$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
292 reviews
Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults,... See full review

  • Rossko
  • Jul 28, 2014
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (292)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 292
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frusterated traveler
Business
denver Colorado
Jun 16, 2014

AWFUL experience

Okay so i will just start out by saying..... we booked the luxury ambar hotel because they advertised the location as an adults only resort. But what they dont mention is the hotel is for people 60+. The pool bar closes at 6 and the pool at 7. The lobby is VERY mellow. Upon arrival we were impressed with the initial treatment. We were greeted with drinks and the staff was kind. The second day we had 200$ stollen from our room. We went down to guest services. They had the security guard come up to our room. they asked permission to do an investigation, ofcourse we insisted. But instead of looking into what maid stole our money, they investigated US! They went through our entire room, only to tell us " their investigation was inconclusive" ( because they didnt find the money in our room) Guest services was horrendous. They were extremely rude and non-apologetic. Eventually they offered a massage with a value of 120$. The massage was okay,I was suppose to receive an hour massage plus exfoliation, they cut my massage short by 15 min. They advertise the resort as "all-inclusive". Yes the drinks and food are included. But activities they offer are not. There are "shows" that are free, however the "show" consists of a host and a few dancers on the stage and then they ask for crowd participation to have the guests do activities for everyone else to watch. The other shows they offer, are $35. On the site, they say you get an hour a day of the water sports/ activities. However if you dont have experience with these sports you have to pay $45 for a lesson. For example, my boyfriend wanted to try and wind surf. They would not let him unless he first took the lesson which cost money, even though we had other family memebers who could of taught him, he was denied. Room service has less than 10 items on the menu. One of our family members called for room service on 3 different nights, they only actually received their meals 1 time. We asked for them to bring us bottled water ( because you cant drink the tap) and were told "it is not apart of their services" and they never brought it. I could go on and on about how awful the resort is--- yes it was very beautiful. But not worth the money. As a side note, there is a HUGE language barrier ( I do speak a little spanish) but most of the staff didnt know alot of english, which may be the reason for alot of mishaps. I will say the other resorts that we went to seemed alot more lively and the staff was kind. Emanuel was one of the only staff members that was extremley helpful and kind, he was AWESOME. They say "free WIFI" although you do receive an hour free a day, you have to be in the lobby to get the service, and it is hotter in the lobby than outside All and all, i would say save your money, dont book here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KT Beach bum
Business
United States
Jun 2, 2013

Just Average

Our 7 day trip at the Gran Bahia Principe was average but we were able to relax and enjoy the scenery of the beautiful coastline. The beaches in Punta Cana were pristine; however, the resort itself was lacking. Food options, despite having many places to go, were lacking and we found ourselves gravitating to the same 3-4 food items during the trip. The Don Pablo, Takara (Japanese) and Bella Italian restaurants were very good; Portofino, Mediterranean and the buffets were all average or worse. We found that the resort did not really conform to schedule as when certain places (particularly, snack bars) said they were open the staff advised they weren't. This also applied to schedules on the activity list as they may just decide not to have a given activity. With a few rare exceptions, the staff seemed disinterested and not overly willing to help. The resort also allows people (I'm unsure if they're employees of the resort or not) to constantly bother tourists while relaxing on the beach and even in the resort pool. This got particularly annoying as our trip went on. The grounds of the resort are well kept and taken care of while the rooms, while clean, were clearly beginning to show their age with a funky smell, mirrors that were deteriorating and shower doors that didn't really function. The resort is expansive as it's almost a mile from the front entrance to the beach which makes for a good jogging course. The resort also offers shuttles but we did not use them. Although you are intermingled with other Gran Bahia resorts, the staff made it clear we were only to visit the Ambar sections for dining and the beach. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal but we enjoyed exploring the resort and thought it would would make sense that we would be able to grab a snack while on the other side of the resort. The reservation system is interesting as I never encountered a restaurant at more than 50% occupancy yet reservations were required for non-buffets. Reservations are also required for sports activities and, even if the facility is empty, you will be turned away if you don't have a reservation to use sporting equipment. VIP, the tour operator, has some issues. They had our reservation wrong for the excursion we went on (Buggies - was ok for the price) and they forgot to pick us up at our scheduled time to go back to the airport. Thankfully, another van (and guests willing to share their transfer) was willing to take us to the airport! This saved us the cab fare! In summary, if you get a really good deal and enjoy beautiful beaches with the occasional annoyance: book it. Otherwise, there might be better options out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R0cketman
Business
New York
Mar 17, 2014

Family de-icing trip

Hotel staff was great. Beach was fantastic. You have to make dinner reservations upon arrival or face long lines later and very few choices on where you want to dine. Dr. Fish trip on boat spa was the best and well worth it. Pool bar a must and overall worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boat Spa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NeenaB
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Great resort

I had a very relaxing vacation with my sister. The resort is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I particularly appreciated the overall cleanliness....points for providing hand sanitizer everywhere, especially at the buffets (they should do that everywhere!!) The only thing that was just average was the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
agolos
Business
Lynn, MA, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Good Vacation

We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights. The food in the buffet and the restaurants was excellent. We also enjoyed the selection of the alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. The only thing we did not like was the absence of any hooks in the bathroom and lighting of the room was not well. We had a hard time to read at night because it was too dark in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trini121
Business
teaneck, nj
Jul 5, 2010

Very nice accomodations.

This was a rest and relaxation trip. The resort was impeccably kept. Staff was attrentive for the most part. Great beach, many chairs with umbrellas, many dining choices, plenty activities. Great choice when traveling with a senior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angelbuffs
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 23, 2010

Great resort for the price!

The resort was beautifully landscaped and made you feel as if you were in fact on an island of your own. This resort is great because you have so many options/things to do because of the number of resorts (5-6) all in one. The Ambar is a great choice for adults who want to get away from the families with crying children or from teenagers getting into trouble. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The pool and pool bar employees are the best! Guest services employees left a lot to be desired. Room service took forever and was actually only correct once out of the seven times I ordered it. The a La Carte restaurants were mediocre while the buffets were a better choice (most of the time because of the hassle we had to go thru to make reservations). The entertainment that we got to see was great. However, since our dinner reservations tended to be later, we missed most of the shows. I would recommend if choosing to dine at the a la carte restaurants, to make your reservations early and for early times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service took forever and was actually only correct once out of the seven times I ordered it. The a La Carte restaurants were mediocre while the buffets were a better choice (most of the time because of the hassle we had to go thru to make reservations). Also, in terms of dining and entertainment, be sure to make reservations early enough so that you will be able to make the evening entertainment shows if desired.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Classic 50s
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 16, 2010

Great Experience

We celebrated my parents 50th wedding anniversary (total of 7 in the family) by taking them to the Ambar. I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews, but please read on as I will relate our experience.1. Check-in: smooth. We arrived at 4PM and were greeted with a cold guava drink; and immediate attention by [...]. Not once did we have to go to the front desk for information or check-in. We sat at the lobby bar and [...] came to us with all our room keys, hotel package information and restaurant reservation confirmations. I brought a bag full of decorations for my parent's room and when I told him I wanted to go to my parent's room first to decorate, he immediately offered to decorate the room himself. My family and I enjoyed a drink in the lobby and he came back 15 minutes later, announced our rooms were ready. My parent's room was decorated beautifully!2. Rooms: very clean. In fact the entire resort is impeccably clean and the staff is constantly cleaning the common areas, and tending to the landscaping. We reserved 3 rooms for our party; my room was a bit musty, however, none of the other rooms were musty. DR is a very humid, hot country. The hotel has a system to conserve energy, i.e., as you leave your room, you take out a card which turns off electricity (air and lights). After the first day, our room was not musty (we never took the card out).3. Food: some of the reviews we read said that the food was not great or it was OK considering it was all inclusive. We found the food to be very good. We didn't like everything, but we tried many restaurants and we always found something to enjoy. El Meson was our favorite. Funny, no one in our family liked Don Pablo.4. Information/organization: upon check-in, everyone is given a packet with their room keys, a map of the resort AND information regarding activities, restaurants, show times, etc. People who did not know what to do or where to go probably didn't open their packet.5. Beach/Pool: two very different things. The beach is big and beautiful. It is also accessible to all. I didn't see much exclusivity in the Ambar beach. however, the water was cool, clear and beautiful (we know a little something about beaches living in Miami). The Ambar pool is large, there are always chairs available (at any time of the day - even in late morning and early afternoon). The water is warm, but there are plenty of cold drinks available at the swim up bar. The pool is cleaned daily and we never experienced anything slimy.6. Staff: all staff spoke Spanish, and enough English and French in order to make the guests feel welcomed and accommodated. The pool attendants spoke Creole, some staff in the restaurants spoke German. Reviewers who complained about staff not speaking their language might have been expecting a full length conversation in Klingon. EVERY employee said hello with a smile as you passed them (ground crew, cleaning staff, restaurant staff, managers, and drivers). Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly! Please know, that DR is a tropical island and the people run on island time, so you won't get your "mama juana" in 8 seconds (by the way, you have to try this drink-if for no other reason than to say you did-make sure it is ice cold). Leave your watch at home...remember, you ARE on vacation.7. Other vacationers: mostly Canadians, French, Brits, Russians and Spaniards. We met a few Americans (mostly mid-westerners). Lots of honeymooners and anniversary types. Very nice, classy people.We spent 1 week at the Principe Ambar and had a great experience. Hope the negative reviews don't dissuade you from your vacation here. It's better than just "good for the money"; it's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Read your guest package given at the beginning of your stay. All activities and schedules are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Dec 24, 2009

Good for adult

Everything was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msbeasley74
Business
chicago, il
Jun 13, 2014

I would go back

The hotel staff were really nice and made you feel welcome. The grounds is beautiful and the food taste good. My main problem was the buffet was the exact same food everyday for breakfast and lunch if the hotel would switch up the food it would be a huge and major improvement. I had a problem with my bathroom ceiling leaking water called service 3 times to fix and they never did. I stayed at the same hotel chain in Jamaica and the Punta Cana location was a step up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go go to Don Pablo and stay away from the BBQ buffet restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top