 usd,,,total 80 usd..very expensive,,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
delitura
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 2, 2014

Great Relaxing Vacation

Hotel met and exceeded expectations for an all inclusive in most aspects. Staff very friendly, drinks are strong, food is here and there but variety is large so anybody can find something they like. They keep bringing little gifts to the room, which is nice. Ask for a bubble bath to your butler if staying on Club side. One tip: Use the safes they provide in the rooms for valuables, they are there for a reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Le Bistro has best food among restaurants. Steaks should be avoided, seafood is generally very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chinka
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 2, 2014

Fantastic friends getaway

we loved the place, activities and service. i will recommend it to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julio Cool Dad
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 31, 2014

Nice time

We enjoyed our stay, mostly due to staff. Otherwise, the Food was average, and house cleaning was below average... Never changed our sheets in 4 nights and never restocked shampoo after first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy J.
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Aug 24, 2014

Swim up perfection

We stayed in a swim up suite in the Colonial Club and were ecstatic. The ease to move around the resort was great. In reading reviews, people wrote that the food was awful or bland...but we thought everything was delicious. The staff was great and very friendly. Language barriers were non-existent. The Colonial Club VIP lounge was worth the price alone. We had a butler but never had any need for him. The only complaint would be that Colonial Club members-only beach area was quite rocky. Bring water shoes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you stay in the Colonial Club, eat at Le Gourmet at lunch when reservations are not required and you can wear shorts, tank tops and sandals. This is the ONLY resort restaurant requiring long pants and closed toed shoes for men at dinner. This way you can save packing space by not worrying about needing long pants or other shoes. A couple of polo shirts and golf shorts will be all you need!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlos and Rosa
Business
Houston Texas
Aug 19, 2014

Great anniversary getaway

The resort is wonderful with great staff. The rooms are clean and spacious. There are many activities going on that make the day zip by. The staff are very friendly and courteous. The entertainment team are awesome with different activities each day and evening shows. The food is fair at the buffet and various restaurant but excellent at the Rodeo Steak House. My wife and I would stay at the Majestic again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rodeo Steak House is terrific!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigg973
Business
Jersey
Aug 19, 2014

Best Vacation Ever!!!!

I have taken quite a few trips in the past and this one was by far the best. From the moment we arrived we were given excellent service from the staff of the Colonial Club. Our Butler Franklin was the best. He helped us with our food reservations and provided us with champagne and Rose petals in our jacuzzi every night. The staff really went out their way to help us with everything. We lived our swim up room with the bar right next to it. Room 3107 if want the pool party right outside your door. The entertainment was fantastic. I can't wait to go back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best shopping is right outside the hotel. Just walk out or catch a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alana the great
Business
sunrise, Florida
Aug 18, 2014

family wedding

Majestic colonial is a very nice hotel. I was very surprised that the room receives a good cleaning everyday i.e. sheets get changed everyday, floors get steeped and mopped by hand everyday which is surprising because many hotels at least in the states do not get this type of care. The only thing I would have changed is the food. It was not awful but I would have wanted more of an island feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
couple disappointed
Business
New Jersey
Aug 17, 2014

couples

The food was bad. We both have been sick . The hotel was old and needed updating . The furniture in our room was ripped and torn. We where on the 4th floor and the elevator didn't work. Our robs where dirty when we received them. I will never go back to this resort. We stayed in the adult section and there where kids there all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top