$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
417 out of 417
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cfree31
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 11, 2013

Overall, very solid.

We were a group of seven, some in the DR for the first time and some were return visitors. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The booze, staff, pool, beach, and activities were all definitely up to snuff, and we had a blast. Special shout out to Nemo the Zumba master. Our only real complaint was the food--it wasn't inedible, and the Habachi restaurant was certainly acceptable, but on a daily basis it was so repetitive and just not of a high quality. I think most of us would return to this resort, but I would hope to come back to better meals. Traveled 3/3-3/7 with friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heder
Business
Pix, az
Mar 11, 2013

Great get away

Had a great experience. Clean rooms. Great beach and perfect pools. Would def go back. Staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H Traveler
Business
Charleston, SC
Feb 18, 2013

Great getaway and good value for money

My wife and I went to this resort for a 5 night stay. We were in the Colonial Club (adults only area of the resort). The rooms were recently updated and we were very happy with the amenities. The choice of water sports and nightly entertainment was excellent. We were also impressed the the food and the friendliness of the staff. The food was not top gourmet restaurant good, but it was tasty and enjoyable given the variety of cuisines. Our only complaint was with the ineffectual guest services. The resort itself runs well, but they could not seem to follow through on our requests in a timely manner. One time we ordered room service and was told it would be 40-45 mins. Our food did not come and we called back after 75 mins and was told our order would be there in 5mins. 25 mins later we called again and were told that they do not have any record of our order. By that time we were 20 mins away from a dinner reservation, so we just picked up a snack from the buffet downstairs. The other occasion was when our in room safe would not open. We called and 9pm and were told that someone would come to fix it. An hour later, no person, so we called again and were told that the safe guy is not there overnight and would come in he morning. We needed a voucher from the safe to go on an 8am tour and so we were promised that if we call at 7:25, they would send the safe guy right over. We called at 7:25 only to be told that the safe guy gets in at 8am usually. It appears they had no solution, so they promised to send someone in 10mins. No one showed and we went to our tour without our voucher - thankfully they took us without the voucher. Despite these inconveniences, we still had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovesDR
Business
Ottawa, ON
Feb 17, 2013

Awesome Hotel !

This hotel deserves a standing ovation!! If you're looking for the perfect grounds, perfect staff, great food, then look no more this hotel has it all. We go to the DR once a year (for the past 8 years) and this is the hotel will be returning to from now on. There are so many little things that add up to one big thing.The little touches are so important. Like the "Welcome Back" banner on the door of your suite is what caught my attention first. They even had suntan lotion for you to use at the towel hut. The staff is the friendliest we've ever experienced. The restaurants were all great. This hotel is the perfect size, not too small and not one of those huge hotels that you have to take a shuttle to the beach. The hotel was sold out when we were there but we only knew this because we had friends that wanted to join us and couldn't get a reservation. We never once felt crowded. From the front lobby to the beach it was about a 5 minute walk and our room was about in the middle. We did the Romantic Dinner on the beach which was amazing and a great thing to do well worth the price. We were in the Club section of the resort, where we were so spoiled. There is a beautiful club house with snacks, a fully stocked fridge with bottled beer and pop and great wine and champagne. The wine in the club house was a better quality than in the restuarants. There were computers for use free of charge and always a staff member to assist with any needs. The beach was amazing. The shows at night were ok, but htere was always something going on around the resort. There is a shopping market close by, less than a ten minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kak1098
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 13, 2013

great resort

Went to this resort for a wedding. Was able to get an upgraded room to a swim out by the pool and it was a fantastic location. It was further from the beach that I wanted, but with a small child, the area nearest the lobby is the quietest. We felt like we had the pool to ourselves most days and while it was fun to hang near the swim up bar, it did get rowdy there in the afternoons and not the best location for small kids. All the food we had was very good - only complaint would be that breakfast and lunch were the same thing but we found many choices for dinner. Best meal was at the Japanese a la carte - be sure to reserve a seat at the teppanayki table! The beach was incredible - so beautiful and it was always easy to find a lounger by either the beach or the pool. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Unless you are going at a peak week, don't pay extra for a room upgrade when you book. Wait until you check in and ask for an upgrade at the desk. Much cheaper. Plus online, they won't accept more than 2 people in the swim up rooms but once there, they will allow you to have a cot for small children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disgruntled Sherry
Business
New York
Feb 7, 2013

Will not be going back

The hotel appearance was okay, but the room, even though we upgraded, was horrible! One sink did not work, the door to the balcony was stuck and eventually broke, the bathroom and shower was directly in the room so each time we showered the entire room filled with steam. All our clothes and bed sheets felt damp and uncomfortable as a result. I travelled with my kids and there was no privacy in the room because the shower area was IN the room. All the closet doors were stuck and would not close properly because the room was so damp. I had to hide behind the closet doors in order to simply change my clothes. The food was decent, but we will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sonya Momma
Business
new york, ny
Jan 31, 2013

Awesome!!!!!!

This was my third time in Punta Cana, Majestic Colonial was wonderful... would definitely go bad again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HanneandMagnus
Business
Norway
Jan 8, 2013

Great resort, but nothing more.

The resort is a five star for sure, with superb beach and pools, nice amenities and rooms. The staff is great, I have to mention in particular this guy called Felipe, who helps you with every need. I recommend booking the "colonial club" package, it's worth the extra money. The excursion to Saona island offered by travel agencies at the hotel are disappointing. It looks like the guides' only interest is to get you drunk while playing horrible music, take as many photos of you as possible and then sell them for blood price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple getaway from WI
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel - VIP service isn't great

Hotel was beautiful, lots to do, lots of choices. Pools were everywhere, nice accommodations at the beach. Rooms were very nice. We paid for VIP service, and the butler service was terrible compared to other resorts in other places in the Carribean. Rarely saw the butler after the first day. Communication between the two Magestic resorts (Colonial and Elegance) we not good as well. Magestic needs to improve their VIP service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

if you want local shopping just walk down the long drive to the main road - shopping there. The shopping excursion they talk you into is not worth it - only one store and prices are about the same as the hotel shops. ATV is worth it - guys had fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neepawa Jay
Business
Manitoba, Canada
Jan 1, 2013

Majestic Vacation at Christmas

The beach and the pool are the high points. Beautiful white sand for miles and miles. Pool is large and spacious. Food is slightly above average but something gave stomach issues. It affected 4 out of 8 of my party. Food had a lot of selection but ordinary. Nothing wows you or is outstanding. Japanese restaurant was our favourite meal. Liked how you didnt need reservations at the pool restaurants for either the steak or seafood restaurants. Lobster was okay but they made a sauase that was cheese based and i prefer butter. A lot of great staff that help make stay good. Rooms are nice but getting old and require updating as getting worn. The beds are worn out completely. My back is still aching. The vendors try to over charge customers with conversions from pescos to dollars. I advise going back and continue bargaining and questioning prices. You can get a fair price. Kids loved the kids club and mini disco. However, adult entertainment was ordinary and plain. Good dancing to music, but if they had live singing, it would improve greatly. Overall a good vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bargain and question prices. Know your dollar conversion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top