$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
440 out of 440
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fuschia Dee
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 21, 2014

Excellent Beach Vacation Spot!

We stayed at the Majestic Colonial for 5 nights and it was absolutely the best beach vacation I've ever had. We went in Sept which is technically hurricane season but had perfect weather. The hotel was priced well and I would definitely book there again. Pros: our room- which was on the ground floor, along the swimming pool, and close to the beach, which was a perfect location for us as we spent every day on the beach. It had plenty of room, a sofa, desk, in-room safe for valuables, comfortable bed, ceiling fans, a large walk-in shower, even a Jacuzzi. The beach- clean with lots of lounge chairs. The hotel provides you with a card so you can get a beach towel every day. The staff- absolutely the best. Very friendly without being pushy at all. From the clerks in the Guest Services to the staff in the buffet dinner area to the activities personnel who were in the beach areas, they really made our vacation so nice. Activities- the hotel has something planned every single hour from early morning to late night: contests, dance lessons, Spanish lessons, yoga, a magic show, free snorkeling, and our favorites: the swimming pool foam party by the wet bar and the beach party with barbeque foods and a live band. My only cons were: the food and maid service. The hotel had several restaurants and buffets, but they all were average, a bit disappointing although maybe I have higher expectations.... while the service was always over-the-top excellent, the food at their buffet was the best due to variety and freshness and the food at the exclusive French restaurant was by far our biggest disappointment due to fatty, tough meats, odd versions of common dishes such as lobster bisque, and limited menu options. Other con: the maid service. And yes, we tipped every night until the last 2 and that was because we weren't getting good service. It was very hit-or-miss with refilling the free mini bar with bottled water, sodas, and even the toilet paper. And I don't think the bedsheets were changed at all during our stay. The floors were tile and only mopped once. No, we didn't notify the desk because we really did not want to get anyone in trouble, but it was frustrating at times. Suggestions for hotel: improve the maid service, refill the mini bars with drinks and snacks on a daily basis, get better bed pillows, put a clock in the rooms, offer a guided tour around the facility when guests first arrive, keep the pool open a bit later than 6pm, or maybe a late night pool party would be fun, and improve the restaurant menus with more selections and food quality. Suggestions for travelers: only book excursions through the hotel, the airport is open air and hot so dress accordingly, bring insect repellent, bring outlet adaptors for chargers, make dinner reservations ahead, and get an activities calendar from Guest Services. I came to Punta Cana to relax and enjoy the beach, not necessarily to eat and gain weight, so this vacation at this hotel exceeded my expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Visit Guest Services to get an activities calendar and book your dinner reservations. Walk around when you first arrive and see where everything is and what they have to offer. There's so much to do and you don't want to miss the larger parties which are really fun and had the best food too!

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ratata
Business
new york
Oct 22, 2014

nice hotel

Me and my girlfriend really enjoyed our self in this hotel the staff was always very helpful the food was very good . Im deff planning my next trip to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Be on time for dinner every night

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewlywedsBecks
Business
Indiana
Nov 17, 2014

Honeymoon

We had a fantastic time at the Majestic Colonial~Adult Only Colonial Club. I would highly suggest upgrading to the adult only side. One thing we noticed throughout is that everyone is so friendly to you! We had an awesome honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant Tiano is really good, I had a hard time trying to find foods to eat, I had a very sensitive stomach while we were there.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surferdude007
Business
Chicago
Nov 29, 2014

Good for family vacation

The Majestic Colonial is a good hotel, great value for money. However, they upgraded us to Majestic Elegance which was a let down. The Elegance was an older building with larger but more dated rooms. The staff at the Colonial was much nicer and accommodative than the staff at the Elegance. Do not fall for the trap of getting upgraded to Elegance. The Elegance Club is nicer, but the Colonial was nicer than the Elegance in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary29
Business
Denmark
Dec 6, 2014

Comfortable stay

We stayed here for 3 nights and it is a beautiful hotel. The food in the buffet is a little boring because it's the same thing every day and also not very good quality. The rooms are big, comfortable, but there is no room service because it's an extra charge. The staff is nice, and friendly. The kids zone is outdated in the inside and not very good for babies under 3, however the girls that work there makeup for it because all the kids love them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat in the other places but the buffet.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
minnesota
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

great get away

Great experience, we had a very nice room. I recommend the poolside room. Food was good, only complaint is that it would be nice if the buffet food was changed up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffany T.
Business
Roanoke
Jan 5, 2015

Girls Getaway

Went with a friend for 5 days. Great trip for a girls getaway. Staff was very friendly. Beaches were absolutely beautiful. By the end of the trip I was ready for a change in dining but the food was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tracy likes 2 travel
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Nice all inclusive resort

1. Nice beach and pools 2. Recommend the adults only colonial club 3. Food pretty good 4. Nice friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dennis S.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

First Time

Hotel was Great. Staff was hard to understand. Food was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elmagnou
Business
Minas
Jan 28, 2015

NIce Vacations at the Majestic

We went on vacations with my family (2 kids + my wife and myself). When we arrived they has assigned us a king bed suite for the four of us. When I asked them to change it, it took like 1 hour to re arrange. The hotel is pretty good, the worst thing was that the room was not very clean. The food is OK for being an all inclusive in Punta Cana were in general the food is worst than other all inclusive locations like Cancun or Riviera Maya.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top