$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Arena Gorda, Macao, section Baigua. Higuey, La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TN mama
Business
Nashville, TN
Dec 28, 2013

Second visit to Bahia Principe

This was our second visit to Bahia Principe. The first time we stayed at in the Ambar section. This time we stayed in the Esmeralda section. We were much happier with the Ambar section. The food in the Esmeralda section was average at best. However, we did eat at the Japanese place in the Esmeralda section one night and it was the best food we had the whole trip. If you like sushi we highly recommend it. But after eating the buffet in the Esmeralda section we walked to the Ambar to eat their buffet. It was much better. We had 2 rooms. Our room was perfect. They honored our emailed request and put us in the building nearest the beach and when we arrived the room was decorated for my birthday per my husband's request. However, the room our adult children stayed in had a musty/moldy smell to it. Customer service at the Esmeralda was not good. Many people were commenting about the poor customer service. They really don't seem to care about helping with requests. Getting a dinner reservation is a pain in the butt. They will tell you restaurants are full but then you walk by at any given time and places are half full. Our guess is they are trying to keep their cost down by forcing as many people as possible to eat the buffet. We only did one excursion. We took our son to the Macao surf school for a half day surf lesson. It was fantastic. They picked us up at the hotel and brought us back. Ask for Rafael, the owner, he is a wonderful man and his English is very good. In short, if you're going to Bahia Principe and you don't have children with you, stay in the Ambar section. You'll love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're interested in surfing contact the Macao Surf school and ask for Rafael. The hotel will book it for you, but you will need to provide the contact information. So google it before you go and take the contact info with you. I emailed Rafael in advance and he responded promptly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SAUNDERS
Business
Louisiana, USA
Dec 26, 2013

Wedding Anniversary

Beautiful. Had problem with room and The front desk clerk (EDWIN) went out of his way to correct the problem. We think He went beyond the call of duty to make our stay a joyful one. The grounds buildings was kept Immaculate. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and is thinking about making the suggestion of having our family and Freind vacation there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerusha
Business
PA
Nov 21, 2013

Amazing place for vacation

Just got back From Grand Bahia Principe Esmeralda. I would highly recommend this resort. Beautiful, cozy environment, delicious food, friendly staff, white sandy beach. Last year stayed at Amber section and were absolutely satisfied as well. definitely will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theamarie
Business
Randolph ,MA
Aug 5, 2013

Perfect family vacation

My family and I stayed at the Bahia Principe Esmeralda. Our party consisted of a 20yr old, a 16 yr old, a 7 year old and us parents. We had a great time the hotel was absoulety beautiful and clean. The food was fantastic. Entertainment was great for the entire family. We can't wait to go back. Really worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigshofar
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 10, 2013

Good Family Vacation

I stayed at the Esmeralda part of the hotel and overall all enjoyed my stay. The rooms are gorgeous and staff is pretty friendly. This part of the hotel is closer to the beach which was nice. Otherwise i would have to take a train to get to the beach. I'm 23 years old, so I'm a little biased but this Resort is mostly for families. They try to organize contests at the pool and at night, but majority of people are there with their girlfriends, spouses and kids. So not the best place to meet people my age. The food is descent but definitely not 5 stars. When we first got there, we tried to book reservations for their exclusive restaurants but they told us everything was already booked a whole week ahead. A five start hotel should not have that. Overall, if you are a family and are looking to get a deal on your stay I would recommend it. You get good value for the cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are 20-30 year old hoping to find some action at the adult pool ... forget about it. Everyone there is in their 40's & 50's. You're better off going to the pool in the middle by the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kf2000
Business
virginia
Jun 9, 2013

aniversary getaway

the hotel is located on very beatiful beach.The water is also safe and swimable which is a plus.The services is very good.The food is bland but fresh and well display.Plenty beach chairs.The drink is can be strong or weak depend on your references.Front desk emplyees always smiling,very helpfull,but their english can be improved a lot more.Waited staffs should speak and understand english a little better.Overall we liked and enjoyed our stay verymuch.Like to go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring sunblock,mosquitos sprays,afterbites sticks,cortisone and benedrill ichy cream,antihistamin medecine.You will be desparately need them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob's main squeeze
Business
Kansas City, KS
Jun 5, 2013

Celebrating 20 years together in Dominican Republic!

This is truly a beautiful resort. We went there for our 20th wedding anniversary and was well worth it. The resort was clean and most of the staff were very professional. The food was decent in the buffets as well. We did enjoy the availability of the a'la carte restaurants but our favorite was the Japanese Steakhouse-delicious! The beach was wonderful! So much to do! The only negative was the shuttle service. We stayed in the Esmerelda but if you wanted to check out the other portions of the resort, you can get a shuttle. However, there was no schedule for the shuttle and we found ourselves walking a lot-no fun in that heat! I feel if they are going to provide this service then do it!! Oh-we also went on a Zip-Line tour-so fun !!! And we did the Caribbean Festival snorkeling tour with the stingrays and nurse sharks-that was just ok. Way too crowded on the ship!! This is by far one of the best all-inclusive resorts we have been to in the Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to customer service usually in the lobby of the hotel and book as many as the ala' carte restaurants you can. It is fun to try different things!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickmane
Business
Denver, CO, USA
May 24, 2013

Excellent getaway

The hotel and grounds are excellent. Enteratinment was good and the food was also good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Focker
Business
Oxford Michigan
May 12, 2013

Anniversary getaway

It was a wonderful experience. The hotel was immaculate, the grounds were well manicured. The food was above our expectations and the drinks were top shelf. The three pools were easy to get to and had enough chaise lounges for everyone. We plan on returning next year with our family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservation to the different restaurants prior to arrival

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gene Pal
Business
Fairfield CT.
May 12, 2013

Perfect Vacation

First of all I was leery of going to the DR. What I say now is that it was a wonderful experience. Just got back today 5-12-13. WE stayed at the Bahia Principe Esmeralda. It is an incredible hotel. The rooms, staff, beach, pool, food, location and entertainment are all superb. Our room was a Jr. Suite near the pool. It was enormous. The bath had a glass shower, seperate commode, dual sinks and a raised jacuzzi tub. It had a king bed , balcony and sitting area. TV which had several US network stations. Bottom line incredible place .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top