$246 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bobbymac
Jacksonville, Florida
Dec 24, 2012

Great resort vase some beach activities and staff

This is the third time at Majestic and colonial is even better than elegance. Angel manager and staff fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Paella on beach lunch beyond the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 31, 2010

Room for Improvement

Compared to other all-inclusive trips I have taken in the past, this by far did not compare to those. The resort had limited selection of food with limited service hours. We had to work around restaurant eating hours so we would be able to grab a bite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim Marie
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 25, 2010

The most AMAZING experience of my life!

I have nothing but LOVE for this resort. I just got back from 6 days and 5 nights there with my sister and I had the TIME OF MY LIFE. From the moment we stepped in to the hotel we were greeted with smiles, a cool towel for your face and a "special" drink from the island. The staff--from the janitors and receptionists and cleaning to the entertainment crew--were the most LOVING welcoming, sweet, polite and HELPFUL people. Every night they have a live band playing music and the entertainment staff pulls people from their seats to dance. They also put on a nightly show-Magic show, Circus, Dating Game, Trivia, and a Michael Jackson tribute my 5 nights. You don't expect how good they are. It was a real acrobatic circus for instance. What else can I say. The food--- YUMMY AND ABUNDANT. There is food for every taste bud--pasta station, pizza station where they make your pizza to your liking, Spanish food--rice,yuca, batata, yame, meats of all kinds and flavorings, cold foods, burgers, SEAFOOD like oysters and shrimp, sushi, french food, chinese food. And at dinner, they have singers and Marachi bands go up to the tables singing to you as you eat. The POOL=WOW. It takes up the entire span of the hotel resort-Majestic Colonial and Elegance together. The water is PERFECT temperature too! The pool ends at the gorgeous BEACH! I would reccomend this resort to ANYONE. I plan on going back next year and CANNOT wait!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

SHOWS EVERY NIGHT...live band at night and during dinner. Sports and games in the pool held daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Petersburg, FL.
Aug 18, 2010

Beautiful Facility

The grounds, pool areas and the beachfront were very nice. The food was excellent. We would like to see the sports bar open later and more activities in there. There was only one pool table. We would also like the pool to be open until sundown. The Michael Jackson show was excellent. We had a great time and would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josh and sarah r
Business
ohio
Aug 13, 2010

Beautiful beaches and resort

Hotel is very nice, staff is very friendly. Waiters are clueless about keeping your drink topped off at the meals. Beach is second to none...beautiful! Food takes some getting used to but remember you are in a third world country and don't drink the water!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jersey girls
Business
new jersey
Aug 11, 2010

great time

had a wonderful time, the staf was super friendly and nice, cant ask for anything better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 6, 2010

Beautiful pool/ocean...Beware the food

I used Dominican Airport Transfers to shuttle from the airport to hotel ($29 R/T each per), and it took about an hour to get there because we dropped other people off at other resorts. The driver only spoke Spanish and all other passengers were Latin American. If you don't speak Spanish, go with Club Caribe shuttles. There were five of us at the resort, and it was a relaxing atmosphere. The ocean is right there - white sand and turquoise, warm water - and the pool is very clean and stretched throughout the resort. About half of the resort visitors were at the pool at any given time, and the other half used the beach chairs and thatch umbrellas. Watch out for occasional rocks/coral on the bottom at shore, as one kid busted his foot and blood was gushing. Another hotel visitor tossed bread around in the shore waves, and tropical fish swarmed around us by the 100. The food was always available, at buffets around the resort or at restaurants from 6:00-10:00pm. I recommend getting reservations to restaurants for your whole stay ASAP. They fill up fast, and then you're stuck eating the same buffet food for afternoon lunch and dinner. The buffets had a much bigger selection than I anticipated, and the food was pretty decent...until you eat the same stuff for 5 days. Negatives #1: One day, my room was never touched by housekeeping. No replacement of soap, shampoo, or bed re-making. My friend and his fiance had the same thing happen, so they searched out a maid and give her $5, telling her to mop the (sandy) floor, clean the room, and do the bed. I guess if you don't tip everyday, they skip over you (?). Negative #2: All five of us threw up during our five days there. Two of the cases were probably due to too much drinking, but three cases were due to eating something that had food-borne bacteria. Unfortunately, I woke up on check out day with (I'll spare the details) food poisoning that lasted from 7am all throughout the day until I finally arrived back at LAX airport at 10pm PST. It's now the next morning, and I'm still feeling weak. Other reviews mentioned the food also, but I thought my constitution made me immune to tainted food. I was wrong. Eat at your own risk. We stayed 6 days and 5 nights. I think 4 days and 3 nights would have been perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have a plan for eating each day for each meal, as it's easy to find yourself over-indulging in the abundance of free food and desserts. Feeling stuffed after every meal and packing on 6 pounds in 5 days wasn't a good plan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N.J
Jul 29, 2010

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

VERY NICE . I READ OTHER REVIEWS BEFORE I WENT.AND THEY HAD BAD THINGS TO SAY.BUT I SAW NOTHING THEY WERE TALKING ABOUT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
playa bavaro, dominican republic
Jul 26, 2010

Dominican Republic 2010

The hotel looked wonderful, then we went to check in. no one spoke english. they gave us a double bed room for a couple. the keys for the room didnt work twice. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GinaMarie
Business
Long Island, NY
Jul 25, 2010

DO NOT STAY!!!!

It was terrible! Do not stay here! -The service is terribe -The rooms aren't clean -The staff doesn't even say hi when you walk by -DO NOT book any of the shore excurshion at the hotel they will rip you off. Book them on the beach much better.(the hotel will tell you not to do this because they are not good, DO NOT LISTEN) -All drinks are bottom shelf for free -If you want anything like a Jack and Coke it is $10 a drink -Room service is not included! -The hotel keys break all the time and it is a hike to get to the front desk -All the resturants are Buffet except the french and the hibachi that you need to make reservations for.We went to make reservations for those resturants the first day we got there and they said they won't be available until the week after so 5 days after we left. TO GET INTO THESE RESTURANTS YOU NEED TO TALK TO A MANAGER AND TELL THEM HOW DISSAPOINTED YOU ARE WITH THEM. THEN THEY WILL GET YOU IN. -We did the speed boogies,they had to change ours 4 times because we broke down and the 5th one went on fire and they told us to stay in it as it was going up in flames.(WE BOOKED THAT THROUGH THE HOTEL) -We booked parasailing and they told us it was cancelled because of the weather was so bad instead they booked us on a party boat ride to swim with the sharks which was alot more but the parasailing was never cancelled to get more money out of us and there was parasailing everywhere.(AGAIN BOOKED THROUGH THE HOTEL STUPID IDEA) -If you loose a hotel key or towel key it will cost you an arm and a leg (I'm glad we didn't) -There isn't alot to do at all, the club is a teen and kids club at night and the shows at night are all for kids nothing for adults.(MAGIC SHOW, BALLOON MAKING ETC)And there is absolutly nothing to do during the day unless you pay to do something.NO ENTERTAINMENT! STAY FAR AWAY!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawthorne, NJ
Jul 24, 2010

Fabulous!!!!

The resort was beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Couldn't have picked a better place in the Dominican!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top