$342 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
301 reviews
Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The... See full review

  • minieod
  • Dec 10, 2014
good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant... See full review

  • lifeisgood123
  • Nov 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.
El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KT Beach bum
Business
United States
Jun 2, 2013

Just Average

Our 7 day trip at the Gran Bahia Principe was average but we were able to relax and enjoy the scenery of the beautiful coastline. The beaches in Punta Cana were pristine; however, the resort itself was lacking. Food options, despite having many places to go, were lacking and we found ourselves gravitating to the same 3-4 food items during the trip. The Don Pablo, Takara (Japanese) and Bella Italian restaurants were very good; Portofino, Mediterranean and the buffets were all average or worse. We found that the resort did not really conform to schedule as when certain places (particularly, snack bars) said they were open the staff advised they weren't. This also applied to schedules on the activity list as they may just decide not to have a given activity. With a few rare exceptions, the staff seemed disinterested and not overly willing to help. The resort also allows people (I'm unsure if they're employees of the resort or not) to constantly bother tourists while relaxing on the beach and even in the resort pool. This got particularly annoying as our trip went on. The grounds of the resort are well kept and taken care of while the rooms, while clean, were clearly beginning to show their age with a funky smell, mirrors that were deteriorating and shower doors that didn't really function. The resort is expansive as it's almost a mile from the front entrance to the beach which makes for a good jogging course. The resort also offers shuttles but we did not use them. Although you are intermingled with other Gran Bahia resorts, the staff made it clear we were only to visit the Ambar sections for dining and the beach. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal but we enjoyed exploring the resort and thought it would would make sense that we would be able to grab a snack while on the other side of the resort. The reservation system is interesting as I never encountered a restaurant at more than 50% occupancy yet reservations were required for non-buffets. Reservations are also required for sports activities and, even if the facility is empty, you will be turned away if you don't have a reservation to use sporting equipment. VIP, the tour operator, has some issues. They had our reservation wrong for the excursion we went on (Buggies - was ok for the price) and they forgot to pick us up at our scheduled time to go back to the airport. Thankfully, another van (and guests willing to share their transfer) was willing to take us to the airport! This saved us the cab fare! In summary, if you get a really good deal and enjoy beautiful beaches with the occasional annoyance: book it. Otherwise, there might be better options out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrBois
Business
Washington DC
Jul 28, 2013

It looked Great!!

The people are great, the rooms are nice, the pools are nice and the beach is great. The food was the only down side and to explain it the best way I can would be that there was plenty plenty plenty of food but none of it was prepared well. To me most of it was like they tried to cook for the first time and the dishes were not converted well. I know this is hard to understand. So, I will list off some examples. Also, please understand that when I list some items I went back and tried them again to make sure someone did not make a mistake when preparing the item. The cheesecake was made with the wrong kind of cheese and some birthday cake batter was used. most of their fish was grilled and then put in a butter sauce until the fish sort of broke/ fell apart and tasted very rubbery. A salad is completely foreign to them because they had plenty of self serving items on the buffet to add like beans, carrots, etc. But for the 9 days I was there could ever find lettuce or anything green and leafy. I think you get the drift... Lastly their primo night for the buffet that you have to make a reservation for was supposed to be lobster night which it was. But I have never had a lobster taste like this, and by this I am saying it was over cooked and tasted starchy almost like it was imitation but you knew it wasn't because they took the lobster and cut it in halves. So when you got your portion you got the left or right of the lobster head and all. Besides the food it was a great place to go and visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat the typical Dominican Food! Great! Hands down if I could get it in the US, I would eat it all the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Korie
Business
Connecticut
Nov 17, 2013

Not bad- a little too pricey though

We stayed here from 11/10-11/15/2013 staff is really friendly however the resort is huge. You have to take the shuttle everywhere and everyone is looking for tips. We paid a lot of money for this trip and to tip the shuttle driver every time we rode it was just ridiculous. Not to mention it says adults only however, within 5 feet of the resort is access to the other resort with children. Not a bad place to stay, just do not feel it is worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcmeowmac
Business
Kentucky
Dec 24, 2013

beautiful location, average comfort

The location is wonderful. Beach views from the Rooms would have been better. The grounds are fabulous. Shopping is a joke. It's very obvious that tourists are taken advantage of. What is a $2 bracelet on eBay, everyone will try and sell for $300...No joke. Sickening. You can get them to $5. I say don't shop. The food is average. I expected better. The presentation of it is wonderful. Looks better than it is. The room are pretty. The beds are not good at all. Firm and painful to the point of soreness. The pillows bite too...badly. I over paid for what was a great massage. It being a poverished country, $95 was way too much. $50 would be fair. A beach massage would have been nice. Drinks a plenty but inconsistent concoctions. They are absolutely watering down alcohol. There is only one beer available, and had we have known that, we'd of gone elsewhere. It's a clean place. Maids all over. Refreshing. I appreciated that. Make nachos from the cafe. Queso with salsa and chili and jalapenos combined. They will save you...lol. The beach is comfortable and wonderful. Great little shack bar. All you need. That's it! I'd go back to the island but would aim for a higher reviewed place. All in all...not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the hotel is way too high. Shopping out is possible to bargain with. $200-300 will be the joke off an asking price. $5 is what you should pay. Good luck with that. Avoid shopping unless you have money to burn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple's 4 day getaway
Business
Ambar Principe
Dec 8, 2009

Ambar all-inclusive

A lot of Europeans this time of year which had I know there wasn't going to be much English being spoken we would've gone after the holidays. The drinks were watered down and the food was just ok. We were not impressed with the dinners at the so called fine dining restaurants. We loved teh beach though. The pool was nice too. The beach doesn't get any better than where we were!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

SKip the dinner reservation places...they weren't very good. Instead, go to the buffet at the adjoining resort. That buffet is a lot better than the ones at the Ambar. with the exception of breakfast. The Ambar breakfast buffet is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jul 28, 2009

Very Nice But...........

My wife and I decided to visit Punta Cana because we had heard that it was so great. We arrived in Punta Cana and had no problem locating our tranporatation to the resort. We knew that our resort was one of three resorts and but we didn't know that the other two were right there with the Adult Only resort. The other two were family resorts and that is where we were dropped off. When my wife tried to explain that we were at the wrong resort they didn't understand what we were talking about and we had to good to the check in counter and speak with the staff there. They looked up our reservations and then we were taken around to the correct resort. We arrived at the adult only resort around 2:00 p.m but our room was not ready until about 3:30 p.m. The accommodations were great, the service staff nice but loud. Very early, conversation were carried on in spanish without regarda to those of use who were asleep. Gentleman beware, you have to wear long pants in all resturants for dinner. They relax that rule some during breakfast and lunch, but will turn you away at the door for dinner. The food was good and plentiful so no worrys there. The beach was beautiful, but because the adult area was so close to the family area, the children were everywhere. I have nothing against children, but if I want to vacation with them, I would not go to an ADULT ONLY resort. When had to go the very far end of the resort property to get some peace. My one piece of advice is, brush up on your Spanish, hardly none of the staff spoke english and didn't have patience to deal with those of us who didn't speak their language. Almost everything done in Spanish and we had a hard time understanding. Now for the transportation back to the airport, we spent half of the 1st day looking for the representative for Coco Tours and make arrangement for our return trip. We asked about five people before we finally found out where we were suppose to go and then the rep was late. When we finally got with him, he just took our name and told us to come back the day before we were to leave to get a time for pickup. On that day, he had a family with a complaint and we waited for over an hour to get the time for pickup. We have traveled to different countries and stayed at a lot of different All-Inclusive (Adult Only) resorts. We personally will not return to this resort. But please, find out for yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Men must wear long pants, make sure you pack a few pair.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Nice hotel, Terrible service

Check-in at this hotel required us to pay an additional $140 daily for 4th person in our stay although the 1st three were charged only $80.00. Staff said it was due to internet booking on the first three and that the hotel was required to charge the "rack rate" on the 4th who made the trip last minute. Staff seemed unconcerned and it took nearly an hour and I had to speak with two managers to settle the issue. Charges were not reduced on the 4th in our party but the accommodations were upgraded. Staff rarely smiled and overall were unpleasant. The general manager seemed unconcerned when informed of my plan to post comments on this website. Food was overall good, service poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelPro198
Business
Tequesta, Florida
Jun 27, 2011

Gran Bahia Ambar - Two Thumbs Down

We arrived in the near 100 degree heat & humidity of the day to discover that the air conditioning system throughout the entire resort complex was broken and would not be repaired for atleast 24 hours! While our suite was beautifully appointed including a ceiling fan to allow for atleast some air movement, we couldn't even leave the door to our patio open for added ventilation as the screen was torn away and it would have been impossible to keep the insects out! There were no other rooms to move us to, nor were there any replacement screens available. Not such a great first impression! We were unable to sleep in the heat that first night and at sunrise, ended up going down by the pool and beach in-search of some relief from the oppressive weather, only to find that most of the lounge chairs had already been reserved by fellow guests...the "towel game" was in full-force inspite of their posted policy to the contrary. It wasn't until near sunset on our second day that the air conditioning was restored to the guest rooms. It had yet to be fully restored to the public areas and restaurants when we departed some 7 days later! The food throughout the resort was mediocre in all the buffets and their a la carte restaurants with the exception of their Don Pablo and El Olivo restaurants, where both service and food quality were above-average! There is literally nothing to do at the Ambar after sunset. If you want to see the nightly show in the outdoor theater or go to the casino or disco you need to either take the resort tram system or walk 10-12 minutes to the Bavaro property. The beachfront that this resort complex has is among the worst we've ever seen or experienced in our previous 5 trips to other resorts in the Punta Cana area! It is narrow to begin with and when you crowd it with hundreds and hundreds of chaise lounges and guests, it is almost impassable! Now add mounds and mounds of seaweed that continuously washes ashore and the conditions are deplorable inspite of resort's best-efforts to maintain the area. The grounds are indeed beautiful and the building architecture picturesque. The staff is constantly cleaning the public areas. Reminiscent of being on a cruise, management is quite cautious about norovirus prevention, and at the entrance to every restaurant, hand-sanitizer is dispensed by the hostess to every guest who enters. We applaude this practice and suggest that other resorts follow-suit! Would we ever return to this resort complex? Simply put, no. While we enjoyed being away and on vacation, there are far-superior resort destinations in the region. And at far-less cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a straw market on the beach just an easy 4 kilometer walk south of the resort where every imaginable item can be bargained for. If you wait to buy your souveniers at the duty-free shops at the airport, you will pay twice the price if not more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 14, 2010

Average stay

The staff didn't speak any english, which was bad when it came to specific details such as catching a cab, exchanging money, getting more towels. The cleaning staff would remove towels in the room but then forget to put new ones in. We had to keep calling the office to bring new towels but that was a language barrier as well. Also they forgot to refill our mini fridge. I also didn't like how the pool closed at 6pm. Bring bug spray because we partied at night and ended up with so many mosquito bites. Also the front desk lobby workers had an attitude whenever you asked them a question as if we should know everythign about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop along the beach. We got the best prices on pictures and I was able to get my pictures wrapped for my flight home for $3 in the lobby of the hotel. The prices at the hotel market were way to high. If you talk them down though and walk away and come back you can get the mamajuana (drink of the domincan republic) for $5 per bottle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois USA
Feb 17, 2010

First time to Punta Cana

beautiful beach, but muust get towel on chase by 6 am or not enough seating, no beach waitors to bring drinks very nice room, housekeeping was excellent, grounds were very well kept.buffet was ok but fine dining was terrible (compared to couples and sandals resorts)staff friendly but did not speak much english, there were a lot of rude Europeons and Canadians

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

golf at nearby (Nick Price design)course was not worth the $145

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top