$246 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMS33
Business
Peachtree City, GA
Jun 18, 2012

Awesome Vacation

The Majestic Colonial was beautiful! The grounds are well kept, the staff is friendly, the food was great. The beds are a little hard, but overall the room is fine. Giving the staff tips makes a difference, but they work hard and deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeandCheryl
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2012

Nice but not 4 star

We had high expectiations for this hotel since it was 4 star and the reviews seemed pretty good. It did not meet our expectations unfortunately. Our goal was to relax which is what we did, but we also like to have some resort fun too since it was all inclusive. During the day, there was nothing to do....the pool is so long, that if there was something to do we didn't know about it. The staff didn't try to get you involved....it would have been nice to know if there was something to get involved with. The staff was friendly though. The drinks were good. The buffet was not so good...and that was our only option for breakfast. We could have had lunch on the beach which we did one day, but otherwise the only option was the buffet. The restaurants were good....but you you have to make a reservation early in the morning otherwise you will have a 9pm reservation all the time OR it will be booked. We have stayed in the caribbean before -- Jamaica, which we would go back to in a heartbeat...but we we will probably not come back to Punta Cana. IT was very very humid too.... The area of the pool that had jets like a hot tub was very nice. We never had trouble getting a seat by the pool eventhough it was was crowded. The entertainment in the evening was really good. I would recommend seeing the shows. There were alot of families with kids....so if you are looking for a quite vacation, this is not the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get in line for the restaurant reservations early -- 9am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punn
Business
Woodlawn, MD, USA
Jun 10, 2012

Vacation

Hotel and island was very nice , restaurants were nice the hostest were very friendly and very nice, I will visit the island again . My husband and I had a wonderful time. Pun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations to eat at the restaurants very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Missouri Joe
Business
Missouri
Jun 8, 2012

Great Hotel

Spent a week at the great hotel first week of June. Everything was superb. I had asked for a received a rooom with 1 King and two twin beds for the teenages. We were in building 3 third floor. This was very quiet and a great room. Food for dinner's were excellent. The Steak and Seafood on the beach was great. Steak resteraunt at the Ellecance was very good, and Japanese private show was just like Shogun. Only had to be there by 7:45 for reservations (but not a big deal for us). Staff is excellent.. From Leo at the front desk to Frank in the Mexican and morning buffet. Have Frank make some Booom Boom shots -- they are great. Rest of the food is OK, but what I would expect for mass produced food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vikusia
Business
new york
May 15, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

I will be back!! Best time. Fantastic family getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed DJ
Business
Chesapeake, VA
May 9, 2012

Needs Work!

The location of the hotel was great and the weather was beautiful. Other than the company we traveled with, that was where the good things ended. The hotel had a fire in March of 2012 and we were never notified by neither this site nor the hotel even after calling the hotel the week before to check on our reservations. We were looking forward to the large pool and swim up bar; however, half the pool, swim up bar, spa and steak restaurant were closed due to the fire. Again, no one told us. We were able to use these amenities at the sister resort next door but competing for dinner reservations was a challenge. Overall, the customer service was horrible at this property with a few exceptions. When we asked about the fire and other options, we were told, "oh well, your travel agent should have told you". No sorry or what can we do, even from management. The property is far inferior to the Majestic Excellence next door and is in major need of an update and/or facelift. Not sure how this was rated 4-stars. I would say no more than a 3-star property, even without the fire. We may return to the island but never this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chicago traveller 45
Business
chicago
May 8, 2012

A very disappointing experience

The people that worked at the hotel were VERY rude, and most of them including the front desk staff did not speak one word of english, therefor you were pretty much on your own if you had a question about anything, even the little things such as where's the bathroom, a garbage can or a restaurant. The panhandling on the beach and everywhere you go is absolutely the most annoying thing ever. The rooms smell HORRIBLE!!! and we had an unwanted guest, a big fat roach!!! So did the couple we were travelling with. the beds were very hard and squeaky every time you moved at all. We are not picky travellers and have been to several islands and this was the worst experience ever. Don't stay here and I woul just skip Punta Cana altogether if I had to do it all over again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J.L.C.
Business
Chicago, IL.
May 8, 2012

Never Again

Arrived and found out that a the spa, pool bar and two of the restaurants had burnt down a week earlier. We were never informed of this nor compensated in any kind of way. Staff was rude and not helpful at all. Never got answers to any of our questions. Rooms smelled horrible, beds were hard, bedside lamp sparked when turned on, lights would randomly turn on and off, alarm clock was always 12:00 and there was a giant cockroach in my towel. Not much to be said about the food. Trying to get aroound the resort was ridiculous, I'm not a picky person at all but this was a horrible horrible expirence. I couldn't wait to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biemster
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Friend's wedding

We attended a wedding and everything ran smooth and successfully. The area is well maintained and the staff are very friendly. We were suppose to stay at Majestic Colonial until the guy at the concierge told us it's our lucky day and bumped us up to Majestic Elegance free of charge and let us still keep the Colonial bracelet. The best of both worlds. Could not be any happier!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

As with any all inclusive resorts, make sure you put in a reservation to all the fancy restaurants you want to dine in the first day you get there. Had to learn it the hard way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PearlLee
Business
New York, New York
Apr 3, 2012

The best vacation in the Caribbean

We have lots of expectations before we arrive for all the great comments we heard about this property and upon arrival we were so pleased, you really find yourself in paradise, warm welcome by the staff, fast check in, the rooms are spotless and super spacious with a jacuzzi inside, even the basic one wich we used almost everyday, there was daily entretaiment but also because the pool was so long you have some more quite areas wich we alternate the beach is one of the best in Punta Cana, we really enjoyed the dinning and live music at the bars there is also a casino and a disco at property that we visit a couple of nights, nice international music. We will definitely go back for our next year anniversary, just percfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

No reservations required in most of the restaurants, great for an all inclusive where you need to always require advance reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top