$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
415 out of 415
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Raleigh, NC
Dec 14, 2010

The entire experience was AWFUL!!!!!!

From the very start, this resort is AWFUL. The entire place was flooded when we arrived. The heavy rains create a lot of problems because there is no countrywide drainage system. There is no customer service. If you ask at the front desk - they will walk away from you. If you call from your room - they will hang up on you. The staff does not understand the most basic English - so be prepared to speak from Spanish. we had to argue daily for face towels and they tried to limit us to two towels for the room of four per day. The food was AWFUL... and was allowed to sit out for long periods of time in the heat and humidity. Be prepared for a scam around every corner and incredible mark-up on everything. The locals are very aggressive and will grab your luggage and walk away with it at the airport. You have to basically pay to get it back. There is also a "enter the country" fee. Finally - they cut out all the lights on the property from 3:00 - 6:00 am, so if you have an early flight - you must walk a long way in complete darkness. VERY UNSAFE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mels love to travel
Family
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Dec 10, 2010

Wonderful Vacation!

We had a great trip to Punta Cana and enjoyed our stay at the Majestic Colonial. The resort is truly beautiful, the view of the pool at night is absolutely gorgeous. We had our two tweenage kids with us and the rooms were very spacious, they had an extra bed and a bottle of champagne all ready for us when we got there, it was very impressive. My favorite things were 1) the ocean and tons of room to have your spots, you weren't playing the chair game or feeling crowded at all 2) the staff were the best, they made you feel like family...really!! they were really "my friends". 3) the pool, it went on forever and was set up that you could enjoy fun, quiet, kids or both. The food was good, some was better than other but it was easy to find favorites, like the best croissants in the morning! I would return to this resort and I would recommend it to all age groups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the entertainment is very good, worth watching here.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AKH
Couples
NY/NJ
Dec 6, 2010

Punta Cana

Everything was great but the beds were terrible to sleep on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feistyb Bee
Couples
Toronto, Canada
Dec 4, 2010

Punta Cana

Good services. However, there was power shortage for about 5 hours one day. Also, the bathroom was too bold. There was a separate room for the toilet, but the door didn't go all the way up to the ceiling, which can be embarasing for the person who is inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Danbury, CT
Oct 31, 2010

Majestic is only somewhat majestic

Overall it was a great trip - the service was wonderful, the staff was very friendly, everything was very clean. The one downfall, which was a pretty big one, was the food which really wasn't very good. Our first meal at one of the buffets was pretty much inedibile The Japanese restaurant was the best meal we had, but the standard was set very low. We had many meals of rice and fruit because everything else wasn't appealing to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to sign up for the ground transportation when you book. The taxi situation is a little shady at the airport.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nypete
Couples
New York
Oct 4, 2010

Great location

Majestic was a great value, days at the pool short walk to he beach, dining inside and outside. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious. We enjoyed many of the bars, the casino and theater. Plan your meals and make your reservations for dinner when you check in. The food was tasty and there was plenty of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations early or you might might miss out.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Sterling Heights, MI
Sep 16, 2010

Fantastic family vacation!

Check in: very fast, before we knew it we were in our room.Standard Room: we were on the 3rd floor. The rooms are very big, clean, nice big balcony, we had a sofa that didnt get used, much except for my sons toys. and didnt have any smell to it. Bathroom and shower were very clean. Had a jacuzy in the room that we didn't use. We were very, very happy with the room.Pools: The pools were very nice and clean. There were enough pool chairs for everyone. The childrens pool/slides was very small which we didn't like much. The slides were for older children and not for 2 year olds. If you want to go somewhere where they have a nice childrens pool than go to "Barcelo Premium" they have one of the best childrens pool that we have been to and we have been to D.R 5 times in the last 2 years.Staff: The staff are absolutely what made the vacation even better. From the front desk to the cleaning guys on the beach were absolutely amazing. They served us right away and were very friendly. They do love kids so don't be suprized if you see a staff member come and kiss your kids (which my son sure didn't mind especially if it was a nice your girl; lol). Staff great, great, no complaints.....just make sure you tip them, they sure do work hard to make your stay great.Bars: Drinks were great, bar tenders great. It might take a while till they get to you but just be patient there are others in front of you.Food: The buffet was the only one that we ate at. After staying 9days I guess the food does get a little to be the same and be repetitive but we still found something to eat. We did eat at the Tokio once and we liked it but we preferred the buffet since you picked what you liked. The food was great and we didn't get sick or anything from the food. Just be carefull what you eat and how much you eat.Shows: Were great as well. Make sure you don't liss the Circus, by far the best show ever, they put a lot of work in the shows make sure you go to at least 1. The stay was wonderful can't complain about anything and like I said this is the 5th time in the D.R. and by far this has been our best stay with no complains.If you go you will have a great time! If you have any questions you can email me at trandafirdeaur[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Aug 31, 2010

Room for Improvement

Compared to other all-inclusive trips I have taken in the past, this by far did not compare to those. The resort had limited selection of food with limited service hours. We had to work around restaurant eating hours so we would be able to grab a bite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St. Petersburg, FL.
Aug 18, 2010

Beautiful Facility

The grounds, pool areas and the beachfront were very nice. The food was excellent. We would like to see the sports bar open later and more activities in there. There was only one pool table. We would also like the pool to be open until sundown. The Michael Jackson show was excellent. We had a great time and would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josh and sarah r
Couples
ohio
Aug 13, 2010

Beautiful beaches and resort

Hotel is very nice, staff is very friendly. Waiters are clueless about keeping your drink topped off at the meals. Beach is second to none...beautiful! Food takes some getting used to but remember you are in a third world country and don't drink the water!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top