$244 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Service
Business
Milwaukee, wi
Nov 26, 2012

Beautiful resort but poor customer service

We bought the package for the adult only exclusive with private 24-7 butler service. We met our butler at check in and did not see him after that other than accidentally running into him in the courtyard. Every time we tried to reach him, he was no where to be found. Everytime we wanted/needed something it seemed as though we were a bother to everyone and it took forever to get results. The resort itself is absolutely beautiful but the service needs some serious help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant was the best food on the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ralph and Alice
Business
New York, NY
Jun 7, 2010

frustrated couple

This hotel is beautiful and full of atmosphere but the rooms layout is terrible. this resort is very large and requires a long sweaty walk to everything and buy the time you get there you need to sit down and rest. If you are in a room close to the beach , you are a half mile walk away from the front desk and if you can't get in your room for a lost or forgotten key, then you have to make that walk all the way back to the front desk then to that room again. No service is provided for the not so fit, or elderly who tire easily. WE who are both in our late 40's early 50's found the walking distance between any activiy made enjoying that activity much less appealing... We stayed in our rooms more than we went out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get lots of small bills I reccommend 50 single dollar bills for tipping 5,10s for shopping. the hotel does not have change. the ATM there will only despence Pesos for a small ATM charge of 12 US dollars and you will end up giving a bigger tip than you intented or not be able to give a tip at all for a lack of change. and haggle for a better price on everything you buy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 31, 2010

Room for Improvement

Compared to other all-inclusive trips I have taken in the past, this by far did not compare to those. The resort had limited selection of food with limited service hours. We had to work around restaurant eating hours so we would be able to grab a bite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronxville, NY
Oct 3, 2008

a needed getaway

The overall hotel was nice the staff didnt really speak too much english. The main issue was the hotel decided they were gonna do airconditioning repairs and never notified the guests until the day prior. The air conditioning was shut down for 24 hours one day and then the power was shut off on another day for 4-6hours. There was only 1 restaurant open on these dates due to the lack of power and air conditioning. The other resources such as club,casino,theatre etc. were still open with no air conditioning???? Bottom line it was hot as hell. I was extremely uncomfortable with the no power (no lights) situation. The entire resort was pitch black! We were forced to retire to our rooms where we couldnt see our hands in front of our faces! I don't want a curfew escpecially when i'm on vacation. If this didnt occur i would have had an awesome trip. It put a damper on my and my fiance's vacation. Other than this issue the hotel was beautiful the food was ok the drinks were good. I ate and drank everything and didnt get sick (contrary to what some say).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GO_Bruins
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 29, 2010

Punta Cana

Great rooms, pool and location - I would highly recommend the resort if the food wasn't so bad across the board.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Jul 23, 2010

Could be much better

When we first arrived we were not given the room with direct pool access as I requested when I called the day before. The help does not speak good English and it is hard to communicate with them. We did finally switch rooms and the direct pool access is worth the extra money. We had an outdoor jacuzzi tub, but the jets did not work. I liked that the beach was never crowded and neither were the restaurants and we never waited to be seated. The service was good, but the food was not so good. At the Mexican restaurants there were a bunch of tiny ants on my desert plate. Also, the lobby and hallways and theater are not enclosed, so there is no air conditioning and it was very, very hot!!! Also, the hut that houses 3 restaurants does not have air conditioning. There is not that much to do with kids at this hotel. It is not geared toward families, as there are 10 bars, and not really any activities for the kids. The shows in the theater were not that great, and it was very hot in there. Plus they started too late, 10:00 pm every night. By that time, the kids were tired. Also you cannot drink the tap water and so we didnt drink the water at the restaurants either, just in case. Also, every morning at 4:00 am we were awakened by drunks coming home from the bars. Also, the dance contests were pretty provocative and my kids didnt need to see that. We went on two excursions. We had to travel at least an hour in opened trucks, breathing in gas fumes. We went to a beach to drive speedboats and go snorkeling. We had to go down a dirt road and ended up at a place with garbage outside and shops where they bothered you to buy things. Then we went on the speed boats which was fun and then snorkeled. It was ok, but we could have just rented the speed boats at the hotel and also went snorkeling from the hotel. The over 2 hours wasted to get there and back was ridiculous on the hot truck. I did like the peacful beach and the pool was ok. The service was fast, but I would not recommend this hotel, especiially for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The speed boat/snorkeling excursion is not worth it. You can do the same thing right at the hotel without going on a truck breathing in gas fumes and without air conditioning. And you save at least 2 hours when you could be doing other things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 23, 2009

Not as majestic as you think

The hotel was beautiful. The rooms and the resort were very very nice. The beds and pillows were behond hard. The food was horrible, food was cold all the time. The food looked and tasted like Golden Corral. We were very dissapointed. No activities after 10pm. The night club was always empty because they played really bad hip hop music. I was expecting spanish music. All the staff were very nice and courteous. This hotel was not a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dunnk
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2010

This hotel has seen better days

The set up of the room is terrible there is no wall between the toliet and shrower and the room (there is a small peice of colored glass seperating the room). The linens were old and worn and the bed was terrible. staff was unfriendly food mad me sick for 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYC First timer.
Business
Miami, Fl.
Jul 28, 2009

Average at Best

After visiting Excellence in Riviera Cancun last year, we found ourselves comparing every little detail. It was not even close. Excellence was far better. Majestic is nice hotel, it offers everything you could want: decent rooms, nice pool, swim-up bar, restaurants, spa and much more. But the attention to details is their biggest downfall. The room service was not timely. We got to the resort at 4, the room was not ready, when it was, we didnt have sheets on out bed, when we got our sheets, they were wet, yes, we slept on the wet sheets. They only left us 2 towels. How are we supposed to dry our hands? Bath robes were none existent. The pool was great, no complaints. The swim-up could be great. They only had 2 bartenders and a packed house. Lets be real, a wait at any bar is expected, but not 10 minutes either. The restaurants are nice, the food is terrible, the service is worse. Our very first lunch, they never brought our drinks. The wait staff runs around all over the place with no order. Breakfast was best food. Its pretty hard to mess up eggs and fruit though. All in all, it was a good trip, only because we are not the type to complain. If you are picky, this is not the place for you. Luckily we were with friends and made light of the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you do the ATV tours, make sure you take something to cover your nose. It does get dusty. The tour offers bandanas for $5 each.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
majestic colonial punta cana
Jun 20, 2010

will never go back to punta cana again

first we went american airlines ,we boarded two different planes with problems second one had cracked window andthey made us get off they did not have another flight until wednesday sowe had to take a flight to miami and leave the next day to san dominico and take a taxi ride for 3 and half hours to our resort majestic colonial.we missed two days of our seven days trip. my experience was the worst when we got to the hotel the desk didnt care on bit that we missed two days vacation with no compensation. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I had ants inmy roommand they came and sprayed and we couldnt get back in room for several hours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top