$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Arena Gorda, Macao, section Baigua. Higuey, La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gma Sally
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 15, 2014

Winter break

For an all inclusive this was very good. The staff was friendly, the pools nice, the beach great and the food and drinks were plentiful. No shopping except at the resort boutiques. The ocean was too rough to use the kayaks while we were there. Our only complaint was there wasn't much to do. The activities desk only offered the standard swim with dolphins, dune buggies, zip line and catamaran trips. We saw people on segways, but were never offered that. We spoke with people at other resorts who played golf, swam with hammer head sharks, went deep sea fishing, took helicopter rides, rode horses. hiked into the jungle and toured some museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book activities before you go.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boring tourist
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 8, 2014

Average at best

This resort is average at best. the room they called suites, it's actually just a hotel room to me. the location is right on the beach which is the best feature of the hotel. the buffet is better than average. the specialty restaurant Takana is the worst. There are lots of European families and lots of kids here. there are not much to do at night unless you are taking a tram to go all the way to the front of the resort for the theater. we never did. the worst part of the resort where sales people hanging around the lobby, always trying to sell you something. very annoying. we found the bath towels are rough (hard water?) and during our stay, we did NOT have any towels after they cleaned the room! Also,the hotel staff gave our room to someone else on our second night- so when they opened our door at 1:00 in the AM, it scared the heck out of us.So, needless to say - we are definitely NOT coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phoebe Super Mom
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 5, 2014

Getaway from the snow!

My friend and I came here for a five day getaway from all the snow back home. The day we arrived we were told that the resort was overbooked and as a result we were given a room at the Ambar property for one night and a $100 spending credit. The rooms at Ambar were dark and dingy looking. The next day we were transferred to the Esmeralda property. What a difference! The rooms were beautiful, bright and very conveniently located. Definitely ask for the 90 series building as this is the building closest to the beach. The entire Bahia Principe resort is immaculately maintained. Service, for the most part, is good. There is a system of trams that connects all the properties within the resort. Make sure to get all information about activities and locations as soon as you arrive. The signage could be improved as the properties are spread out and getting around is confusing (especially at night). Definitely try to book the A la Carte restaurants as far in advance as possible, preferably as soon as you arrive. We tried to get in to the Don Pablo Gourmet restaurant with no luck. The next best one is Le Gourmet, however, none of the restaurants are super outstanding. Service in the restaurants is OK but not great. Many of the restaurants have a buffet appetizer/salad bar and a buffet dessert bar. Not a true sit down restaurant experience. The beaches are beautiful, although a bit crowded. Need to go early to beach to reserve chaise lounges. Activities are easy to book. Overall, we enjoyed our trip and would return to the same property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Book A la Carte restaurants as far in advance as possible to get desired times.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mommy wants to relax
Business
Puerto Rico
Feb 23, 2014

Expected More

This was our second time at the same location. This year we found the quality of the food not as tasty and less options at the buffet. We were also disappointed at the service provided in the room. Our AC would shut off every night for 2 hours and it would get very warm. They never came to fix it, only give us excuses. The location was great and the service we got at the pool was great. Next time around we will be trying another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TN mama
Business
Nashville, TN
Dec 28, 2013

Second visit to Bahia Principe

This was our second visit to Bahia Principe. The first time we stayed at in the Ambar section. This time we stayed in the Esmeralda section. We were much happier with the Ambar section. The food in the Esmeralda section was average at best. However, we did eat at the Japanese place in the Esmeralda section one night and it was the best food we had the whole trip. If you like sushi we highly recommend it. But after eating the buffet in the Esmeralda section we walked to the Ambar to eat their buffet. It was much better. We had 2 rooms. Our room was perfect. They honored our emailed request and put us in the building nearest the beach and when we arrived the room was decorated for my birthday per my husband's request. However, the room our adult children stayed in had a musty/moldy smell to it. Customer service at the Esmeralda was not good. Many people were commenting about the poor customer service. They really don't seem to care about helping with requests. Getting a dinner reservation is a pain in the butt. They will tell you restaurants are full but then you walk by at any given time and places are half full. Our guess is they are trying to keep their cost down by forcing as many people as possible to eat the buffet. We only did one excursion. We took our son to the Macao surf school for a half day surf lesson. It was fantastic. They picked us up at the hotel and brought us back. Ask for Rafael, the owner, he is a wonderful man and his English is very good. In short, if you're going to Bahia Principe and you don't have children with you, stay in the Ambar section. You'll love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're interested in surfing contact the Macao Surf school and ask for Rafael. The hotel will book it for you, but you will need to provide the contact information. So google it before you go and take the contact info with you. I emailed Rafael in advance and he responded promptly.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SAUNDERS
Business
Louisiana, USA
Dec 26, 2013

Wedding Anniversary

Beautiful. Had problem with room and The front desk clerk (EDWIN) went out of his way to correct the problem. We think He went beyond the call of duty to make our stay a joyful one. The grounds buildings was kept Immaculate. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and is thinking about making the suggestion of having our family and Freind vacation there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theamarie
Business
Randolph ,MA
Aug 5, 2013

Perfect family vacation

My family and I stayed at the Bahia Principe Esmeralda. Our party consisted of a 20yr old, a 16 yr old, a 7 year old and us parents. We had a great time the hotel was absoulety beautiful and clean. The food was fantastic. Entertainment was great for the entire family. We can't wait to go back. Really worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigshofar
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 10, 2013

Good Family Vacation

I stayed at the Esmeralda part of the hotel and overall all enjoyed my stay. The rooms are gorgeous and staff is pretty friendly. This part of the hotel is closer to the beach which was nice. Otherwise i would have to take a train to get to the beach. I'm 23 years old, so I'm a little biased but this Resort is mostly for families. They try to organize contests at the pool and at night, but majority of people are there with their girlfriends, spouses and kids. So not the best place to meet people my age. The food is descent but definitely not 5 stars. When we first got there, we tried to book reservations for their exclusive restaurants but they told us everything was already booked a whole week ahead. A five start hotel should not have that. Overall, if you are a family and are looking to get a deal on your stay I would recommend it. You get good value for the cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are 20-30 year old hoping to find some action at the adult pool ... forget about it. Everyone there is in their 40's & 50's. You're better off going to the pool in the middle by the beach.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kf2000
Business
virginia
Jun 9, 2013

aniversary getaway

the hotel is located on very beatiful beach.The water is also safe and swimable which is a plus.The services is very good.The food is bland but fresh and well display.Plenty beach chairs.The drink is can be strong or weak depend on your references.Front desk emplyees always smiling,very helpfull,but their english can be improved a lot more.Waited staffs should speak and understand english a little better.Overall we liked and enjoyed our stay verymuch.Like to go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring sunblock,mosquitos sprays,afterbites sticks,cortisone and benedrill ichy cream,antihistamin medecine.You will be desparately need them.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob's main squeeze
Business
Kansas City, KS
Jun 5, 2013

Celebrating 20 years together in Dominican Republic!

This is truly a beautiful resort. We went there for our 20th wedding anniversary and was well worth it. The resort was clean and most of the staff were very professional. The food was decent in the buffets as well. We did enjoy the availability of the a'la carte restaurants but our favorite was the Japanese Steakhouse-delicious! The beach was wonderful! So much to do! The only negative was the shuttle service. We stayed in the Esmerelda but if you wanted to check out the other portions of the resort, you can get a shuttle. However, there was no schedule for the shuttle and we found ourselves walking a lot-no fun in that heat! I feel if they are going to provide this service then do it!! Oh-we also went on a Zip-Line tour-so fun !!! And we did the Caribbean Festival snorkeling tour with the stingrays and nurse sharks-that was just ok. Way too crowded on the ship!! This is by far one of the best all-inclusive resorts we have been to in the Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to customer service usually in the lobby of the hotel and book as many as the ala' carte restaurants you can. It is fun to try different things!

Back to menu Return to top