$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago,IL,
Jan 27, 2011

good place to get away for a week

beautiful hotel, beautiful beach , the food was ok, but the service at some places was not good, looked like they did'nt have enough help to take care of the people there,the restaurant by the beach we had to wait a long time before someone came over and order our drinks, the beach area ,there were only 2 people bringing drinks, and there were a lot of people at the beach,the room was ok, they could use a better matress.this place compare to other resorts that weve been was a little disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guelph, Ontario
Jan 15, 2011

fantastic family getaway

We were here for a family wedding, which was a perfect setting. The resort was large enough for a big group - we had 40+ people, but also small enough that it was easy to find our way around. The wedding was beautiful and the staff was always ready to help.The pool was the best yet. Lots of space and spots to 'hang out' for the day. Jenny took great care of all of us for the week and kept us well hydrated! The food was good, and the Japanese restaurant was the best.The only real complaint we had was the beds. They are always clean, but they are very hard and the bedding was not of great quality. In a vacation getaway, it would have been nice to have a 5 star bed too.All in all, it was a wonderful place to get away from the snow. The staff is friendly, the grounds are beautiful, and we had a fabulous time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

There is a weekly local market that comes right to the hotel, so there is no need to go offsite. It is a lot of the same stuff - jewelry, paintings, t-shirts. You can barter and should. It can be a little off-setting if you've never experienced 'local' shopping, but you can get some little souvenirs.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxed and Tanned
Business
Canada
Jan 15, 2011

Great Family Getaway and wedding

We received excellent service from the first moment we entered the resort. All staff was ready and willing to go out of their way for us. All were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was good but not excellent, but there was lots of choice. Pool was the best with lots of room and enough chairs for everyone (unlike most places where you have to fight for chairs). There was some inconsistancy with maid service...from ours to other members of our group. (extra towels and flowers in the room) The rooms were very clean and spacious with everything we needed. Overall and excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you go see the coffee boy in the Supreme Buffet after dinner. He puts on a good personal show and makes wonderful after dinner coffees. We went to see him almost every night!!!

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
punta canta
Jan 14, 2011

wedding holiday trip

attend wedding played golf dune buggie lots of swimming

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Jan 14, 2011

First Time in Punta Cana

Overall, it was a beautiful resort and demonstrated by the fact that I saw 4 weddings during my 7 night stay. The zip-line mountain excursion was fun, but the bus ride will expose extreme poverty in the Dominican Republic. There's also a nice shopping area located outside the resort to get souvenirs at very reasonable prices. Pros: - Beautiful beach property - Large pool served by two bars - Good service (while tips are not necessary, extra tipping was not generally greeted with a smile or thank you) - Nice clean & large room (would recommend swim up upgrade). Separate large shower & jacuzzi; however there is no bathroom door. Swim up rooms also have a 2nd jacuzzi on the patio. - Numerous a la carte restaurant selection - Plenty of water activities in the ocean - Food available 24 hours a day. Very handy especially after too much mamajuana shots Cons: - Limited selection of alcoholic beverage brands. Mini bar only carries Presidente beer - Bed & pillows were too firm - No fresh juices - Some language barrier (many employees spoke very little English)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We booked our trip thorugh [...]. BRING A COPY of the [...]confirmation with you to check-in. The hotel will not let you check-in without the physical print out!

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wesley New jersey
Jan 14, 2011

good

The trip was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fOOD WAS VERY GOOD

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dazzeling
Business
Nashua, NH
Jan 10, 2011

Fantastic young adult and family getaway

Loved it! Wished more of staff spoke English. Some thought they were speaking English but were not. Would have enjoyed "munchy" items in bar areas such as popcorn, nuts, chips,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tulsa
Dec 19, 2010

first time

Very good service and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Dec 14, 2010

The entire experience was AWFUL!!!!!!

From the very start, this resort is AWFUL. The entire place was flooded when we arrived. The heavy rains create a lot of problems because there is no countrywide drainage system. There is no customer service. If you ask at the front desk - they will walk away from you. If you call from your room - they will hang up on you. The staff does not understand the most basic English - so be prepared to speak from Spanish. we had to argue daily for face towels and they tried to limit us to two towels for the room of four per day. The food was AWFUL... and was allowed to sit out for long periods of time in the heat and humidity. Be prepared for a scam around every corner and incredible mark-up on everything. The locals are very aggressive and will grab your luggage and walk away with it at the airport. You have to basically pay to get it back. There is also a "enter the country" fee. Finally - they cut out all the lights on the property from 3:00 - 6:00 am, so if you have an early flight - you must walk a long way in complete darkness. VERY UNSAFE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mels love to travel
Business
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Dec 10, 2010

Wonderful Vacation!

We had a great trip to Punta Cana and enjoyed our stay at the Majestic Colonial. The resort is truly beautiful, the view of the pool at night is absolutely gorgeous. We had our two tweenage kids with us and the rooms were very spacious, they had an extra bed and a bottle of champagne all ready for us when we got there, it was very impressive. My favorite things were 1) the ocean and tons of room to have your spots, you weren't playing the chair game or feeling crowded at all 2) the staff were the best, they made you feel like family...really!! they were really "my friends". 3) the pool, it went on forever and was set up that you could enjoy fun, quiet, kids or both. The food was good, some was better than other but it was easy to find favorites, like the best croissants in the morning! I would return to this resort and I would recommend it to all age groups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the entertainment is very good, worth watching here.

Back to menu Return to top