$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
417 out of 417
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MInnesota
May 22, 2010

Bad food, unfriendly staff, nice beach

Several of the people we were traveling with got sick from the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EdnSteph
Business
Frisco,Tx
May 9, 2010

One of the best

My wife and I have been to Punta Cana 3 times and we both agree this has been the best of the 3. The pool is amazing and the beach was just beautiful. The service was great and the people were very helpful and friendly. In most all-inclusive resorts the food is average. The Majestic by far was above average. Great place to get away and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The beach - Just walk a little to the right toward the Elegance hotel. There is no rocks in the water. It is pure sand. Go between the Majestic and the Elegance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise & Bob
Business
Warren, VT
May 6, 2010

Fantastic mud season escape!!

We were so pleased with the spacious comfortable swim up room and its location! The sea kayaks in the beach area were not very comfortable for serious kayaking and use of the Hobie Cats was limited. Would like to see more water sport activity, although I believe that the water sports facility is not operated by the hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the menus at the 2 restaurants requiring reservations, before signing up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elmira, NY
May 6, 2010

Lovely

The hotel, grounds, beach are beautiful and the beach extends in either direction for miles, great for walking. There were buoys/ropes for swimming areas, which seemed much too close to shore, with boats travelling fairly close to shore just outside the ropes. This phenomena seems more of a Punta Cana thing, not just this hotel. The pool is enormous, with volleyball, bar, etc and a kid's pool. Although there were 6 or so restaurants with different menus, the food seemed to get a bit similar. We loved the breakfasts; fresh fruits, juices,a smorgasbord that left us not wanting lunch. The staff were all very friendly, there are shops, entertainment nightly. The hotel offered many water equipment for free use - kayaks, windsurfers, snorkels, even catamarans. Punta Cana is away from the 'real life' of the DR; that's no complaint against this hotel, but consider what you are looking for in a Caribbean vacation. There were tour assistants in the hotel every day for excursions. A nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The beach is a walker's heaven - miles. The hotel offers a very big selection of water equipment. There's easy travel for horseback riding on the beach and snorkeling trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amazing Bill
Business
Vermont
May 4, 2010

A well designed beautiful resort

good resaurants,very restful location, enjoyed finess center, great pool. Unfortunatly the ocean at this location is not deep and water activities are limited such as sailing, windsurfing and snorkling. I would have like more sports activities included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

plan ahead, make reservations if needed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GO_Bruins
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 29, 2010

Punta Cana

Great rooms, pool and location - I would highly recommend the resort if the food wasn't so bad across the board.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 25, 2010

Fantastic hotel

Only one concern that pools were closed at 6:00pm. They should be open longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookfield, CT
Apr 23, 2010

Great get away

Very relaxing. Great time and a good family vacation. Limited activities for teenagers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Apr 11, 2010

Majestic as a Family Vacation

I've traveled to many locations in the Carribean. This time we decided to take our 12 yr. old. The Majestic Colonial ranked right there witht he Sandals experiences I've had with a few exceptions. I wouldn't rank this hotel very family friendly. My 12 yr old went with it, but there were no floats, no overt beach activities, no real slide for the pool. The slides shown on the website are much nicer in the pictures--they are actually run down, peeling paint, and really designed for 2 to 3 yr olds. (I wouldn't leave my kids there at all) There was absolutely NOTHING for the 12 yr old to do. I couldn't believe that the resorts didn't even provide floats...that was a drag. It is more of an adult spot vs. family---also---the beach/pool is topless optional with no designated signage. This was a surprise to us----women just ripping off their tops---the hotel rooms were very nice, though housekeeping did the minimum---and getting face towels was like begging for a meeting with the president---we tipped daily, but that didn't seem to matter. The staff sometimes seemed not to want to be there---though overall they were friendly. Drinks were local brands to the island---and any top shelf brands they charged for---that was a downer. I wouldn't choose this again as a family vacation. The food was a hughe variety chicken wings to lobster---all of it was over cooked and no flavor...and though the resort boasted 7 restaurants, all the restuarants recycled the same food---the French restaraunt had nothing French about it and so on....but I think this is pretty typical with all the resorts. I heard great things about Iberstar--might try that next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy from vendors at the resort, stuff is marked up 100%, short walk out of the front of the resort take a right and go to the Punta Blanco Mall---and know what you are going to spend, tell them that and never pay the price they put on the calculator, it is highly inflated---cut it at least 60%.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom Ready to Relax
Business
DE
Apr 9, 2010

Beautiful Beaches but just "OK" Resort

We had a nice, relaxing and enjoyable time, but a few things would have made it better. The hotel website (video) led you to believe that you could use the facilities at the sister hotel, Majestic Elegance, but once we visited an area we were told to leave even though walkways lead that way and no signs are posted stating no entrance or use of facilities. Hotel was more 3 then the website claims 5 star. Beautiful beach and grounds with lots of tropical plants! Pool was long and relaxing but not enough pool games-such as water polo... Rooms were clean and adequate. Drinks in mini bar were not replaced daily. Robes and towels needed to be tossed out and replaced. When we got there we had to call room service to correct a few problems. Food and service was a dissapointment compared to many of the resorts I have stayed in in Mexico. The menu was the same daily. The food was ok but at nightly a la carte restaurants you could tell that what was left over during lunch was used to create the night menu. During the day there was no outside grills or places to eat and you were not allowed to take food out. Restrooms were hard to find and the only one I found if on the beach was in the restaurant, so you had to go through dining room. I will return to Punta Cana but will try another resort. Again I will stress that it was not a bad place to stay just not 4/5 star as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Take what you need-buying in DR is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top