$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
402 reviews
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (402)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 402
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 5, 2011

June Trip

Hotel (actually we should call it more of a small town) emphasizes quantity over quality. The food is almost inedible. The rooms are fine, but so far off from the beach (even our room, which was the closest to the beach of any others at the resort) that it does not even feel like you are staying at an ocean-front resort. If you feel like being surrounded by 7000 other drunken people instead of enjoying a relaxing Caribbean vacation then this place is for you...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Catch your own fish and cook them over a fire on the beach so you don't have to choke down the food here...

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 19, 2009

Worst Service at Bahia Principe Ambar

I had never experienced this kind of service anywhere else. Any request to the front desk was answered with a "NO". [...] This was our 4th trip to Dominican and this Hotel was by far the worst experience ever. We tried to overlook some of these issue, but finally had to speak with the Hotel Manager about our concerns. If you have other choices - please pick another Hotel if you can !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
All-inclusive expert
Myrtle Beach,SC
May 19, 2010

The Worst...!

The pool bar closed every day at 5:00 pm sharp. Had no entertainment around pool til 4:00 pm and ended at 5:00 pm sharp. Had no servers around the pool. The hotel made your dinner reservations for you and it was imposable to change or add restaurants. Guest service was terrible and nobody in the shops,bars or restaurants smiled at all. The whole all adult place shut down at 11:00 pm and there was no place to get a drink or food without going to your room and getting room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There is none.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 5, 2011

June Trip

Hotel (actually we should call it more of a small town) emphasizes quantity over quality. The food is almost inedible. The rooms are fine, but so far off from the beach (even our room, which was the closest to the beach of any others at the resort) that it does not even feel like you are staying at an ocean-front resort. If you feel like being surrounded by 7000 other drunken people instead of enjoying a relaxing Caribbean vacation then this place is for you...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Catch your own fish and cook them over a fire on the beach so you don't have to choke down the food here...

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 19, 2009

Worst Service at Bahia Principe Ambar

I had never experienced this kind of service anywhere else. Any request to the front desk was answered with a "NO". [...] This was our 4th trip to Dominican and this Hotel was by far the worst experience ever. We tried to overlook some of these issue, but finally had to speak with the Hotel Manager about our concerns. If you have other choices - please pick another Hotel if you can !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
All-inclusive expert
Myrtle Beach,SC
May 19, 2010

The Worst...!

The pool bar closed every day at 5:00 pm sharp. Had no entertainment around pool til 4:00 pm and ended at 5:00 pm sharp. Had no servers around the pool. The hotel made your dinner reservations for you and it was imposable to change or add restaurants. Guest service was terrible and nobody in the shops,bars or restaurants smiled at all. The whole all adult place shut down at 11:00 pm and there was no place to get a drink or food without going to your room and getting room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There is none.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AE413
Arlington, VA
Jan 11, 2013

Not 5 Star Service, Food, or Amenities

Check in was a mess, they require a printed out voucher, which I have never needed to check in to any 4 or 5 star resort, as if we would fly for 6 hours to the Caribbean and not have reservations. We even had our passports for ID and that was not sufficient. The rooms are dated and the bedding is not comfortable. Our airconditioner broke in the middle of the night every night of our first 3 nights and they sent someone to fix it, which only worked after waiting over an hour the first 2 nights. The 3rd night it was not fixable, so we layed there hot and awake from 3AM on. The customer service when addressing our issues was terrible and we were offered no compensation, were told we had to go through the booking company. The food was AWFUL, completely awful. You will have a better dinner at a fast food place. There is not free wi-fi in the rooms, you have to pay for it. The beach, however, is gorgeous. I would recomend staying elsewhere to visit it. The resort is also just too big. Everyone we ran into was lost, even on their 3rd or 4th day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
only wanted to go home
Philly, PA
Mar 10, 2013

not good

was not adult only it is a complex of several hotel if you have early flight in you do not get into rm till 3 could get dinner reservations times of dinners did not fit 24/7 all entertainment was at main lobby(again not adult only) staff was friendly but would give you wrong drinks due to not speaking ENG.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nikemikey
Mount Pleasant Pennsylvania
Jul 5, 2011

Not what i planned for...

Went for a honeymoon trip on the adults section and wasn't too pleased when we arrived. First off they dropped us off in a neutral lobby that we didnt know about, we were lost because no one gave us any direction. After a few min passed, someone took our bags and said get on this little bus. We arrived at OUR lobby which was pretty nice. Once we made it to our room they had 2 double beds...which they then had to change rooms for us. The new rooms card reader didnt work %100 of the time so when we shut the door we had to slam it to make it latch. ALL of the restaurants required reservations...which EVERYTHING was BOOKED.. and the only 2 we were able to reserve was the BBQ and the Santa Fe. The BBQ turned out to be a crazy *darn* buffet near the beach at which TONS of little kids were swarming around and people straight off the beach were walking up...The Santa Fe was Mexican and we get our seats to find out that yet again ANOTHER buffet..So we help ourselves and sit back down and someone woman approches us and asked if we recieved Menu's. Then when we said NO she gave us this horrible look like we were idiots...So I tried to order some chicken thing from the menu and God forbid if she could understand me or speak any English, she just kept saying "No finished" and i just kept waving her to leave. When the food came out some busboy dropped it off and placed shrimp infront of me, a burito infront of my wife and some chicken covered in brown stuff inbewteen us. We also were told that the Don Pablo was the best place, so when we tried to see about reservation they told us that was the only place that requred men to wear long pants...which of course i didnt bring any because its over 100 degrees there every day. (Don Pablo is a French restaurant there not mexican like back home) The next day they had the "Flea Market" vendors arrive so we kindly asked the concierge what area it was located.. He then got on his cell phone and we waited about 10 min for him to bring up someone on a golf cart to take us personally to his "friend" vendor. Which the vendor wouldnt give us any prices until the end. We picked out a few items that were just colored rocks, cheap gifts to take home for friends and family, and he pulled us aside in one of the bus shuttle drop off areas to total the prices. Shows us a calculator and it says 220...i said whats that mean and he said $220! I told him he was out of his mind, he handed me the calculator and told me to give him a fair price....i said maybe $22 and he whipped out a lighter and started to burn the jewlery to prove that it was real...i told him i didnt care, i wasnt paying that much money for rocks! My wife an I were very uncomfortable and got up and walked away Last thing was they gave me some welcome paper to see someone in guest services the day after we arrived. I asked the front desk and they said meet him in our lobby and he can help us plan out activities. We waited for 20 min that morning and he never showed...turns out we had to meet that guy in his office in the Neutral lobby. We met with him and didnt want to use him to plan anything, and also told us to report to him 24 hours before checkout...which we missed because we were enjoying our vacation. Find out later that he HAD to call to make sure a shuttle would be there to pick us up on our day to checkout. So my advice would be NOT to go through CoCo tours for a ride. I would just skip this Gran Bahia all together unless you want to spend a great deal of money for a vacation you can take your kids on because thats all you see if you leave your small section of the adults only area. PS: bring your own shampoo and conditioner because they give you terrible watered down stuff and you have to buy conditioner in the gift shop. Oh and the room service we ordered once never showed up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
only wanted to go home
Philly, PA
Feb 19, 2014

not happy

was not a true adult only paid extra for adult only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top