$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
324 out of 324
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelPro198
Business
Tequesta, Florida
Jun 27, 2011

Gran Bahia Ambar - Two Thumbs Down

We arrived in the near 100 degree heat & humidity of the day to discover that the air conditioning system throughout the entire resort complex was broken and would not be repaired for atleast 24 hours! While our suite was beautifully appointed including a ceiling fan to allow for atleast some air movement, we couldn't even leave the door to our patio open for added ventilation as the screen was torn away and it would have been impossible to keep the insects out! There were no other rooms to move us to, nor were there any replacement screens available. Not such a great first impression! We were unable to sleep in the heat that first night and at sunrise, ended up going down by the pool and beach in-search of some relief from the oppressive weather, only to find that most of the lounge chairs had already been reserved by fellow guests...the "towel game" was in full-force inspite of their posted policy to the contrary. It wasn't until near sunset on our second day that the air conditioning was restored to the guest rooms. It had yet to be fully restored to the public areas and restaurants when we departed some 7 days later! The food throughout the resort was mediocre in all the buffets and their a la carte restaurants with the exception of their Don Pablo and El Olivo restaurants, where both service and food quality were above-average! There is literally nothing to do at the Ambar after sunset. If you want to see the nightly show in the outdoor theater or go to the casino or disco you need to either take the resort tram system or walk 10-12 minutes to the Bavaro property. The beachfront that this resort complex has is among the worst we've ever seen or experienced in our previous 5 trips to other resorts in the Punta Cana area! It is narrow to begin with and when you crowd it with hundreds and hundreds of chaise lounges and guests, it is almost impassable! Now add mounds and mounds of seaweed that continuously washes ashore and the conditions are deplorable inspite of resort's best-efforts to maintain the area. The grounds are indeed beautiful and the building architecture picturesque. The staff is constantly cleaning the public areas. Reminiscent of being on a cruise, management is quite cautious about norovirus prevention, and at the entrance to every restaurant, hand-sanitizer is dispensed by the hostess to every guest who enters. We applaude this practice and suggest that other resorts follow-suit! Would we ever return to this resort complex? Simply put, no. While we enjoyed being away and on vacation, there are far-superior resort destinations in the region. And at far-less cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a straw market on the beach just an easy 4 kilometer walk south of the resort where every imaginable item can be bargained for. If you wait to buy your souveniers at the duty-free shops at the airport, you will pay twice the price if not more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 14, 2010

Average stay

The staff didn't speak any english, which was bad when it came to specific details such as catching a cab, exchanging money, getting more towels. The cleaning staff would remove towels in the room but then forget to put new ones in. We had to keep calling the office to bring new towels but that was a language barrier as well. Also they forgot to refill our mini fridge. I also didn't like how the pool closed at 6pm. Bring bug spray because we partied at night and ended up with so many mosquito bites. Also the front desk lobby workers had an attitude whenever you asked them a question as if we should know everythign about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop along the beach. We got the best prices on pictures and I was able to get my pictures wrapped for my flight home for $3 in the lobby of the hotel. The prices at the hotel market were way to high. If you talk them down though and walk away and come back you can get the mamajuana (drink of the domincan republic) for $5 per bottle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois USA
Feb 17, 2010

First time to Punta Cana

beautiful beach, but muust get towel on chase by 6 am or not enough seating, no beach waitors to bring drinks very nice room, housekeeping was excellent, grounds were very well kept.buffet was ok but fine dining was terrible (compared to couples and sandals resorts)staff friendly but did not speak much english, there were a lot of rude Europeons and Canadians

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

golf at nearby (Nick Price design)course was not worth the $145

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Juergenh
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 22, 2010

Punta Cana 2/16/2010- 2/21/2010

Great pool & great rooms but while they list the property as all-inclusive it's definitely not. If you want something added to your minibar they charge extra. If you want wine or champagne or beer delivered to your room it's extra. Also it's impossible to get reservations at the restaurants that you want to go to and they give you reservations of their choice before you arrive. Trying to change them to restaurants of my choice landed me w/ reservations past 9pm which we were too tired to use. Ended up eating at the buffet every night which was good but not great for being considered a high-end resort. I've stayed at the Excellence and while it's slightly more expensive everything's included and the dinners were fabulous there. Beaches & pool are very nice but liquor they use is cheap and everything is a premium which isn't my idea of a 4 or 5-star all-inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 3, 2009

Ambar Adults Only

Overall the hotel was very nice and clean, except for the bugs and ants in our room and many other rooms that people told us about that we spoke with. The rooms seem to be showing there use, with very little maintenance being done, our glass shower door almost was falling off and the sliding door handle did fall off when we open it the first time, things the housekeepers had to see and either didn't report them or if they did, the problems were ignored. The pool was very nice, but could use some cleaning on the walls at water level, bad signs of dirt and whatever else that showed they hadn't clean it in a while. Also there were problems with getting reservations at the resturants, and if you did when you got there, the resturant was less than off or even less than that full. It looked like they were short on help. Everyone we talked to agreed. The buffet was very good for all meals. The Villa buildings were very noisey and housekeepers and other employees were so loud from 7:30 AM, on. Lastly, after spending 11 days there, when we checked out not a sole asked how our stay was or if we enjoyed our vacation or even have a safe trip home, it was like all well, we got your money, now get going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

See above comments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pa.
Apr 14, 2010

pa. travelor

area too small for resort size

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emp9
Business
ill
Jul 9, 2014

Dont go to punta cana at least here if american

Starting our trip D.R airport coming in is a joke , they took husband pass port didn't tell why whole airport cleared our before giving it back no reason given, Lost our luggage , no one helped at getting it back I had to do it & follow up Not to many spoke English to use on check in wasn't friendly no idea what to do Room was very nice house keeping was great . Beach was very nice, I did get a feeling esp after talking to others that americans are not liked there They have 2 japennies rest was told wrong location over & over by several staff, the staff at that rest. said it wasn't there but no help to locate where it was at because they didnt' speek English The pool closed early, resturants are not open all the time, Did have good room service I would not go back here. Leaving was much better driver picked up & did help at air port it was much smoother leaving

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Living Life Like It's Golden
Business
Montgomery, AL
Aug 9, 2011

Great Relaxing Getaway

The hotel itself was great. Greeted with friendly faces and a welcome cocktail on arrival. Very prompt in getting us checked in and to our room with no problem. The bellboys were terrific, front desk staff very helpful, and guest service was as helpful as could be with reservations for dinner. Don't expect to eat at one of the a la carte restaurants your first night there because they don't book after 3 pm and check in isn't officially until 3 anyway. Restaurants fill up fast, not that it matters because food was the biggest complaint! It was AWEFUL! Breakfast in the buffet was ok, but the only a la carte that was decent was don pablo so try to get in there if possible. The snack bar food is well below standards and we actually got sick (bad stomach aches and DIARRHEA) the second day there even though we were very particular in what we ate. So happy to have found the gift shop with snacks we could actually eat (pringles, candy, and powerade)! The pool was nice and so was the beach. Neither were overly crowded and we were able to find seats and umbrellas pretty much every time we wanted one. Beach was nice. Coral washed up to shore quite a bit, but the water was very clean and clear other than that! Overall very nice experience. If you want to do an excursion do SNUBA (Scuba diving with tank on top of the water). It rained when we were in the middle of the ocean about to do it, but it seemed like it was gonna be fun! Camillo at the tour operations desk was very helpful! Had an issue with internet in the lobby one day but they were prompt in getting it fixed. Drinks were good, kinda too sweet at times. The ride from the airport was kind of long because we had to drop off a lot of people along the way. We passed practically every resort on our way so maybe pick one a little closer because it was about an hour to from the airport. Room very nice and spacious and clean. Brought new towels twice a day. Refilled minibar and fridge daily without us asking. Very relaxing overall. We won't be returning to the DR simply because the food seemed to be the main complaint from others staying at some of the other nicer resorts as well. We visited Jamaica last year and would pick that location over DR any day because food was good and they had the same nice service and pretty beaches! If food isn't that big of a deal this hotel is GREAT for relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book reservations for a la carte restaurants as soon as you get checked in because they fill up fast. Pick Don Pablo especially! Don't skip breakfast because the other meals are absolutely TERRIBLE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dfelipe
Business
New Jersey
Sep 8, 2014

Bahía Príncipe Ámbar

I felt it lacked a lot of service from several people. The bartenders at the pool were always on top of things. Outside of that, service from "express services" was bad. We had to call 6 times in two days just for pillows. The food was not top notch as you'd expect from a hotel of their caliber. I was disappointed to find that there wasn't enough variety and through the time I was there food became very monotonous. I would advise highly against the so called "Privilege Club" people and their sales pitch. We wasted half a day listening to it. First 100 to buy into it get a "real special prize", only every day it's the first 100 to buy into it. DON'T DO IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the bibijagua market. If you ask the taxi drivers they'll know. Fish right off the ocean at the restaurant there. Nothing fancy but very authentic. Best food I had all trip long. Also, the shopping there is good and much cheaper than what you'll find in the resorts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trippme
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Nov 14, 2014

Good but now GREAT

I expected a but more being a 4/5 star resort. It was nice and we enjoyed our time there but it wasn't all that I expected. The hotel staff didn't seem to care that we were there. They were pleasant/polite but ignored us. The resort staff on the other hand were very nice and helpful. The all inclusive was convenient but the food got boring because it was so similar from day to day. There is no doubt that they try hard on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make your reservations for the restaurants immediately upon arriving so you can get times you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top