$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RRIVAS37
Business
Austin, TX
May 18, 2011

Service is lacking

I stayed at other resorts in Punta Cana and they are all great. You get a lot for your money and they are beautiful and well maintained as was the Colonial Punta Cana. My chief complaint had to do with the service in which our issues were never or barely addressed. We almost went without sheet the second night after five calls they finally had a maid deliver the sheets at 11pm despite the first request being at 2pm. We never had a blanket despite repeated requests over the 4 day stay. While I can't fault the hotel the crowd at the resort was a little WT. Punta Cana is great, I just think their maybe better options for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Dissapointed
Business
Atanta, GA.
Aug 8, 2009

Could be better.

To start off, this was my first time in Punta Cana and usually I make the most out of any situation, but at this time I must say I was dissapointed. I was not impressed with this resort at all. When we first arrived things started out well, but to our surprise it wasn't what we expected. The room was not cleaned properly and it took an hour to get it cleaned and we still ended up with old sheets. The bed was made everyday but the sheets remained the same throughout our stay. As we moved on the area in general is well groomed and the beach is clean and nice. The food and service leaves something to be desired. If you do not speak spanish or do not understand any spanish at all this is not the resort for you. The plates and glasses were not cleaned well at all and the food was the same everyday. The service is very poor, although friendly we could not get anything we asked for until 15 mins later when it came to ordering drinks, trying to place an order in their overly booked resturants, or receiving your food before it got cold after you placed your order and an hour if it was something for the room. They are very unorganized in their service at this resort and would recommend you staying on the elegance side of the resort, but I don't think its going to be any better if you decide to book here. I have been to other all inclusive resorts and never have I been so dissapointed. I made the best of the situation and did what I could to enjoy may stay over all and refrained from asking for anything and making sure the plates were cleaned even though I got sick after I left with a stomach virus. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone I like and wish that I could have proposed to my girlfriend at a better location. For this place to be only 4 years old it needs help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure that everything is clean when you pick up a plate or glass. If you ask for a drink understand that the glass you receive may not be its cleanest. Also, be very careful about what you eat, it could make you sick.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, NH
Jul 17, 2010

Look elsewhere in Punta Cana

The location was fantastic, the room beautiful and, aside from disgustingly green ponds, the property was nice too. The biggest shortfall was easily the food. I went to a wedding here with about 20 guests, nearly every single one of whom was sick the entire time with various ailments related to food poisoning. I never got sick, so not everyone does, but I was amazed to be literally the only person at the wedding who didn't get sick. Another travel website had many reviews that noted the food was bad, but I thought they were wrong. They weren't. I spoke to people who stayed at other resorts and they had no complaints about their food. Although I didn't get sick, I was very disappointed by the lack of variety. I was there five days and the buffet served essentially the same food every single day. The food was also mostly American, which was disappointing because I hoped for something with a Caribbean flare. Why travel so far just to eat eggs, potatoes and sausage for breakfast? The service was also mediocre. Not terrible, just nothing to write home about. Some were very nice, but others were downright rude. One hostess told us we needed reservations to eat at a restaurant and only allowed us in after I told her she was wrong and pointed out that the hotel's own guidebook said the restaurant did not require reservations. The most bizarre part was that nearly the entire restaurant was empty. Others clearly believed her because another person from my party was told we needed reservations and we were only allowed in after I spoke to the hostess myself. This same hostess was rude at another restaurant we ate at. Several areas of the property needed a thorough cleaning, namely the pool, which was murky. I want to believe it was from spilled drinks, but I don't know that. The pool was also three feet nine inches at its deepest. Very odd. There were also many ponds on the property that were green. Not kind of green, I mean bright green, like Mountain Dew. I literally did a double take. Overall though, the property and the rooms were beautiful. The beach was too. Still, it's hard to enjoy that when everyone in the wedding is busy in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bottles of water are available at every single bar so make use of them. I didn't realize this until late in my first day there and the few bottles supplied in the minibar don't last long when it's so hot. Also, you must bring proper attire, dress pants and a collared shirt for men, to eat at certain restaurants.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sportet
Business
Memphis, TN
Jun 22, 2009

DISAPPOINTED

The positive: the resort, pool and beach were beautiful but that is where it stopped. Very disappointed with the service..most staff do not speak or understand English at all!! Most only understand and speak Spanish. This 5 star in DR is comparable to a 3 star in Mexico. The ones that did speak English were not service oriented.. We are not high maintenance people but if we need something we expect to be acknowledged. There were no washcloths available and we asked repeatedly (x5days)but NEVER received one. Housekeeping failed to put drinks in refrigerator...after 48 hours and a call to guest services still no drinks...activities people were not organized so guests entertained themselves during the day around the pool. They were only interested in dancing in late afternoon. Food was WAY below PAR..many people (including my husband and son) were sick..both were using bottled water but it didn't matter. Majestic Colonial Pharmacy was out of Immodium so they sent him over to Majestic Elegance (sick) to get some and they would only sell him 1 blister back of 10 pills...rationing Immodium?? I heard other guests discussing people being sick. We will not return to the DR. Do not leave the resort unless on an outing with a tour company. Dangerous outside of resort. Rooms were huge but beware the coolest was around 78 degrees at night. Extremely hot..Overall we were very disappointed and we had read the reviews before booking the trip. The resort has SO much potential but they need to concentrate on the level and quality of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Skinny Jason
Business
Washington, PA
Aug 3, 2014

Party of 21 - ALL SICK!

Start positive: The beach was beautiful! My wife and I had been to Punta Cana twice before and that's what we loved, the beach, but we never would have brought 19 of our friends with us had we known we all would lose several days of our trip to a bad stomach flu/virus. In fact one of us had to visit the on-site medic. We talked to many other people at the hotel and they all said the same thing: at least half of the people in their party got sick. This is the only vacation I've taken when I've come back weighing significantly LESS than before I left. Not the best way to lose weight! We traveled the last week of July and had beautiful weather all week, but the vacation was definitely marred by the illness. Something needs to be done about this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take antibiotics before, during, and after your stay.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
a group of ten
Business
queens, new york
Jul 19, 2014

Great trip and with some disappointed things

All pictures from internet about this hotel are very beautiful. Actually, we were a little bit disappointed when we saw our rooms and food in the restaurants. We are a group of 10 people. On the 3rd of trip, some people had stomach pain and diarrhea. My wife got serious allergy. She was so itch and could not fall asleep. Hotel has no American medicine like Benadryl. After we got back to home, most of us had stomach pain. I think it is the matter of food and drink. Front desks, restaurants and room services are pretty good. We gave them a lot of tips every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim Jan
Business
Virginia
Jan 7, 2014

Good family getaway

Late December weather was nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were not taken care of properly. Our hand shower was hanging from the wall when we arrived. They would not give you extra towels, unless you exchanged them with the used ones!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linda wick
Business
Jupiter FL
Jan 9, 2014

Engagement

Not good workmanship in rooms. The key/ towel thing was not convenient. The room smelled strongly of chlorine, which I guess is better than mold. The food was not great.. The staff was nice but not great. We had early flight and there was not a cup of coffee or hot water to be found for tea. Something in the main lobby one came to pick us up until 6:30 and then he had to go to another hotel. We had the impression that we wer the only passengers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
artic vortex
Business
mn
Feb 28, 2014

great beach and service but food only ok

Rooms spacious and clean. Cruise like activities on a beautiful fine white sand beach. Sand soften enough for sand castle buliding yet hard enough for running. If you like buffet food then you will like this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heavydriver
Business
cvg
Mar 2, 2014

disappointing

Rather disappointed in our stay. We where traveling with 3 other couples and requested rooms in close proximity months out. We all stayed in the colonial club adults only. When we showed up our room wasn't ready until an hour past check in time and our party was spread through out. The butler service was a joke. We went a day with out wash cloths even after requesting a couple of times. The only thing that showed up that we requested where extra pillows anything else was followed through with. Other couples had to take full size beds instead of the requested kings until they came available the next day, then move. Seems they have more full size beds than kings in the adults only section.?? The food at the restaurants was very disappointing. The only one that stood out was the French restaurant, but plan on spending 2 hrs there. The wait staff acted like they didn't want to be there, very slow, some times rude, even after tipping at all the sit down dining. We had to leave the restaurant and go to the lobby bar to get our own drinks through out our stay. Their version of premium drinks has something to be desired, absolute and stolyes was the best vodka, and Jack Daniels is the only whiskey, no bourbon. Besides the 4 cans of beer in your room the only other option is draft president. Which doesn't taste as nearly as good as the bottle or cans. The 2 wines that were available red/white are terrible. Of course you can buy other bottles at an outrageous mark up. When you are able to find a bar that stocks the "premium drinks" you had to make sure that they used it. The wait staff at the buffets were pleasant and more attentive, the food was good there. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. This isn't our first visit to this area so we have a base to give an honest comparison to, and for the price it cost and the rating it supposedly has left us very disappointed and we won't be back. Some of our group had stayed at this resort before and agreed on the decline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top