$342 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
298 reviews
Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The... See full review

  • minieod
  • Dec 10, 2014
good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant... See full review

  • lifeisgood123
  • Nov 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.
El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (298)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dubyaj409
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2012

Great value for the money

Very large facility, 1000+ rooms. Lots to do close at hand. Food quality has gone down some. Great rooms, very clean. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
city traveller
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 9, 2012

Great couples retreat

Excellent hotel with beautiful beach. Great location, decent food. Highly recommended for adult couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet food selection and quality is much better than any food in hotel restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
perfectstyles
Business
Frisco, TX
Jul 16, 2012

Beautiful getaway!

We were there for 4 days. It was a wonderful experience! This is our second stay in the DR and found that most of the resorts run the same so we kind of already had an advantage. For those who have never been here is the most important advice : as SOON as you step foot onto the resort make your dinner reservations for the ENTIRE week even if you don't plan on making them OTHERWISE you will be forced to eat the buffet and it's not the greatest food in the world. Other than that everything was picture perfect! Drink alot and have a great time. We will be going back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations as soon as you check in for the entire week or you won't be able to eat in any of the resteraunts :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kroshka
Business
pennsylvania
Jul 26, 2012

classy elegance

We loved the hotel and resort in general. Staying at Ambar side was the best of both worlds: it's more private with better beach area, no kids, and you have access to all restaurants and spots in the whole complex if you wish to be more active. Food was great everywhere, buffets and a la carte restaurants. French restaurant Don Pablo was outstanding!!! My only wish is for pools to stay open later than 6 pm and for the lobby bar to serve drinks past 11 pm. Overall my hubby and I loved the resort and would go back in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go zip lining if you can. It's absolutely amazing, stunning views of the mountains with a doze of adrenalin rush!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kroshka
Business
pennsylvania
Jul 29, 2012

classy elegance

Our first all- inclusive experience and we absolutely loved it. Food was great everywhere. There are plenty of options where to eat. French restaurant Don Pablo was outstanding!!! Ambar is the only way to go - private side with better beach and acces to everything in the whole complex. Perfect for couples and it's easy to make friends if you wish. One downside - pools and bars close way to early (6 & 11 pm respectivly). Beware, ocean has lots of seaweed by the shore, but if you sweam deeper it gets clear. Beach is open 24 hours. Perfect for moon walks and watching shooting stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you can, go zip lining! Breathtaking views of the mountains with adrenalin rush! So worth it!!! We also loved an excursion to island Saona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PDP84
Business
New Jersey
Aug 9, 2012

Husband's birthday

We had a great time. This resort would be perfect if it wasn't because we had a problem when we had to checkout. We will be going back because it is a great value, the room is clean, the food is good and the entertainment was great specially by the pool. I would give them a perfect score, but we did encountered 3 extremely rude employees. If it wasn't for that... this place would be perfect! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you check out the night before. We went to check out at 7:00am an hour before we had to leave and it took over an 1 hour to finally checkout.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Punta Cana
Business
Nutley, NJ
Aug 26, 2012

Great Vacation

My wife and I stayed at the Ambar section and this was our second time there. Overall, we really enjoyed it. It's a gorgeous resort and the staff always keeps up with it. The food is excellent - the Palmyra buffet and the restaurants offer a great selection. The only restaurant we didn't like was the Olivo. We tried it our first time there, so we didn't try this time around. One thing we we're a bit disappointed with this time was the staff. Our first time there, everybody was genuinely friendly. However, this time around it seemed that about half of the staff we encountered were somewhat unfriendly or sometimes when they were friendly it came off as fake. I realize that they are working, but come on! The rooms are very nice and while it's great to sleep on a King size for a change, the beds are extremely uncomfortable. Other than that, everything else was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation 4
Business
St Louis
Aug 20, 2012

Something different

We wanted to try something other than Mexico. Location was great, no problem getting a cabana on the beach. We did get hit with some bad weather, need to check hurricane season for travel. Spanish is their native language, but we were able to communicate our needs. Only down side is they only serve EL Presidente beer, food is what you expect at a resort. Staff was friendly and the room was kept very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaos56
Business
Columbus Ohio
Oct 17, 2012

good vacation

great grounds and beach location. friendly staff that tried to help whenever asked. The casino was awful, dirty, not friendly, charged for drinks, did not have much variety. Take a taxi to a real casino, like the hard rock. Laid back part of the resort no kids not much to do but everything to do is close enough to get to, best of both words. Food was average plenty of it but nothing special. Bars where excellent and fast. I would definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

skip the resort casino go to hard rock casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shumes
Business
Park City, Utah
Nov 8, 2012

Loved it, we would definitely go again

The resort itself was beautiful and well maintained. Getting around was extremely easy. Golf carts and staff were always available and ready to get you where you needed to go. The adult only division of Ambar was well worth the money. Children were not permitted in any portion of the property as promised and we loved that the most to be honest. It was nice to be able to relax at either the beach or pool and not have noise. Needless to say it was a peaceful experience. At three o'clock everyday of course we would get ourselves to the pool for Bingo Bongo and the afternoon's entertainment. The two gentlemen that run the music and games are great. Funny and friendly, we really enjoyed ourselves. Enerolisa, our server at pool side was very attentive and after the first day we didn't even have to tell her anything. She knew when to bring new drinks and of course what we drank. Loved her. We golfed at Punta Blanca. Great course, it's deceivingly challenging. The caddies pick you up and drop you off after your round, and are very helpful I might add. You get water and soda included with the cost of the round. Also there's a sandwich at the turn and lunch after you're done. We booked a three day package and since we were staying at the Principe Ambar they discounted from $190 to $145 a round. Not bad with everything you get. They cleaned and stored our clubs for us. Greeted us with cold wet towels and even cleaned our golf shoes after every round. We could get used to that treatment. This was our first time ever going to an all inclusive, adult only resort and we would most definitely go again. My favorite restaurant was Mikado ( I think it was was the name, hibachi grill style ). It was within the Principe properties but at a different hotel. We also really enjoyed our meals at Don Pablo. If I had to give a negative it would be that the food could be more flavorful. The fruit was fresh and delicious, but I found the entrees to be a bit bland. A little more seasoning would have been nice. The buffet breakfast and lunch out by the pool and beach was enjoyable. There were many options. The gazpacho soup was really delicious. On the down side, some of the meat was a bit chewy and the pasta was overcooked but otherwise I really can't say to much on the negative. I also might add that I kind of knew what to expect of the food at the buffet, because I had read a bunch of reviews prior to booking our trip. We loved it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top