$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
296 reviews
good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant... See full review

  • lifeisgood123
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great Vacation

We have enjoyed vacationing at Ambar for 22 days in the past 6 months. The location, beach and... See full review

  • JT Lipman
  • Nov 18, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (296)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 296
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Aug 12, 2010

worst Birthday ever

the worst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suze2012
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Dec 13, 2012

Good from Far, far from good.

I don't know if my expectations for a 4 star resort is high or this place just really is average. I don't if I am the correct demo but I just felt that this was an average hotel nothing special. I typically stay in Westin's or W. I didn't feel that the staff was too helpful to make us happy. We checked in and after 24 complained that we didn't like our room as it was completely dark since it faced the jungle and got no day light. It was hard to get any type of restaurants and when we did get a reservation the place was half empty. We didnt even know till our 4th day in that there is butler service to make sure you are happy. Butler service we still never saw it. The food was not good, once again I dont know if my standard is high and this just didn't meet it but I felt that it as poor quality maybe because the resort if 5 in one and there are so many people that is just poor. I would almost preferred to eat 100% dominican because then it would have been amazing! But every thing was just a weird take on something. We did love Muphi at the lobby bar he was definitely dedicated to making quality drinks and making us laugh!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Nice hotel, Terrible service

Check-in at this hotel required us to pay an additional $140 daily for 4th person in our stay although the 1st three were charged only $80.00. Staff said it was due to internet booking on the first three and that the hotel was required to charge the "rack rate" on the 4th who made the trip last minute. Staff seemed unconcerned and it took nearly an hour and I had to speak with two managers to settle the issue. Charges were not reduced on the 4th in our party but the accommodations were upgraded. Staff rarely smiled and overall were unpleasant. The general manager seemed unconcerned when informed of my plan to post comments on this website. Food was overall good, service poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pa.
Apr 14, 2010

pa. travelor

area too small for resort size

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shansie Pansie
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 21, 2014

Super adult only vaca

The staff were so nice and the pool was beautiful. Each night had a special experience, I will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Explorer2012
Business
philly
Nov 19, 2012

Nice but not Luxurious

This was a girls 5 day get away. Our arrival to the hotel starts with ground transportation taking us to the. Bahia Punta Cana a sister hotel of the Ambar then a tram picked us up and transported us the Ambar. The rooms are very nice and adequate space for one or two people. The staff try to be very helpful but the lack of English speaking personnel began to work my very last nerve. We had to call for wash cloth everyday we were there. Although we had towels and bath accessories they never left wash cloths until we called the front desk for them. I was told to make rese rvation for restaurants early so I decided to make. them from home before my trip. I call guest services. and was told. that I could make reservation 7days in advance. I call and made them by phone. Once there the y told me I was not on the list and would not be seated. After requesting the manager and threatening never to return they found room for us. After all the fuss about the place(Don Pablo) the food was just ok. Speaking of food. Hated it. All of it. Everything was bland. All the food was the same. No shows here you have to go to the punta cana or bavario hotels for everything. Okay resort but not the Luxury I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If your like good food find a restaurant in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Apr 24, 2010

Yearly trip

Great time away with friends!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Dont miss the shows!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VACATIONDIVA
Business
NEW JERSEY
Jun 12, 2009

GREAT STAY

VERY CONSIDERATE, CONSCIOUS STAFF, READILY NOTICED I WAS TRAVELING WITH 2 SENIORS OVER 80 YEARS. WE WERE PUT ON THE FIRST LEVEL OF VILLA 60 CLOSE TO THE POOL AND BEACH. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE MANY PILLOWS OFFERED. THE MAJOR COMPLAINT WAS THE BLAND FOOD IN SOME RESTAURANTS BUT THATS CULTURAL. DID NOT PARTICULARLY CARE FOR THE DON PABLO SEAFOOD BUT EL PESCADOR WAS GREAT. NEED TO CENTRALIZE TOUR OPERATORS. BAR CLOSES TOO EARLY FOR AN ADULT SETTING ALTHOUGH YOU CAN TRAVEL TO BAVARA BY TRAM OR WALK BUT TOO MANY YOUNGER PEOPLE. LOBBY BAR HOURS COULD BE EXTENDED TO 1AM. THE AMBAR SECTION COULD OFFER MORE NIGHT LIFE FOR THE OVER 40 CROWD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

RESERVATIONS CAN BE EASILY CHANGED AT GUEST SERVICES WITH A 1-2 DAY NOTICE. EL PESCADOR IS GREAT FOR SEAFOOD AND OFFERS BUFFET STYLE SEAFOOD FOLLOWED BY THE ENTREE. FILLET MIGNON AT DON PABLO WAS GREAT WHEREAS THE FAMOUS LOBSTER WAS DRY AND TASTELESS. OVERALL THE BETTER RESTAURANTS WHERE IN BAVARO RATHER THAN AMBAR

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 1, 2010

The Inside Scoop

Upon arrival I was immediately pleased by the overall appearance of the grounds/lobby and the immediate hospitality of the staff(ie, frozen cocktail handed to you while checking in, and a plate of fruit delivered to your room). The grounds were well manicured and beautiful to say the least, and the room was very clean and tastefully decorated with canopy beds, art, beautiful maghogony wood furnishing, nice seating area, beautiful bathroom with rose petals on the sink and tub, and a spectacular view! For the money I must admit the resort was well worth it! Now, on a not so nice note, the hotel staff could use some lessons on quality customer service. I was very dissapointed with the way we were treated in some of the resort's shops. The employees didn't seem to like their jobs or us and IGNORED us while standing at the register waiting to pay for merchandise. Another problem experienced was the inability to get change for Dominican pesos...go figure. It seemed as if they prefered US currency. If I return, I will not convert my USD to Dominican currency because it's a big hassle. Each store vendor had his/her own exchange rate. The value of a peso varied from $.32 to $.42 to a US dollar, depending on which store you were in. Also, make sure you arrange your fine dining itinerary for the duration of your trip as soon as you check-in or you will not get a reservation the day of...I think that's by design. However, the a la carte dining hall will be open for you to visit the buffet in the event you are unable to get a reservation for a fine dining restaurant. Another disadvantage is the staffs inability to speak fluent english, so brush up on your spanish or you will become a little frustrated while the staff becomes EXTREMELY annoyed. Hint: They don't do a good job of masking their emotions. Additionally, I wish there were more activities to do on site. There was music in the lobby at night, but nothing else, and the pool closed very early. So on rainy days we defaulted to massages because there was nothing else to do; no games in the lobby or salsa dancing classes, etc. FYI: A massage on the beach is a little cheaper than the ones in the spa, but just as wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Whatever you do don't leave the resort with resort employees posed as complimentary tour guides. This is a scam. They will take you across town for souvenirs then require you to pay them just as much as a taxi would have charged. We never saw the market or other shopping arenas, only a souvenir shop. We only elected to take them up on their generous offer to show us around the city after being unable to find a tour that didn't involve snorkeling or water. We were interested in a grounds tour of the city that also involved shopping. Additionally, we could barely take any pictures or saw many historic spots because the driver sped past everything without slowing down or narrating. It was a very expensive lesson to learn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Priv
Business
Alexandria, VA
Sep 25, 2014

Dream Vacation

We were treated like royalty by the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was amazing the variety of food was insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top