$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Higuey,, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
415 out of 415
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler Nicole
Couples
Waltham, MA
Apr 9, 2014

Perfect Punta Cana Location

The hotel grounds were beautiful and well-kept and all of the staff were extremely friendly and courteous. One pool spanned the entire length of the property and the other (Adults Only) had a swim up bar. The beach was clean and nice with a constant breeze and the staff would come bring you drinks. Service was the same whether you tipped or not. Food was good, not fantastic but its a Caribbean resort that's fairly standard, try Rodeo Steakhouse! Dinner reservations filled up fast in the morning so I didn't get a chance to try either but I was completely happy with the non-reservation restaurants. I recommend staying at the Colonial Club (the Adults Only section) you have full access to the whole resort but other guests can't access both pools. I loved the Majestic Colonial and would highly recommend going there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend the Catamaran and Snorkeling Excursion, it was $60 per person including transport and free drinks/snacks. Great time!

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NV004
Friends
Edina, MN
Apr 9, 2014

Majestic Colonial - Colonial Club

We just returned from the Majestic Colonial for a long girls weekend. We stayed in the Colonial Club - adults only so very nice and quiet. We had a junior swim-up suite - I would absolutely recommend this if you're going to this hotel. The suite had a patio with our own lounge chairs directly by the pool. We could jump right in the pool and wade to the pool bar or a Bali bed for some shade. Service was good. Food was terrible. Although I've heard it is like that throughout all Punta Cana resorts. It was our first trip to the Dominican Republic. Food really was awful so be prepared. Drinks were extremely limited - only one option for beer, Presidente, and liquor choices weren't plentiful. It was a bit like spring break for adults - lots of pool lounging, lots of cheao alcohol and not so good food. That being said, I would go back here for another girls weekend - excellent pool in the Colonial Club - but only if we had another swim out suite. That was most excellent. The beaches were beautiful but always too windy to sit out there during our stay. I wouldn't go here with my husband. Between the cheap booze and the bad food I think he would have hated it. Another point to consider - you really can't safely leave the resort, especially two girls traveling alone. Everyone recommended against it. But we were very happy staying at the pool with our floats. We are pool rats - lots of lounging around and no excursions of any sort. It was a good vacation for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Not good. Be ready for that.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DennyD...
Family
Bloomington, MN
Apr 6, 2014

Family gathering, 6 adults, 3 children

Very pleasant, clean, could have had a better selection of liquor and beef steaks but overall we would go there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop within the Resort, the outside small shops seem to overcharge

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Expected more bob
Couples
Colorado
Mar 20, 2014

Horrible Food and No Bueno Staff

The location of this resort is awesome, the rooms are nice and very large. Check in took forever, The resort has some of the worst food I have ever eaten! We actually took a taxi to a few local places and had wonderful food. The food at the resort is inedible. The meat is very very bad. I have stayed at all inclusive resorts before, but this has been my worst experience ever! The staff if very friendly with themselves, but are rude to guests. I have never heard "no" so many times before.. We transferred over to the Hard Rock hotel 5 minutes down the beach and it is A NIGHT AND DAY DIFFERENCE. The beach is better kept as well as the food is way better and actually has taste. Save your money, do not come to this resort. There are many options in Punta Cana. This one should be ranked D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nom Nom!

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GasmanWI
Friends
Rice Lake, WI
Mar 16, 2014

Friends Vacation

We had a great time and the weather was phenomenal. The staff is friendly and seemed to be happy. Our butler, Juan Antonio, was outstanding. He really made the vacation. The room was nice, average toiletries. The food was mediocre, some great, some poor but overall I don't have any complaints. Some of us got ill but were unable to pinpoint it to any specific meal or drink. The beach was beautiful, very clean. Our group had no trouble finding chairs or cabanas. Tipping does not seem to change the level of service. Overall we had a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Expected more bob
Couples
Colorado
Mar 15, 2014

This place is a joke!!

I don't even know where to begin with the Majestic Colonial. I have had the pleasure of staying in a five star hotel before and I feel sorry for anyone who thinks that this will be a similar experience. Being in this hotel made me feel like all of the staff considered their guests to be idiots and assume that we will be pleased with the services just because it is on a tropical beach. The food is almost completely inedible and looks and taste similar to dog food. Everything seemed to be buffet style and all of the food had been sitting out for hours in the heat. I came here to enjoy the fresh seafood but found that all the seafood they provided was fishy, over cooked, and not fresh in the slightest. This place is disgusting and I may never be coming back to this country again as a result of my experience. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your time and money and don't ever come here.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kropka
Couples
chicago, il
Mar 6, 2014

loved every minute of that place

It was our 2 nd time in Dominican and this hotel was great we loved everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacki Scott
Couples
Ontario, Canada
Mar 5, 2014

Great couples escape!

We loved our stay and look forward to going back. The only awkward moment was using the washrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Local shops have all of the same items... It's the bartering that is uncomfortable.

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doll2119
Couples
New york
Mar 3, 2014

Great trip

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The room was beautiful, the pool and beach and were beautiful, entertainment was great and the food was excellent. Our one gripe was that we constantly saw people from the Majestic Elegance in our section and when we tried to venture into theirs we were kicked out! Made us feel like "second class". If you can get over that then I would recommend the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Japanese restaurant was great!

Review of Majestic Colonial Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heavydriver
Couples
cvg
Mar 2, 2014

disappointing

Rather disappointed in our stay. We where traveling with 3 other couples and requested rooms in close proximity months out. We all stayed in the colonial club adults only. When we showed up our room wasn't ready until an hour past check in time and our party was spread through out. The butler service was a joke. We went a day with out wash cloths even after requesting a couple of times. The only thing that showed up that we requested where extra pillows anything else was followed through with. Other couples had to take full size beds instead of the requested kings until they came available the next day, then move. Seems they have more full size beds than kings in the adults only section.?? The food at the restaurants was very disappointing. The only one that stood out was the French restaurant, but plan on spending 2 hrs there. The wait staff acted like they didn't want to be there, very slow, some times rude, even after tipping at all the sit down dining. We had to leave the restaurant and go to the lobby bar to get our own drinks through out our stay. Their version of premium drinks has something to be desired, absolute and stolyes was the best vodka, and Jack Daniels is the only whiskey, no bourbon. Besides the 4 cans of beer in your room the only other option is draft president. Which doesn't taste as nearly as good as the bottle or cans. The 2 wines that were available red/white are terrible. Of course you can buy other bottles at an outrageous mark up. When you are able to find a bar that stocks the "premium drinks" you had to make sure that they used it. The wait staff at the buffets were pleasant and more attentive, the food was good there. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. This isn't our first visit to this area so we have a base to give an honest comparison to, and for the price it cost and the rating it supposedly has left us very disappointed and we won't be back. Some of our group had stayed at this resort before and agreed on the decline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top