$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bobbymac
Jacksonville, Florida
Dec 24, 2012

Great resort vase some beach activities and staff

This is the third time at Majestic and colonial is even better than elegance. Angel manager and staff fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Paella on beach lunch beyond the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bohemond
Business
Philly
Apr 29, 2014

Be aware and careful

Came back from 5 nights stay with the family. Few pluses and few minuses: Pluses: Room is ample Pool is amazing Staff is friendly Drinks are good Beach is beautiful Buffet restaurant is quite nice Minuses: Bathroom has no privacy - very disturbing with teenagers French restaurant gave us food poisoning Check in staff demand money to give a room with pool view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just for relax
Business
TX
Mar 23, 2010

Recent Trip

Hotel itself was really nice. I went for a wedding which turned out awesome on the beach. Service quality was for the most part great for me and it definitely helped I knew spanish. I knew people who didn't experience as good of service due perhaps to some language barrier. Although there were plenty of people who spoke english well enough. Food was hit or miss. For most part just average. Best food was at the French restaurant Le Gourmet. Shopping was not great due to all of the haggling involved. My wife saw a necklace for sale at one stand for $20. At another stand later she decided she wanted it and they started us out at $235! I talked him down telling him what I saw previously and purchased it for $20. I did scuba through beach services which was ok, dive was at nearby reef, approx 45 ft depth, 40-50 ft visibility, 45 min dive. Kataraman's were a bit difficult to get a hold of but not impossible. I recommend planning a little better than I did and reserve the restaurant/beach equipment/etc as soon as possible. The resort & beach was was very similar to an all-inclusive hotel/trip I took in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maizystarr
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Nice Christmas family getaway

Nice hotel w/ a pleasant atmospher. As for the staff it was hit or miss when it came to interacting. Some were rude and dismissive while most honestly enjoyed conversing & serving us and our 4year old.Room cleanliness was well maintained by our maid.Food was very good compared to other hotels in DR. Desserts were the best ever! The gym is quite under equipt but enough to work with.Spa was just good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Buy your snacks & gifts elsewhere. Ex;$7 for a bag of Doritos! & kid shades $18 and $10 next door for the same ones ,so shop smart and compare prices before you purchase anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Divz
Business
NewYork
Jan 19, 2012

May be average at best

well the hotel was average at best, the room a bit dirty, the cleanilness was not there, the food was average at best, typical buffet food. the drinds were limited to few choices. Nothing extraordinary that would jump me to book this hotel again. But the pool and beaches was good...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoya144
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Spring break for stressed college students

My friend and I recently stayed at the majestic colonial for a four night trip. We loved The atmosphere and bars. Our problem was that the staff's lack of English provided problems with communicating food allergies. Also, the beds in the room were akin to wooden boards. All in all it was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Never accept full price. Always haggle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATL Mom
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 26, 2012

Clean Resort.. Food not so good

The resort is clean. Staff friendly enough.. huge language barrier! Only 10% or so of the staff speak good english. Rooms are just ok. Room have a open floor plan.. no privacy. Activities are good. Lots of food options.. not to tastey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeandCheryl
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2012

Nice but not 4 star

We had high expectiations for this hotel since it was 4 star and the reviews seemed pretty good. It did not meet our expectations unfortunately. Our goal was to relax which is what we did, but we also like to have some resort fun too since it was all inclusive. During the day, there was nothing to do....the pool is so long, that if there was something to do we didn't know about it. The staff didn't try to get you involved....it would have been nice to know if there was something to get involved with. The staff was friendly though. The drinks were good. The buffet was not so good...and that was our only option for breakfast. We could have had lunch on the beach which we did one day, but otherwise the only option was the buffet. The restaurants were good....but you you have to make a reservation early in the morning otherwise you will have a 9pm reservation all the time OR it will be booked. We have stayed in the caribbean before -- Jamaica, which we would go back to in a heartbeat...but we we will probably not come back to Punta Cana. IT was very very humid too.... The area of the pool that had jets like a hot tub was very nice. We never had trouble getting a seat by the pool eventhough it was was crowded. The entertainment in the evening was really good. I would recommend seeing the shows. There were alot of families with kids....so if you are looking for a quite vacation, this is not the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get in line for the restaurant reservations early -- 9am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HBOMBER204
Business
New York, New York
Aug 14, 2012

Nothing Special

Average hotel with below average service! Buffet food pretty much sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HBOMBER204
Business
New York, New York
Aug 13, 2012

Average Family Getaway

Great beach, average pool, average rooms and very poor service even after tipping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ShaShaRee
Business
Reading, PA
Oct 27, 2012

Excellent family vacation

The room smelled like a well the first day and we had no wash cloths, I don't think they even knew what wash cloths are... I wish they would have given us more than 4 bottles of water for a family of 4. The staff, Kelly, Franklin, Jose were all exceptional, the greeters at the Supreme and La Hispanola knew exactly how many people were in our party and always greeted us with a smile. The entertainment was great...just wish they would have shown Michael Jackson more than once a week, we missed it and were very upset about that. We will definitely visit Punta Cana again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

on the date of arrival be prepared that dinner isn't served until 6:30 p.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top