$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bmpdepaul
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 27, 2013

The most luxurious vacation ever!!!

I had such a great and magical time at this resort. I didn't know what to choose to do from one minute to the next. I was joyously overwhelmed. The staff is fantastic and this hotel is as clean as a whistle. I loved all the amenities and the entertainment. I wanted to move in permanently. The Christmas dinner and celebrations was fantastic. Overwhelming fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great entertainment nightly at the hotel theatre. Fun for all.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chloe Bear
Business
Louisiana
Dec 22, 2013

Wouldn't go back to this resort

Upon arrival to the Dominican Republic I was in awe by the beauty of the island. My boyfriend and I stayed 6 days and 5 nights. The room was nice BUT I wasn't completely impressed. The jacuzzi located outside your room looks unsanitary and the jacuzzi located by the pool you have to PAY to use. Seriously...by night 4 I was READY TO LEAVE. Our air conditioner stopped working and we literally sweated all night long. The food is absolutely DISGUSTING!! They have different types of "restaurants" and it was the SAME Food at all places. I woke up day 4 with a RASH that covered by stomach and breast, chills, severe stomach upset, and diarrhea. I was so miserable and my boyfriend was affected by the food as well. The entertainment was like watching a bad 80's movie over and over again. The beach is very beautiful. For the money that I spent on the vacation I EXPECT to have good food and a cool place to sleep. The staff was not very friendly except Johnathan. The bottom line....DO YOUR RESEARCH AND FIND A BETTER RESORT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebraska fan 1
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
Dec 16, 2013

Annual Christmas Vacation

My wife and I getaway for a week each year as our Christmas gift to one another. The resort here is very beautiful and the beaches are too. But we found the staff adequate, not outstanding. Other places we've been we have felt like they were there for us and to make our stay the best. Here we felt more like they were simply doing their job. Some of the problem was that MANY of the staff here do not speak any english and we only know a little spanish (what we have learned on other trips).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the Japanese restaurant. It was great.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Emily Schooley
Business
Toronto, ON
Dec 13, 2013

Not Worth The Risk

I got FOOD POISONING while staying here, from red snapper at the French restaurant. My husband was also served raw chicken (thankfully he realized before he ate it.) My food poisoning was so bad that I passed out while puking, chipped my tooth off the toilet - and now the resort's insurance company won't pay for the damages. They tried to get us to sign a waiver relieving them from liability and that we would have to agree not to post anything about this online!! I am looking at $1000 repair to my tooth. This is TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. Think twice before coming here, because it could happen to you too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sergio17
Business
Florida
Dec 4, 2013

Great vacation!

Good location, food so so. One of the most beautiful beaches that I have seen. Perfect vacation for a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bhagat
Business
Atlantic City, NJ
Dec 4, 2013

Great destination for family and/or friends.

Pro: excellent location, very friendly staff and clean rooms. Cons: not many cons but here are few things where they can improve. mini bar in the room not a refregarotor, only one type of local beer included in all inclusive. I wouldn't mind paying for brand name beers if it were available. Hard to find spicy and/or vegetarian food. Eg: They didn't have crushed red pepper for pizza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take your own red crush pepper, any spicy sauce you like

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dawn Baconbits
Business
Fremont, CA
Nov 1, 2013

Amazing!

ust got back from Majestic Colonial, stayed from Oct 25-30, and it was absolutely amazing!!!! Let me start with the food. I was concerned of getting sick since a lot of the reviews say so. We are foodies, we love trying new foods and restaurants--from hole in the wall, to restaurants with Michelin stars. When we got there, the food looked amazing and I forgot about my worries. We just ate whatever our heart desired the entire time...from the salads, to the fruits, to the desserts, the meats, the cheeses, 2 AM room service, hors d'evoures, breakfast etc...I mean, we pretty much tried everything from the different restaurants! AND NOT ONE TIME WE GOT SICK!!! Our favorite was the Dominican Food buffet, sooooooooo good!!!! The Staff. Everyone in the resort always had a smile. Tipping is not required at all, but since they all are working so hard, and always had on the biggest smile, it didn't hurt to tip once in a while. Our butler Ramon was great, he knew when to check up on us and when to leave us alone. All the bar tenders are so amazing, I do not remember any of their names, but they always made sure our drinks were refilled. The grounds. BEAUTIFUL! EXACTLY LIKE IN THE PICTURES! The room. We upgraded to the members only, and our room was beautiful. Very clean. I read a review that the bed was so uncomfortable...I have to disagree, our bed was extremely comfortable, my boyfriend had to check for the name of the bed because he wants to purchase the same exact bed! lol! The fridge was stocked with water, sodas, and beer every single day. The maid cleans the room and gives us fresh towels daily. Another review I read was the smell of sewer in the bedroom, bugs, and damp sheets....I don't know what those people are talking about! Everything in our room was immaculate! I wish I am there right now sipping mimosas in the balcony overlooking the club pool. The beach. AAAAHH! Where to begin? Beautiful! I woke up very early on some of our days there, and I walked to the beach to catch the sunrise....breathtaking! The palapas in the members only side was a bit too close together, but no big deal, the beach was absolutely gorgeous. The non member side of the beach have so much more palapas, and chairs. you can go to the beach at any time, and you won't have a problem getting one. Soft sand, turquoise water, and soft breeze....absolutely perfect! And They always have someone walking around to take drink orders, all you had to do was show up, find a spot, and relax....your drinks will be taken to you. They always have some kind of entertainment every single day and night. Unfortunately, we weren't able to attend to any of them, but a lot of the people we spoke to said they are all very fun! We had such a great time at the Majestic Colonial, we will definitely recommend this resort to friends and family. But we will not recommend too many shots of mamajuana! lol! It will creep up on you! Very delicious though! lol!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margo8mary
Business
New Jersey
Sep 2, 2013

Good Getaway vacation

Hotel was great, our room was very nice. We loved the bar at the pool and Marcos took care of us daily. The restaurant were nice, especially for habachi, the steakhouse and the seafood restaurant. The kids play area was not that clean, also house keeping was delayed and we often asked for our room to be cleaned. Other than that we had a great time with our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Habachi and the French restaurant need reservations, so reserve the morning of, for dinner. Also the French restaurant is adults only no children.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FM Rivas
Business
usa
Aug 27, 2013

Very Good Service

Everything Good, the bartender , housekeeping service is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FifiBklyn
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 24, 2013

Family Wedding Getaway

The food seemed to be very repetitive and low quality.... almost inedible (e.g. burgers tasted like they had breadcrumbs in them). The staff seemed to be overly friendly among themselves, but just OK to the guests. It seemed like every answer began with a No. The room was very clean and nice. The bed was comfortable, the butler was nice. The water went out one day for 1 hour; internet wi-fii was not good on the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top